• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Navi 21, 22 and 23 specs - TDP & Clocks

Joined
Dec 18, 2015
Messages
140 (0.08/day)
System Name Avell old monster - Workstation T1 - HTPC
Processor i7-3630QM\i7-5960x\Ryzen 3 2200G
Cooling Stock.
Memory 2x4Gb @ 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) HD 7970M \ EVGA GTX 980\ Vega 8
Storage SSD Sandisk Ultra li - 480 GB + 1 TB 5400 RPM WD - 960gb SDD + 2TB HDD

This GPU would allegedly feature up to 80 Compute Units (5120 Stream Processors if each CU has 64 cores). The variant listed in macOS11 appears to have a boost clock at 2050 MHz with Navi 21A variant and up to 2200 MHz with Navi 21B variant.

With a boost clock of 2200 MHz, the Navi 21B would have a shader performance of 22.5 TFLOPs. For comparison, with NVIDIA’s new dual SM architecture, the GeForce RTX 3080 graphics card has a maximum FP32 throughput of 29.8 TFLOPs.

Navi 22 – Navy Flounder
The mid-tier GPU in a lineup appears to feature 40 CUs, so just as many as Navi 10. Therefore, the GPU is expected to be an RDNA2 version of mid-range graphics for the upcoming RX 6700 series. The GPU is listed with a (maximum) GPU clock of 2500 MHz, so even higher than Navi 21.

Navi 23 – Dimgrey Cavefish
The entry-level GPU called Navi 23 is also listed in the firmware. Judging from the data collected by the Reddit stblr, we can conclude that the full number of CUs is 32 (so around 2048 Stream Processors). The frequency charts are not featured in the firmware yet.

We can already say that AMD will gain in efficiency this time ?
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
146 (0.79/day)
System Name Old one
Processor Phenom II x6 1035t
Motherboard Gigabyte ud3
Cooling Scythe mugen 2
Memory G.skill 1600kHz 9-9-924
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3870
Storage Western digital 500th hd
Display(s) Clear tunes TV
Case Coolermaster original 690
Power Supply Some dual fan 650 watts with a ratsnest
Mouse Ps/2 unknown
Keyboard Unknown, it just works!
Why does that 40CU have to be the 6700 XT?
What if it's the 6600 XT ?
The segments don't make sense with it at 6700 XT
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,819 (3.69/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2019)
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech G602
Software MacOS 10.15.6
Joined
Dec 10, 2014
Messages
645 (0.30/day)
Location
Nowy Warsaw
System Name SYBARIS
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 5 3600
Motherboard MSI Arsenal Gaming B450 Tomahawk
Cooling Cryorig H7 Quad Lumi
Memory Team T-Force Delta RGB 2x8GB 3200CL16
Video Card(s) Colorful GeForce RTX 2060 6G V2
Storage WD Black WD1003FZEX 1TB + Crucial MX500 500GB
Display(s) LG 22MP68VQ-P 22" 75hz IPS
Case In Win Mana 136
Audio Device(s) HyperX Cloud X | iVOOMi iVO-169SUFBT 2.1
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Cooler Master MM711 | Logitech G102 Prodigy | Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Fantech MK871 RGB TKL Outemu Blue mechanical keyboard
Software Windows 10 Education v2004 x64
The Radeon Pro 5600M in my laptop has 40 CUs. This doesn't seem to be outside of the realm of possibility.
Isn't that just AMD following Nvidia formula? Higher stream processor and lower clock speed.
 

