• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Z87i Gaming AC/Pentium G3258 stuck at 800 MHz

Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,653 (0.94/day)
Location
Washington, US
System Name Rainbow
Processor Intel Core i7 8700k
Motherboard MSI MPG Z390M GAMING EDGE AC
Cooling Corsair H115i, 2x Noctua NF-A14 industrialPPC-3000 PWM
Memory G. Skill TridentZ RGB 4x8GB (F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 1060 6GB
Storage 2x Samsung 950 Pro 256GB | 2xHGST Deskstar 4TB 7.2K
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Xigmatek Aquila
Power Supply Seasonic 760W SS-760XP
Mouse Razer Deathadder 2013
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K95
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 4 trillion points in GmailMark, over 144 FPS 2K Facebook Scrolling (Extreme Quality preset)
Suspect a failing temp sensor (or two). Curious if this rings any bells to anybody else before I tear the whole thing apart. It's been powered off for a while, but I think it had this issue on a when put away too. Did some feeling around and I didn't feel anything getting actually hot.

I'm thinking the minimum temperatures for temp 4 and 5 are close to the actual temperatures and it's going through the roof. Intel XTU doesn't show any throttling warnings, just that it's stuck at 800MHz with a 8x multi instead of the expected 32x. Looks like it occasionally clocks up to the expected 3.2GHz, just not for long at all.
BIOS has been set to defaults. BIOS shows the 8x multi too.

1585981433192.png
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.45/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Only thing I can say is try the chip in another board unfortunately, if it does the same thing then its the chip, if not then its your current board. Check the lga pins too
 
  • Like
Reactions: xvi
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
8,088 (3.94/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor AMD 3200G
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Stock
Memory Adata 8Gb 2133Mhz DDR4
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I'd say the Motherboard is screwy but Intel XTU shows the TDP as 3W?
Perhaps the latest updates locked the cores and stuffed a few other things.
 
  • Like
Reactions: xvi

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.36/day)
HW monitor on the left looks fine to me.

3.2GHz max for Pentium G3258.

Reset BIOS to defaults and then disable Intel SpeedStep, C1E, C-states.

Set Windows power profile to high performance.

Run HWMonitor and check the clocks.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,233 (0.31/day)
Location
Heart of Europe
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling water
Memory 32 dual ranked
Video Card(s) 1080ti
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) 120hz
Case open bench
Power Supply antec 1200 oc
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
newest bios ?
what puzzles me is that vcore stays the same!

newest version of XTU?

what i name here are just some problems over time with z87 doesnt mean it has to be your prob:

Haswell refresh cpu´s in Z87 need at least Intel management engine Version 9.0.30.1482 - you can look your current version up under settings tab in bios
msi has a separate bios flash for MB bios + Intel Me versions.
so you have to do it in M-Flash Menu and select ME update too. !! only works in M-flash !!

windows: only because you said
It's been powered off for a while
there was a update that prevented win10 from multi changing
https://www.reddit.com/r/buildapc/comments/3f3mro
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,653 (0.94/day)
Location
Washington, US
System Name Rainbow
Processor Intel Core i7 8700k
Motherboard MSI MPG Z390M GAMING EDGE AC
Cooling Corsair H115i, 2x Noctua NF-A14 industrialPPC-3000 PWM
Memory G. Skill TridentZ RGB 4x8GB (F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 1060 6GB
Storage 2x Samsung 950 Pro 256GB | 2xHGST Deskstar 4TB 7.2K
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Xigmatek Aquila
Power Supply Seasonic 760W SS-760XP
Mouse Razer Deathadder 2013
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K95
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 4 trillion points in GmailMark, over 144 FPS 2K Facebook Scrolling (Extreme Quality preset)
Thanks for the ideas, all! Just sat down to try a few of those but I think I noticed something. I, uh, I think it's a hardware issue. :roll:
Oh, and don't worry about the half-broken monitor.


I guess this still begs the question of what the heck is wrong. Will probably end up pulling the CPU out and checking the pins like @eidairaman1 mentioned.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2012
Messages
1,371 (0.46/day)
Location
Northamptonshire, UK
System Name Main/VR/HTPC
Processor 9900K@4.7/Ryzen 7 2700@4.0/i3 4360@3.7
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro WiFi/Aorus B450I Pro Wifi/MSI H81I
Cooling Custom water/Corsair H55/Antec C40
Memory Corsair LPX 2x8 3200MHz/HyperX Predator 2x8GB 3200MHz/Crucial Balistix Tactical 8GB
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 Super Ventus /MSI RTX 2070 Super Ventus/Intel HD4600
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 250GB/Sabrent Rocket 256GB/OCZ ARC 100 120 GB
Display(s) Acer Z301c/39" Panasonic HDTV
Case Fractal Design Arc XL/Cougar QBX/Thermaltake Core V1
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V379/Nvidia HD Audio/ Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair RM850/ Corsair SF600/350W OEM
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit
had someone with the same problem recently. Turned out to be a faulty temperature sensor on the board, which thought that the CPU was overheating, which in turn made it clock down to the lowest multiplier. replacing the motherboard fixed it completely.
 
  • Like
Reactions: xvi

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,181 (2.73/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet // Dualie
Processor 3700x // E5-2680v2 x2
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470 // S2600IP4
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax // Hyper 212 x2
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB // 16x4GB ECC
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X // MSI GTX750
Storage 2 NVMEs + 5 HDDs // 2x 240GB SSD + 700GB HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 // Big boxy case
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5 // None
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w // Rosewill 1kw
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Trips the breaker
Man if there wasn't a big ol' virus going around I'd say you could come on by and test it in my board that houses my 3258. :roll:


See what sensors are going in the bios if you have that option.
 
Top