• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

My Graphics card or Computer itself?..need some info.

SlipSlice

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
770 (0.18/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
Processor AMD ATHLON 64 SAN DIEGO 3700@2.42GHZ
Motherboard ASUS A8N5X
Cooling 1X80MM CASE FAN, 1X80MM CPU FAN, 2X120MM FANS(ONE TAKING AIR OUT..OTHER FOR HARDDRIVE
Memory 1.5 GIG, DDR400 CORSAIR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7900GS KO
Storage 160GIG WESTERN DIGITAL 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer 22' Widescreen
Case ROSEWILL CASE 5600 SERIES..2 BLUE LED CASE FANS
Audio Device(s) SOUND BLASTER LIVE 24 BIT!
Power Supply SPARKLE 400 WATT
Software WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION..its gr8/LOTS OF GAMES
#1
Ok, well every since I have had this computer, it has been running quite well. Until I started messing with certain things. About a week ago, I was wondering why it takes about 5 minutes to get smoothe in certain games, such as BF2, and GRAW. So I put more ram in..like 2 gigs.. Only 1 Gig was what my motherboard speed is..the other 2 sticks were pc2700.. well it fixed my game lag when i got in in BF2, but graw still takes a sec. Which leads me to think it might be my pagefile. KTR suggested i make a pagefile, he said that would make it run better, and faster in games. It helped a little, but didn't make no performance boost really, so i deleted it.. Now I don't know what the partition should be when I go to Start>Control Panel>System>Advanced>Change. (See Attachment on Pagefile screeny). So as you can see in the attachment, I have it set to System managed size. Every since I have messed with those to things, I have already lost quite a few FPS in certain games. I don't know what is going on.:shadedshu

GAMES AND MY COMPUTER VS. MY FPS


CS:S---28FPS-85FPS..AROUND 50AVG. :shadedshu
BF2---45FPS-90FPS..AROUND 60-65 AVG.
G.R.A.W---35FPS-65FPS..AROUND 50 AVG.
F.E.A.R---50FPS-140FPS..AROUND 70 AVG.

Some games play better than others according to how much ram they take of course..but once my computer has fully loaded the map after like 20 minutes, I will hit some spikes.. That is why I am thinking it is my HD partition.:eek:

Now going by those FPS, im sure you figured out that those are good. But in every game, I was getting at least like 20 more on the max, and 10 more on the avg. So that is why I started this thread. I am loosing FPS from nothing that I have really did.

Thing I think it might be
HD partition
Internet connection
Video Card drivers
Ram of Course

The only things I have messed with was the HD partition in my system control panel. So I was wondering if you guys have any ideas on what I can do to fix this.

Please list all your details on how I can check my whole computer to see what is going on. Sry that I didn't really post enough information, I am in sort of a rush, I have quite a-lot of homework to get done tonight.

Please post up guys.

S1iP
:ohwell:
 

Attachments

Scavar

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2006
Messages
573 (0.14/day)
Likes
0
Location
Ft Lauderdale, FL
System Name ScarredWolf(Desktop), MBlackWolf(Laptop)
Processor E6600(Desktop), T7300(Laptop)
Motherboard EVGA 680i(Desktop), IFL90(Laptop)
Cooling Akasa EVO 120(Desktop), No idea(Laptop)
Memory G Skill PI 8GB 4x2gb(Desktop), G Skill 3GB 1GB/2GB(Laptop)
Video Card(s) 8800GTS 640mb(Desktop), 8600m GT(Laptop)
Storage 3x250GB 1x500GB(Desktop), 1x320GB(Laptop)
Display(s) Acer AL2216W 22"(Desktop), 15.4"(Laptop)
Case Cosmos 1000(Desktop), PowerPro J 10:15(Laptop)
Audio Device(s) CreativeX-Fi/Z-5500(Desktop), Realtek/No idea(Laptop)
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling Silencer 610w(Desptop), *shrug*(Laptop)
Software Windows Vista Ultimatex64 with tweaks(Both)
Benchmark Scores I'm too lazy to benchmark anything.
#2
Was all the memory running at the same speed and timings?

The Geforce 7 Series drivers are pretty stable and decent in XP if you have the newest ones. So I don't think it would be that.

Try running a checkdisk, and memtest.

It might also be possible that for whatever reason things are running hotter then they should and that could be affecting stuff :/ Not musre myself though.
 

SlipSlice

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
770 (0.18/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
Processor AMD ATHLON 64 SAN DIEGO 3700@2.42GHZ
Motherboard ASUS A8N5X
Cooling 1X80MM CASE FAN, 1X80MM CPU FAN, 2X120MM FANS(ONE TAKING AIR OUT..OTHER FOR HARDDRIVE
Memory 1.5 GIG, DDR400 CORSAIR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7900GS KO
Storage 160GIG WESTERN DIGITAL 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer 22' Widescreen
Case ROSEWILL CASE 5600 SERIES..2 BLUE LED CASE FANS
Audio Device(s) SOUND BLASTER LIVE 24 BIT!
Power Supply SPARKLE 400 WATT
Software WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION..its gr8/LOTS OF GAMES
#4
Was all the memory running at the same speed and timings?
No, not with the other gig of mixed ram in there. So I took it out. Now im down to 1GIG again, in dual channel, at the same speeds. So i should be good there now.

