• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

My X800XTPE is artifacting at stock speeds!

Rob94hawk

New Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I'm using ATITool .23 and ATI driver 4.11 and I'm getting errors at stock speeds of 520/560. Temps are no more than 58C with the arctic cooler. I don't overclock it although I did try to find max core recently.

I'm also getting kicked out of Dawn of War games online and single skirmishes. It seems the vid card is the culprit.

Don't know where to go from here other than RMA'ing it back to ATI.

Any ideas? Thanx
 

angelus

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2004
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#2
Ok thats wierd, i have artifacts also with ati tool 0.23 (but they allready know that)
It's probly not your VGA, well atleast in my case its not.

Me wonders if u get artifacts in games, dropping out of a game or a crash(reboot) can also be your power supply.

I dont get artifacts in games, with half life 2 1024 x768 4xAA 16XAF and clocked at 590/570, But i do in atiTool :D, In my case atitool is just buged with mine ati card.

i got a MSI x800 xt pe btw :) So before u send your card back, plz consider the powersupply for 1 sec, and even try to replace it iwth an higher Watt, Because 350 Watt is not enough if u ask me. :)
 

N312D

New Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2005
Messages
17 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
i hate it when people don't finish the thread if the problem has been solved
 

angelus

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2004
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
is the problem solved? not here it is, still can not find the highest core speed and memory with atitool.. still dont have any artifacts with quake4 at 590/570 at High quality 1024x768
 

nkcd

New Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Mine sometimes does that too though the temps is low and never gets above 55 at 100% fullload. I ran the 2.5 beta 8 version though. :(

It's not my PSU since it's a sparkle 550w with a beefy 36A on 12V line :)
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
642 (0.14/day)
Likes
11
Location
Madrid, Spain
System Name Sample light
Processor AMD Phenom II 965
Motherboard MSI DKA790GX
Cooling Zalman 9500LED
Memory 2x 2GB G-skill PC8500
Video Card(s) Asus built AMD/ATI HD4850
Storage 500GB Wesern Digital green
Display(s) too ashamed to tell, but its an acer
Case Lian Li V2000
Audio Device(s) Echo Audiofire 2
Power Supply Corsair VX550
Software Windows XP pro SP3
#7
RMA the card,
some people just cant accept the idea of DOA (Dead on arrival)
"but its new, how can it be broken"
well, when quality control is handled by the cheapest bidder,
 

angelus

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2004
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
Aevum said:
RMA the card,
some people just cant accept the idea of DOA (Dead on arrival)
"but its new, how can it be broken"
well, when quality control is handled by the cheapest bidder,
K thats just stupid, u have no such information about my card, whenever is is dead or fully alive. As a matter afact i allready have this card about 1 year now, played the highest possible games Ut2k4 far cry HL2 Doom3 F.e.a.r Quake4 non of them showing me any artifacts even not with nice oc (which i mentioned before) allso tryed in every game 4xAA and 16x AF to spice up a littlebit my temp of the VGA.

As u see, it's not always that simple :banghead: