• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

My 4870 stopped working

Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi guys, I own a 4870 and it used to heat up a lot, the only solution available was to increase fan speed, but dear god, it sounded very loud even with my headphones on. So I surfed the net and people recommended aftermarket cooler, the Accelero S1 R2 in special, so I bought it and installed, after a few days, when playing CoD4, the loading screen messed up (like whole screens of artifacts), I restarted my PC, and Vista loaded up but with Standard VGA and CC said it didn't find any ATI compatible card, so I'm like wtf :eek:, but my screen was still connected to my 4870. So next thing is I shut it down and now it never turns up, my MSI motherboard stops at the light where it initializes the display card. Someone please help me. I don't live in USA,my whole rig was brought from there. :(
 

boogah

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2008
Messages
887 (0.26/day)
Likes
139
Location
Houston
System Name Core i7 WS
Processor i7 920 D0 @ 4.2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6T WS Professional
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme RT1366
Memory 6gb 3x2gb Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) Firepro V8700
Storage Velociraptor 300gb in raid0
Display(s) 2x Dell Ultrasharp 24"
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) onboard sound
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#2
Your 4870 is dead unfortunately. What country are you in ?
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,816 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,802
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#3
Perhaps not - is the aftermarket heatsink loose? Did you monitor the temps after you installed it? Perhaps there's something else wrong with the installation like excess thermal paste, etc...
 

boogah

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2008
Messages
887 (0.26/day)
Likes
139
Location
Houston
System Name Core i7 WS
Processor i7 920 D0 @ 4.2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6T WS Professional
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme RT1366
Memory 6gb 3x2gb Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) Firepro V8700
Storage Velociraptor 300gb in raid0
Display(s) 2x Dell Ultrasharp 24"
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) onboard sound
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#4
My 4870 died with the same symptoms but there was a pop... What was the pop ? The VRM were overheated and burnt causing too much voltage to go to the GPU and thus killing the GPU.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#5
Well, last night I applied some ARTIC thermal paste into the VRM and the Ram's :(. What do you mean with "pop", btw I was monitoring my temps, they were like 60 for core 70 for both vrm and memory.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#7
Hold on, doesn't the 4870 have this magical thing that if it's too hot, it shuts down by itself, and I live in Panama just for reference.
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#8
ARTIC thermal paste which one ?
 

MKmods

Case Mod Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
5,697 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,735
Location
Nevada
System Name Crossflow III
Processor AMD 965 (4.04Ghz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Air
Memory 4 gigs Mushkin 7-7-7-20@1T
Video Card(s) single 9800GT
Storage Raptor 150's in Raid0
Display(s) LG Flatron 24"
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) AuzenTech X-Raider W/OP637
Power Supply Custom modded Corsair 750HX
Software Win 7 64/Solaris Utility
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06--21963 so far
#9
by the way, what program were you using to check the temps?

Acceleros RULE! (but are worthless if case airflow sucks)
 

boogah

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2008
Messages
887 (0.26/day)
Likes
139
Location
Houston
System Name Core i7 WS
Processor i7 920 D0 @ 4.2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6T WS Professional
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme RT1366
Memory 6gb 3x2gb Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) Firepro V8700
Storage Velociraptor 300gb in raid0
Display(s) 2x Dell Ultrasharp 24"
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) onboard sound
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#10
haha no magical thing.... best solution is to get a buddy in the US to do an RMA on it for you.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,816 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,802
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#11
Well, last night I applied some ARTIC thermal paste into the VRM and the Ram's :(.
Most thermal past (Arctic being one) is electrically conductive. If you got any on metal contacts, etc, you could have a short.

If that's the case, it doesn't mean for sure you've fried your card. With some cleaning, it may come back. There's another scenario where you may have ruined the BIOS, and a flash can get it back.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#12
I think it was the Artic Cooling MX-2. I used Everest, GPU-Z and Ati Tray Tools. I swear I really saw the auto-shut down thing.

I think the thermal paste was non-electrical conductive and how can the BIOS be damaged? :S
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,816 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,802
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#13
I think the thermal paste was non-electrical conductive and how can the BIOS be damaged? :S
If the wrong thing was shorted... but MX-2 is supposedly not conductive. Did you double check the installation and make sure everything is secure - the heatsink it evenly pressed on the GPU core?
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#14
Well the basic story is: I installed it last night, I double checked the screws on the heatsink, I took off the paste and put back heatsinks, but I only did that and I fell asleep, right now I'm working (tech/repair) and I created new thread in front of the customer, I was just trying to get some ideas from you so I know what to do tonight.

