1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My First Build

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Octavius, Jul 15, 2013.

  1. Octavius New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hello ladies and gentlemen,

    I hope that you are all doing well and enjoying the day. As the title states, I am going to conduct my first computer build and I would greatly appreciate any advice or feedback. Listed below, you will see the components that will be apart of this build. I am specifically carrying this build out in order to play FS9 (Flight Simulator 2004) on max settings with add-ons. Also, I would like to say hello in general to everyone here, as I am a new member here at techPowerUp.

    -CPU: AMD FX 6300 rated at 3.5 Ghz ($124.53)

    -GPU: EVGA Geforce GTX 650 1GB ($94.97) or should I get a EVGA 650ti ($139.97) instead or go up a level and just get the GTX 660?)

    -Hard Drive: WD 500GB at 6 Mb/s ($49.94)

    -CD drive: Already taken care of, going to salvage this off my old desktop

    -Case: Cool Master Elite 430 Mid Tower ATX case ($49.97)

    -Motherboard: MSI 760GM-P34 ($49.97) or the Asus M5A78L-M LX Plus AMD 760G ($59.97)

    -RAM: Kingston 4GB 1866Mhz CL 9 ($51.99)

    -PSU: Ultra 650 Watts ($49.97)

    There you go, that is my first build list. As stated earlier, I welcome any kind of advice as it would be greatly appreciated! I would also like to add that these prices are before taxes and the tax rate where I live is 13% (I hate the HST). I am looking to spend no more than $650 total. Thank you in advance for the help, I look forward to the replies.
     
  2. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,432 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,794
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I would change:

    650>650TI
    4GB1866>8GB1600
    PSU Ultra 650>Corsair/Antec 400-500w
     
  3. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
    I think you meant 6Gb/s? HDD don't actually operate that speed, that is the theoretical throughput of the SATA interface at peak performance. Between 40MB/sec - 120MB/sec is the reality of the average mechanical HDD. Don't be fooled by marketing.

    4GB, your system will be outdated before you begin. RAM is at it's cheapest I see no reason why 8GB isn't your minimum.


    760GM chipset is old, surely you can get a 880G chipset for a similar price?

    Ultra 650 Watts PSU, what is the brand? Is it Ultra "Junk".
     
  4. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,478 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    Hello mate, welcome to TPU, enjoy your stay.

    Have to agree-
    PSU-->corsair
    Ram-->4-8gb
    Gpu-->I'd say bump to the 660ti if you can afford it, can never have enough GPU power.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Octavius New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  6. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Ultras suck. Do not trust New Egg and Tiger Direct reviews. Use profession al reviews or Forum Members input. I had an Ultra 750 watt go poof quickly and have seen a few others. Use Seasonic or Corsair
     
    AlienIsGOD and Octavius say thanks.
  7. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,478 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068

    Agreed. On paper it looks about average, but considering the on unrecognisable brand and pricetag it isn't a good choice.

    This Thermaltake is a much better brand and a more realiable option for cheaper. http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=899124&CatId=1483

    Corsair is a good option too for a little more money, http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=7564403&CatId=1483
     
    Octavius says thanks.
  9. Octavius New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    You see, this is why I joined this forum. I was going through all of the threads and I saw post that were full of merit and explanation. Funny, I chose that same psu before you recommended it, great minds think alike! I would appreciate more advice and I would like to thank previous posters for their time and help:cool: In regards to Thermaltake and Corsair, are they on par for psu quality?
     
  10. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,478 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    It's horses for courses, but I think most on here would pick the Corsair.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Octavius New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Alright, I will shell out the extra $ to get quality and a peace of mind:)

    So I guess the processor is fine? I was thinking of purchasing the i3 3240 instead of the FX 6300, would that be a good move? Again, this is for fs 2004 and possibly for fsx.
     
  12. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,478 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    Get the FX-
    http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Core-i3-3240-vs-AMD-FX-6300

    i3 is only dual core, FX is hexa core.
     
    Octavius says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
    Brand recognition and reputation about the same. You'll have to consider the two PSUs on a model vs model basis. The Thermaltake has two 12v rails @ 20A and 23A. The Corsair has a single 12v rail @ 46A. I haven't looked at any interdependent reviews but I'd think they are in the same league. Price wasn't an option I'd go with the Corsair on a gamble, but there is $30 difference so the Thermaltake is better value for money.

    Put the $30 on more RAM or a better CPU or motherboard.



    Edit:


    http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/677?vs=699

    A good comparison for FX 6 core vs i3.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2013
  14. Octavius New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I looked up reviews on the Thermaltake and they weren't to good. I rather spend the extra $30 and stick with the Corsair, thanks for opinion though, I appreciate it.
     
    Dent1 says thanks.
  15. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    836 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    California
    Yep, generally Corsair>Thermaltake just avoid Corsair CX series, shit capacitors in there. Thermaltake can be hit or miss, for example their TR2 series sucks.

    Seasonic makes great PSUs not sure what tigerdirect.ca carries but try to find Seasonic G Series 360W (SSR-360GP) or 550W (don't know model # by heart).


    CPU-wise, I personally prefer Intel since it's faster per core, and runs cooler and thus quieter. A Core i5-3570 would be good for you.
     
  16. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,505
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario Canada
    no problems running my TR2 500w 24/7 after 4 months in the 2nd rig in my specs
     
  17. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11,170 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,148
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    FX 6300
    Corsair GS 600
    8GB generic 1600mhz RAM
    GTX 650 OR HD 7850
    Seagate 500GB HDD (saves a few bucks, no difference to WD)
    MoBo, get a generic AM3+ 970FX like a GD55, Extreme3 or something low-mid end
    Generic Midi Tower Case, like Casecom stuff
     
    Octavius says thanks.
  18. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
  19. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Don't listen to these guys on Memory. AMD benefits from higher frequency on memory. Use 1866MHz.
     
  20. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
    Agreed. But can't find one for the original $59 he had to spend.
     
  21. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11,170 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,148
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    You're correct BUT what difference does 1600mhz and 1866mhz make to Flight Simulator. Its not going to make a noticable differnce to him, on such a low budget.
    Also, why are you not saying APU to him? Would lower his budget and allow for better parts, on that we'd agree!
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  22. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,018 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    630
    Location:
    UK
    The APU's do, it matters less for the ordinary proccesors
     
  23. Octavius New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks for the good input. Will the 8GB 1600Mhz be slower than the 4GB 1866 Mhz RAM? Or will the be the same speed as they both sit at a latency of 9. Also, with the specs you have given, will that be able to handle fs 2004? In addition what is a APU? Also, is the HD 7850 superior to the GTX 650? How about the GTX 650ti http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=7876676&CatId=7387

    Thank you all for your posts, they are very insightful and valuable. Keep them coming please.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2013
  24. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    836 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    California
    I just cleaned up a neighbor's old PC - it's running a shitty "Austin" branded PSU which I know is made by Deer - one of the worst. And his computer still runs fine (albeit with a single core P4-based Celeron and half a gig of RAM)

    My point is that a poor quality PSU might last for years but it's still important to use a quality power supply for safety and stability. It's also going to save on the power bill if it's more efficient.
     
    Octavius says thanks.
  25. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,981 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,295
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I would go no less then 8gb of mem. If you can fork it out I would get this stuff. I used this in my Fx8350 build but I got 2 x 8gb instead of 2x 4gb.


    Oh that stuff is $64, it's on sale. :toast:
     
    Octavius says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)