1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mushkin Support Thread

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Zebbo, Oct 28, 2005.

  1. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,039 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,176
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Very sorry to hear!!! You will be missed MushkinGreg! Best rep there ever was....
     
  2. DMF New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Whoa, I got a MIR back from OCZ. I nearly threw it out! I guess it's part check but it looks like a postcard from the neighborhood gutter cleaner. Check your mail carefully!

    I hope the company servicing Mushkin's rebates doesn't also try to dodge paying by making the rebate check look like junk mail...
     
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,049 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,448
    they do that to deceive thieves
     
  4. toxophilite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Need stable config for GA-EP45-UD3P, Q99550, Mushkin XP2 8500

    I've been unable to arrive at a bios configuration that will POST or boot at 1066 dual channel with the following rig...

    Mobo: Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P
    Rev 1.0
    Bios: F6
    S/N: 084940007503
    CPU: Intel Q9550 2.83ghz
    CPU Cooler: MassCool 8WA741 92mm Ball
    VGA: SAPPHIRE 100265L Radeon HD 4830
    Memory: DDR2 Mushkin 2x2GB XP2 8500 1066 (996619)
    PSU: Thermaltake 650w

    POSTs/boots/runs stable at 800 dual channel with all bios settings on auto except DRAM voltage set to 2.00v as per mushkin instruction.

    Both modules run just fine individually at 1066 in single module, single channel mode with stock/auto +2.0vDRAM settings.

    Can you tell me where I might find a complete, explicit listing of bios settings I should use for a stable config from which to start 1066 dual channel?
     
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,049 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,448
    timings will be different and TBH your better off having the tighter timings than the additional Clock Tick.
     
  6. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,039 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,176
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Currently running my pc8500 ascents at 825mhz with 4-4-3-8 1t timings. Can't seem to drop either of the 4s down to 3. Will these modules take more than 2.1v? (Yes I know voids warranty) Would like to hit 1200 instead, but athlon x2s don't really use the extra bandwidth, but will use low latency....
    [​IMG]
    wondering if I should drop my trc to 20..
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2009
  7. jimmyme New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    71 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Hey Guys,

    MUSHKIN support needed...
    Specs are in sig thingy!
    Basically when I first installed(new build) it was impossible to install and boot Vista without a BSOD. Errors were MEMORY_MANAGEMENT etc.
    ripped out 2 of the RAM sticks and it installed, booted and ran fine!
    Dropped back in 1 more stick....also ok.....
    Dropped in the last.....BSOD!!!!! argh!

    Perhaps the last stick is the problem? Ripped out all sticks, tried to boot with the 'suspect' stick and.......BSOD argh!

    So is that stick f'd or am I missing something. Do I need to return it to where i bought it.

    Thanks for any help possible!
    Jimmy
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2009
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,049 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,448
    Request Replacement from the Etailer, Worst COmes to Worst you can probably RMA back to Mushkin for Replacement, also to test Suspect Faulty Memory, run Memtest86 off a floppy (reboot with Floppy as first boot device)
     
    jimmyme says thanks.
  9. jimmyme New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    71 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Ok, thanks!
    I don't have a floppy drive, and I don't think that Memtest86 has a USB option?
    Could use a blank CD i guess...crap.
    Have to buy some tomorrow!
    The eRetailer seems really good, i'll send them the details and see what they say!
    Thanks again.
     
  10. DMF New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Well, its been about 6 months. Got the Asus and OCZ rebates filed at the same time, but not the Mushkin rebate. I did log in and register on the site. I received a notice that Mushkin had received my rebate application - about 4 months ago. Was I supposed to receive a notice of final disposition?

    How do I find out the rebate status?
     
  11. DMF New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Memtest (or anything else) will run off a bootable USB. Setting up the OS it wants is the trick. Same with a CD.

    I don't put floppies in my systems any more but I always keep one around for just such an occasion. Got a bud who'll lend you one?
     
  12. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Pm me your contact info
     
  13. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    This guy been verified as a Mushkin Rep?? If not or no one knows, I wouldnt PM him my contact info.

    I see only one post and no custom title.....caution needed? :confused:
     
  14. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    aCid888* says thanks.
  15. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    PM Wizzard and get a custom title. :)
     
  16. Urlyin

    Urlyin Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,261 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    I confirm Sean as a Mushkin Rep Welcome :toast:
     
    aCid888* says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Thanks m8, glad to be here! :rockout:
     
  18. DMF New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Yeah, welcome!

    PM sent, asking what info you need.
     
  19. Duonger Mushkin U.S.A.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    17 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cali
    Cool see a new guy there to help. Very nice!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    I'm wondering what I need to RMA my Mushkin 1150mhz DDR2 kit...I don't think I have the receipt for it anymore, this will no doubt be a problem, no?? :confused:
     
  21. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,961 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,055
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Welcome Sean. Glad to have another rep around!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Sorry did not see this before.
    We don't sell that kit anymore:(, but I'm sure that something can be worked out. Don't worry about the receipt if you can't find it. Go here to start the RMA

    Glad to be here! :)

    I'll be around a lot more starting next month. ;)
     
  23. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,252 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Hey MushkinSean,

    I have the Mushkin DDR2 800 2x1GB 996533 Kit that a friend gave me because he said they are bad. What he said was : "I have used these on two different motherboards and each motherboard that I used them in, the Dimm slots stopped working. They would run for a little bit and then the slots would no longer read that there was memory in that slot. It happened with two different boards. At first I thought it was the board so I RMA'd it for a different motherboard brand and model entirely and then the exact same thing happend." He doesn't want to deal with an RMA or anything so he just gave them to me to deal with and said I can just keep them and decide if I want to RMA them. Can I RMA the sticks easily?

    And yes he did try other RAM in those said slots that stopped working and they were indeed not reading the other known working RAM.


    He also said he didn't even run the RAM at the EPP Rated timing and voltages, just standard JDEC 5-5-5-18 1.8v
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2009
  24. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    You should be ok doing the RMA

    Start the RMA here
     
    boomstik360 says thanks.
  25. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,252 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Alright thank you very much Sean!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)