• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mushkin Support Thread

Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
170 (0.06/day)
Likes
22
Location
Jordan MN
System Name Play Toy
Processor I7 920 OC 21*166 , Voltage CPU 1.11875 Stepping is D0
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer Xtreme REV 2
Memory 12 Gig Mushkin Red-Lines @1664 MHz, Timings 7 9 7 25 1 N, QPI 1.35 Dram 1.66
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 260
Storage (2) 750 Seagates and (2) 1.5 Seagates All Sata 4 external HD's
Display(s) 24 inch Wide Screen LCD by LG
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Sound Max on MB
Power Supply Thermaltake 750
Software W7 Pro 64 bit
I would go for the 998691 Redlines, 6-7-6-18 1T @ DDR3-1600, and they usually overclock nicely.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820226050

Let me know if you need settings to get you going.
I got the memory from UPS yesterday late afternoon, installed this installed this AM. I put in your suggested settings of 6 7 6 18 1N QPI at 1.325 and Dram at 1.64 19*200 running at 3.8 GHz and memory is running at 1603, something my old memory would not do with a dram of 1.64. With the old memory I had to run the Dram at 1.70 to get to 1603MHz

Truly this memory is outstanding I get a Windows index of 7.9 out od 7.9 for the memory truly outstanding

Have a good day and thanks for helping me
Dave
Master Sgt. USAF Retired
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
170 (0.06/day)
Likes
22
Location
Jordan MN
System Name Play Toy
Processor I7 920 OC 21*166 , Voltage CPU 1.11875 Stepping is D0
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer Xtreme REV 2
Memory 12 Gig Mushkin Red-Lines @1664 MHz, Timings 7 9 7 25 1 N, QPI 1.35 Dram 1.66
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 260
Storage (2) 750 Seagates and (2) 1.5 Seagates All Sata 4 external HD's
Display(s) 24 inch Wide Screen LCD by LG
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Sound Max on MB
Power Supply Thermaltake 750
Software W7 Pro 64 bit
Sean I have question concerning this new memory, What ate the highest MHZ you have seen on these sticks and what were the QPI/Dram settings
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
17
Location
southern ontario
Processor Intel 6700K
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z170 Gamming 7
Cooling Corsaid H115i
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB F4-2800C15Q-32GVR
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970
Storage Samsung 950 pro 312 gb
Display(s) 24" Benq FP241W
Case Corsair 750D
Power Supply EVGA 750 G2
Mouse Corsair M65 pro
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10 64 bit premium
I very recently bought this set of memory MUSHKIN Redline Ascent 6GB(3x2GB) 240-pin XP3-12800 DDR3-1600MHz, (6-7-6-18) Triple Channel Kit (998692) and have finally built my i7 920DO system

Now the problem I'm having is this memory absolutely refuses to even boot with the specified timmings it won't even post at any voltage from 1.5 to 1.66 volts at that speed or lower at those timmings but it runs perfectly fine at 8,8,8, 20 at 1.64 volts at 1600 mhz. The motherboards a Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 and I'm running F7 bios. The newer bios says nothing about ram fixes only temperature fixes and is beta anyways.


What gives or is their a glitch with that board and tight timmings?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
170 (0.06/day)
Likes
22
Location
Jordan MN
System Name Play Toy
Processor I7 920 OC 21*166 , Voltage CPU 1.11875 Stepping is D0
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer Xtreme REV 2
Memory 12 Gig Mushkin Red-Lines @1664 MHz, Timings 7 9 7 25 1 N, QPI 1.35 Dram 1.66
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 260
Storage (2) 750 Seagates and (2) 1.5 Seagates All Sata 4 external HD's
Display(s) 24 inch Wide Screen LCD by LG
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Sound Max on MB
Power Supply Thermaltake 750
Software W7 Pro 64 bit
I have the same memory on an ASUS P6t Deluxe V2 and I am running at 1654 MHz with the 6 7 6 18 1T timings at 3.93 GHz
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
170 (0.06/day)
Likes
22
Location
Jordan MN
System Name Play Toy
Processor I7 920 OC 21*166 , Voltage CPU 1.11875 Stepping is D0
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer Xtreme REV 2
Memory 12 Gig Mushkin Red-Lines @1664 MHz, Timings 7 9 7 25 1 N, QPI 1.35 Dram 1.66
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 260
Storage (2) 750 Seagates and (2) 1.5 Seagates All Sata 4 external HD's
Display(s) 24 inch Wide Screen LCD by LG
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Sound Max on MB
Power Supply Thermaltake 750
Software W7 Pro 64 bit
Lowest timings