Xls2

New Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2020
Messages
2 (0.02/day)
This indicates that navi 22 is the console class gpu in full configuration for xbox sx and Ps5 in cut down configuration just like Rx470/570 and Rx480/580 were to Ps4 pro and xbox one X, and need to be priced accordingly to be competitive against consoles.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,819 (3.69/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2019)
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech G602
Software MacOS 10.15.6
Isn't that just AMD following Nvidia formula? Higher stream processor and lower clock speed.
I think you have that backwards. AMD has traditionally done that. nVidia is really pushing it now though.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
5,919 (4.25/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX - 3333 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080 with Kraken G12 + Water 3.0 Performer C
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
Higher stream processor and lower clock speed.
That has always been the case since GPUs existed. You ideally want many processors at lower clock speeds because the power doesn't scale linearly.
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
499 (2.94/day)
Location
France
System Name Home
Processor Ryzen 3600X
Motherboard MSI Tomahawk 450 MAX
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix 3600 MHz DDR4 CAS 16
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT EVOKE OC
Storage Samsung 970 PRO 512 GB
Display(s) ASUS VA326HR + MSI Optix G24C4
Case MSI - MAG Forge 100M
Power Supply Aerocool Lux RGB M 650W
Why does that 40CU have to be the 6700 XT?
What if it's the 6600 XT ?
The segments don't make sense with it at 6700 XT
The biggest dies can yield 2 SKUs, the full die, and a smaller one cut down in order to improve yields. Also, the 40CU SKU can be clocked way higher than to lower bin 72 CU, so the distance in performance might be smaller than the CU count could lead you to believe. Anyway, it's still just a rumor.

I think you have that backwards. AMD has traditionally done that. nVidia is really pushing it now though.
When you have very big dies, you have to reduce clocks a bit, it's not about Nvidia or AMD, a 500 sq mm die will always have less overclocking headroom than a 300 one. And, indeed, Nvidia has been competing with very large dies since more than 10 years ago.

Well, this is still a rumor, but if it were true, the highest SKU should mop the floor with the 3080, provided there are no issues with memory bandwidth.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
146 (0.79/day)
System Name Old one
Processor Phenom II x6 1035t
Motherboard Gigabyte ud3
Cooling Scythe mugen 2
Memory G.skill 1600kHz 9-9-924
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3870
Storage Western digital 500th hd
Display(s) Clear tunes TV
Case Coolermaster original 690
Power Supply Some dual fan 650 watts with a ratsnest
Mouse Ps/2 unknown
Keyboard Unknown, it just works!
The biggest dies can yield 2 SKUs, the full die, and a smaller one cut down in order to improve yields. Also, the 40CU SKU can be clocked way higher than to lower bin 72 CU, so the distance in performance might be smaller than the CU count could lead you to believe. Anyway, it's still just a rumor.


When you have very big dies, you have to reduce clocks a bit, it's not about Nvidia or AMD, a 500 sq mm die will always have less overclocking headroom than a 300 one. And, indeed, Nvidia has been competing with very large dies since more than 10 years ago.

Well, this is still a rumor, but if it were true, the highest SKU should mop the floor with the 3080, provided there are no issues with memory bandwidth.
That would put a 96CU as 6900 XT

interestingly I was having a look at the Rx 5300, 5300 XT and 5500 XT are all the same chip with different Memory and clock speed set up.
They're listed as the 5500 XT being 12% faster overall. Which seems to be about the clock speed differences for all them. One of these cards is 96 bit vs 128 Bit. after looking at that, the notion that this 256 bit isn't enough doesn't really seem like a complaint anymore.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,895 (4.49/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I'd like SSG to be mainstream.
 
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
499 (2.94/day)
Location
France
System Name Home
Processor Ryzen 3600X
Motherboard MSI Tomahawk 450 MAX
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix 3600 MHz DDR4 CAS 16
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT EVOKE OC
Storage Samsung 970 PRO 512 GB
Display(s) ASUS VA326HR + MSI Optix G24C4
Case MSI - MAG Forge 100M
Power Supply Aerocool Lux RGB M 650W
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
1,482 (0.39/day)
Is there a reason preventing gpus with it coming later than cpus? I mean what could be simpler, 4GHz signals or 1.5ghz signals trafficking over some mcm hub.