The Geforce 7 Series drivers are pretty stable and decent in XP if you have the newest ones. So I don't think it would be that.
Think I should erase drivers, and reinstall just in case?

Try running a checkdisk, and memtest.
I ran memtest, i went to 105% and no errors, so i stopped it. I haven't ran checkdisk yet, I will do that tommorow and let you know what i get. Should I check "Automatically fix system Errors"? Or "Scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors"? I Know checking those boxes take it longer, but i am concerned on whether i should or not. just let me know please.

It might also be possible that for whatever reason things are running hotter then they should and that could be affecting stuff :/ Not musre myself though.
Nah, my temps are quite cool. I dont' really have anything overclocked very much anyways. :)

Thanks.

To KTR
KTR said:
run system cleanup and defrag...
Just did a defrag last night, and for diskcleanup, i use CCleaner. But i ran diskcleanup anyways just to make sure.

Thanks guys..keep the help and suggestions coming please.

S1ip
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
176 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4,8 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Alpenfön Brocken 2
Memory 32 GB G.Skill DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCU II R290
Storage 1 TB HD + 180 GB SSD + 500 GB SSD
Display(s) Philips BDM4065 39,95" Ultra-HD
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD sound on 5.1 system
Power Supply Silverstone SST-ST85F-GS Strider Gold Series - 850 Watt
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
First, I would put that RAM back in.
Second, I would set the pagefile to a fixed size of 2048 MB min and max.
Third, it doesn't matter where it is, because it's still on the same physical harddisk
Fourth, after setting the pagefile to a fixed size, defrag again and I would recommend anything else than the build in defrag, which just shuffles around a bit and doesn't help at all.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#7
I moved my pagefile to a central part on the hd, a little increase...
 

Scavar

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2006
Messages
573 (0.14/day)
Likes
0
Location
Ft Lauderdale, FL
System Name ScarredWolf(Desktop), MBlackWolf(Laptop)
Processor E6600(Desktop), T7300(Laptop)
Motherboard EVGA 680i(Desktop), IFL90(Laptop)
Cooling Akasa EVO 120(Desktop), No idea(Laptop)
Memory G Skill PI 8GB 4x2gb(Desktop), G Skill 3GB 1GB/2GB(Laptop)
Video Card(s) 8800GTS 640mb(Desktop), 8600m GT(Laptop)
Storage 3x250GB 1x500GB(Desktop), 1x320GB(Laptop)
Display(s) Acer AL2216W 22"(Desktop), 15.4"(Laptop)
Case Cosmos 1000(Desktop), PowerPro J 10:15(Laptop)
Audio Device(s) CreativeX-Fi/Z-5500(Desktop), Realtek/No idea(Laptop)
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling Silencer 610w(Desptop), *shrug*(Laptop)
Software Windows Vista Ultimatex64 with tweaks(Both)
Benchmark Scores I'm too lazy to benchmark anything.
#8
I always check both when running checkdisk, do run that scan ktr linked up. You can try the pagefile stuff as well.


If you feel like going through it user driver cleaner pro, get rid of the drivers and download the latest one again. Worth a try.
 

SlipSlice

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
770 (0.18/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
Processor AMD ATHLON 64 SAN DIEGO 3700@2.42GHZ
Motherboard ASUS A8N5X
Cooling 1X80MM CASE FAN, 1X80MM CPU FAN, 2X120MM FANS(ONE TAKING AIR OUT..OTHER FOR HARDDRIVE
Memory 1.5 GIG, DDR400 CORSAIR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7900GS KO
Storage 160GIG WESTERN DIGITAL 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer 22' Widescreen
Case ROSEWILL CASE 5600 SERIES..2 BLUE LED CASE FANS
Audio Device(s) SOUND BLASTER LIVE 24 BIT!
Power Supply SPARKLE 400 WATT
Software WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION..its gr8/LOTS OF GAMES
#9
I always check both when running checkdisk, do run that scan ktr linked up. You can try the pagefile stuff as well.


If you feel like going through it user driver cleaner pro, get rid of the drivers and download the latest one again. Worth a try.
Ok kewl.. i did the diskcheck, and everything seemed fine.. it took like an hour probably but ohh well I got some fps increase by around 5 maybe...dont sound like a-lot but it does make a difference in some situations.

