• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My PC have integrated GFX - I need better card to run SC2

Zigg

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Emachines et1161-07
Processor AMD Athlon X2 4050e (2.1GHz, 1024KB L2 cache)
Motherboard NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430
Memory 3072MB DDR2 dual-channel capable (3 × 1024MB)
Video Card(s) NVIDIA® GeForce® 6150SE integrated graphics (Up to 128MB)
Storage 320GB SATA II (7200rpm, 8MB cache)1
Display(s) Dell E193FPp [Current Res: 1280 x 1024; 32 bit; 60Hz]
Audio Device(s) Realtek Digital Output (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Power Supply 250W
#1
I went out and bought SC2 on a whim. I did not look at the min reqs and just thought I would get a new GPU or some new RAM if worst comes to worst. Now I think I may need to build a new PC.
The PC I have now is a cheap desktop with ok stats, but the GPU is integrated. I didn't notice that it had an integrated GPU when I bought it. I screwed up, right?

I just got this computer a year ago and I don't mind building a new PC, it just seems kinda like a waste because my cheap PC isn't completely obsolete for my needs.
If I build my own rig I want to build it from scratch. If possible I want to put something together that will allow me to OC the GPU, CPU, and RAM but stay relatively cheap.

I'm gonna need stable examples of hardware that will be compatible with each other. I know OC is tough to learn but this isn't the first time I done it, just the first time by myself.
My friend and I built his PC in high school. We noob many builds but learn a lot in the process.

Here's Minimum specs for sys build.

Windows Vista / Windows 7
Dual Core 2.4Ghz Processor
2 GB RAM
512 MB NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTX or ATI Radeon HD 3870 or better

Thanks for any advise in advance. Please forgive me for any noob mistakes in my post. I will try to be better in the future.
 

AltecV1

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
1,286 (0.39/day)
Likes
169
Location
Republic of Estonia
Processor C2D E8400@3.6 ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5KPL-AM
Cooling Freezer 7 pro
Memory Kingston 4GB 800Mhz cl6
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 700/1000 + Accelero S1 Rev. 2
Storage WD 250 GB AAKS
Display(s) 22" Samsung SyncMaster 226BW
Audio Device(s) int.
Power Supply Forton Blue Storm II 500W
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#2
you may want to list your current system
 

Zigg

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Emachines et1161-07
Processor AMD Athlon X2 4050e (2.1GHz, 1024KB L2 cache)
Motherboard NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430
Memory 3072MB DDR2 dual-channel capable (3 × 1024MB)
Video Card(s) NVIDIA® GeForce® 6150SE integrated graphics (Up to 128MB)
Storage 320GB SATA II (7200rpm, 8MB cache)1
Display(s) Dell E193FPp [Current Res: 1280 x 1024; 32 bit; 60Hz]
Audio Device(s) Realtek Digital Output (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Power Supply 250W
#3
Current System Specs

Let me know if more is needed...

CPU
Processor: Pentium(R) Dual-Core E5300 @ 2.60GHz
Memory: 6134MB RAM

GPU
Card name: Intel(R) G33/G31 Express Chipset Family
Chip type: Intel(R) GMA 3100
DAC type: Internal
Dedicated Memory: 0 MB
Shared Memory: 286 MB
 

AltecV1

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
1,286 (0.39/day)
Likes
169
Location
Republic of Estonia
Processor C2D E8400@3.6 ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5KPL-AM
Cooling Freezer 7 pro
Memory Kingston 4GB 800Mhz cl6
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 700/1000 + Accelero S1 Rev. 2
Storage WD 250 GB AAKS
Display(s) 22" Samsung SyncMaster 226BW
Audio Device(s) int.
Power Supply Forton Blue Storm II 500W
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#4
well there is no need to buy a new computer,just a graphics card and maybe a new PSU! what PSU do you have now?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
849 (0.28/day)
Likes
300
Location
Argentina (South America)
System Name Classy Gal
Processor i7 2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3-B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1070 FE
Storage 2x120GB Vertex 3 - 1x1TB WD
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Titanium HD
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 750W
Software Win10 / Linux Mint
#5
How much do you want to spend?

Whats your monitor resolution?

PSU wattage and brand?