I want AMD to bring back custom driver antialiasing modes and this time rotated grid checkerboard patterned 200% resolution scaling to make entry. Couple it with edge detect z-buffer shader or what not and we are good to go.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
146 (0.79/day)
System Name Old one
Processor Phenom II x6 1035t
Motherboard Gigabyte ud3
Cooling Scythe mugen 2
Memory G.skill 1600kHz 9-9-924
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3870
Storage Western digital 500th hd
Display(s) Clear tunes TV
Case Coolermaster original 690
Power Supply Some dual fan 650 watts with a ratsnest
Mouse Ps/2 unknown
Keyboard Unknown, it just works!
RDNA3 most probably.


I've never heard of any leak pointing to more than 80 CU and I find it very unlikely...
It was speculation on segmentation of where it could fit in.

Is there a reason preventing gpus with it coming later than cpus? I mean what could be simpler, 4GHz signals or 1.5ghz signals trafficking over some mcm hub.

I want AMD to bring back custom driver antialiasing modes and this time rotated grid checkerboard patterned 200% resolution scaling to make entry. Couple it with edge detect z-buffer shader or what not and we are good to go.
Infinity fabric is/has been scaled to work station cards with a link.

How ever it's a latency thing that everyone is worried about in GPU's with MCM, as with latency you won't want micro-stuttering.

I want the ability to change Crossfire and SLI rendering to Scissor and tile instead if always AFR
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
1,482 (0.39/day)
How ever it's a latency thing that everyone is worried about in GPU's with MCM,
Gpus are already multicompartmental devices. There is a command processor which decodes stuff up ahead, I think. However, apart from that, everything down is pretty sectioned off. Do rasterizers trade pointers?
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2014
Messages
645 (0.30/day)
Location
Nowy Warsaw
System Name SYBARIS
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 5 3600
Motherboard MSI Arsenal Gaming B450 Tomahawk
Cooling Cryorig H7 Quad Lumi
Memory Team T-Force Delta RGB 2x8GB 3200CL16
Video Card(s) Colorful GeForce RTX 2060 6G V2
Storage WD Black WD1003FZEX 1TB + Crucial MX500 500GB
Display(s) LG 22MP68VQ-P 22" 75hz IPS
Case In Win Mana 136
Audio Device(s) HyperX Cloud X | iVOOMi iVO-169SUFBT 2.1
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Cooler Master MM711 | Logitech G102 Prodigy | Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Fantech MK871 RGB TKL Outemu Blue mechanical keyboard
Software Windows 10 Education v2004 x64
The RDNA2 speculation thread on anandtech was talking about how RDNA2 will have bigger cache for supposedly overcoming the memory bandwidth related issues cause big navi is 256-bit and GDDR6 compred to rtx 3000's custom GDDR6X and wider bus. Some were saying bigger cache is also to prepare for next-gen MCM designs or sth. I don't have anandtech account so can anyone eli5?
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
146 (0.79/day)
System Name Old one
Processor Phenom II x6 1035t
Motherboard Gigabyte ud3
Cooling Scythe mugen 2
Memory G.skill 1600kHz 9-9-924
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3870
Storage Western digital 500th hd
Display(s) Clear tunes TV
Case Coolermaster original 690
Power Supply Some dual fan 650 watts with a ratsnest
Mouse Ps/2 unknown
Keyboard Unknown, it just works!
Gpus are already multicompartmental devices. There is a command processor which decodes stuff up ahead, I think. However, apart from that, everything down is pretty sectioned off. Do rasterizers trade pointers?
it's usually all inside a cache or scheduler the moment you go outside of those you hit some latency as you got farther way from the shader cores.

In all honest I don't like how everyone keeps saying multi-gpu is dead, and yet want M.C.M GPU's which are very similar to multi gpu in my view,

a L3 cache on the GPU could be beneficial if it's kept inside a central hub for synchronization of all chiplets.