Just a few questions

On GRAW (for the people who play it of course) is 50 FPS average, and sometimes 65 FPS avg good? My system is not overclocked none right now..graphics, cpu, etc. etc. its all at stock.. And I run the game at 1024X768@85htz, with everything maxed, 16XAnthiscoping. Does that sound about right to you? Just wondering, thanks for all the help though everyone.
:toast:

S1iP
 

SlipSlice

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
770 (0.18/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
Processor AMD ATHLON 64 SAN DIEGO 3700@2.42GHZ
Motherboard ASUS A8N5X
Cooling 1X80MM CASE FAN, 1X80MM CPU FAN, 2X120MM FANS(ONE TAKING AIR OUT..OTHER FOR HARDDRIVE
Memory 1.5 GIG, DDR400 CORSAIR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7900GS KO
Storage 160GIG WESTERN DIGITAL 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer 22' Widescreen
Case ROSEWILL CASE 5600 SERIES..2 BLUE LED CASE FANS
Audio Device(s) SOUND BLASTER LIVE 24 BIT!
Power Supply SPARKLE 400 WATT
Software WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION..its gr8/LOTS OF GAMES
#10
bump...

nobody has any clue if those are good FPS> that is all im asking.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
994 (0.24/day)
Likes
28
Location
SoCal
Processor Intel C2D E6420 (3.2 gHz @ 1.365v)
Motherboard Gigabyte 965P-DS3
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500 LED
Memory 4 x 512mb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 667
Video Card(s) Visiontek HD 4870 512mb
Storage 200gb Maxtor SATA, 400gb WD SATA
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS
Software Windows XP Pro SP2
#11
CS:S---28FPS-85FPS..AROUND 50AVG.
BF2---45FPS-90FPS..AROUND 60-65 AVG.
G.R.A.W---35FPS-65FPS..AROUND 50 AVG.
F.E.A.R---50FPS-140FPS..AROUND 70 AVG.

For CS:S 28fps should be noticably choppy... I'd suggest that you do something to get this up to at LEAST 35-40fps. Personally, I can't play at under 45fps because I get annoyed but it's a matter of preference.

BF2 and FEAR, you get pretty good framerates, so nothing needs to be improved upon here IMO. I won't say anything about GRAW since I don't have firsthand experience with it :D
 

SlipSlice

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
770 (0.18/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
Processor AMD ATHLON 64 SAN DIEGO 3700@2.42GHZ
Motherboard ASUS A8N5X
Cooling 1X80MM CASE FAN, 1X80MM CPU FAN, 2X120MM FANS(ONE TAKING AIR OUT..OTHER FOR HARDDRIVE
Memory 1.5 GIG, DDR400 CORSAIR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7900GS KO
Storage 160GIG WESTERN DIGITAL 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer 22' Widescreen
Case ROSEWILL CASE 5600 SERIES..2 BLUE LED CASE FANS
Audio Device(s) SOUND BLASTER LIVE 24 BIT!
Power Supply SPARKLE 400 WATT
Software WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION..its gr8/LOTS OF GAMES
#12
CS:S---28FPS-85FPS..AROUND 50AVG.
BF2---45FPS-90FPS..AROUND 60-65 AVG.
G.R.A.W---35FPS-65FPS..AROUND 50 AVG.
F.E.A.R---50FPS-140FPS..AROUND 70 AVG.

For CS:S 28fps should be noticably choppy... I'd suggest that you do something to get this up to at LEAST 35-40fps. Personally, I can't play at under 45fps because I get annoyed but it's a matter of preference.

BF2 and FEAR, you get pretty good framerates, so nothing needs to be improved upon here IMO. I won't say anything about GRAW since I don't have firsthand experience with it :D
Thanks for the reply on what you think. I ran a bunch of tests, and I have brought my frames up a little. This is only a 7900GS, been better if it was an XT, but I love it.
And on CS:S, I think i was having internet issues that day, and haven't tested it since then . I guess my computer was just having a bad day, ya know?
Thanks guys.

S1iP
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
994 (0.24/day)
Likes
28
Location
SoCal
Processor Intel C2D E6420 (3.2 gHz @ 1.365v)
Motherboard Gigabyte 965P-DS3
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500 LED
Memory 4 x 512mb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 667
Video Card(s) Visiontek HD 4870 512mb
Storage 200gb Maxtor SATA, 400gb WD SATA
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS
Software Windows XP Pro SP2
#13
If you can, try SLI'ing your card :D
If not... your framerates are good enough so it should be fine for a while :)
 

SlipSlice

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
770 (0.18/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
Processor AMD ATHLON 64 SAN DIEGO 3700@2.42GHZ
Motherboard ASUS A8N5X
Cooling 1X80MM CASE FAN, 1X80MM CPU FAN, 2X120MM FANS(ONE TAKING AIR OUT..OTHER FOR HARDDRIVE
Memory 1.5 GIG, DDR400 CORSAIR
Video Card(s) eVGA 7900GS KO
Storage 160GIG WESTERN DIGITAL 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer 22' Widescreen
Case ROSEWILL CASE 5600 SERIES..2 BLUE LED CASE FANS
Audio Device(s) SOUND BLASTER LIVE 24 BIT!
Power Supply SPARKLE 400 WATT
Software WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION..its gr8/LOTS OF GAMES
#14
If you can, try SLI'ing your card :D
If not... your framerates are good enough so it should be fine for a while :)
I wish i could go SLi, but this board doesn't have 2 PCI-E slots.. Only one. I know I should of gotten a SLi Motherboard, but i was in a rush.