• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden

Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
12,062 (3.83/day)
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden is a hybrid mix between turn-based strategy and a free-roam RPG. While it takes ideas from the basic concoction of strategy games, it sets itself apart from the group with a nice sprinkling of compelling story and some truly bizarre and unique characters.

Show full review
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
5,350 (2.39/day)
Location
USA
System Name Paladius Tacet
Processor Ryzen 5600x @ Ryzen Master @ Auto OC
Motherboard MSI X570 Tomahawk
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 DUO
Memory G.Skill 2x16 3600 14-14-14-34 Dual Rank
Video Card(s) Navi 6800 + Smart Access Memory Enabled
Storage 2TB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XF243Y 23.8" 0.5ms IPS 165hz 1080p
Case Corsair 110Q Silent + NZXT Aer-P exhaust fan
Power Supply EVGA 700w Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero SE
Keyboard Logitech Cherry Mx Red
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 Single of 618 3dMark Time Spy, 15,385 graphics score, Firestrike 37k 57.2 ns on RAM
More games should have an integrated graphics preset, that is a great idea.

the 62 fps cap is a little bit of an odd number, lol
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
12,062 (3.83/day)
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
the 62 fps cap is a little bit of an odd number, lol
It's weird how common it is to turn VSync off and find yourself sat at 61 or 62 FPS these days. I dunno what magic some of these games are crafted with that churns out that particular number to get stuck at.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
8,490 (4.21/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
The expanding awareness circle could mean when you get close, the enemy simply becomes more alert? Imagine yourself on a patrol and suddenly hearing something of feeling someone around.
Idk how well that works in practice, but that's my feeling about that circle getting bigger when you get close.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
12,062 (3.83/day)
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
The expanding awareness circle could mean when you get close, the enemy simply becomes more alert? Imagine yourself on a patrol and suddenly hearing something of feeling someone around.
Idk how well that works in practice, but that's my feeling about that circle getting bigger when you get close.
It makes that circle somewhat pointless though. As a player you will never ever reach the edge of the initial circle since it changes as soon as you get within a few meters. So why bother making it that small in the first place? Why not make it the larger size by default?
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
8,490 (4.21/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
It makes that circle somewhat pointless though. As a player you will never ever reach the edge of the initial circle since it changes as soon as you get within a few meters. So why bother making it that small in the first place? Why not make it the larger size by default?
Keep you on your toes?
Who knows, maybe they wanted to give you the ability to get better at stealth so that if you got good enough the circle wouldn't expand anymore? But yeah, if all it does is make things unnecessarily awkward, it should probably be revised. Maybe in a day-o patch, since the game wasn't released when you reviewed it?
 
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
1,007 (0.26/day)
Location
Essex, England
System Name Dialysis Machine
Processor Ryzen 3900X OC 4350Mhz @ 1.25v
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
Cooling Custom EKWB for CPU, VRM's & Dual GPU's with 2x 480mm Rads
Memory Gskill TridentZ 3600 Mhz C17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega64 Nitro+ x2 Crossfire
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 2TB x 2 Raid0 & WD Black 4TB x2 Raid0
Display(s) MSI MPG27QC
Case Corsair 1000D
Audio Device(s) onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1300w PSU
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Great review, I've had this game on my radar for sometime, so will definitely look into it. The fact it does borrow from Xcom just makes it all the better for me.
 
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
1,007 (0.26/day)
Location
Essex, England
System Name Dialysis Machine
Processor Ryzen 3900X OC 4350Mhz @ 1.25v
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
Cooling Custom EKWB for CPU, VRM's & Dual GPU's with 2x 480mm Rads
Memory Gskill TridentZ 3600 Mhz C17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega64 Nitro+ x2 Crossfire
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 2TB x 2 Raid0 & WD Black 4TB x2 Raid0
Display(s) MSI MPG27QC
Case Corsair 1000D
Audio Device(s) onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1300w PSU
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
12,062 (3.83/day)
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
It is indeed UE4. I used to mention game engines in every review but people didn't really care.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
8,490 (4.21/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
It is indeed UE4. I used to mention game engines in every review but people didn't really care.
Fps seems rather low for a UE4 based title. Any idea why?
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
12,062 (3.83/day)
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
Fps seems rather low for a UE4 based title. Any idea why?
Didn't seem out of the ordinary to me. There's a 62FPS cap in place so that's preventing a true idea of what max FPS could be. I'd also posit that optimisation is probably not cutting edge right out of the gate.

