• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My RTX 2060 crashes every time i open a game.

Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
13,209 (4.78/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory G.Skill 16GB 3600 C18
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Messages
700 (0.58/day)
Location
UK, Leicester
System Name Main PC
Processor 9900k@4.8ghz 1.25v
Motherboard Asrock Fatality K6 Z370
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory 32 Gig 3200CL14
Video Card(s) 3080 RTX FE
Storage 980 PRO 1TB (OS, others not listed)
Display(s) LG 27GL850
Case Fractal Define R4
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X
Power Supply Antec HCG 750
You either have a reject RMA it, or is as Caring1 said in my opinion wrong bios on the card.
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
6,260 (3.40/day)
Location
Norway, currently in Lund, Sweden
System Name Hotbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock Phantom Gaming B550 ITX/ax
Cooling Aquanaut + Laing DDC 1T Plus PWM + Corsair XR5 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200c14
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon 6900XT Liquid Devil Ultimate, UV@950mV/2050MHz/180W
Storage 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro
Display(s) Dell U2711 main, AOC 24P2C secondary
Case SSUPD Meshlicious
Audio Device(s) Optoma Nuforce μDAC 3
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro M w/DSA profile caps
Software Windows 10 Pro
You either have a reject RMA it, or is as Caring1 said in my opinion wrong bios on the card.
Given that they bought it used there's a significant chance that an RMA is off the table.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
3,947 (3.34/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x16 GB Crucial Ballistix 3600 CL16 Rev E
Video Card(s) RTX3080 Ti FE
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) Acer XB273GP
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster G6 | Fidelio X2 | Sennheiser 6XX
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
Update your drivers first:
1638523970468.png
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,493 (0.74/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor Xeon 2697 V2(12c/24t) (OC-3,45Ghz-ALL*CORES----TURBO BOOSTING 4,03Ghz)
Motherboard Sabertooth X79
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 52Gb DDR3 Kingston/Mushkin 1540Mhz Active clocks(9-9-9-30-160-2T)
Video Card(s) 1)R9 Fury Sapphire Nitro 4gbHBM/1080Mhz***2)MATROX P690
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb +Samsung 128gbSSD +SSD Kinston 480Gb
Display(s) BenQ 28"EL2870U(4K-HDR) / Acer 24"(1080P) / Eizo 2336W(1080p) / 2x Eizo 19"(1280x1024)
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) Realtek/Creative T20 Speakers
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse Asus TUF-GAMING M3
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
VR HMD Oculus Rift DK2
Software Win 11
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike=14610,Cinebench R15=1789,Cinebench R20=3791.Passmark=20689,Geekbench4=32885
Maybe the problem is the GPU memory,one of the chiplets ain't working properly you should try to downclock memory and also maybe downclock your GPU clock and see how that goes...GL
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
3,947 (3.34/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x16 GB Crucial Ballistix 3600 CL16 Rev E
Video Card(s) RTX3080 Ti FE
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) Acer XB273GP
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster G6 | Fidelio X2 | Sennheiser 6XX
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)

Fk1

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2021
Messages
14 (0.08/day)
but when a open this vbios says "please close aorus engine before installing" and i dont have aorus engine in my pc.
1638537491352.png


Maybe the problem is the GPU memory,one of the chiplets ain't working properly you should try to downclock memory and also maybe downclock your GPU clock and see how that goes...GL
I lowered the core clock to -110 and works perfectly in warzone, however, heaven runs in extreme without crashing (completely stock). I think it's a software thing and not a card defect.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
3,947 (3.34/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x16 GB Crucial Ballistix 3600 CL16 Rev E
Video Card(s) RTX3080 Ti FE
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) Acer XB273GP
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster G6 | Fidelio X2 | Sennheiser 6XX
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
but when a open this vbios says "please close aorus engine before installing" and i dont have aorus engine in my pc.View attachment 227440


I lowered the core clock to -110 and works perfectly in warzone, however, heaven runs in extreme without crashing (completely stock). I think it's a software thing and not a card defect.
Download Nvidia drivers from:
Warzone is bug ridden POS.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,493 (0.74/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor Xeon 2697 V2(12c/24t) (OC-3,45Ghz-ALL*CORES----TURBO BOOSTING 4,03Ghz)
Motherboard Sabertooth X79
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 52Gb DDR3 Kingston/Mushkin 1540Mhz Active clocks(9-9-9-30-160-2T)
Video Card(s) 1)R9 Fury Sapphire Nitro 4gbHBM/1080Mhz***2)MATROX P690
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb +Samsung 128gbSSD +SSD Kinston 480Gb
Display(s) BenQ 28"EL2870U(4K-HDR) / Acer 24"(1080P) / Eizo 2336W(1080p) / 2x Eizo 19"(1280x1024)
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) Realtek/Creative T20 Speakers
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse Asus TUF-GAMING M3
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
VR HMD Oculus Rift DK2
Software Win 11
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike=14610,Cinebench R15=1789,Cinebench R20=3791.Passmark=20689,Geekbench4=32885
but when a open this vbios says "please close aorus engine before installing" and i dont have aorus engine in my pc.View attachment 227440


