1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Radeon R9 290(X) gaming/lightning card club

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by fullinfusion, Feb 16, 2014.

  1. gdallsk

    gdallsk

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    541 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Tbh, i wish i havent done that...
    The temps were in the mid 70's with an old paste, and now they are in the high 80's. Although the fact that it is hotter outside and the windows are closed makes the comparison quite unfair. But i still think that AS5 that i used isnt up to par with the old paste anyways, so i'll just wait till payday, and as you said before will try and get a tube of MX4.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,853 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,566
    Yeah I hear ya, AS5 didnt work good at all for me. And the MX4 with the Articlean was the trick to get the temps back down.
     
  3. Raovac

    Raovac

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    158 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23

    If I remember correctly, you never used Articlean before you applied AS5. You only used Articlean after having heat issues with AS5.
    Please correct me if I'm wrong on that cause I don't feel like looking at previous posts. :)
    I'm not having heat issues with my card, but when I do I will use Articlean and AS5.
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2014
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,853 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,566
    Yup that's right articleen after as5.
     
  5. Apocalypsee

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    140 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Hey fullinfusion, can I have your vBIOS? I do have the new version of MSI R9 290 Gaming but the memory overclocking is very bad.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,853 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,566
    Apocalypsee and manofthem say thanks.
  7. Apocalypsee

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    140 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Thanks a lot, I can't thank you enough. Weirdly apart from higher memory speeds, now I don't have weird artifacts when benching 3DMark now.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,853 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,566
    Well thats a good deal and Im glad it's working good for ya.
     
  9. maz12004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello! Guys I just recently purchased a MSI R9 290 Gaming card but I have noticed the VRM 2 temp is stuck at 49c. Nothing I do makes it change from that. Is this a common problem with the cards or should I get a replacement? All the other temps are fine. This is bumming me out. :/
     
  10. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,853 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,566
    Name I wouldn't personally worried about that. If the card works and runs fine then don't worrie. RMA can be a bitch at times and really I thhlink the temp is fine. Run valley bench and let it run in a loop for a while and see if the temp changes.
     
  11. maz12004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah it seems ok otherwise. I ran a few benchmarks such as 3DMark 11 (don't have the latest one) and the Metro Last Light benchmark and I played some games and the VRM 1 temp was under 70c and GPU temp was 72c.

    Thanks for the reply. :)

    Oh I forgot to mention VRM temp 2 didn't change at all during benchmarks. It stays at 49c whether idling on the desktop and 49c during stress testing. VRM temp 1 changes as does GPU temp.
     
  12. maz12004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    GPU temp when watching a 60fps flash video gets up to 58c. That's quite hot. The GPU clock fluctuates between 483Mhz and 883Mhz. Does it really need to boost up like that just to play a video? >.<
     
  13. PatoRodrigues

    PatoRodrigues

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    229 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Brazil
    Just to report, maybe behind schedule, that 90% of the black screen problems (mine included) are resolved by just switching to another 6+2 PCI power connector. Only found that out 5 months after i bought my card. dumb dumb :slap:

    (Basically, this power sucker wanted his 300W all along and i was supplying 225W, if my calculations are correct).
     
  14. maz12004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My card turned out to be a lemon. :(

    Black screen problems with Grid Autosport. My old GTX 670 works fine with it so I guess it couldn't be the power connectors. I'm going to send it back to the store and get another card.
     
  15. maz12004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I got my new 290 but it still has a frozen VRM 2 sensor and Grid Autosport would still black screen between races on the loading screen. I seem to have sorted out the black screen problem by using borderless windowed mode. The idle temps are quite high when viewing flash video (55c) but otherwise it seems ok.
     
  16. gdallsk

    gdallsk

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    541 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Finally got my MX-4 tube of paste, repasted the card and hallelujah! temps are down 10 C on load. :clap:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Raovac

    Raovac

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    158 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Did you try the AS5 after using the Articlean??????
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. gdallsk

    gdallsk

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    541 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    I didnt get anything except the tube, i clean with isopropyl alcohol swabs.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Raovac

    Raovac

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    158 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Sorry misread your post by reading FF's post.
    I am a diehard user of AS5 and think it would work great after using Articlean. One day I will try :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,729 (4.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,258
    Is there a Gpu comparison section for reviews done here. Because id like to know the numbers of the 290 gamer and Vapor-X 290
     
  21. kevnician New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So I installed the MSI special bios on my R9 290 Gaming a while back it works fine. When I installed it GPU-Z said some weird stuff about the card, but after reboot it went away. I was on driver 13.12 at the time. I just installed 14.7 and it looks like 14.7 thinks its a R9 290x.... 14.7 beta driver3.gif

    I have a sapphire in the same machine and it looks normal.
    sap.gif

    Now I bet this is the driver not identifying things properly but? Any idea how I can confirm the number of shaders beside gpu-z?
     
  22. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,853 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,566
    Na that's normal for crossfire, turn off ULPS and things should show proper.

    You can also run the gpuz render test in small window mode and the shader count will correct itself.

    @Raovac I would highly stay away from AS5 for these gpu's
    I ran numerous tests and for some reason AS5 don't work well. I love the paste myself but it's not a good paste to use for this specific application.

    MX4 works real well over the stock tim ;)
     
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,729 (4.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,258
    Probably thins out too much. I had to use akasa shinetsu tim on my dell inspiron xps gen 1 for the gpu because the sapce between the hsf and the gpu and the chipset itself had a big space between each.
     
  24. superbadapie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi all.

    Very glad I stumbled across this forum. I am from South Africa. Also got myself one of these beasties (290 Gaming). I do however reckon the bios is screwing with my oc results. Card I got has an asic score of 82.6, so should clock good, I hope. If somebody could recommend the best oc bios for this card, it would be much appreciated, my current bios and s/n is as follows:

    S/N: 602-V308-02SB1401014146

    015.042.000.000.000000

    Thanks
     
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,729 (4.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,258

    Hey man the fastest OC i seen for the Sapphire Vapor-X model is 1280MHz

    Im having a tough time selecting between this and the Vapor-X
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)