• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Naturally Aspired PC WaterCooling Club

Joined
Sep 3, 2012
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
10
Location
Bangkok,Thailand
System Name Black & White Phantom
Processor Intel Core I5 2500K
Motherboard Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling Liquid cooling
Memory G-skill sniper 17000cl-11d 2133
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Nvidia GTX580 Ref.
Storage Seagate baracuda
Display(s) Toshiba Regza
Case NZXT Phantom
Power Supply XFX pro full wired core 750watts
Benchmark Scores 3dmarks11 10090 points
my water cooling system

After wating liquid cooling parts for long time.Here it is.











more pics here
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.92/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
Looking at building a quiet big HTPC with the HAF XB.

Parts list in planning

http://img.techpowerup.org/121113/Capture050.jpg

I already have the two lower rads (120x2 and 120x1) just listing them for posterity. Loops will be cooling the CPU and possibly dual GPU's.
I can almost guarantee all that watercooling wont fit in this HAF XB.Id eliminate the 80mm rad and go with the dual rads up top
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
oooh! Triplet Watercooling Fun! let us see the benches when youre finished, CDA;)


Motherboard is labeled out for delivery so it should be here soon so I can finish this up.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
Motherboard was DOA, but I wanted to test fit the setup to get all the tubing cut.



Rest of the thread
 
Last edited:

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.80/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
I'm putting the paddles on this thread to resessitate it. Can you guys give [Ion] some advice?

The 3930k/HD7930 is now out of comission--I took apart my loop to add the second radiator, only to find that it was fully of green growth. And when I tried to re-build the loop with tubing from a friend (left over from a fountain project) it leaked. So I'm obviously not going to put the system on that. And the 300GB boot drive seems to have taken a dump. I'll be ordering new tubing tomorrow, but I don't expect to have things going again before maybe Tuesday :(
Will new tubing and clamps get him up and going? This is for a Thermaltake Bigwater 760 kit BTW.
 
Last edited:

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
I'm putting the paddles on this thread to resessitate it. Can you guys give [Ion] some advice?



Will new tubing and clamps get him up and going? This is for a Thermaltake Bigwater 760 kit BTW.
Actually it's not--this is for the custom loop I've but on my 3930k (the TT Bigwater kit is doing great).

Specs are:
XSPC RX240
XSPC Raystorm
XSPC X20 750 Dual 5.25" Pump / Reservoir Combo

I've tossed the old tubing--will buying new tubing and clamps be sufficient?
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,586 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,821
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
The Bigwater is a pre-assembled factory unit? I had a look just there at a review of one. The barbs are 3/8" so i don't see why you couldn't just add new tubing and clamps to be safe. As long as the cpu block is there too. Or indeed, i guess this could be used to cool a gpu?

It is noisy at load though (says the review).

EDIT: too late .....:eek:

Actually it's not--this is for the custom loop I've but on my 3930k (the TT Bigwater kit is doing great).

Specs are:
XSPC RX240
XSPC Raystorm
XSPC X20 750 Dual 5.25" Pump / Reservoir Combo

I've tossed the old tubing--will buying new tubing and clamps be sufficient?
Yes, it would. I'd go for tubing that is one size narrower than the barbs you use. And on that front - remember your fittings.... (barbs or compression)
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,624 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,346
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Actually it's not--this is for the custom loop I've but on my 3930k (the TT Bigwater kit is doing great).

Specs are:
XSPC RX240
XSPC Raystorm
XSPC X20 750 Dual 5.25" Pump / Reservoir Combo

I've tossed the old tubing--will buying new tubing and clamps be sufficient?
my guess is that the fittings are what leaked. You must wrench in those fittings to keep them from leaking, because just a slight twist in the tube is enough to back the fitting out when installed finger tight like you can with say a BitsPower fitting. Clamps aren't such a big deal, I mean I have used zip-ties, or those Herby clips that come with the kits.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,586 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,821
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
my guess is that the fittings are what leaked. You must wrench in those fittings to keep them from leaking, because just a slight twist in the tube is enough to back the fitting out....
That's why i like rotary fittings. Freedom to move the tubing.
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.80/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
[Ion] was looking at some 7/16" Primochill tubing. 1/2" clamps are OK with this, right?