You could buy a cheap Nvidia GT240 or 9800GT, or a ATI 5750 depending on your PSU, and use the PC you already have.

or

buy all new depending on your budget


CPU: Athlon X3 or Phenom X3 or Phenom X4
RAM: 4GB
VGA: ATI 5770 or GTX460 or ATI 5850
 

Zigg

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Emachines et1161-07
Processor AMD Athlon X2 4050e (2.1GHz, 1024KB L2 cache)
Motherboard NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430
Memory 3072MB DDR2 dual-channel capable (3 × 1024MB)
Video Card(s) NVIDIA® GeForce® 6150SE integrated graphics (Up to 128MB)
Storage 320GB SATA II (7200rpm, 8MB cache)1
Display(s) Dell E193FPp [Current Res: 1280 x 1024; 32 bit; 60Hz]
Audio Device(s) Realtek Digital Output (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Power Supply 250W
#6
More Questions....?????

Even with the integrated GPU issue, you say that it is possible to keep my current setup and just add GPU?

That's great news, but I was told that Video cards will not work with my Motherboard becuase it has no GPU slot. Remember my GPU unit is part of the MOBO.

I like what u are saying thou... Replacing the current rig feels like a bit of a waste... Adding aftermarket GPU is optimal.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
849 (0.28/day)
Likes
300
Location
Argentina (South America)
System Name Classy Gal
Processor i7 2600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3-B3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1070 FE
Storage 2x120GB Vertex 3 - 1x1TB WD
Display(s) LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Titanium HD
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 750W
Software Win10 / Linux Mint
#7
Can you tell us the exact model of your motherboard or take a picture if you can and post it here, that way we can see if it has a PCI-E slot to install a new graphics card. If your motherboard doesn't have a PCI-E slot, then there is no choice but to buy a new PC.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#8
Even with the integrated GPU issue, you say that it is possible to keep my current setup and just add GPU?

That's great news, but I was told that Video cards will not work with my Motherboard becuase it has no GPU slot. Remember my GPU unit is part of the MOBO.

I like what u are saying thou... Replacing the current rig feels like a bit of a waste... Adding aftermarket GPU is optimal.
it may be true that your motherboard has no PCI-E slot for a graphics card, but just because it has on onboard GPU doesnt automatically mean that is true.

find out what model motherboard it has (CPU-Z can tell you) and we can find out from there.

Also find out what your power supply is, you may need to take the side panel off and read the numbers on the sticker on the side of it - a photo may help us there.
 

Zigg

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Emachines et1161-07
Processor AMD Athlon X2 4050e (2.1GHz, 1024KB L2 cache)
Motherboard NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430
Memory 3072MB DDR2 dual-channel capable (3 × 1024MB)
Video Card(s) NVIDIA® GeForce® 6150SE integrated graphics (Up to 128MB)
Storage 320GB SATA II (7200rpm, 8MB cache)1
Display(s) Dell E193FPp [Current Res: 1280 x 1024; 32 bit; 60Hz]
Audio Device(s) Realtek Digital Output (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Power Supply 250W
#9
that's a great place to start...

OK so I run CPU-Z. Then get PSU info and look out for any PCI-E slots while I'm looking inside the case?

Is there anything else u might need? I will do my best to report back with the right info. For today i take a break and pass out. Will report sometime soon. TY
 

AltecV1

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
1,286 (0.39/day)
Likes
169
Location
Republic of Estonia
Processor C2D E8400@3.6 ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5KPL-AM
Cooling Freezer 7 pro
Memory Kingston 4GB 800Mhz cl6
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 700/1000 + Accelero S1 Rev. 2
Storage WD 250 GB AAKS
Display(s) 22" Samsung SyncMaster 226BW
Audio Device(s) int.
Power Supply Forton Blue Storm II 500W
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#10
all we need to know is what is your PSU(Power supply unit) and motherboard(even tho i am 99.9% sure it has 1 PCI-E 16x slot like all the other G31 mobos) and how much are you willing to spend on a GPU and a PSU :)
 

Zigg

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Emachines et1161-07
Processor AMD Athlon X2 4050e (2.1GHz, 1024KB L2 cache)
Motherboard NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430
Memory 3072MB DDR2 dual-channel capable (3 × 1024MB)
Video Card(s) NVIDIA® GeForce® 6150SE integrated graphics (Up to 128MB)
Storage 320GB SATA II (7200rpm, 8MB cache)1
Display(s) Dell E193FPp [Current Res: 1280 x 1024; 32 bit; 60Hz]
Audio Device(s) Realtek Digital Output (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Power Supply 250W
#11
p.s. - I will try to take some pics as well.
 