Sean, I was wondering what is the lowest timings yo have seen on someone using the Mushkin Redlines 6 7 6 18 which as you know are the normal timings is it possible to tighten the timings even more ? :)
 

DMF

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2008
Messages
121 (0.04/day)
Likes
8
Location
Atlanta
System Name Ungoliant
Processor E8400 @ 3.6 GHz/833
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling CPU & GPU: OEM case: thermo-control 90mm in, manual 120mm out
Memory 2x2GB Mushkin HP2-6400
Video Card(s) Powercolor PCS+ Radeon 4670
Storage 320GB WD RE3 (RAID1) + 1TB WD Caviar Green (RAID1)
Display(s) Viewsonic Q95 19" CRT @ 16*12
Case no-name 3688KL "PacMan" mid-tower w/ fan mods
Audio Device(s) M-Audio Revolution 7.1 (nice!)
Power Supply PC P&C 610W EPSV12
Software 64-bit Vista (eh..)
Benchmark Scores It's fast and quiet; who needs numbers?
So when should I start worrying about the second attempt at my rebate? Three more months and it will be a year...
Well, exactly one year since the rebate period and six months after I started the follow-up, I got a $20 check directly from Mushkin. Thank you Sean.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,489 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,148
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
I posted on the Conroe865PE thread, but in retrospect it might not have been the right place. I've decided to break this board out of retirement for use as a Windows Home Server. I currently have 2x1GB XP-4000 (DDR-500) that I already ran rock solid on this board before. Since I want to have as little lag as possible (due to pairing up with large green drives), I'd like to add another 2x1Gb set. I'll be underclocking the RAM, since I'm using an 800Mhz FSB CPU, so will I be ok just leaving the VDIMM and NB voltages at normal, or will the addition of a second set cause me to have to raise voltages a bit?
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
170 (0.06/day)
Likes
22
Location
Jordan MN
System Name Play Toy
Processor I7 920 OC 21*166 , Voltage CPU 1.11875 Stepping is D0
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer Xtreme REV 2
Memory 12 Gig Mushkin Red-Lines @1664 MHz, Timings 7 9 7 25 1 N, QPI 1.35 Dram 1.66
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 260
Storage (2) 750 Seagates and (2) 1.5 Seagates All Sata 4 external HD's
Display(s) 24 inch Wide Screen LCD by LG
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Sound Max on MB
Power Supply Thermaltake 750
Software W7 Pro 64 bit
When are Memory manufactures such as Mushkin going to be coming out with 1600 MHz 4 Gig DDR 3 memory
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,742 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,160
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
MSgt Super Sarge

They are Available

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=2010170147%2050001504%201052129233%201052315794%201052429371&name=DDR3%201600%20%28PC3%2012800%29

You have to check other places as well.

Unfortunately the 4GB Redline Kit isn't available
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
170 (0.06/day)
Likes
22
Location
Jordan MN
System Name Play Toy
Processor I7 920 OC 21*166 , Voltage CPU 1.11875 Stepping is D0
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer Xtreme REV 2
Memory 12 Gig Mushkin Red-Lines @1664 MHz, Timings 7 9 7 25 1 N, QPI 1.35 Dram 1.66
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 260
Storage (2) 750 Seagates and (2) 1.5 Seagates All Sata 4 external HD's
Display(s) 24 inch Wide Screen LCD by LG
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Sound Max on MB
Power Supply Thermaltake 750
Software W7 Pro 64 bit

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,742 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,160
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
i am unsure what the maximum amt of ram you can use on a x58 system but I believe it's 12GB meaning occupying all 6 slots with 2GB sticks.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
170 (0.06/day)
Likes
22
Location
Jordan MN
System Name Play Toy
Processor I7 920 OC 21*166 , Voltage CPU 1.11875 Stepping is D0
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer Xtreme REV 2
Memory 12 Gig Mushkin Red-Lines @1664 MHz, Timings 7 9 7 25 1 N, QPI 1.35 Dram 1.66
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 260
Storage (2) 750 Seagates and (2) 1.5 Seagates All Sata 4 external HD's
Display(s) 24 inch Wide Screen LCD by LG
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Sound Max on MB
Power Supply Thermaltake 750
Software W7 Pro 64 bit
i am unsure what the maximum amt of ram you can use on a x58 system but I believe it's 12GB meaning occupying all 6 slots with 2GB sticks.
On my Board If I use 12800 memory I can only install 6 gig three 2 gig sticks of 1600MHz according to the manual it says I can only install due to Intel definition DDR-3 1600 are supported for 1 DIMM per channel. The Manual then goes on to say ASUS exclusively provides 2 DDR 3 -1600 DIMM Support for each memory channel
Does this mean on an ASUS Board I can fill the other channel with 3 more sticks of redline memory that matches what I have now to get 12 gig of memory

I currently am running three 2 gig sicks in DIMM Slots A1 B1 and C1.
I know there are plans to make 4 gig sticks as the MB I have will support up to 24 Gig of Memory

Are there any manufactures making individual 4 gig sticks compliant with Intel specs for a 1366 MB ?
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
74 (0.02/day)
Likes
33
Yes you can put 12GB of Redlines in your mobo, I've have a number of people doing it with great success. All the x58 mobos seem to have very little difficulty with 12GB.

