• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Multi Monitor - Multi Card Brand? (ATi and NV?)

Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
491 (0.11/day)
Likes
8
Location
A small crate floating in the Pacific..
Processor Athlon64 X2 3800+ @ 2.6Ghz
Motherboard BioStar TForce4 SLI (939)
Cooling Stock Opteron Heatpipe Cooler
Memory 4x512 Crucial BalistiX, @ DDR520, 2.5-3-3-8
Video Card(s) ATI, x1900 AIW (600/620)
Storage 80GB SATA2, 320GB eSATA2
Display(s) AGM 19" Widescreen LCD, 4ms
Case Aspire X-Dreamer (Black)
Audio Device(s) Auzentech: X-Meridan (Best Soundcard Ever)
Power Supply Rosewill 550W 2x12V
Software XP Professional X64 & Ubuntu 7.10 x86
#1
There is a machine I would like to set up for 3 displays. It currently has 2 monitors connected to a Radeon x1900 AIW. I would need a 2nd GPU to do 3 monitors, but I would like that second card to be an Nvidia so it can run Physx while the ATi does the 3D/2D load.. Can I do this, or will the different display drivers prevent me from having a 3 monitor extended display setup?
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,713 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,469
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
I saw this asked but in a different instance here about a week ago. From what I remember it was said that XP will allow two different drivers where Vista would not.

I say try it an see!
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
491 (0.11/day)
Likes
8
Location
A small crate floating in the Pacific..
Processor Athlon64 X2 3800+ @ 2.6Ghz
Motherboard BioStar TForce4 SLI (939)
Cooling Stock Opteron Heatpipe Cooler
Memory 4x512 Crucial BalistiX, @ DDR520, 2.5-3-3-8
Video Card(s) ATI, x1900 AIW (600/620)
Storage 80GB SATA2, 320GB eSATA2
Display(s) AGM 19" Widescreen LCD, 4ms
Case Aspire X-Dreamer (Black)
Audio Device(s) Auzentech: X-Meridan (Best Soundcard Ever)
Power Supply Rosewill 550W 2x12V
Software XP Professional X64 & Ubuntu 7.10 x86
#3
I saw this asked but in a different instance here about a week ago. From what I remember it was said that XP will allow two different drivers where Vista would not.

I say try it an see!
Well this would be an XP system, but I can't really afford to "try and see". lol I'll do some more digging while waiting for replies.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,713 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,469
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#4
Well this would be an XP system, but I can't really afford to "try and see". lol I'll do some more digging while waiting for replies.
I will dig to see if I see the thread myself!

I dont really see what harm it would do to try and boot another GPU in the second slot.

My DFI Ultra-D head what was called dual express graphics(SLI without the NB pins connected on the NF4 Chipset) It ran 2 different screens with 2 different X850's I had. I realize the obvios difference here, but wouldnt the second screen work with XP default driver?

Thats why I say give it a whirl, at worst(assumption) it wouldnt boot, or recognize the hardware but not allow the driver install. I dont however have any idea if the phsics will work tho.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
491 (0.11/day)
Likes
8
Location
A small crate floating in the Pacific..
Processor Athlon64 X2 3800+ @ 2.6Ghz
Motherboard BioStar TForce4 SLI (939)
Cooling Stock Opteron Heatpipe Cooler
Memory 4x512 Crucial BalistiX, @ DDR520, 2.5-3-3-8
Video Card(s) ATI, x1900 AIW (600/620)
Storage 80GB SATA2, 320GB eSATA2
Display(s) AGM 19" Widescreen LCD, 4ms
Case Aspire X-Dreamer (Black)
Audio Device(s) Auzentech: X-Meridan (Best Soundcard Ever)
Power Supply Rosewill 550W 2x12V
Software XP Professional X64 & Ubuntu 7.10 x86
#5
*bump* I've still got nothing on this, at least nothing positive I'm finding.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,549
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6


Yes, it is possible on XP. However, I wouldn't recommend it. There are several drawbacks, the biggest of which is that many applications(mainly games) don't like having both installed. 3DMark06 for example, will not start if you have both cards enabled.

I really hope nVidia is working on this, as it would really help PhysX get rolling.
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
Multiple Monitor Tip (ATI and NVidia)

Whatever you do, don't use ATI and NVIDIA graphics cards together.

You will get a crashes out the ying yang!

Their drivers are not compatable and will be a nightmare for you.
I made this mistake for years.

I finally bought a Multi-Monitor Day Trading Computer from SUPER PC and I

realized that they use the same exact video cards for dual card configurations.

The stability is so rock solid when using multiple monitors.