Zigg

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Emachines et1161-07
Processor AMD Athlon X2 4050e (2.1GHz, 1024KB L2 cache)
Motherboard NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430
Memory 3072MB DDR2 dual-channel capable (3 × 1024MB)
Video Card(s) NVIDIA® GeForce® 6150SE integrated graphics (Up to 128MB)
Storage 320GB SATA II (7200rpm, 8MB cache)1
Display(s) Dell E193FPp [Current Res: 1280 x 1024; 32 bit; 60Hz]
Audio Device(s) Realtek Digital Output (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Power Supply 250W
#12
I will spend reasonable money on it as long as it compatible. I want to optimize my setup to play SC2 and other newer games with ease if not maxed out.

The specs earlier posted for build basically reccomended specs for SC2. So I want something that will own SC2 for reasonable price.

My target prices range is somewhere between cheap and reasonable. I wan quality and performance without killing my wallet.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#13
assuming you have a PCI-E 16x slot, get a 5770.

odds are it will work with your PSU since its power efficient, and it has enough power (speed) to run SCII at decent settigns.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#14
also, it was just pointed out to me that you made this thread in the clubhouse forum... seriously? we have a games section, which i just moved your thread to.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.22/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#15
I will spend reasonable money on it as long as it compatible. I want to optimize my setup to play SC2 and other newer games with ease if not maxed out.

The specs earlier posted for build basically reccomended specs for SC2. So I want something that will own SC2 for reasonable price.

My target prices range is somewhere between cheap and reasonable. I wan quality and performance without killing my wallet.
Starcraft 2 two is the most optimised PC game for visuals I have seen in a long time. My friend has a similar CPU to you but with an average dedicated video card (4830) and he can max it out. Saying that some "other" newer games will struggle on your rig, but your PC has a good canvas. I would replace the GPU alone and worry about a completely new build in year or so.

Open up CPUZ and tell us the exact model of your motherboard, then we'll be able to tell you the best upgrade path.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#16
If its a G33 board then it def has a PCIex slot, also arnt you the same guy that made another thread asking about another GPU you installed in it? i just posted in that thread telling you that it was PCIex

*EDIT*

YES IT WAS

Had problem installing realtemp, I couldn't get it to work. It say the processor detected is not supported genuineintel intel(r) pentium(r) d cpu 3.4 ghz

http://forums.techpowerup.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=37623&d=1282644445
From that screan shot, it says the GPU is PCIex card
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,436 (1.28/day)
Likes
1,050
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
#17
also, it was just pointed out to me that you made this thread in the clubhouse forum... seriously? we have a games section, which i just moved your thread to.
this would probably get more help in system builders not games
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,203 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#18
this would probably get more help in system builders not games
could also fit there, but he wanted information on starcraft II, so i figured games.
 

Zigg

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Emachines et1161-07
Processor AMD Athlon X2 4050e (2.1GHz, 1024KB L2 cache)
Motherboard NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430
Memory 3072MB DDR2 dual-channel capable (3 × 1024MB)
Video Card(s) NVIDIA® GeForce® 6150SE integrated graphics (Up to 128MB)
Storage 320GB SATA II (7200rpm, 8MB cache)1
Display(s) Dell E193FPp [Current Res: 1280 x 1024; 32 bit; 60Hz]
Audio Device(s) Realtek Digital Output (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Power Supply 250W
#19
Update...I'm Slow...

Wow! Thanks to everyone who posted. I really appreciate all ur advice. First to brandonwh64
If its a G33 board then it def has a PCIex slot, also arnt you the same guy that made another thread asking about another GPU you installed in it? i just posted in that thread telling you that it was PCIex

*EDIT*

YES IT WAS
Thanks all ur posts. There's just one thing I want u to know, the other thread actually applies to different computer. I have a couple and sometimes my friends ask me 4 help with their systems as well. I am still learning step by step.


Next there's this from Mussels...
also, it was just pointed out to me that you made this thread in the clubhouse forum... seriously? we have a games section, which i just moved your thread to.
Thanks for the help and sorry for the misplaced thread. I will try to be more conscious of where I start my threads.


...And last but not least...

Do I still need to run CPUz, GPUz, real-temp, or any other diagnostic programs?