I lowered the core clock to -110 and works perfectly in warzone, however, heaven runs in extreme without crashing (completely stock). I think it's a software thing and not a card defect.
Some of the first Turing cards have certain stability issues.....also If downclocking "trick" works for you that's good and if card working on lower clock now you can also try to lower the Voltage....GL
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
13,209 (4.78/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory G.Skill 16GB 3600 C18
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit

Fk1

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2021
Messages
14 (0.08/day)
Your GPU-z screenshot shows a device I.D. for a different card than the one you linked to.
That leads me to believe your card has the wrong Vbios flashed to it.
this device id is from which card?

can you send me the vbios to download?

Some of the first Turing cards have certain stability issues.....also If downclocking "trick" works for you that's good and if card working on lower clock now you can also try to lower the Voltage....GL
I need to understand, why in heaven works perfectly in stock whithout crashing, and when i open warzone it need to be in -110 clock to work properly.
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
6,260 (3.40/day)
Location
Norway, currently in Lund, Sweden
System Name Hotbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock Phantom Gaming B550 ITX/ax
Cooling Aquanaut + Laing DDC 1T Plus PWM + Corsair XR5 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200c14
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon 6900XT Liquid Devil Ultimate, UV@950mV/2050MHz/180W
Storage 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro
Display(s) Dell U2711 main, AOC 24P2C secondary
Case SSUPD Meshlicious
Audio Device(s) Optoma Nuforce μDAC 3
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro M w/DSA profile caps
Software Windows 10 Pro
I need to understand, why in heaven works perfectly in stock whithout crashing, and when i open warzone it need to be in -110 clock to work properly.
Different software stresses the GPU in different ways. Essentially impossible to pinpoint exactly, but in broad strokes that's it. It's similar to overclocking - an OC that's 100% 24/7 stable in one workload might crash after a few minutes in another. It's just the quirks and complexities of software interacting with hardware.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,493 (0.74/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor Xeon 2697 V2(12c/24t) (OC-3,45Ghz-ALL*CORES----TURBO BOOSTING 4,03Ghz)
Motherboard Sabertooth X79
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 52Gb DDR3 Kingston/Mushkin 1540Mhz Active clocks(9-9-9-30-160-2T)
Video Card(s) 1)R9 Fury Sapphire Nitro 4gbHBM/1080Mhz***2)MATROX P690
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb +Samsung 128gbSSD +SSD Kinston 480Gb
Display(s) BenQ 28"EL2870U(4K-HDR) / Acer 24"(1080P) / Eizo 2336W(1080p) / 2x Eizo 19"(1280x1024)
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) Realtek/Creative T20 Speakers
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse Asus TUF-GAMING M3
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
VR HMD Oculus Rift DK2
Software Win 11
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike=14610,Cinebench R15=1789,Cinebench R20=3791.Passmark=20689,Geekbench4=32885
I need to understand, why in heaven works perfectly in stock whithout crashing, and when i open warzone it need to be in -110 clock to work properly.
Who knows....it's a used cards maybe someone changed the bios on it or maybe it was the reference card and someone change the cooling&bios so it looks like it is the Gigabyte card now.....or maybe simply do not "like" to work on that frequency in certain games maybe memory overheats or GPU core and games snaps.....you can check all of this above and decide what to do....but be careful if you decide to do bios flashing with some other RTX 2060 bios or maybe to edit the bios card by yourself and then to flash it......If you don't have the experience don't do that because it's easier just to downclock your GPU in MSI Afterburner.... GL
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
10,032 (2.25/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II/Trig
Processor Amd R5 5600G/ Intel 8750H/3800X
Motherboard Crosshair hero8 impact/Asus/crosshair hero 7
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu ek suprim Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in four sticks./16Gb/16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060/GTX 1060
Storage Silicon power 1TB nvme/8Tb external/1Tb samsung Evo nvme 2Tb sata ssd/1Tb nvme
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync.dellshiter
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic/strix scar2/aero cool shiter
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi/Asus stock /850 watt ?
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Aimo 120
VR HMD Oculus rift
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
There's a reasonable chance you're card just needs a clean out , re Tim and possibly the thermal pads replacement.
Since it's second hand you can't know how it was used and if it folded or crypto mined for its life it likely would have partially dryed out thermal pads etc.

I would try this.