If you do go with 12GB I do recommend that you direct a fan at the ram to help with cooling or get one of those clip on style ram coolers with fans in them.

Your not seeing a lot of 4GB sticks right now because they are mega $
When the price gets more reasonable we'll have them. :)
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
74 (0.02/day)
Likes
33
Sorry, thought you already sent them in for RMA.
I just asked the office and they said the closest thing they have now is a 2x1GB kit of CAS 5 1066. Unfortunately they no longer make the ICs for the 1150ram that you have. :(
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
170 (0.06/day)
Likes
22
Location
Jordan MN
System Name Play Toy
Processor I7 920 OC 21*166 , Voltage CPU 1.11875 Stepping is D0
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer Xtreme REV 2
Memory 12 Gig Mushkin Red-Lines @1664 MHz, Timings 7 9 7 25 1 N, QPI 1.35 Dram 1.66
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 260
Storage (2) 750 Seagates and (2) 1.5 Seagates All Sata 4 external HD's
Display(s) 24 inch Wide Screen LCD by LG
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Sound Max on MB
Power Supply Thermaltake 750
Software W7 Pro 64 bit
Yes you can put 12GB of Redlines in your mobo, I've have a number of people doing it with great success. All the x58 mobos seem to have very little difficulty with 12GB.

If you do go with 12GB I do recommend that you direct a fan at the ram to help with cooling or get one of those clip on style ram coolers with fans in them.

Your not seeing a lot of 4GB sticks right now because they are mega $
When the price gets more reasonable we'll have them. :)
Thank you I am going to wait as I just got my new redlines about 3 weeks ago, plus they are the ones with heat spreaders so I may have difficult time placing another 3 in the board. I can live with 6 gig of memory. I will wait on the 4 gig sticks by the time te come out with a decent price I most likely will have new system in mind.

I suppose I could get the 998691 they should fit with the 988692 stick I have in board
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
74 (0.02/day)
Likes
33
Company policy is to not discuss IC's
What I can tell you is that most of those sticks top out at 1120 - 1140.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,489 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,148
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
Bump

Anyone? MushkinSean?

I posted on the Conroe865PE thread, but in retrospect it might not have been the right place. I've decided to break this board out of retirement for use as a Windows Home Server. I currently have 2x1GB XP-4000 (DDR-500) that I already ran rock solid on this board before. Since I want to have as little lag as possible (due to pairing up with large green drives), I'd like to add another 2x1Gb set. I'll be underclocking the RAM, since I'm using an 800Mhz FSB CPU, so will I be ok just leaving the VDIMM and NB voltages at normal, or will the addition of a second set cause me to have to raise voltages a bit?
 

MushkinSean

Mushkin Rep
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
74 (0.02/day)
Likes
33
You should be ok with the vDIMM at normal, you'll probably need to bump up the NB voltage to help the NB stabilize 4 DIMMs.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,489 (2.74/day)
Likes
13,148
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
Thank-you Sean! I appreciate it.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
170 (0.06/day)
Likes
22
Location
Jordan MN
System Name Play Toy
Processor I7 920 OC 21*166 , Voltage CPU 1.11875 Stepping is D0
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer Xtreme REV 2
Memory 12 Gig Mushkin Red-Lines @1664 MHz, Timings 7 9 7 25 1 N, QPI 1.35 Dram 1.66
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 260
Storage (2) 750 Seagates and (2) 1.5 Seagates All Sata 4 external HD's
Display(s) 24 inch Wide Screen LCD by LG
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Sound Max on MB
Power Supply Thermaltake 750
Software W7 Pro 64 bit
Here are my bench marks for Mushkin with a overclock of 3.85 on the CPu sing 19 as the multiplier. I used the benchmarks contained in Everest Ultimate




 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,378 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,291
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
hey sean i had a question i have an older kit that came during the release of i7

its a 3x2GB kit

1600mhz

9-9-9-25

and im pretty sure one of the sticks is gone..my system has started to get wicked unstable and sometimes when i reboot when im back into windows she will only show up with 4GB instead of 6...the problem is i dont have the packaging anymore im also relatively low on funds is their

A any way i can RMA?

and B. how much would it be do you think?