• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My Windforce 1050 ti is DEAD

KraKhen

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2018
Messages
12 (0.02/day)
I have had installed this BIOS version (https://www.gigabyte.com/Graphics-Card/GV-N105TWF2OC-4GD#support-dl-bios) on my 1050 ti, and when i restarted, it did not powerup (only the lights).
When i press the button the fans go at maximum speed, but only for a few seconds then they go slower.
I think that if i instal this BIOS (https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/190061/gigabyte-gtx1050ti-4096-161223-1) wich is a diferent one, it will power up.
Am I correct?
HELPPPPP
THank you for your atencion.

My computer spects are:
Ryzen 5 1500x
Ga-Ab350m-Gaming 3
Ram Corsair at 3200 (overclocked)
SSD samsung 850 evo 250gb
WD 1tb 7200rmp
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2017
Messages
324 (0.26/day)
System Name Burning a hole through my wallet
Processor 3700X
Cooling EVGA CLC 360
Memory 2x16 Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB @3200MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080 super hybrid ftw3
Storage 500GB 960 EVO 2x2TB WD Caviar Black RAID0 4TB Seagate 4TB Ironwolf
Case NZXT h700i
Power Supply EVGA G3 850
Mouse Logitech G502 hero
Keyboard Logitech G513
Software Win 10 Pro 64
Welcome, did you flash the first bios you listed onto your card or did it come with it? If that bios was shipped on your card my first word of advice would be to contact gigabyte.


If you flashed it, I believe that you need a second card to get display out on and then use nvflash to flash the bios onto your 1050ti like you did before.
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
8,564 (1.54/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
You Flashed it from its Original Bios and now it fails to Display ??
 

KraKhen

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2018
Messages
12 (0.02/day)
You Flashed it from its Original Bios and now it fails to Display ??
OMG i did not flashed, my products are under warranty, will they acepted?.
Or i can do something else to troubleshoot the VGA?
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
There is a warning on the bios page regarding what bios files you can flash from what series.

F1, it can only be updated with VBIOS versions F2-F9.
F10, it can only be updated with VBIOS versions F11-F19.
F20, it can only be updated with VBIOS versions F21-F29.

maybe you have tried to flash the wrong bios
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2017
Messages
367 (0.39/day)
Location
Canada, Quebec
System Name Macbook Air 2014
Processor Intel Core i5 1.3Ghz
Memory 8GB 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) Intel HD Graphics 5000 1536MB
Storage 256GB SSD
Display(s) 13.3" 1440x900
OMG i did not flashed, my products are under warranty, will they acepted?.
Or i can do something else to troubleshoot the VGA?
"I have had installed this BIOS version (https://www.gigabyte.com/Graphics-Card/GV-N105TWF2OC-4GD#support-dl-bios) on my 1050 ti, and when i restarted, it did not powerup "

So you've flashed the BIOS with a new official one and it doesn't boot after that? You should open a ticket with their support they might be of help. Just explain them clearly what happenned. Gigabyte isn't the best support ever but if it's still under warranty, you gotta try at least. But as therealmeep said earlier, if you want to try something yourself, you'll need a second video card to be able to see something and do something.

EDIT;
Ripcord might have found the issue.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2017
Messages
324 (0.26/day)
System Name Burning a hole through my wallet
Processor 3700X
Cooling EVGA CLC 360
Memory 2x16 Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB @3200MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080 super hybrid ftw3
Storage 500GB 960 EVO 2x2TB WD Caviar Black RAID0 4TB Seagate 4TB Ironwolf
Case NZXT h700i
Power Supply EVGA G3 850
Mouse Logitech G502 hero
Keyboard Logitech G513
Software Win 10 Pro 64
He sounds like he had that bios on it that he did not touch and that the card has just broken. If this is the case your best bet is to open a ticket with gigabyte about it and hope the rma gods like you.
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
8,564 (1.54/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
If You Flashed the Bios with Authorization from Gigabyte and it has failed or has further Problems then Contact Gigabyte for advice/RMA
 

KraKhen

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2018
Messages
12 (0.02/day)
There is a warning on the bios page regarding what bios files you can flash from what series.

