1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MUST get MS Visual FoxPro / MS SQL Server to run on laptop - Life/Death importance!!

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Black Panther, Apr 25, 2009.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,897 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,163
    Apologies for the fussy title - this is very important for me because it concerns work (money) and family time.
    'Thanks' will be given to every reply below ;)

    Please reply if you happen to know anything about "Microsoft SQL Server", "Microsoft Visual Studio", "Microsoft Visual FoxPro".... or anything else I might be missing out...

    Starting 2009, we changed our company's accounting and database software and purchased a program called Visual Integrated Business Software (VIBS).

    This software seems to be based on SQL and apparently needs both Microsoft SQL Server and Microsoft Visual FoxPro to function.
    (Now I'm an absolute n00b here -- I barely know what 'SQL' means or what 'Microsoft Visual FoxPro' might be -- I'm currently googling, reading and learning...)

    What I'm sure of is that:
    1) Microsoft SQL Server had to be installed on all computers to run software in question (they installed MS SQL Server 2005); and
    2) When one clicks the VIBS icon, it starts off with a blank window of Microsoft Visual FoxPro before loading the actual accounts software.

    We have the program running fine and networked on 2 desktop computers at work (using the hard drive of one computer on XP Pro as a 'server/network' drive... while the other pc accessing it runs on XP Home). Both OS are x86.

    When it came to installing the software (to run as an un-networked backup) they had no problem with dad's laptop (32 bit XP, single core...) but it just refuses to load on my own laptop (see Guenhwyvar in system specs).

    I keep getting the following errors, not in the VIBS itself but in the Microsoft Visual FoxPro window - thus preventing the VIBS software from starting:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Last time their tech came over, he spent 3 hours working on my laptop and I saw him running the software successfully on it. Only when I went back home, I started getting the above errors immediately on my first attempt.

    :confused:

    Any help or advice please?
    I need to be able to work from home rather than from the work-place during the afternoons in order to keep up with everything! :ohwell:
     
  2. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,923 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    929
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Is the "SQL Server" service running?
     
    Black Panther says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,897 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,163
    Yes.
     
  4. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,897 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,163
    Thanks just the same, guys.

    We managed to find a solution - we had to install the odbc databases through the odbcad32.exe in Windows' SysWOW64 directory and not as we had been doing through the Control Panel Administrative Tools... wth...

    Anyway, all works fine now.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)