• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI RTX 3080 - Intermittent Black Screens

wtfarabbit

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2021
Messages
3 (0.10/day)
GPU: MSI GAMING X TRIO RTX 3080 10GB

It's been happening when I have an RDP up or playing League Of Legends (Have it capped at 240FPS)

I've tried changing the 8-pin power cords around, this has happening when my friend turned off the RGB for my GPU, but then I did a system restore back a date for the RGB to come back.

Latest driver is 472.12 from 9/20/2021.

Can anyone think of why this is happening? Thanks.

Specs;


Current BIOS:

 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,918 (6.29/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Could be vid cable, monitor, powwr supply. Honestly Id RMA the gpu.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51,367 (8.25/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @4000 C18 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
four sticks of RAM on ryzen at 3600MHz?

You're likely having a RAM stability issue and not a GPU one

Please put your system specs in here, tick yes to show it to us (trust me. it helps a lot as these threads get longer)
TechPowerUp Forums < click it

Make sure XMP is on for your RAM, then drop the MHz to 3200 and see if the issue goes away, or happens less often. When you run 8 ranks of ram on Ryzen (four double rank sticks) you often need lower MHz, or higher voltages on DRAM and IMC
 

wtfarabbit

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2021
Messages
3 (0.10/day)
four sticks of RAM on ryzen at 3600MHz?

You're likely having a RAM stability issue and not a GPU one

Please put your system specs in here, tick yes to show it to us (trust me. it helps a lot as these threads get longer)
TechPowerUp Forums < click it

Make sure XMP is on for your RAM, then drop the MHz to 3200 and see if the issue goes away, or happens less often. When you run 8 ranks of ram on Ryzen (four double rank sticks) you often need lower MHz, or higher voltages on DRAM and IMC

Found out its GPU issue since I ran two userbenchmark.com tests;

 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51,367 (8.25/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @4000 C18 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
user benchmark is known to be absolute trash, it's not worth using ever
It's results are meaningless as the site owner manually twists things to report the products he personally prefers as superior


Neither of those links even have anything about the GPU inside them, as they dont show DX11 results - unless you're vaguely saying it crashed and didnt finish the tests?
 

wtfarabbit

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2021
Messages
3 (0.10/day)
user benchmark is known to be absolute trash, it's not worth using ever
It's results are meaningless as the site owner manually twists things to report the products he personally prefers as superior


Neither of those links even have anything about the GPU inside them, as they dont show DX11 results - unless you're vaguely saying it crashed and didnt finish the tests?

I thought that may of been an issue because before it showed up in the specs;

It didn't crash but it just didn't show results for it so I am unsure.

current update; I reset the MB bios to stock settings so ram is back to 2100mhz but I also swapped out the GPU for another one (same model and everything) and so far there hasn't been an black screens, I'm going to up my RAM back to 3600mhz and see if that was the issue. If it is then I'll bring it down to 3200 etc.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
51,367 (8.25/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @4000 C18 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC (4k80Hz, 1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (4K 60Hz, 1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
I thought that may of been an issue because before it showed up in the specs;

It didn't crash but it just didn't show results for it so I am unsure.

current update; I reset the MB bios to stock settings so ram is back to 2100mhz but I also swapped out the GPU for another one (same model and everything) and so far there hasn't been an black screens, I'm going to up my RAM back to 3600mhz and see if that was the issue. If it is then I'll bring it down to 3200 etc.
^ I like that logic and planning.
 
Top