EDIT: When you have a cap in place it really skews the average and min statistics since the variation is tiny over a certain period.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Messages
101 (0.03/day)
Location
Glossop, UK
System Name Wolf Command
Processor 6700K
Motherboard EVGA Z170 FTW
Cooling EK Custom GPU block + Corsair H60
Memory 16Gb DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengence
Video Card(s) Sapphire Fury X Custome WC
Storage 1x Samsung M.2 128Gb, 1x Intel 256Gb M.2 1x Seagate 500Gb Hybrid
Display(s) Dell 2417H
Case S340
Audio Device(s) OB
Power Supply EVGA 750W
Software Windows 10
This game looks great, I may wait for it to get a discount first though.
 
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
1,007 (0.26/day)
Location
Essex, England
System Name Dialysis Machine
Processor Ryzen 3900X OC 4350Mhz @ 1.25v
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
Cooling Custom EKWB for CPU, VRM's & Dual GPU's with 2x 480mm Rads
Memory Gskill TridentZ 3600 Mhz C17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega64 Nitro+ x2 Crossfire
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 2TB x 2 Raid0 & WD Black 4TB x2 Raid0
Display(s) MSI MPG27QC
Case Corsair 1000D
Audio Device(s) onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1300w PSU
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Didn't seem out of the ordinary to me. There's a 62FPS cap in place so that's preventing a true idea of what max FPS could be. I'd also posit that optimisation is probably not cutting edge right out of the gate.

EDIT: When you have a cap in place it really skews the average and min statistics since the variation is tiny over a certain period.
have you peaked into the config files to see if you can remove the cap?
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
12,062 (3.83/day)
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
have you peaked into the config files to see if you can remove the cap?
There's a config file in %APPDATA%\ZoneUE4\Saved\Config\WindowsNoEditor that you can use to change the cap from 62 to whatever you want. My issue is the fact you have to change this at all and why it's not tied to VSync being on or off, or the screen refresh rate in the game's menu.

It's easy enough to rerun the performance analysis, but I like to make a point to developers not to make stupid decisions.
 
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
1,007 (0.26/day)
Location
Essex, England
System Name Dialysis Machine
Processor Ryzen 3900X OC 4350Mhz @ 1.25v
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
Cooling Custom EKWB for CPU, VRM's & Dual GPU's with 2x 480mm Rads
Memory Gskill TridentZ 3600 Mhz C17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega64 Nitro+ x2 Crossfire
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 2TB x 2 Raid0 & WD Black 4TB x2 Raid0
Display(s) MSI MPG27QC
Case Corsair 1000D
Audio Device(s) onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1300w PSU
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 64Bit
There's a config file in %APPDATA%\ZoneUE4\Saved\Config\WindowsNoEditor that you can use to change the cap from 62 to whatever you want. My issue is the fact you have to change this at all and why it's not tied to VSync being on or off, or the screen refresh rate in the game's menu.

It's easy enough to rerun the performance analysis, but I like to make a point to developers not to make stupid decisions.
Totally, and I am with you on that thought track, I don't know why Devs decide to cap FPS, my hate is when they tie game speed to the frame rate, it just feels lazy.

I was just curious how it performed if you removed the limit. maybe the RPG/moving element is tied to the frame rate?
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
12,062 (3.83/day)
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
Totally, and I am with you on that thought track, I don't know why Devs decide to cap FPS, my hate is when they tie game speed to the frame rate, it just feels lazy.

