1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

my 3dmark06 score

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by savillm, May 28, 2007.

  1. savillm

    savillm

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Exeter, UK
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Like I said in the other thread, your system is a very, very bad bottleneck. Try 3dmark05 and see what you get.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. savillm

    savillm

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Exeter, UK

    so whats the cheapest way to get rid of the bottleneck?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Overclock your CPU.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,562 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Get the AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ that you where asking in the other thread you made and OC it
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Exceededgoku

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    465 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Stamford, UK
    QFT, that single core is holding you back soo much its not even funny. You should get about 8000 with dual core and game performance will improve (and you can oc the X2 as well :))
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    x2 3800 and overclock it to 2.8 and u will get arround 8.5 9k then
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Grings

    Grings

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    333
    Location:
    Blighty
  9. savillm

    savillm

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Exeter, UK
    but was it a good score for the set up that i got?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    x2 3600 is only $59, plus a good motherboard and you surpass what I have, check the system specs.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    nah man, gettin 6k with a 8800 is kinda sad imo. you definitely need some dual core power in there bro. Is your cpu oc'd at all??? you have a decent cooler so it should be good for around 2.7gig at least.

    Maybe try and pick up a 3800x2 or if you can afford it grab a opty 165. it will add heaps to that score of yours...

    What is your 3dmark 05 score, that will be ok with a single core cpu.......
     
  12. savillm

    savillm

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Exeter, UK
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Lt_JWS

    Lt_JWS

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,007 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    I'd just overclock the CPU... those 4000+'s always overclocked really well in general, if your luck you should hit 3ghz+ :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,338 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    have alook in my thread in sig, thats what you should be getting with a better cpu :cool:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    That's bad. An 8600GTS can do that. Overclocking that 4000+ will help, but you really need a total system upgrade to go with your very powerful GPU.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. mas0n New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    dallas
    A complete system upgrade may be a little much, I'd start by seeing what kind of memory bandwidth you are getting with 4 double-sided sticks of RAM on that board. I bet it is way low, probably running in single channel, at PC2700 speeds, and with terrible latencies.

    Personally if in your position I would OC that CPU as far as she would go, then sell all 4 sticks of RAM on Heatware or eBay and buy a 2GB kit so long as you can break close to even in that trade.

    You score way too low in 3dMark05. IIRC I think I score ~15K (been a while) and 3dMark05 is not only single threaded, but the CPU tests do not affect the overall 3DMark score like they do in 06.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2007
  17. i think you should oc that cpu a bit, my 4000 and 2x7900's pwn your system i know you can get what i'm getting and i'm not even getting that good of a score for todays systems

    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    It depends on how much he can get for that rig. An X2 3600+, a DFI INFINITY NF SLI-M2 motherboard and 2GB of DDR2-800 would cost about...$237 shipped from newegg. He should be able to get at least $130 out of his old stuff. So, for not much more than $100 he could seriously upgrade his computer. He already has the freezer64, so that X2 3600+ will hit 3.0GHz in all likelihood.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16813136021
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16820231098
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16819103046


    Now, he should certainly check his bios first to see if anything is running below spec. Get everest and post the results from memory read, write, copy and latency.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. KJ Guest

    my 06 score would probably be inbarresing low...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)