• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

My problems with amd catalyst!!

Joined
Oct 25, 2012
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#1
Hi guys!!
I am using ASUS K43SA with Radeon HD 6730M...Today i check in amd support and find new driver for radeon HD 6xxxM series. And i downloaded this amd_catalyst_13.5_mobility_beta3.exe..But when i am trying to install it. My screen has been became dark and must have a high light to see the screen(like picture)...
Have anyone have solution...Plzz help me...Sr with my bad english!
:banghead:
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/22/img0478hr.jpg/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/40/img0480z.JPG/
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2012
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#2
Is there a reason you are creating links to MagicMadhouse? I mean, I've bought from them before and theyre great prices for the UK, BUT YOU LOOK LIKE A DAMN SPAMMER!?
Sr sir but i am not spamer...I am here for find help and i post this thread by phone.So that i cant Insert image....
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#3
Hi guys!!
I am using ASUS K43SA with Radeon HD 6730M...Today i check in amd support and find new driver for radeon HD 6xxxM series. And i downloaded this amd_catalyst_13.5_mobility_beta3.exe..But when i am trying to install it. My screen has been became dark and must have a high light to see the screen(like picture)...
Have anyone have solution...Plzz help me...Sr with my bad english!
:banghead:
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/22/img0478hr.jpg/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/40/img0480z.JPG/
Hold Fn and press your brightness up F key.
Or go to power settings and change the brightness.

Sr sir but i am not spamer...I am here for find help and i post this thread by phone.So that i cant Insert image....
I apologise, Imageshack was being its moneygrabbing self.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#6
Cant sir...Even i restarted my laptop is still dark like this...I must use window restore point .....
Why cant you? You cant, or it doesnt work?
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2012
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#7
Why cant you? You cant, or it doesnt work?
It doesnt work..My screen still dark like this and i must use my desk lamp to see the deskop.... I've installed other version like 13.1 or 13.4(of course when i install 13.5 version..I uninstall older version )..But in product summary software my version still 12.9 beta...Thx alot for helping me :D
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#8
It doesnt work..My screen still dark like this and i must use my desk lamp to see the deskop.... I've installed other version like 13.1 or 13.4(of course when i install 13.5 version..I uninstall older version )..But in product summary software my version still 12.9 beta...Thx alot for helping me :D
So you still have the issue when you uninstall and then reinstall 13.1 or 13.4?
The last driver and CCC i used that was stable for me was 13.3. Be sure to get the non beta ones.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
2,469 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,902
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance
Processor fx 8320
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16gb G.skill TridentX 2400mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) GV-R929XOC-4GD
Storage OCZ vertex 460 480gb
Display(s) 32" Toshiba Full HD TV
Case CMstorm Trooper
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat tyon
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 7
#9
so far from my xp with my laptop i have learned never to update video driver unless there is software that doesnt work with old one. i am appling this to desktop and i dont have headache
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#10
arrgh.. why did you install a new driver AND a beta driver??

amd catalyst is already included in that.

also BETA means its BETA . i.e. it is not stable and does not work on most people .Beta is for developers and beta testers only to test it out
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2012
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#11
arrgh.. why did you install a new driver AND a beta driver??

amd catalyst is already included in that.

also BETA means its BETA . i.e. it is not stable and does not work on most people .Beta is for developers and beta testers only to test it out
even i use version like 13.4 or 13.1 my product summary still 12.9....
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#12
are you running windows 7?

If so, try running the catalyst uninstall utility found here, and reinstall drivers after that.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
731 (0.22/day)
Likes
102
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.2 GHz Quad-core Ivy Bridge
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-M Z77
Cooling ID-COOLING IS-50 TDP 130W
Memory Kingston HyperX Genesis 2x4 GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz 9-11-9-27-1T
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce® GTX 1070 AMP Edition (ZT-P10700C-10P)
Storage WD SiliconEdge Blue 64 GB SSD, Kingston SSDNow! 240 GB SSD, WD RE4 1 TB HDD
Display(s) LN-T4065F FullHD LCD TV
Power Supply Raidmax RX-1000AE 1000W 80 Plus Gold
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury FPS Gaming Mouse (Defective MOUSE3)
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#13
I have the K43SV (with an NVIDIA GT 540M) and had the same problem before.

This is gonna suck to hear this, but try pressing down (not too hard) around the area near the power button. If the screen starts flickering and the backlight kicks back on, it means that you've got a loose connection which plagues most K43S* models.
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2012
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#14
I have the K43SV (with an NVIDIA GT 540M) and had the same problem before.