Oh and my Vega64 has done this three times now and been repaired to full operation and it's been malested by workloads it's whole life it's folding and mining at the same time now.
 

Fk1

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2021
Messages
14 (0.08/day)
@Caring1 said i am in the wrong vbios, which is the correct vbios?

There's a reasonable chance you're card just needs a clean out , re Tim and possibly the thermal pads replacement.
Since it's second hand you can't know how it was used and if it folded or crypto mined for its life it likely would have partially dryed out thermal pads etc.

I would try this.

Oh and my Vega64 has done this three times now and been repaired to full operation and it's been malested by workloads it's whole life it's folding and mining at the same time now.
i will try this, thermal grizzy has good thermal pads?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
10,032 (2.25/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II/Trig
Processor Amd R5 5600G/ Intel 8750H/3800X
Motherboard Crosshair hero8 impact/Asus/crosshair hero 7
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu ek suprim Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in four sticks./16Gb/16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060/GTX 1060
Storage Silicon power 1TB nvme/8Tb external/1Tb samsung Evo nvme 2Tb sata ssd/1Tb nvme
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync.dellshiter
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic/strix scar2/aero cool shiter
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi/Asus stock /850 watt ?
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Aimo 120
VR HMD Oculus rift
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
@Caring1 said i am in the wrong vbios, which is the correct vbios?


i will try this, thermal grizzy has good thermal pads?
They do, but get a spread of depths, 0.5 1 and 1.5mm at least, most use two types and it's hard to know which until you are ,in the moment so to speak with bits everywhere.

Using the wrong depth of pad can cause damage to the GPU , by either lifting the heatsink off the chip which you can imagine would be the case if you used 5mm thick pads everywhere, not possible but easier to visualise what I'm saying, in that case the chip wouldn't touch the heatsink coldplate, but even a 0.5mm extra width pad over stock would reduce the contact pressure between the GPU main chip and the heatsink, not good and could end up worse.
Too thin and you end up with uneven contact pressure across other parts of the card, or too much pressure on the GPU chip.

I'm not trying to scare you, just prepare you :)
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2018
Messages
883 (0.61/day)
Location
Al Balqa', Jordan
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 (Covered with Arctic MX-4)
Motherboard Gigabyte A320M-S2H (rev 1.X) BIOS version: F54
Cooling CPU:Wraith Spire, Case:4xAlseye EY-120 (3xFront Intakes+1xRear Exhaust)+1xTop Exhaust stock case fan
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz C15 8GB x 2 @3000MHz (16-15-17-36) @1.3V (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15R ver5.39)
Video Card(s) Colorful TomaHawk GTX 1650
Storage Colorful CN600 120GB (OS) + Kingston A400 2.5" 120GB + WD Blue 500 GB (5000AAKX) + WD Caviar 160 GB
Display(s) LG 22MK400H-B (Main, HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster E1920 (2ndary, DL-DVI-D Male to VGA Female adapter)
Case Cooler Master MasterBox MB520
Audio Device(s) Frisby FSP-235
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE 550 80+ White
Mouse HP G200 Black
Keyboard HP SK-2885
Software Windows 11 Home
i recently bought an rtx 2060, it arrived today, but everytime i try to open a game like warzone and r6 the game crashes, but when i open fivem and csgo the game works properly. Warzone just closes, I thought it was a vram problem but I benchmarked it in the OCCT and apparently it isn't. I've tried to clean drivers (ddu), install other drivers, but nothing works, does anyone have an idea of what it might be?
Been having the same issue for +1 year now, Already posted a post about it a while ago here: https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/im-frustrated-please-help.281568/
I just gave up on it, I hope u find a fix ASAP.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
922 (0.35/day)
System Name loon v4.0
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard asus Z590TUF+wifi
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ballistix 3600 cl16
Video Card(s) eVga 3060 xc
Storage WD sn570 1tb(nvme) SanDisk ultra 2tb(sata)
Display(s) cheap 1080&4K 60hz screens
Case Roswell Stryker
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G6
Mouse eats cheese
Keyboard warrior!
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/21765182 https://www.3dmark.com/pr/1114767
I need to understand, why in heaven works perfectly in stock whithout crashing, and when i open warzone it need to be in -110 clock to work properly.
because synthetic benchmarks ≠ gaming. benchmarks almost always stress one aspect of the gpu at a time, either pixel fill or tessellation and now ray tracing or DLSS/AI and whatnot. whereas gaming will load everything at once. UL/3DMark has guides for their benchmark suites (timespy, firestrike) that discusses which scenes stress what part of the gpu w/a cpu bench scene.

fwiw, i found heaven is relevant for the gpu chip's clock speed but for vram, valley has been alot more helpful dialing in memory speeds. - that bench is more sensitive (better scores) tweaking that.
 
Top