Thanks guys! :respect:
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,624 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,346
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
I used 3/8" and there was no need for clamps as you have to heat and stretch the tubing. 7/16" isn't enough of a jump to warrant clamps in my opinion as I would guess that needs stretched as well.

1/2" clamps wont close enough and may make them be out of round or in the case of the Herby style clamps, may not close with any pressure.
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.80/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,624 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,346
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Let me find one of mine, squeeze it all the way closed, and get the calipers out to find the minimum ID of the clip;) (also those are what I was calling Herby clamps).

I figured out what I missed. My clamps are 3/4" OD clamps, and when the clip is all the way closed I get a measurement of 47/64" (just less than 3/4") or 18.5mm. From what I am seeing, the 1/2" clamp may tighten enough for pressure on the hose, but since he has to stretch the tubing, essentially he is thinning the OD of the tubing as well. Also with that same clamp just locked on one click, it is 15/16" wide, so maybe using 3/8" clamps and not closing them all the way is a better way to look at the clamps needed.
 
Last edited:

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
The Bigwater is a pre-assembled factory unit? I had a look just there at a review of one. The barbs are 3/8" so i don't see why you couldn't just add new tubing and clamps to be safe. As long as the cpu block is there too. Or indeed, i guess this could be used to cool a gpu?

It is noisy at load though (says the review).

EDIT: too late .....:eek:



Yes, it would. I'd go for tubing that is one size narrower than the barbs you use. And on that front - remember your fittings.... (barbs or compression)
I'm running the TT Bigwater on a 3.8GHz E8500--it's doing great. Last night I robbed off the fan and forgot to put on a new one, and the system remained fully stable (albeit at 80C)
my guess is that the fittings are what leaked. You must wrench in those fittings to keep them from leaking, because just a slight twist in the tube is enough to back the fitting out when installed finger tight like you can with say a BitsPower fitting. Clamps aren't such a big deal, I mean I have used zip-ties, or those Herby clips that come with the kits.
It's not the fittings. I didn't have enough of the factory tubing to reassemble it, so I tried to use some tubing left over from a fountain project one of my friends did last semester. The tubing is too big for the barbs--that's what leaked. The kit came with some of these--they do a good job, but I don't have enough. I think that if I buy half a dozen of them and then seven feet of this I should be good to go. I think
Let me find one of mine, squeeze it all the way closed, and get the calipers out to find the minimum ID of the clip;) (also those are what I was calling Herby clamps).
Thank you! Would cable ties work? The only ones I Have here are tiny ones, but I have some real ones at home (I'm moving home again in a week, anyways)
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,624 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,346
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
I have had great success with zip ties and a pair of pliers to make sure it is tight, then just clip off the excess.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
I have had great success with zip ties and a pair of pliers to make sure it is tight, then just clip off the excess.
OK. In that case should I just order the tubing? Would that be sufficient to last a few days until I can cable-tie it as well?
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,624 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,346
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
well the 750 pump isn't that powerful, so I am guessing that the 7/16" tubing should stay in place just with the pressure of the barb on the fitting. I use 3/8" without any clamping on 1/2" barbs and you have to cut it off the fitting.

To tell if you are going to be okay without anything, put the hose on a fitting attached to say the CPU block, then pull on the tubing while holding the block. If it pops right off, you need something to clamp it, if it stays in place, you are good to go.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
well the 750 pump isn't that powerful, so I am guessing that the 7/16" tubing should stay in place just with the pressure of the barb on the fitting. I use 3/8" without any clamping on 1/2" barbs and you have to cut it off the fitting.

To tell if you are going to be okay without anything, put the hose on a fitting attached to say the CPU block, then pull on the tubing while holding the block. If it pops right off, you need something to clamp it, if it stays in place, you are good to go.
With the tubing that came with the kit, I can't remove the tubing from the fitting unless the fitting is screwed into a block or something and I can grip it better. Even then, it helps enormously to heat it up a bit. So I assume for a few days I'd be OK?
And the 750 pump is sufficient for a single block and two radiators, right?

