• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

My Computer

Kade

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
95 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#1
Right ok sorry ive ask so many questions about my computer but now im putting it straight i bought all the parts to build myself a computer i did this at christmas the parts i bought where:

Cpu: AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Retail AM2
Case: Alien 2 Custom Gaming Case Black
Ram: 1GB PC4200 Elixir DDR2 SDRAM
Extra Fan: Xlience Red Wing Case Fan 8cm
Mobo: Asrock ALiveSATA2-GLAN Socket AM2
Graf Card: nVidia Geforce 7600GT 256MB PCI-E
CD-R DVD-R: Sony 16x DVD ROM Drive Sliver
HardDrive (Old one from old computer) 200GB

then i assembled turn it on and installed windows then put in motherboard disk did the drive the n the grap card disk did that then i went on mobo's website and did the driver updates and went on nvidia and did the same.

well that what i really did before it began well there was installing all virus software and stuff but did i miss stuff out or may i off done something wrong. My question is : is my computer fit to be a gaming computer what do i need to add please anything my computer doesnt seem to be proformaing the way i imagined it is there anything i can try doing.

also how can decease the amount on processes it seem to many and i can get rid of all my one's yet there still like 24 left.

Thank you if you can help me in anyway i paid around 350 for the computer was it worth it i just wanted it to be like all the others i can play allmost anygame i can run programs fast but it doesnt seem like it i dont know.. hope you can help

Kade
 

SlipSlice

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
770 (0.18/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
Processor AMD ATHLON 64 SAN DIEGO 3700@2.42GHZ
Motherboard ASUS A8N5X
Cooling 1X80MM CASE FAN, 1X80MM CPU FAN, 2X120MM FANS(ONE TAKING AIR OUT..OTHER FOR HARDDRIVE
Memory 1.5 GIG, DDR400 CORSAIR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7900GS KO
Storage 160GIG WESTERN DIGITAL 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer 22' Widescreen
Case ROSEWILL CASE 5600 SERIES..2 BLUE LED CASE FANS
Audio Device(s) SOUND BLASTER LIVE 24 BIT!
Power Supply SPARKLE 400 WATT
Software WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION..its gr8/LOTS OF GAMES
#2
Its definately your graphics card probably, even though the 7600GT is a decent card.

Run 3DMARK 03, and 3DMARK 05, and tell me what you get.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
I have a 7600GT on a 939 3000+ chip, and I get very decent frame rates and use it for gaming, so you shouldn't have a problem at all. Although personally I would have gone for PC6400 RAM instead of PC4200 like you did, but that doesn't matter.

To be perfectly honest, as long as your game runs smoothly and you get atleast 30fps then it's running as it should. The human eye only needs 25fps to see smooth motion, but 30 puts less strain on the eye, and I'm guessing you get atleast that. So what's the problem?
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
Honestly, no, I've never used DDR2 and wouldn't really know where to start. I know other people on the site will know. There's a thread where someone asked what the best DDR2 memory is somewhere. Just do a search :)
 

Kade

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
95 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#8
ok well if my fps is running ok whats with the the jumpy gameplay sometime even those im also on 5-30 ping
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
ok well if my fps is running ok whats with the the jumpy gameplay sometime even those im also on 5-30 ping
I get that on CS:Source sometimes, it's probably server-side. I wouldn't worry too much. If you are getting it in non-online games then there's a problem.