• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Radeon R9 290(X) gaming/lightning card club

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,909 (1.68/day)
I love the back plate, no flex or droop at all with this card. She's a beauty and good work MSI on such a wonderfull creation.

I thought the card was fucked as using the latest 14.1 beta driver my benchmarks were really low. I removed the driver and used the 13.12 driver and BANG!!! Big scores!
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,960 (2.29/day)
Location
Florida
Processor 3900X @ 4.0
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X570-E
Cooling DeepCool Castle 360EX
Memory G Skill Trident Z Neo 32GB 3600
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT Pulse
Storage Sabrent Rocket Q 1TB
Display(s) LG 34UC88
Case Thermaltake P3
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex III 750w
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard G Skill KM570 MX Silver
Software Windows 10 Pro
Oh man I gotta say I love it. Yes that looks gorgeous! :respect: :respect:

Congrats on your new baby. Now don't ditch this one like last time :slap:


The backplate does look really awesome! But what's the deal with 14.1 not working? It should be fine, it is with me
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,909 (1.68/day)
Oh man I gotta say I love it. Yes that looks gorgeous! :respect: :respect:

Congrats on your new baby. Now don't ditch this one like last time :slap:


The backplate does look really awesome! But what's the deal with 14.1 not working? It should be fine, it is with me
I dont know, run 3DMark fire strike in normal mode and check your score. also vallet sucked big time. Grid2 benchmark was stuck in the loading mode.

Mantle Star swarm benchmark was awesome but that's about it.

I'll do a screen shot and show you the differences between both drivers.

And yes this is the gpu I wanted forever so it's not going anywhere. That HIS crap and its blue pcb sagged at the rear and just wasnt happy.

This card matches my system perfectly and I just cant wait till the sister card gets here. They ordered it from there supplier tonight when I was there so it's a for sure thing.

All this power lol! I love it!

I just need help understanding how to use the POWER LIMIT function for overclocking.

Antone tell me a bit about it?

Hello MSI guy you know you have all the time in the world to sleep when your 6ft under Mmkay :p

Here Matt look at the comparison.. HIS and MSI and the HIS is overclocked where the MSI is stock and I pulled a huge amount of numbers using the 13.12 driver

http://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/1751211/fs/1751045

Valley benchmark both stock setting clocks

13.12 Driver



14.1 beta driver

 
Last edited by a moderator:

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
6,641 (1.56/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Motherboard ASRock B550M Pro4
Cooling Thermalright PA120 SE
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + WD Black 6TB+WD Black 6TB
Display(s) LG Nanocell85 49" 4K 120Hz+2x 24" 1200P Monitors
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 V3 w/ 6x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) LG Dolby Atmos
Power Supply Corsair RMX850 Fully Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,960 (2.29/day)
Location
Florida
Processor 3900X @ 4.0
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X570-E
Cooling DeepCool Castle 360EX
Memory G Skill Trident Z Neo 32GB 3600
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT Pulse
Storage Sabrent Rocket Q 1TB
Display(s) LG 34UC88
Case Thermaltake P3
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex III 750w
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard G Skill KM570 MX Silver
Software Windows 10 Pro

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,960 (2.29/day)
Location
Florida
Processor 3900X @ 4.0
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X570-E
Cooling DeepCool Castle 360EX
Memory G Skill Trident Z Neo 32GB 3600
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT Pulse
Storage Sabrent Rocket Q 1TB
Display(s) LG 34UC88
Case Thermaltake P3
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex III 750w
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard G Skill KM570 MX Silver
Software Windows 10 Pro
The powertune thing, iirc, bumps the power limit before it throttles the card. You shouldn't need to mess with it until you get into high OCs.

I've pushed to ~1100 on the core without having to mess with the power options.


And FF, I love your quad-post :laugh:
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,960 (2.29/day)
Location
Florida
Processor 3900X @ 4.0
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X570-E
Cooling DeepCool Castle 360EX
Memory G Skill Trident Z Neo 32GB 3600
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT Pulse
Storage Sabrent Rocket Q 1TB
Display(s) LG 34UC88
Case Thermaltake P3
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex III 750w
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard G Skill KM570 MX Silver
Software Windows 10 Pro
And what about your memory?

I think the clocks were like 1100/1400, or thereabouts. I have elpida chips which apparently don't clock as well, but I haven't really pushed it much higher.

Don't mean to bugger out but I'm off to bed. Catch you tomorrow about all this goodness :)
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
5,360 (1.08/day)
Just recieved my Review sample. It overclocks so horribly i'm lost for words.
1100 \ 1300 won't go stable.

Will try different techniques soon...
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,909 (1.68/day)
I also found the last newest beta better. but the 13.12 works really well to.

Just recieved my Review sample. It overclocks so horribly i'm lost for words.
1100 \ 1300 won't go stable.

Will try different techniques soon...
Any luck mr reviewer? What site you review for? Id like to see your thoughts on this awesome gpu when your finished. ;).