I'm more along the thought that the central hub will be able to Just delete frames that came late.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
1,482 (0.39/day)
it's usually all inside a cache or scheduler the moment you go outside of those you hit some latency as you got farther way from the shader cores.
Well, I haven't thought about that. Scalar thread management requires access to the thread mask. It has to run in sync with the clock phase. Somewhere down the Polaris cycle, gpu latency took the center stage from gpu throughput. Now, developers don't develop for dispatch, they do it for the retire order. I hope we have more of their wonderful inventions, I love scalarization.
So, that is off the table. Maybe, they can mcm the compute units. You know they come with lds scratch memory that doesn't have to be so fast. I don't know. This stuff overwhelms me.

Or, they can make vector accesses through the mcm ports. Serial accesses need their own discrete buswidth, or they can access serially.
Is it harder than cpu mcm, though? Gpus don't run on coherency checks all the time. It could be a hardware rule to finish work in a serial fashion. We just caused ourselves a lot of problems. :)
It will still be wild when AMD launches this in consoles which I'm looking forward to with their crazy hardware setups. Each new launch is more exotic.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
5,919 (4.25/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX - 3333 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080 with Kraken G12 + Water 3.0 Performer C
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
Do rasterizers trade pointers?
Nope, it's all data independent, they don't even access shared memory within the CUs as far as I know. MCM GPUs will become a thing as soon as there is a need for them, the implementation is relatively "trivial".

In all honest I don't like how everyone keeps saying multi-gpu is dead, and yet want M.C.M GPU's which are very similar to multi gpu in my view,
Distributing work on chips on the same package is very different from distributing work across PCI-e devices. The difference in latency is orders of magnitude worse, not to mention the issues asymmetrical multiprocessing brings with it.

Multi-GPU for real time applications is dead and buried.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
499 (2.94/day)
Location
France
System Name Home
Processor Ryzen 3600X
Motherboard MSI Tomahawk 450 MAX
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix 3600 MHz DDR4 CAS 16
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT EVOKE OC
Storage Samsung 970 PRO 512 GB
Display(s) ASUS VA326HR + MSI Optix G24C4
Case MSI - MAG Forge 100M
Power Supply Aerocool Lux RGB M 650W
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
5,919 (4.25/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX - 3333 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080 with Kraken G12 + Water 3.0 Performer C
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
Joined
May 15, 2020
Messages
499 (2.94/day)
Location
France
System Name Home
Processor Ryzen 3600X
Motherboard MSI Tomahawk 450 MAX
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix 3600 MHz DDR4 CAS 16
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT EVOKE OC
Storage Samsung 970 PRO 512 GB
Display(s) ASUS VA326HR + MSI Optix G24C4
Case MSI - MAG Forge 100M
Power Supply Aerocool Lux RGB M 650W
The rumored massive caches are more or less inevitable at this point.
Yeah, well I remember that on launch day, AIB's had the number of CU completely wrong for Nvidia 30X0 GPUs, so I'm not ruling out last-minute changes, especially since there seem to be 2 controllers on these chips, one for GDDR6 and one for HBM.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2019
Messages
279 (0.60/day)
Processor R7 1700 non-X @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua
Memory 32 GB 3200 MT/s CL16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage 2x 500 GB SSD, 2x 3 TB HDD
Case Silverstone FT02
Software Manjaro Linux, W10 if I have to
Hmm why would a distributor listing not include prices? I hope the 6800XT comes in at less than 500 (which is the rumoured 3070). I think 12 GB VRAM will be the sweet spot (for 1440p) for the next few years, as the new consoles are coming in with 16 GB shared memory. Current plan is 6800XT with custom water cooling; the dream is the card and a water block for sub 500.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
5,919 (4.25/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX - 3333 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080 with Kraken G12 + Water 3.0 Performer C
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
Yeah, well I remember that on launch day, AIB's had the number of CU completely wrong for Nvidia 30X0 GPUs
The number of CUs was correct, the number of shaders was supposedly unknown. Not that it matters, they don't even need to know those details.
 
Top