I saw this thread earlier--would it be worth my while to bleach all of the components of the loop as well? I'm not sure that I can get those tiny rocks, but bleach I'm sure is at the grocery store.

And how do I avoid this happening again? I'm not exactly thrilled with this, surprisingly enough :p
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,624 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,346
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
the stock tubing is very loose on the fittings, so it should easily come off. Since you are going to a smaller tubing anyways, why not get 3/8" tubing, heat and stretch the tubing, and have no need for any clamps at all.

As far as cleaning the loop, I don't know that I would go to bleach, maybe vinegar and baking soda, but I think bleach is a little harsh, and if you leave some residue, I have no idea how it will effect the tubing if pumped through it.

The pump is fine for that loop, but not as powerful as say a 655/35x that may blow those hoses off the fittings (and why I mentioned it not being so powerful).

If the rad is green, it was either a chemical reaction to the copper (oxidation) or you had natural light shining on something to grow algae. They do make additives to keep this from happening in the future too.

Also to add, your link shows to me, bits of copper stuck in the pores of the tubing. Every time I have used clear tubing they look like that, and is why I no longer use it.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
the stock tubing is very loose on the fittings, so it should easily come off. Since you are going to a smaller tubing anyways, why not get 3/8" tubing, heat and stretch the tubing, and have no need for any clamps at all.

As far as cleaning the loop, I don't know that I would go to bleach, maybe vinegar and baking soda, but I think bleach is a little harsh, and if you leave some residue, I have no idea how it will effect the tubing if pumped through it.

The pump is fine for that loop, but not as powerful as say a 655/35x that may blow those hoses off the fittings (and why I mentioned it not being so powerful).

If the rad is green, it was either a chemical reaction to the copper (oxidation) or you had natural light shining on something to grow algae. They do make additives to keep this from happening in the future too.
This is exactly what I have. The stock tubing didn't feel loose at all. I'm worried about possibly getting tubing that's too small--I have about 15ft of blue tubing here that I simply cannot force over the barbs. It just doesn't fit. It's Feser 3/8" x 1/2".

And the rad wasn't green--just the tubing.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,624 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,346
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
This is exactly what I have. The stock tubing didn't feel loose at all. I'm worried about possibly getting tubing that's too small--I have about 15ft of blue tubing here that I simply cannot force over the barbs. It just doesn't fit. It's Feser 3/8" x 1/2".

And the rad wasn't green--just the tubing.
Get a microwave safe cup/bowl, heat until it starts to boil. Dunk the end of the tube in the water for 10-20 seconds, then quickly stretch it over the 1/2" barb. It is tougher to do, but gives a slick finished result.

like this:
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
Get a microwave safe cup/bowl, heat until it starts to boil. Dunk the end of the tube in the water for 10-20 seconds, then quickly stretch it over the 1/2" barb. It is tougher to do, but gives a slick finished result.

like this:
http://images.tweaktown.com/content...jin_tj11_sst_tj11b_w_tower_chassis_review.jpg
Quite frankly that looks amazing. The tubing certainly is stretched remarkably tight :eek:

I'll try again tonight to see what I can accomplish. And this can just be stretched like that by hand?
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,624 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,346
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Let me give you the rundown....

Try dunking it and pressing it over, thicker walled tubing is somewhat easier to do this with.
I use thinner walled tubing, and I do have to heat them as usual, but I do also stick a pair of needle-nose pliers about an inch into the hose and open them backwards to help stretch the end. Usually a couple of times to really loosen it up. You do have to be fast though, because once the heat is gone from the tubing, it will be normal sized by then, and you need to start the process over again.

I also suggest the barbs are in the blocks, rads, whatever, as it gives you much better purchase to push against rather than trying to weasel it over the barb only.

Sometimes it may get tight on the fittings, but you just have to keep working it past the sticky spots until the hose hits the back of the barb. I have thought of using a bit of soap in the water to help it slide, but have always been able to work past it without an additive. (not sure if soap residue will end up in the loop and making bubbles) I have been known to use some good old fashioned spit to help them slide easier though;)