@neliz
is there issues using the included msi gaming app thats on the cards cd thats in the box? I was having random bsod's while watching YouTube. I figured it was flash player so I ended up doing a clean os install. Haven't had any more issues but then again I never installed the app sense the clean install and so far so good. I checked on the msi home page and cant find it or an upgraded one. Did your team yank it off because of problems with it? Please look into it if you wouldn't mind and let me know. Thanks..
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
405 (0.06/day)
Location
New Taipei City, Taiwan
@neliz
is there issues using the included msi gaming app thats on the cards cd thats in the box? I was having random bsod's while watching YouTube. I figured it was flash player so I ended up doing a clean os install. Haven't had any more issues but then again I never installed the app sense the clean install and so far so good. I checked on the msi home page and cant find it or an upgraded one. Did your team yank it off because of problems with it? Please look into it if you wouldn't mind and let me know. Thanks..
there's no issues there, it's more of a driver issue, I have had BSOD's watching videos with a reference card from AMD with the 14.1's but the latest beta seems to have fixed that issue as well. (3x BSOD in one Episode of the Tudors.)
the gaming app by itself isn't on the website, everything from bios updates etc. is done through liveupdate5.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,909 (1.68/day)
Thank you my friend, and great show. The wife and I watched the entire series in about a week lol

@neilz
can you find out for me about a bios to flash this card to its rated 1007mhz core speed and not through the msi updater. One that is made for and a special request bios which I know msi have. You guys send out review bios out to reviewers and id also like to flash it to my card. Please talk to your engineering department and see if you can send me the file. I have experience bios flashing and thats not an issue. I dont want to use a editor program to do it. Id like one direct from you guys.

Thank you and please let me know
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,585 (6.78/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D
Motherboard ASUS TUF x670e
Cooling EK AIO 360. Phantek T30 fans.
Memory 32GB G.Skill 6000Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 4090
Storage WD m.2
Display(s) LG C2 Evo OLED 42"
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic Evo
Audio Device(s) Topping E70 DAC, SMSL SP200 Headphone Amp.
Power Supply FSP Hydro Ti PRO 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk V3 Pro
Keyboard Tester84
Software Windows 11
Easy on the double/triple posting there bud! ;)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
40,435 (6.65/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Any Idea when the Lightning 290X will be in etailers hands?
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,909 (1.68/day)
^
@neliz he should be on shortly with an answer. Big time difference from us , so be patient.

Sorry erocker but multi quote wont work on this app. When I try to copy from a last post and delete it and paste it to another it dont copy!! Ill fix it when I get home on the pc.]
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 7, 2013
Messages
84 (0.02/day)
Location
Australia
System Name The FlaMING Flogger
Processor Devil's Canyon i7 4790k @ 4.7
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Corsair H100i (CPU) Kraken G10 with Corsair H55 (GPU)
Memory 16 GB G Skill Trident 2400
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 970 Reference running at 1500MHz Core / 1950MHz memory
Storage OCZ 248 GB SSD X 2 in RAID 0
Case NZXT H440 Red / Black
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX On board
Power Supply OCZ-ZT 650W Bronze Rating
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
:rockout:
I think the clocks were like 1100/1400, or thereabouts. I have elpida chips which apparently don't clock as well, but I haven't really pushed it much higher.

Don't mean to bugger out but I'm off to bed. Catch you tomorrow about all this goodness :)

Hey mate i have elpida on my Asus r9 290 and it overclocks to 1650 no problem. I just thinks it's down to the quality of ram (and luck of the draw) you got on your card so go for it - push it further ! :roll: My core is stable at 1180
 
Last edited:

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,960 (2.29/day)
Location
Florida
Processor 3900X @ 4.0
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X570-E
Cooling DeepCool Castle 360EX
Memory G Skill Trident Z Neo 32GB 3600
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT Pulse
Storage Sabrent Rocket Q 1TB
Display(s) LG 34UC88
Case Thermaltake P3
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex III 750w
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard G Skill KM570 MX Silver
Software Windows 10 Pro
:rockout:

Hey mate i have elpida on my Asus r9 290 and it overclocks to 1650 no problem. I just thinks it's down to the quality of ram (and luck of the draw) you got on your card so go for it - push it further ! :roll: My core is stable at 1180

Thanks for the info! :) As soon as I get my rig back together, I'll be giving it a go, and I hope I can throw down a nice OC :D
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,909 (1.68/day)
Well guys I got a bios to work, its running at 1030/1250



I used this msi 290x bios.... http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/151876/msi-r9290x-
4096-131211.html


EDIT: look at the difference score. same gpu clocks but cpu in one test is 5ghz and the other @ 4.6GHz http://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/1820395/fs/1801221
Not bad.

If you guys want to try D/L atiflash 4.17 and hp format tool along with windows 98 boot.

In dos type:
dir
then type atifla~1.exe -f -p 0 name of bios.rom

reboot and there you go.
 
Last edited:

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,960 (2.29/day)
Location
Florida
Processor 3900X @ 4.0
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X570-E
Cooling DeepCool Castle 360EX
Memory G Skill Trident Z Neo 32GB 3600
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT Pulse
Storage Sabrent Rocket Q 1TB
Display(s) LG 34UC88
Case Thermaltake P3
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex III 750w
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard G Skill KM570 MX Silver
Software Windows 10 Pro
Well guys I got a bios to work, its running at 1030/1250



I used this msi 290x bios.... http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/151876/msi-r9290x-
4096-131211.html


EDIT: look at the difference score. same gpu clocks but cpu in one test is 5ghz and the other @ 4.6GHz http://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/1820395/fs/1801221
Not bad.

If you guys want to try D/L atiflash 4.17 and hp format tool along with windows 98 boot.

In dos type:
dir
then type atifla~1.exe -f -p 0 name of bios.rom

reboot and there you go.
So your 290 unlocked to a 290X, eh? That's pretty awesome! :)
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,909 (1.68/day)
So your 290 unlocked to a 290X, eh? That's pretty awesome! :)
No it don't unlock, just bumped the core clocks using the 290X gamer TF IV bios that pretty much matched mine.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
40,435 (6.65/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Ok a question about the BIOS/UEFI Switch, I heard someone say that the switch is best left in UEFI for OS like Windows 7, I heard its best to switch to BIOS for legacy OS- Are they talking about Windows Vista and Older?
 
Top