I was just curious how it performed if you removed the limit. maybe the RPG/moving element is tied to the frame rate?
I'll rerun the benchmark tonight uncapped and add the slide.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
8,490 (4.21/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Didn't seem out of the ordinary to me. There's a 62FPS cap in place so that's preventing a true idea of what max FPS could be. I'd also posit that optimisation is probably not cutting edge right out of the gate.

EDIT: When you have a cap in place it really skews the average and min statistics since the variation is tiny over a certain period.
Oh yes, the fps cap. I read it in the review, but forgot about it.
I was used to UE4 titles having higher frame rates, but a frame cap will kick that in the nuts. Thanks.

Totally, and I am with you on that thought track, I don't know why Devs decide to cap FPS, my hate is when they tie game speed to the frame rate, it just feels lazy.

I was just curious how it performed if you removed the limit. maybe the RPG/moving element is tied to the frame rate?
I limit the fps myself (adaptive vsync) when I can. If the title doesn't need high fps, why crunch frames you won't see? You can save some Watts that way and maybe allow the fan on the GPU to take a break ;)
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
12,062 (3.83/day)
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
Oh yes, the fps cap. I read it in the review, but forgot about it.
I was used to UE4 titles having higher frame rates, but a frame cap will kick that in the nuts. Thanks.


I limit the fps myself (adaptive vsync) when I can. If the title doesn't need high fps, why crunch frames you won't see? You can save some Watts that way and maybe allow the fan on the GPU to take a break ;)
Which is why as a developer you either add a "hz" option in your resolution picker (1080p60hz, 1080p75hz, 1080p120hz etc), or you add an FPS cap slider which edits the config file for you. It's very very little work for a UI that already has these things baked in (Source: I can do it it Unity).
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
8,490 (4.21/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Which is why as a developer you either add a "hz" option in your resolution picker (1080p60hz, 1080p75hz, 1080p120hz etc), or you add an FPS cap slider which edits the config file for you. It's very very little work for a UI that already has these things baked in (Source: I can do it it Unity).
You still have to test all of these though. If you know your title doesn't need high fps, sticking to 60 and cutting costs is at least understandable.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
8,490 (4.21/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
no comparison from low end to high end GPU?
To show what? A 1060 gets 57fps maxxed out in a game locked at 62fps. That already tells you you can play on anything at toned down settings. And that a RTX 2080Ti won't give you anything more at 1080p ;)
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
12,062 (3.83/day)
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
no comparison from low end to high end GPU?
I don't have a pile of graphics cards - game reviewer =/= hardware reviewer.
 
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
1,007 (0.26/day)
Location
Essex, England
System Name Dialysis Machine
Processor Ryzen 3900X OC 4350Mhz @ 1.25v
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
Cooling Custom EKWB for CPU, VRM's & Dual GPU's with 2x 480mm Rads
Memory Gskill TridentZ 3600 Mhz C17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega64 Nitro+ x2 Crossfire
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 2TB x 2 Raid0 & WD Black 4TB x2 Raid0
Display(s) MSI MPG27QC
Case Corsair 1000D
Audio Device(s) onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1300w PSU
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 64Bit
I don't have a pile of graphics cards - game reviewer =/= hardware reviewer.
Well that's not just good enough.... I demand the review contains every graphics card, every ram speed and every CPU.

A combination of all as well. Then at least 20 benchmarks per combination to get the mean per combo,

Should only be a few hundred combos right...

:laugh::p
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
8,490 (4.21/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Well that's not just good enough.... I demand the review contains every graphics card, every ram speed and every CPU.

A combination of all as well. Then at least 20 benchmarks per combination to get the mean per combo,

Should only be a few hundred combos right...

:laugh::p
I believe that would be a few hundred video cards, let alone combos.

But you are too easily pleased. I also demand testing with 2, 4, 8, 16 and 32 GB RAM, motherboards having high-end and entry-level chipsets and for games with an online component using 10, 100 and 1,000 Mbit connections. Also dual and triple monitor setups as a bare minimum.
 
Top