F1, it can only be updated with VBIOS versions F2-F9.
F10, it can only be updated with VBIOS versions F11-F19.
F20, it can only be updated with VBIOS versions F21-F29.

maybe you have tried to flash the wrong bios
"I have had installed this BIOS version (https://www.gigabyte.com/Graphics-Card/GV-N105TWF2OC-4GD#support-dl-bios) on my 1050 ti, and when i restarted, it did not powerup "

So you've flashed the BIOS with a new official one and it doesn't boot after that? You should open a ticket with their support they might be of help. Just explain them clearly what happenned. Gigabyte isn't the best support ever but if it's still under warranty, you gotta try at least. But as therealmeep said earlier, if you want to try something yourself, you'll need a second video card to be able to see something and do something.

EDIT;
Ripcord might have found the issue.
He sounds like he had that bios on it that he did not touch and that the card has just broken. If this is the case your best bet is to open a ticket with gigabyte about it and hope the rma gods like you.
If You Flashed the Bios with Authorization from Gigabyte and it has failed or has further Problems then Contact Gigabyte for advice/RMA
I didn't flash the VBIOS.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2017
Messages
367 (0.39/day)
Location
Canada, Quebec
System Name Macbook Air 2014
Processor Intel Core i5 1.3Ghz
Memory 8GB 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) Intel HD Graphics 5000 1536MB
Storage 256GB SSD
Display(s) 13.3" 1440x900
I didn't flash the VBIOS.
Oh okay!

If it's still in warranty, open a ticket with their support mate. If you flash the BIOS and kill it even more, they won't accept the RMA.

He sounds like he had that bios on it that he did not touch and that the card has just broken. If this is the case your best bet is to open a ticket with gigabyte about it and hope the rma gods like you.
you were right, +10 points gryffindor
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2017
Messages
324 (0.26/day)
System Name Burning a hole through my wallet
Processor 3700X
Cooling EVGA CLC 360
Memory 2x16 Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB @3200MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080 super hybrid ftw3
Storage 500GB 960 EVO 2x2TB WD Caviar Black RAID0 4TB Seagate 4TB Ironwolf
Case NZXT h700i
Power Supply EVGA G3 850
Mouse Logitech G502 hero
Keyboard Logitech G513
Software Win 10 Pro 64
Then go open up a ticket with gigabyte. They will be the most help here
 

KraKhen

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2018
Messages
12 (0.02/day)
Then go open up a ticket with gigabyte. They will be the most help here
"I have had installed this BIOS version (https://www.gigabyte.com/Graphics-Card/GV-N105TWF2OC-4GD#support-dl-bios) on my 1050 ti, and when i restarted, it did not powerup "

So you've flashed the BIOS with a new official one and it doesn't boot after that? You should open a ticket with their support they might be of help. Just explain them clearly what happenned. Gigabyte isn't the best support ever but if it's still under warranty, you gotta try at least. But as therealmeep said earlier, if you want to try something yourself, you'll need a second video card to be able to see something and do something.

EDIT;
Ripcord might have found the issue.
I have an other graphics card, what i have to do to troubleshoot the VGA that is dead.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 3, 2013
Messages
1,732 (0.72/day)
Location
Tokyo, Ota
Processor i5 - 7300HQ
Memory 8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) 1060 6GB
Storage 180GB m.2 SATA | 250GB 850Evo SATA
Display(s) FHD 15" Gsync IPS + Acer H243H
Mouse Rival 300 with Omron main switches.
Keyboard Apex m500 (mx red)

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,688 (3.84/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.6Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-2T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898, FIIO Alpen 2 Headphone DAC + Amp
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100, Cherry MX Blues with O-rings
Software Ubuntu 20.04 LTS (Stock 5.4.0-33 kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
So i cant do nothing??
You could start by telling us what you did instead of trying to tell us you did and didn't flash the BIOS. :confused:
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
3,194 (1.23/day)
You should try & explain what you did properly , make a 5 point list of things you last did with the 1050ti. You can include any steps you took to troubleshoot the problem.
 

