• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Unveils DDR2+DDR3 Combo Motherboards

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.12/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
During CeBIT, MSI showcased two AMD 790GX motherboards that combine support for both DDR2 and DDR3 on the same board. Although both the MSI 790GX-8D and the MSI P45-8D are designed for different platforms, the enormous RAM capacity support - both offer four DDR2 slots and four DDR3 memory slots - makes them really unique. The AM3 board 790GX-8D featuring the 790GX chipset, supports DDR2-1066 or DDR3-1333 RAM. It is also capable of supporting socket AM2+ processors with DDR2 RAM. Moreover, the 790GX-8D allows overclockers to increase the RAM frequencies at any time using an onboard control dial. Users can even erase the CMOS RAM with the touch of a Reset button or switch into power saving mode by pressing the "Green Power" button. The board offers two PCIe x16 slots, two PCIe x1 slots, and a vanilla PCI slot.
As for the P45-8D, this motherboard makes use of Intel's P45 +ICH10/ICH10R chipset and supports Intel's 45nm and 65nm Core 2 (Extreme) processors. The board has one PCIe x16 slot, one PCIe Gen2 (1x16) slot, one PCIe x1 slot, and three vanilla PCI slots. The P45-8D should be widely available already, while the MSI 790GX-8D AM3 child is still unavailable.
MSI nicknamed the boards - "Memory Lover".



Source: Tom's Hardware
 

theorw

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
771 (0.20/day)
Likes
49
Location
Athens GREECE
Processor C2D 8400@ 4,05GHz(currently)1,36v
Motherboard DFI LP x48 DK T2RS
Cooling XIGMATEK 1283 w/ bolt-thru kit/SCYTHE Mushashi x2
Memory Crucial BALLISTIX 6400 @900MHz 2,00v
Video Card(s) HD 5770 1040/1400 unlocked/musashi
Storage SG 120GB+WD 160GB
Display(s) 24" FLATRON W2442PA Full HD
Case COOLERMASTER HAF 932
Power Supply Thermaltake PUREPOWER RX 600
Software Vista ultimate SP1
Benchmark Scores VANTAGE:11700 3DMARKO06:18600 FURMARK:9K
#2
The left mobo is really not suitable for aftermarket coolers...I mean what kind of cooler would fit between the rams and the vr heatshink??
 

TreadR

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2009
Messages
79 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
#3
It's kinda a cheap idea... what would happen if someone would populate both DDR2 and DDR3 parts?

Since both of them have 240 pins of the same size, removing the physical separator and adding markings for where the actual separators would be would result in a 2 in 1 concept. Then with a switch like method changing between one or the other... I think that would have been a more "user friendly" approach with more space.

But with the low advantage that DDR3 offers over DDR2 at present time, I don't see the benefit.
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.60/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#4
I think they should've just put 4 dimms. Two DDR2 and two DDR3. There really isn't a point in having 4 dimms anymore since 2x2 kits are so damn cheap nowadays.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,748 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,161
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#5
The left mobo is really not suitable for aftermarket coolers...I mean what kind of cooler would fit between the rams and the vr heatshink??
Ultra 120 from Thermalright
 

jcfougere

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
48 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Canada
System Name Teh Girth!
Processor q9400 Core 2 Quad @3.00Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-E
Cooling 2x 120mm in, 1x120mm+1x90mm out
Memory 8 Gigs OCZ 6-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870x2
Storage 3x500gb SataII
Display(s) Phillips 21" LCD @1920x1080
Case NZXT Lexa
Audio Device(s) SoundMAX Digital onboard
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream II 700w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#6
They are kind of late with the offering, Asus released a DDR2/DDR3 combo board for P35 in 07...P5KC.