This is gonna suck to hear this, but try pressing down (not too hard) around the area near the power button. If the screen starts flickering and the backlight kicks back on, it means that you've got a loose connection which plagues most K43S* models.
Do you got solution for that.. asus now forget their product and no fix , no new updates..
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
731 (0.22/day)
Likes
102
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.2 GHz Quad-core Ivy Bridge
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-M Z77
Cooling ID-COOLING IS-50 TDP 130W
Memory Kingston HyperX Genesis 2x4 GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz 9-11-9-27-1T
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce® GTX 1070 AMP Edition (ZT-P10700C-10P)
Storage WD SiliconEdge Blue 64 GB SSD, Kingston SSDNow! 240 GB SSD, WD RE4 1 TB HDD
Display(s) LN-T4065F FullHD LCD TV
Power Supply Raidmax RX-1000AE 1000W 80 Plus Gold
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury FPS Gaming Mouse (Defective MOUSE3)
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#15
Did my method work for you?

If your K43SA is still under warranty, go have it serviced by a local ASUS repair center.
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2012
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#16
Did my method work for you?

If your K43SA is still under warranty, go have it serviced by a local ASUS repair center.
it work. thx alot .:D. i have 2 month for warranty...anyway , i think my laptop cant update for new driver or sth like that..really suck...
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
731 (0.22/day)
Likes
102
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.2 GHz Quad-core Ivy Bridge
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-M Z77
Cooling ID-COOLING IS-50 TDP 130W
Memory Kingston HyperX Genesis 2x4 GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz 9-11-9-27-1T
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce® GTX 1070 AMP Edition (ZT-P10700C-10P)
Storage WD SiliconEdge Blue 64 GB SSD, Kingston SSDNow! 240 GB SSD, WD RE4 1 TB HDD
Display(s) LN-T4065F FullHD LCD TV
Power Supply Raidmax RX-1000AE 1000W 80 Plus Gold
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury FPS Gaming Mouse (Defective MOUSE3)
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#17
You should be able to install the driver now. If the backlight goes out again, just use my method to get it to kick back on. Since you have two months left on warranty, my suggestion is to get that repaired ASAP.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#18
this is purely driver related somehow. i think laptop manufacturers use modified drivers since most cards are on the motherborad itself, and laptops integrate certain power saving features not found on a normal desktop like brightness dimming, etc.

this is why when you often install a desktop driver, it will cause your screen to black out, as the desktop driver does not contain any instructions relating to screen brightness. so as default it goes off.

i have experienced this myself. However, using manual function buttons and power options from control panel WILL fix this.


Goto control panel, select power options (the one with a battery for icon)

select balanced power profile, and click on "change plan settings"
then select "advanced power settings"

from the new window that comes up, you should finda brightness option somewhere.

i dont have a laptop, so i cant help you with screen shots.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,402 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#19
this is purely driver related somehow. i think laptop manufacturers use modified drivers since most cards are on the motherborad itself, and laptops integrate certain power saving features not found on a normal desktop like brightness dimming, etc.
Or maybe he confirmed that it was a loose connection and that this occurring at the same time as the driver update was a coincidence.

Do you got solution for that.. asus now forget their product and no fix , no new updates..
Did my method work for you?

If your K43SA is still under warranty, go have it serviced by a local ASUS repair center.
it work. thx alot .:D. i have 2 month for warranty...anyway , i think my laptop cant update for new driver or sth like that..really suck...
I have a Mobility Radeon 3650 in my old Dell laptop and it's a little picky about which GPU drivers it will let run on it. Just an observation.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#20
It doesnt work..My screen still dark like this and i must use my desk lamp to see the deskop...
The backlight on the screen isn't working? If that is true, you need a new backlight. Most likely a coincidence that it burnt out while updating drivers.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
731 (0.22/day)
Likes
102
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.2 GHz Quad-core Ivy Bridge
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-M Z77
Cooling ID-COOLING IS-50 TDP 130W
Memory Kingston HyperX Genesis 2x4 GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz 9-11-9-27-1T
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce® GTX 1070 AMP Edition (ZT-P10700C-10P)
Storage WD SiliconEdge Blue 64 GB SSD, Kingston SSDNow! 240 GB SSD, WD RE4 1 TB HDD
Display(s) LN-T4065F FullHD LCD TV
Power Supply Raidmax RX-1000AE 1000W 80 Plus Gold
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury FPS Gaming Mouse (Defective MOUSE3)
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#21
Guys, this is a common issue with the K43S series of ASUS laptops. That's why I had him try to physically push down the area near the power button to his backlight back on. I had the same issue with my K43SV (which has the GT 540M instead of a HD 6730M).