• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My mouse is acting strange .

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,815 (1.25/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen3 1300X 3.7GHz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Cooling Stock
Memory one stick 8GB Viper DDR4
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech.
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
I need some help please . I have noticed for the last 2 months that my mouse is acting strange lagging and some times just going all over the place . I have a logitech laser mouse I have the same problem with a regular mouse as well ( a cheep o from wallmart ) . What could be causing this ? I DL and even installed software and still this mouse issue is killing me ! Any thing I can do to fix this ? That is without having to reinstall Win OS .

Thank you for your time and help in this matter .
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.64/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
Possibly the mat/surface your using it on?
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,815 (1.25/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen3 1300X 3.7GHz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Cooling Stock
Memory one stick 8GB Viper DDR4
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech.
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,013 (1.17/day)
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,815 (1.25/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen3 1300X 3.7GHz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Cooling Stock
Memory one stick 8GB Viper DDR4
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech.
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
tried using a PS/2 mouse?
No , All I have are the 2 one wireless the other is a USB wired one . Thing is I never had this problem before now . I just do not get it .
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,174 (3.57/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Tried different USB ports or even another computer ?. I say another computer as a friend some time again though he had a faulty mobo or some thing when it was actually 2 faulty mice :|. Some times with USB devices i find i have to have the item plugged in and uninstall it then plug it back it back in to get it working but i normally only have that issue with Flash drives when ever it happens..


You checked Device manager ?. And checked if the mobo drivers are installed correctly.
 

95Viper

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
7,393 (1.82/day)
You don't use ZoneAlarm... do you? Try turning off your A/V and other apps running in the background for testing purposes.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,815 (1.25/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen3 1300X 3.7GHz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Cooling Stock
Memory one stick 8GB Viper DDR4
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech.
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
You don't use ZoneAlarm... do you? Try turning off your A/V and other apps running in the background for testing purposes.
No nothing that I haven't been running just MSE . :eek:
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,383 (2.38/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
so you have problem with wired and wireless mouse too?
so it should be from setting or have you tried other mouse just make sure?
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,815 (1.25/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen3 1300X 3.7GHz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Cooling Stock
Memory one stick 8GB Viper DDR4
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech.
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
so you have problem with wired and wireless mouse too?
so it should be from setting or have you tried other mouse just make sure?
Yes I have tried a different mouse it just doesn't seem to be working right .
 

95Viper

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
7,393 (1.82/day)
Go to the control panel and click on "Mouse"
Click on the "Pointer Options" tab, if, the "Enhance Pointer Precision" box is checked, un-check and Click "Apply"
Try it and see if that helped.

When I was using the logitech mouse/drivers, they did not get along with that option checked.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,815 (1.25/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen3 1300X 3.7GHz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Cooling Stock
Memory one stick 8GB Viper DDR4
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech.
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
Go to the control panel and click on "Mouse"
Click on the "Pointer Options" tab, if, the "Enhance Pointer Precision" box is checked, un-check and Click "Apply"
Try it and see if that helped.

When I was using the logitech mouse/drivers, they did not get along with that option checked.
I uninstalled the logitech mouse software and uninstalled the mouse from the device manager , Restarted the computer and it seems to have gotten some what better but it is nothing like it should be . Still lags some Just not as bad .
Could it be the video drivers ? I am using version 11.10 . I think I will try and get a PS2 mouse as soon as I can get the cash up .
 

95Viper

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
7,393 (1.82/day)
You can get a PS/2 mouse and try it, that would help with the diagnostics, but that is really not solving the problem.
It should not do that, period. If you get my meaning.
Gotta be something causing it and it needs to be fixed or eliminated.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,815 (1.25/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen3 1300X 3.7GHz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Cooling Stock
Memory one stick 8GB Viper DDR4
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech.
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
You can get a PS/2 mouse and try it, that would help with the diagnostics, but that is really not solving the problem.
It should not do that, period. If you get my meaning.
Gotta be something causing it and it needs to be fixed or eliminated.
Yeah but what is causing it ? And how do I fix it ? :eek:

So far like I have said it seems to be " Getting " better . But still not like it should be .
 

