• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My chromebook 11 is lagging/slow when charging.Will Throttlestop help?

chloedanser

Hi.I just downloaded Throttlestop to my chromebook 11.Im a beginner in the programs,hardware,troubleshooting,advanced computer knowledge.I was originally searching for an answer as to why my laptop suddenly began lagging and slowed down when i have it plugged in&charging.When not charging its much faster but quick to overheat and battery use seems to have increased quicker(when not charging).Eventually i ended up @Throttlestop and downloaded it.I have no clue how to use the program or if itll help troubleshoot,ie;cool down CPU,etc..I do play games for hours daily.Thank you for any info.:)

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
ThrottleStop is a program for Windows. Does it run on your Chromebook?

I work at a school and we have many Chromebooks. The go-to solution is factory resetting it for odd issues like this. Please see this support article from Google to factory reset it: https://support.google.com/chromebook/answer/183084?hl=en

Pay close attention to the section on backing up any local data to either Google Drive or an external storage device like a flash drive. The factory reset will wipe all local data.

Hope this helps.

System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory G.Skill 16GB 3600 C18
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
When used on battery power alone, it runs in power saving mode and therefore generally cooler as it won't run at full speed.
When plugged in to mains power it attempts to run at full speed and throttles due to temperatures being too high, in my opinion.