EDIT: Btw, here's the paste http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835186020
 

MKmods

Case Mod Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
5,697 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,735
Location
Nevada
System Name Crossflow III
Processor AMD 965 (4.04Ghz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Air
Memory 4 gigs Mushkin 7-7-7-20@1T
Video Card(s) single 9800GT
Storage Raptor 150's in Raid0
Display(s) LG Flatron 24"
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) AuzenTech X-Raider W/OP637
Power Supply Custom modded Corsair 750HX
Software Win 7 64/Solaris Utility
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06--21963 so far
#15
have you tried the card in a different comp yet? (just in case its a driver prob)

did I read it right, you put MX 2 on the VRMs and Rams? (how were they able to stay?)
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#16
I truly doubt it's a driver issue, it doesn't even reach to POST, my MSI board tells me it stopped when it initialized the display card (through some leds).
 

boogah

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2008
Messages
887 (0.26/day)
Likes
139
Location
Houston
System Name Core i7 WS
Processor i7 920 D0 @ 4.2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6T WS Professional
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme RT1366
Memory 6gb 3x2gb Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) Firepro V8700
Storage Velociraptor 300gb in raid0
Display(s) 2x Dell Ultrasharp 24"
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) onboard sound
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#17
yah like i said before the GPU chip itself is fried.
 

MKmods

Case Mod Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
5,697 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,735
Location
Nevada
System Name Crossflow III
Processor AMD 965 (4.04Ghz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Air
Memory 4 gigs Mushkin 7-7-7-20@1T
Video Card(s) single 9800GT
Storage Raptor 150's in Raid0
Display(s) LG Flatron 24"
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) AuzenTech X-Raider W/OP637
Power Supply Custom modded Corsair 750HX
Software Win 7 64/Solaris Utility
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06--21963 so far
#18
I truly doubt it's a driver issue, it doesn't even reach to POST, my MSI board tells me it stopped when it initialized the display card (through some leds).
like the others have said its probably dead. But its cant hurt to cover all the bases, better safe than sorry, etc...

PS: what PS are you using?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,394 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,031
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#20
Well, last night I applied some ARTIC thermal paste into the VRM and the Ram's :(. What do you mean with "pop", btw I was monitoring my temps, they were like 60 for core 70 for both vrm and memory.
Do you have heatsinks on all of the ram chips and vrm's?
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#21
Yeah, I covered them all with the thermal paste, I seriously don't know what happen, temps were normal, just the thermal paste..... :confused:
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#22
Did you put the little black spacers on the S1 before fitting it?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,394 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,031
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#23
Yeah, I covered them all with the thermal paste, I seriously don't know what happen, temps were normal, just the thermal paste..... :confused:
So you just put thermal paste on them?! That will not help with temps at all and most likely will make them worse! If you are using the stock cooler, it needs to use the pads that came on it. Most likely there is no contact between the heatsink and the chips now. If you are using an aftermarket cooler the chips need to have copper or aluminum heatsinks on them.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#24
I don't know what spacers are you talking about, can you please post a pic?

Well I did make sure my heatsinks made contact with the VRM's and the RAM's, I thought the paste would help conduct the heat.

EDIT: Oh no! lol When I meant "just the thermal paste", I was referring to the only change I made.

EDIT Again: What I'm really concerned is if the paste could had short my card, it was applied on top of the VRM's and Heatsinks. I'm pretty sure the temperatures were normal. I'm just worried lol
 
Last edited:

MKmods

Case Mod Guru
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
5,697 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,735
Location
Nevada
System Name Crossflow III
Processor AMD 965 (4.04Ghz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Air
Memory 4 gigs Mushkin 7-7-7-20@1T
Video Card(s) single 9800GT
Storage Raptor 150's in Raid0
Display(s) LG Flatron 24"
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) AuzenTech X-Raider W/OP637
Power Supply Custom modded Corsair 750HX
Software Win 7 64/Solaris Utility
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06--21963 so far
#25
MX2 is not conductive so you should be safe. But it is NOT an adhesive either so it can not attach heatsinks to the memory either.

when you mount the Accelero there are 4 small spacers that go between the Accelero cooler and video card, usually mounted by sticky stuff. (they keep the mount square to the surface of the GPU for proper contact)