• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

My smartphone is totaled..what can I do to get the data?

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#26
Yep, If ADB would find his phone, he could use the app I have attached.
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,103 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,256
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#27
I tried to use the phone's microUSB to USB dongle to plug into the PC once and I think it just automatically charges. I think since Android and Windows are 2 completely different operating systems it would make sense, but I will try it again and see if any notification pops up when I do. I will try it when I get home in a few hours and report back here.
on galaxy devices you have to download their software on your pc to view the phone correctly or it will just treat the pc as a charging station. Also they require that you use the original usb to micro cable, I've tried with a Motorola one and it doesn't work, just charges.

try that first to get your data. Your contacts should all be tied up with your google account so no worries there, but sadly all your apps are gone. Just the storage files will be accessible via usb (pics, music, video, etc)
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.08/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#28
on galaxy devices you have to download their software on your pc to view the phone correctly or it will just treat the pc as a charging station. Also they require that you use the original usb to micro cable, I've tried with a Motorola one and it doesn't work, just charges.

try that first to get your data. Your contacts should all be tied up with your google account so no worries there, but sadly all your apps are gone. Just the storage files will be accessible via usb (pics, music, video, etc)
nah you are mistaken. The samsung Touchwiz UI requires you to set the phone to mass storage mode from the phone screen. When you plug it in a usb icon will show in the status bar, when you select it a menu will pop up.

Actually helped my friend backup her pictures last night on her Galaxy SII.

And any old cable will work.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,103 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,256
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#29
nah you are mistaken. The samsung Touchwiz UI requires you to set the phone to mass storage mode from the phone screen. When you plug it in a usb icon will show in the status bar, when you select it a menu will pop up.

Actually helped my friend backup her pictures last night on her Galaxy SII.

And any old cable will work.
no I am not wrong, it literally will not work on gs1 devices until you install their software. Whatever has happened since then doesn't apply.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.08/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#30
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,103 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,256
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#31
I have had a galaxy s captivate and a galaxy s epic and I have never had to install any software other than drivers to view the phones internal storage.

edit: straight from samsung's website - http://www.samsung.com/us/support/s..._cd=N0000002subtype_ia_cd=N0000003row_index=1
current version is 1.5.14.0 from samsungs website, if you try to access it without said drivers (which do come with an update suite that checks your phone every time you connect it for updates) it will show up as a connected device (at least on windows 7) but will error out when you try to actually open it up.

you said there's nothing that needs to be installed. That's incorrect. Also I've tried connecting it with both my old cable from a an original Motorola droid and My Droid Razr Maxx's cable and it does the same thing, just charges, shows up but cannot be opened.


Any HTC or Motorola Droid I've used doesn't have this issue. I can connect it to any pc that can recognize usb devices and it will work as a usb drive without having to install anything.

Galaxy S devices have all required me to install something before I can add files.

The OP has a galaxy S device, if he hasn't already, he must install the suite before it will work.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.08/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#32
This might help with getting video out: AT&T Samsung Captivate (Galaxy S) TV out demonstra...

current version is 1.5.14.0 from samsungs website, if you try to access it without said drivers (which do come with an update suite that checks your phone every time you connect it for updates) it will show up as a connected device (at least on windows 7) but will error out when you try to actually open it up.

you said there's nothing that needs to be installed. That's incorrect. Also I've tried connecting it with both my old cable from a an original Motorola droid and My Droid Razr Maxx's cable and it does the same thing, just charges, shows up but cannot be opened.


Any HTC or Motorola Droid I've used doesn't have this issue. I can connect it to any pc that can recognize usb devices and it will work as a usb drive without having to install anything.

Galaxy S devices have all required me to isntall something before I can add files.

The OP has a galaxy S device, if he hasn't already, he must install the suite before it will work.
:roll: whatever you say bub

I am not going to consider myself an android expert but I would say I am pretty experienced. I have published apps on the play store. Worked on gerrit changes included in cyanogenmod, and done various other things for the android community. Have owned at least 10 different android phones, 75% of them being samsung devices. Including a captivate.

But you know what you are probably right. :banghead:
By the way it was nice of you to provide a link to this said software the OP needs.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,103 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,256
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#33
:roll: whatever you say bub

I am not going to consider myself an android expert but I would say I am pretty experienced. I have published apps on the play store. Worked on gerrit changes included in cyanogenmod, and done various other things for the android community. Have owned at least 10 different android phones, 75% of them being samsung devices. Including a captivate.

But you know what you are probably right. :banghead:
By the way it was nice of you to provide a link to this said software the OP needs.
in this case, you said it yourself. So don't get all high and mighty on me. And don't pull out your dick out on me either, I've not interest in and online measuring contest.

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/
click cell phones, eter your model number, click "manuals and downloads" it will default to manuals, click "software" download, install. done
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.08/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#34
in this case, you said it yourself. So don't get all high and mighty on me. And don't pull out your dick out on me either, I've not interest in and online measuring contest.