I admit, I haven't had need for DDR3 yet, but I was so devastated when I bought my s939 and then DDR2 became mainstream, that I didn't want to buy a boad that would be left in the dust again. Needless to say DDR2 is still a far better alternative to DDR3, but I like having the option to switch if indeed they make DDR3 with better timings.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
1,238 (0.31/day)
Likes
168
Location
SoCal
Processor AMD Phenom II 1055T @ 3.6ghz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 EVO
Cooling Xigmatek SD1284
Memory 2x4GB Patriot Sector 5 PC3-12800 @ 7-8-7-24-1T 1.7V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 7950 DD @ 1100/1350 1.185V
Storage OCZ Agility 3 120GB + 2x7200.12 500GB Raid1
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 27" LCD 1440p @ 120hz
Case Cooler Master 690M
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W Eco Edition
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 / Ubuntu 12.04 x64
#7
"taste the rainbow"
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,665 (1.09/day)
Likes
953
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC / Miner
Processor i5 8600K @4.5Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970 / i5 2500k
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3/ P67 Pro 3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903 / Stock
Memory 16Gb Nighthawk 3000 MHz/ 4GB DDR3 / 16gb DDR3 / 12 GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT / 2x1060 + 1080
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO/ 250gb Mechanical
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV/ None
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240 / Custom
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W / FSP 850 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#8
Damn those are ugly boards. I might even try to chew the power cable off if i woke up and found one of them next to me!
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
614 (0.14/day)
Likes
76
Location
New Sewickley, PA
System Name six pack
Processor Phenom II X6 1090T BE
Motherboard ASRock 890FX Deluxe3
Cooling Cool-it ECO ALC Water cooler
Memory 4GB G-Skill Flares CL7
Video Card(s) 1GB HIS HD4890 930core / 1025mem 4100mhz effective
Storage 320Gb Seagate Barracuda (w/perpendiular recording) and 750GB Western Digital Caviar Black
Display(s) Acer B273HU 2048 x 1152 native resolution
Case Xoxide X-Sentric Professional Series w/250mm Fan
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 2 Value
Power Supply 750 Watt Apevia Warlock
Software Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit (w/dreamscene patch)/Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06:10,516 3Dmark Vantage: P8537
#9
I would much rather see an x58 board with support with both types of memory. Would make it much easier to upgrade. Or does Core i7 not support DDR2 at all?
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
1,238 (0.31/day)
Likes
168
Location
SoCal
Processor AMD Phenom II 1055T @ 3.6ghz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 EVO
Cooling Xigmatek SD1284
Memory 2x4GB Patriot Sector 5 PC3-12800 @ 7-8-7-24-1T 1.7V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 7950 DD @ 1100/1350 1.185V
Storage OCZ Agility 3 120GB + 2x7200.12 500GB Raid1
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 27" LCD 1440p @ 120hz
Case Cooler Master 690M
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W Eco Edition
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 / Ubuntu 12.04 x64
#10
I would much rather see an x58 board with support with both types of memory. Would make it much easier to upgrade. Or does Core i7 not support DDR2 at all?
With the Core i7, Intel finally adopted the idea of an integrated memory controller that AMD has had since the K8 architecture. Although, they certainly seemed to do a good job with it, as their first attempt let loose a stable, triple channel controller.

Therefore, it is no longer the northbridge that dictates the type of memory that can be used. I believe this will be the same for the Core i5, but only with a dual channel controller, like AMD.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,573 (1.41/day)
Likes
1,173
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#11
hmm effective use of real estate there. Why can't they just dump the ugly long desktop mem slots and offer 8 SODIM slots, that will reduce some clutter.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.05/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#12
hmm effective use of real estate there. Why can't they just dump the ugly long desktop mem slots and offer 8 SODIM slots, that will reduce some clutter.
Then we will all bitch about how it uses sodimm and that they could have used the desktop ones.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,231 (1.47/day)
Likes
664
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#13
nice from msi , but there is something wrong in 790gx design which is you can't use big cooler when you use first solt's of ram's
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,571 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,190
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#15
Unless you're running autocad or photoshopping extremely big images you don't need any more than 4gb. I've been there myself... I bought an 8gb kit and just sold 4gb because I didn't even use 4gb of the 8.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.81/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#16
yup, exectly, any of the ultra coolers from thermalright would fit, i got an ultra90 with a 120mm fan on it :)
LoL you have almost the same Ava as Wizzard one of our Admins :laugh:
Also this is just like the M4A79 board from Asus.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.10/day)
Likes
1,331
#17
They are kind of late with the offering, Asus released a DDR2/DDR3 combo board for P35 in 07...P5KC.
Yup, the P35, best AMD chipset ever...

hmm effective use of real estate there. Why can't they just dump the ugly long desktop mem slots and offer 8 SODIM slots, that will reduce some clutter.
Because memory controllers can't handle that, unless you use registered memory. Nowadays they already have issues with two modules per channel, so forget about four.