1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

my zalman 9500 want get my cpu over 3.2 ghz

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Live OR Die, Jul 6, 2007.

  1. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,274 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    505
    hi i overclocking my E6600 the max i can get it to is 3.2ghz my ram can go more is my zalman to crap to go over 3.2 ghz any one know any good coolers thanks
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. quasar923 Guest

    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,274 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    505
    thanks ill have to find a shop thats sells thermalright because i live in the aus and never see any were that sells them only seen mostly thermaltake and zalman and i dont buy online
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. quasar923 Guest

    oh and get some artic silver 5 thermal paste. runs for like 5 bucks on new egg. just put a thin paste of that over the cpu then snap on the heat sink and your good to go. i see your specs and ill bet with the ultra 120 extreme youll get over 3.5 fo sho
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. quasar923 Guest

    why dont you buy offline its safe. i know my parents never thought it was but when i first got stuff for my comp i showed them its fine
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,274 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    505
    thanks well i cant find any shop that sells thermalright any other ideas
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,480 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    552
    If you like Zalman,...the 9700 rocks the house.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. quasar923 Guest

    ultra 120 exetreme is better
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. quasar923 Guest

    if you want ask someone in the US or who can get it to buy it for you and you send them the money and then they send it to you. would be a bit expensive tho.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Do you even need a better cooler???? I mean you can't just assume that your chip will pass 3.2gig.

    I would monitor the temps before forking out for a new cooler.... Is it overheating, what sort of voltage are you putting in it etc, etc.

    I would just assume that a better cooler wil get you 4 gig oc....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,480 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    552
    http://www.frostytech.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=2045&page=5
    Stock and by VERY little depending on case,ambient,ect. Google Zalman mods and you will find like 3 easy mods for this cooler that will wipe the ultra off the chart;).I know because I did it! I did the "stuffing he AS5" in the voids around the cpu base where the pipes meet.That alone gained me 2C BEATING the Ultra.
    Plus,...the ZALMAN even looks better if you have a window.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,274 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    505
    well i got a 9700nt of my mate still dosnt go over 3.2 Ghz any help would be good its a core 2 duo E6600 [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,626 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Are you giving it more volts ?? And if so what are you setting it in the bios ?

    What do you have your mem at ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,480 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    552
    Yes,...^^^ and is it temps holding you back or hardware not being overclockable?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,274 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    505
    im running my ram at 800 downfrom 1066 but tried both ways no chang and fsb 1465 any high restarts in windows or i get the bule screen of death and havnt up the volts
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,626 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    TX, USA
    well what are you trying to get ?

    what are your temps at 3.2GHz ?

    what is your cpu and mem volts set in the bios ?

    what is your mem tim ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,480 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    552
    And remember,...change only 1 setting at a time,then re-boot.Changing more than 1 at a time will give you a buescreen when at such high frequencies.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,274 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    505
    im tring to get up over 3.4 my temps are under 40c they were around 40c with my zalman 9500 i have a 9700 now my cpu voltages at 1.248 and dont know how to find out my ram volts and tim all i know i dont chang the ram for 1066mhz
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,626 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    TX, USA
    well your going to have to up the volts to the cpu ?

    so it seems you dont know your way around your bios do you ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)