KraKhen

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2018
Messages
12 (0.02/day)
You should try & explain what you did properly , make a 5 point list of things you last did with the 1050ti. You can include any steps you took to troubleshoot the problem.
You could start by telling us what you did instead of trying to tell us you did and didn't flash the BIOS. :confused:
So this are the steps:
1- I download this (https://www.gigabyte.com/Graphics-Card/GV-N105TWF2OC-4GD#support-dl-bios).
2- I opened it and it was like a INSTALER.
3- Then it said that i have to restart the PC.
4- And when it power up the screen was black(no BIOS, no Windows, no nothing).
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,213 (3.31/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
So you flashed your bios. you likely did something incorrectly , human error is the case almost every time in situations like this ,and now it doesn't work. As long as the manufacturer supports flashing the bios ,and you used the software they approve of ,and the files they approve of ,then they may work with you and allow an rma, but I do know they don't cover human error, so you may be required to pay if they find something wrong.

If you know you did everything by their rules, I would suggest that you stop, don't try to fix anything yourself, and send the video card to the manufacturer. If they support flashing of their bios ,and it was their files and you followed their rules, they might approve the RMA . But the second you try recovering it, if you use something they don't approve of and they find out ,you're throwing your warranty out the window

If there's no possibility of warranty, then MoveOn with repairing yourself if possible
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
3,194 (1.23/day)
So this are the steps:
1- I download this (https://www.gigabyte.com/Graphics-Card/GV-N105TWF2OC-4GD#support-dl-bios).
2- I opened it and it was like a INSTALER.
3- Then it said that i have to restart the PC.
4- And when it power up the screen was black(no BIOS, no Windows, no nothing).
Looks like you flashed the wrong BIOS or as jbody said something went wrong during the process. Try to get in contact with them & see what happens, also post you GPU pics here for confirmation.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
12,142 (5.83/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
So this are the steps:
1- I download this (https://www.gigabyte.com/Graphics-Card/GV-N105TWF2OC-4GD#support-dl-bios).
2- I opened it and it was like a INSTALER.
3- Then it said that i have to restart the PC.
4- And when it power up the screen was black(no BIOS, no Windows, no nothing).
Note the fine print under your link
Warning:
Because BIOS flashing is potentially risky, if you do not encounter problems using the current version of BIOS, it is recommended that you not flash the BIOS. To flash the BIOS, do it with caution. Inadequate BIOS flashing may result in system malfunction.


Did you encounter problems with the stock BIOS before flashing?
 

KraKhen

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2018
Messages
12 (0.02/day)
Note the fine print under your link
Warning:
Because BIOS flashing is potentially risky, if you do not encounter problems using the current version of BIOS, it is recommended that you not flash the BIOS. To flash the BIOS, do it with caution. Inadequate BIOS flashing may result in system malfunction.


Did you encounter problems with the stock BIOS before flashing?
Yes i had, problems with some games, when the graphics card is at full load, some errors in thye frames.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
12,142 (5.83/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Yes i had, problems with some games, when the graphics card is at full load, some errors in thye frames.
Errors, can you elaborate? Any card at max load is liable to produce FPS drops, for example.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
12,142 (5.83/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
OK. So if the card was producing artifacts, you should contact Gigabyte support regardless. I would not recommend another flash and fiddling with the card too much. Reason: if you get a card with a bios that produces artifacts, that alone is reason for RMA. It should work correctly out of the box.

If you are unsure what artifacts look like, here's a google search to skim through.

You can also refine the search to the specific games you had artifacts in, and see if others have similar and whether patches for the game fixed it. To rule out it was the game. This information will help you when contacting support.
https://www.google.nl/search?rlz=1C1GCEA_enNL780NL780&tbm=isch&sa=1&ei=G44qW7zDF4b5wAKI2aHoAg&q=graphics+artifacts+gaming&oq=graphics+artifacts+gaming&gs_l=img.3...61352.62251.0.62397.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0..0.0....0...1c.1.64.img..0.0.0....0.std0bjrhbrI#imgrc=L-LCgChF74krrM:
 
Last edited:
Top