95Viper

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
7,393 (1.82/day)
In your Advanced power options set "USB Selective Suspend setting" to dis-abled and see if that helps.
USBss.png
Also, you may want to roll back to 11.9 (or another) video drivers and try them, if you had no lag with them.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,815 (1.25/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen3 1300X 3.7GHz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Cooling Stock
Memory one stick 8GB Viper DDR4
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech.
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
In your Advanced power options set "USB Selective Suspend setting" to dis-abled and see if that helps.
View attachment 44255
Also, you may want to roll back to 11.9 (or another) video drivers and try them, if you had no lag with them.
Ok went into that and it was enabled so I disabled it . I will see if this helps after a restart .
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,237 (2.39/day)
Location
Pune
System Name Biggest Investment | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN(sold for funds :( )
Processor FX 8320
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) Sappghire Pulse RX 580 8GB |
Storage 250GB Samsung EVO860 | 2x 1TB WD10EZEX | WD 500GB Green
Display(s) Dell 2240L
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z333
Power Supply Corsair GS600
Mouse Logitech G400, F310, F710
Keyboard Circle RGB gaming shitboard.
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
i think its the mousepad thats the problem.

there also might be an accumulation of dust at the optical portion of the mouse.

try the mouse on a piece of non glossy A4 paper.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,925 (3.65/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Trickson, is it working ok?
I'll second 95 on this question - we wanna know! :)

If it's no good, then perhaps you could try another mouse pad and another USB port. A PS/2 mouse like cheesy999 suggested is a good idea too if that doesn't solve it.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
1,017 (0.34/day)
Location
Porto
System Name No name / Purple Haze
Processor Phenom II 1100T @ 3.8Ghz / Pentium 4 3.4 EE Gallatin @ 3.825Ghz
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming/ Abit IC7-MAX3
Cooling CM Hyper 212X / Scythe Andy Samurai Master (CPU) - Modded Ati Silencer 5 rev. 2 (GPU)
Memory 8GB GEIL GB38GB2133C10ADC + 8GB G.Skill F3-14900CL9-4GBXL / 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC4000
Video Card(s) Asus R9 Fury X Strix (4096 SP's/1050 Mhz)/ PowerColor X850XT PE @ (600/1230) AGP + (HD3850 AGP)
Storage Samsung 250 GB / WD Caviar 160GB
Display(s) Benq XL2411T
Audio Device(s) motherboard / Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro + Front panel
Power Supply Tagan BZ 900W / Corsair HX620w
Mouse Zowie AM
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 7 Pro 64Bit / Windows XP
Benchmark Scores 64CU Fury: http://www.3dmark.com/fs/11269229 / X850XT PE http://www.3dmark.com/3dm05/5532432
test your mouse refresh rate with mouse rate, depending on the mouse if you move it fast on the test area you should be getting a stable value like 125hz or 500Hz or even 1000Hz, if it reports something like 500 - 20 - 150 -500 when moving it fast, then something is wrong!
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,815 (1.25/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen3 1300X 3.7GHz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Cooling Stock
Memory one stick 8GB Viper DDR4
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech.
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
So far since I uninstalled it from the control panel and reinstalled it every thing seems to be back to normal . Thank you every one for your help . I also have cleaned my mouse from top to bottom which has also contributed to it working better as well . Now when I play fallout 3 new Vegas it is just fine .
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.40/day)
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
Glad you got it working good again but if i were you , i would definitely change the mouse pad , 4 years it's over due big time unless you don't use the PC that much? (once or twice a week)

I changed my mouse pad every ~3-5 months even if it's works ok i can definitely feel the difference when i buy a new one
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,013 (1.17/day)
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
Glad you got it working good again but if i were you , i would definitely change the mouse pad , 4 years it's over due big time unless you don't use the PC that much? (once or twice a week)

I changed my mouse pad every ~3-5 months even if it's works ok i can definitely feel the difference when i buy a new one
or, don't use a mouse pad
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.40/day)
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
No been using my mouse pad for 4 years now . Simple black pad is all it is .
Somehow miss that post , still i would use a good mouse pad your mouse will works better on it , even if some mouse makers say's that you can use it on any surface

You can get a good mouse pad from between $5-15 usually
 
Top