• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI RX 580 4gb Armor OC/need edited bios to run on legacy only MOBO

BigBossman

New Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
10 (0.19/day)
I would be eternally grateful if someone could point me to an edited BIOS for the MSI Armor RX 580 4GB OC that needs to run on a non UEFI Mobo.
I do not want to screw anything up trying to hex edit it myself, and hopefully someone who has already edited out the UEFI portion could point me in the right direction.

This is for my son, and I am trying not disappoint a good kid by telling him that he has a brand new paperweight.

Thanks in advance for any and all consideration and assistance

Bubba.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
12,842 (4.93/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory G.Skill 16GB 3600 C18
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Tried switching to CSM mode (compatibility support mode) in the Motherboard BIOS?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I would be eternally grateful if someone could point me to an edited BIOS for the MSI Armor RX 580 4GB OC that needs to run on a non UEFI Mobo.
I do not want to screw anything up trying to hex edit it myself, and hopefully someone who has already edited out the UEFI portion could point me in the right direction.

This is for my son, and I am trying not disappoint a good kid by telling him that he has a brand new paperweight.

Thanks in advance for any and all consideration and assistance

Bubba.

Have you tried the card in the system already?
 

BigBossman

New Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
10 (0.19/day)
Yes, it does not display on this legacy system. it works fine on another pc with UEFI, when tested.

I saw other edited bios out there that made similar cards work.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Yes, it does not display on this legacy system. it works fine on another pc with UEFI, when tested.

I saw other edited bios out there that made similar cards work.
Do you have a spare system thst it works in (to get a gpu-z screenshot)
 

BigBossman

New Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
10 (0.19/day)
The system we used was at my son's friends house. I guess we can try and go back over there and do this again, and Ill get a gpu-z screenshot. The other kid is the deciding factor. When I get something I will post here.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
The system we used was at my son's friends house. I guess we can try and go back over there and do this again, and Ill get a gpu-z screenshot. The other kid is the deciding factor. When I get something I will post here.

The gpu-z screenshot will give you a possibility to get a non UEFI bios that is for your specific card
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

BigBossman

New Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
10 (0.19/day)

Attachments

  • $_1.png
    $_1.png
    115.8 KB · Views: 28

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
68 (1.28/day)
All, really all, UEFI graphics cards are supposed to be functional on non-UEFI boards. Especially with RX580 I've never even heard about such issues.
In my personal opinion the problem must be somewhere else.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
433 (1.87/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M
Cooling Zalman
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) MSI Armor OC RX 580 8GB
Storage Main: 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb ; Secondary: 4x SAS HDD in RAID Array
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu
All, really all, UEFI graphics cards are supposed to be functional on non-UEFI boards. Especially with RX580 I've never even heard about such issues.
In my personal opinion the problem must be somewhere else.
Hello
All UEFI video cards are backwards compatible with older mainboards.
Because i own some RX580 and also some older mainboards i tested today my sapphire RX580 8gb with an ASUS P5QPL-AM with a core2DUO 8400 on it.
Of course i have the latest firmware for my mainboard.
All went well.
I fresh installed win 10 x64 on my system and i installed the video driver and all went well.
EDIT : i will try it also on another mainboard : ASUS Striker Extreme with Core2Quad 6600. I will get back as soon as i have new info.
New EDIT : i managed to install also on ASUS Striker extreme with a q6600 on it. Same video card as before : Sapphire Pulse RX580 8gb
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hello
All UEFI video cards are backwards compatible with older mainboards.
Because i own some RX580 and also some older mainboards i tested today my sapphire RX580 8gb with an ASUS P5QPL-AM with a core2DUO 8400 on it.
Of course i have the latest firmware for my mainboard.
All went well.
I fresh installed win 10 x64 on my system and i installed the video driver and all went well.
EDIT : i will try it also on another mainboard : ASUS Striker Extreme with Core2Quad 6600. I will get back as soon as i have new info.
New EDIT : i managed to install also on ASUS Striker extreme with a q6600 on it. Same video card as before : Sapphire Pulse RX580 8gb
All, really all, UEFI graphics cards are supposed to be functional on non-UEFI boards. Especially with RX580 I've never even heard about such issues.
In my personal opinion the problem must be somewhere else.

Hello
All UEFI video cards are backwards compatible with older mainboards.
Because i own some RX580 and also some older mainboards i tested today my sapphire RX580 8gb with an ASUS P5QPL-AM with a core2DUO 8400 on it.
Of course i have the latest firmware for my mainboard.
All went well.
I fresh installed win 10 x64 on my system and i installed the video driver and all went well.
EDIT : i will try it also on another mainboard : ASUS Striker Extreme with Core2Quad 6600. I will get back as soon as i have new info.
New EDIT : i managed to install also on ASUS Striker extreme with a q6600 on it. Same video card as before : Sapphire Pulse RX580 8gb

I have a R7 250X that i tried in a skt 754 board and it would not boot but in my rig it would, i tried a 4350 in that 754 board and it worked, so i think msi are being asses.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
433 (1.87/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M
Cooling Zalman
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) MSI Armor OC RX 580 8GB
Storage Main: 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb ; Secondary: 4x SAS HDD in RAID Array
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu
I have a R7 250X that i tried in a skt 754 board and it would not boot but in my rig it would, i tried a 4350 in that 754 board and it worked, so i think msi are being asses.
You mean i was not lucky, but instead i used the right motherboard producer for testing ? :)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
You mean i was not lucky, but instead i used the right motherboard producer for testing ? :)
It's possible

Here is the screenshot
The only option would be to try a different uefi bios.

Lets try this.

Open GPU-Z click the arrow next to the uefi checkbox, attempt to upload the bios through GPU-Z to the VGA Bios Collection/Database, you should be prompted that the bios is already in the database with a link, copy and paste that link here.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
68 (1.28/day)
Do skt 754 boards feature a PCI-E slot?
I thought the come with PCI and AGP.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Do skt 754 boards feature a PCI-E slot?
I thought the come with PCI and AGP.
Yes otherwise a R7 250X would not fit lol
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
433 (1.87/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M
Cooling Zalman
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) MSI Armor OC RX 580 8GB
Storage Main: 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb ; Secondary: 4x SAS HDD in RAID Array
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
68 (1.28/day)
Didn't intend to question his background.
Just amazed such boards feature a pci-e slot.
 

BigBossman

New Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
10 (0.19/day)
The gpu-z screenshot will give you a possibility to get a non UEFI bios that is for your specific card

It's possible


The only option would be to try a different uefi bios.

Lets try this.

Open GPU-Z click the arrow next to the uefi checkbox, attempt to upload the bios through GPU-Z to the VGA Bios Collection/Database, you should be prompted that the bios is already in the database with a link, copy and paste that lin

I read on a win raid forum where people had edited their bios for an RX 580 to remove the UEFI information from the BIOS so that it would only see legacy mode. They changed a couple digits to make the checksum correct. That's what I was hoping to have some luck with.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,200 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I read on a win raid forum where people had edited their bios for an RX 580 to remove the UEFI information from the BIOS so that it would only see legacy mode. They changed a couple digits to make the checksum correct. That's what I was hoping to have some luck with.
Well post that link here

Fit in (somehow) and fit&function is not the same
Understand PCIE 16x is different in size from pci and AGP.
 
Top