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/
click cell phones, eter your model number, click "manuals and downloads" it will default to manuals, click "software" download, install. done
I see kies and I see drivers. I don't see any special software required to access the phone. You don't need to kies to see the phone as a mass storage device. I have never, ever downloaded or installed kies on my computer and have had no problem viewing galaxy s1 phones on my computer. That includes my captivate and epic and my dad's fascinate.

 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#35
samsungs need no special programs, I rooted a SG1 and SII for co workers and just the stock drivers with the phone in debug mode.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,796 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,785
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#36
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.08/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#37
samsungs need no special programs, I rooted a SG1 and SII for co workers and just the stock drivers with the phone in debug mode.
Thank You :toast:
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
557 (0.15/day)
Likes
118
Processor i7 920
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X58
Cooling Fans
Memory 24 GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) gtx460
Storage spinners
Display(s) Dell 2001F
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply X750
Software win 7 x64 pro
Benchmark Scores fast...
#38
FWIW, The phone doesn't have HDMI out, but can do HDMI through the USB port. Probably requires some input on the phone screen though.

http://www.ubergizmo.com/2010/07/samsung-galaxy-s-supports-hdmi-output-via-micro-usb-cable/
No, the TV out goes through headphone jack. Starting with sgs ii, the mhl adapter is used. I have one for my broken screen sgs ii, and this post is on a sgs.

edit... add pic

ok, below is my galaxy boneyard. the mainboard is my original t959 (t-mo sgs). it suffered a bad flash, is waiting for resurrection. the extra guts (camera, headphone jack, speaker, frame on left side) are leftovers from sgs. the screen on the right is from sgs 4g t959v. I bought it from craigslist cheap, and dumped the guts onto my screen from sgs. the glass on screen from sgs 4g is busted, but the digitizer and amoled are fine.

I found a teardown of the at&t sgs (captivate, i897), and the mainboards are the same, save a few minor differences. I propose using my busted screen to get your data off your phone. now, it will not work as a phone, just a pocket pc, as the frames are part of the antenna system, and they are radically different. it is a good, free way to get your data.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,655 (0.70/day)
Likes
775
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#39
the screen on the right is from sgs 4g t959v. I bought it from craigslist cheap, and dumped the guts onto my screen from sgs. the glass on screen from sgs 4g is busted, but the digitizer and amoled are fine.

I found a teardown of the at&t sgs (captivate, i897), and the mainboards are the same, save a few minor differences. I propose using my busted screen to get your data off your phone. now, it will not work as a phone, just a pocket pc, as the frames are part of the antenna system, and they are radically different. it is a good, free way to get your data.
Yea. The screen is now completely bust I'm pretty sure. The first day it broke I was able to see the screen like I said, but was greenish and was fading in and out, but is now completely black. After I some free time after work I'm going to go ahead and try to find 1 of those TV-out RCA cables that plug into my headphone jack like the 1 I saw in the youtube video BrooksyX provided and see if I can still effectively at least use the screen by swiping. If swiping the phone is unresponsive, I might have to ask you for your spare screen guts and try that. And of course I will compensate you for that.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,655 (0.70/day)
Likes
775
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#40
Looks like none of the 4 cables I have tried (2 different MHL-certified ones) is able to get the phone to display to either a monitor or hdtv.

1freedude, I pm'd you about those parts you have, hopefully you could ship it out to me perhaps to see if I can get it to work? Let me know. This almost sounds like a surgery; I want to try every possible solution before letting a third-party try and fix the problem for me
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908 (0.65/day)
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#41
Is the phone stock or have you installed recovery and root?
i have the same phone i will experiment with ways to get to data that could be done with no screen and report back

try these drivers first and see if you can get anything to recognize your phone remove any other Samsung drivers/kies software first and reboot before installing.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=1431414&d=1351215630

So even if your on stock you can flash a kernel with odin to get adb working then backup with adb details are here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1164598
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,655 (0.70/day)
Likes
775
Processor Intel i5-2500k @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-2
Memory 8GB DDR3 1866 Gskill Snipers 9-10-9-28
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Fatality Professional
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
#42
Is the phone stock or have you installed recovery and root?
i have the same phone i will experiment with ways to get to data that could be done with no screen and report back

try these drivers first and see if you can get anything to recognize your phone remove any other Samsung drivers/kies software first and reboot before installing.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=1431414&d=1351215630

So even if your on stock you can flash a kernel with odin to get adb working then backup with adb details are here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1164598
The problem with my situation is that I have more than just contacts I need to get backed up. I have made lots of notes in my note-taking app "Memo" and recorded a lot of sound using my "Voice Recorder" app as well that I need to back up. Pictures and videos are a plus as well if I can get to those.
My phone is completely stock, I haven't really changed any settings except the brightness. I don't know how far your method would get me. Care to let me know before I go ahead and try a new screen?
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908 (0.65/day)
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#43
The screen if you can get it would be the easiest route i would bet that other sgs screens ppl mentioned will not work but if its free its worth a try

the adb method above will pull everything from the internal sd