• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My new SSD. I need some advice now.

Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,657 (0.70/day)
Likes
779
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#1
I finally got my Corsair SSD up and running. Now I need a couple of tips to ensure that my drive will last me as long as it can and operate at its peak potential. I've read up enough on SSDs to know a few things.

For example, I've disabled these services using run and going msconfig:
Bluetooth Support Service (I don't use Bluetooth)
Disk Defragmenter
Task Scheduler (I will schedule everything manually)
Print Spooler (I don't have a printer)
Superfetch
Remote Desktop Services
Windows Search
Windows Indexing (Seen below)


I've enabled AHCI mode before doing a fresh W7 64-bit install on the SSD. After I installed, I ran ATTO and came up with these numbers:


I'm still probably going to use my old HDD, but here are some of its numbers just to give you a comparison:


So far I think I have set up and tweaked most of the settings that helps keep an SSD stable, but I'm sure I missed and/or I just don't know how to do a few things.


#1 I don't know how to disable Windows Prefetch, I checked the services list and it wasn't there.

#2 How do I disable Write Caching? Did I do that already by disabling Windows Search?

#3 How do I check if TRIM is running? (DONE)

#4 How do I enable TRIM? (DONE)

#5 How do I disable hibernation? (DONE)

#6 How do I know if Background Garbage Collection (BCG) is doing it's thing? (DONE)

#7 What do I have to do in regards to my pagefile? I use Firefox mostly, with occasional IE useage.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#2
#5 is in power options
#7 i disable it if i need space, otherwise leave it. it shouldn't matter but windows is really built around using that pagefile, so even if the ssd is fast enough to not need it windows wants it.

did you let windows create and format the partition? the chances of you having the right size fo your allocation is slim if you didn't let windows do it all. there was a tool to check it but i am sorry i don't remember it. i will look for it.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,657 (0.70/day)
Likes
779
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#3
#5 is in power options
#7 i disable it if i need space, otherwise leave it. it shouldn't matter but windows is really built around using that pagefile, so even if the ssd is fast enough to not need it windows wants it.

did you let windows create and format the partition? the chances of you having the right size fo your allocation is slim if you didn't let windows do it all. there was a tool to check it but i am sorry i don't remember it. i will look for it.
#5 Turn off the display: set to Never
Put the computer to sleep: set to Never <---thats another way of saying hibernation?

#7 I don't know how to do that, please explain in detail how to disable it.

I don't think I created/formatted the partition. When I was about to install Windows, the readout size was about 167GB (mind you, my SSD is 180GB). I just clicked on the only thing there, and pressed Next. Then Windows did it's thing (expanded Windows, etc.)
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,585 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,962
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#4
I do NOTHING for SSD tweaks. If the drive dies, it has a warranty. The only thing I ensure is disabled is Defrag for that specific drive; everything else remains like it was When Windows installed itself.

Write cache should be enabled by default, but you can check in the Intel RST interface. Hasn't made any difference for me, personally. TRIM should happen automatically.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,388 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,298
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#5
#5 Turn off the display: set to Never
Put the computer to sleep: set to Never <---thats another way of saying hibernation?

#7 I don't know how to do that, please explain in detail how to disable it.

I don't think I created/formatted the partition. When I was about to install Windows, the readout size was about 167GB (mind you, my SSD is 180GB). I just clicked on the only thing there, and pressed Next. Then Windows did it's thing (expanded Windows, etc.)
you dont want to disable the page file completely. just make it small maybe 2GB

#1 I don't know how to disable Windows Prefetch, I checked the services list and it wasn't there. I attached a registry Entry below to do it.

#2 How do I disable Write Caching? Did I do that already by disabling Windows Search? Leave it on. Just disable search

#3 How do I check if TRIM is running? Tpye "fsutil behavior query DisableDeleteNotify" in command prompt. If it says "0" your good.

#4 How do I enable TRIM? Does it by itself unless its an old SSD

#5 How do I disable hibernation? Already explained by others its in power options in the CP

#6 How do I know if Background Garbage Collection (BCG) is doing it's thing?Its part of TRIM

#7 What do I have to do in regards to my pagefile? I use Firefox mostly, with occasional IE useage. Stated above.
Reboot your PC after applying changes/reg key
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.07/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#6
to disable hibernation and delete the hibernation file (saves space on ssd).

start command prompt as an administrator and type: powercfg -h off
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#7
I don't think I created/formatted the partition. When I was about to install Windows, the readout size was about 167GB (mind you, my SSD is 180GB). I just clicked on the only thing there, and pressed Next. Then Windows did it's thing (expanded Windows, etc.)
perfect


#5 Turn off the display: set to Never
Put the computer to sleep: set to Never <---thats another way of saying hibernation?
sorry - in power options edit the plan you use (balanced) click "change advanced settings", then click "sleep", you'll see "hibernate after"


#7 I don't know how to do that, please explain in detail how to disable it.
Control Panel-> System
click "advanced system settings" on the left, in the new window, on the advanced tab, in the performance box, click settings. in the new window, go to the "advanced" tab, and click change in the virtual memory box. in this window, you can uncheck "let windows manage" and set values yourself, disabling paging on the ssd but leaving it on the others.

as i said though, it generally doesn't make huge difference unless you need the space. be careful.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2011
Messages
527 (0.23/day)
Likes
472
Location
somewhere in Eastern Europe
System Name Cruncher
Processor AMD FX-8370
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow SB-E
Memory 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 2000
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7870+Powercolor HD7850 CrossFire
Storage Corsair ForceGT 90 SSD,WD Black 500
Display(s) Acer 24'' 2ms
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Grand 1050w 80+Gold
Software Win 7 SP1 Ult x64
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,657 (0.70/day)
Likes
779
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#9
Control Panel-> System
click "advanced system settings" on the left, in the new window, on the advanced tab, in the performance box, click settings. in the new window, go to the "advanced" tab, and click change in the virtual memory box. in this window, you can uncheck "let windows manage" and set values yourself, disabling paging on the ssd but leaving it on the others.

as i said though, it generally doesn't make huge difference unless you need the space. be careful.
Ok, I uncheck the "automatically manage paging file size for all drives" and it opens up the grayed out area below. I then have to select the "custom size" and input an "initial size" and "maximum size". I think a 4GB paging file is enough for now, so what should I input in those 2 spaces for initial and maximum? The space selected available on my C drive is 145029 MB.

Also, on the very bottom, for the "Total paging file for all drives" section, here are the readouts:
Minimum allowed: 16 MB
Recommended: 12156 MB
Currently allocated: 8104 MB
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.07/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#10
I usually offset the page file to my 1tb green HDD so I dont waste precious SSD space.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#11
Ok, I uncheck the "automatically manage paging file size for all drives" and it opens up the grayed out area below. I then have to select the "custom size" and input an "initial size" and "maximum size". I think a 4GB paging file is enough for now, so what should I input in those 2 spaces for initial and maximum? The space selected available on my C drive is 145029 MB.

Also, on the very bottom, for the "Total paging file for all drives" section, here are the readouts:
Minimum allowed: 16 MB
Recommended: 12156 MB
Currently allocated: 8104 MB
well for every drive other than the ssd, you should put the recommended if you can afford the space. for the ssd put it at 2gb(2048). then it shouldn't use it too often and it won't get huge in the process.