• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NBA 2K13 Issue

Joined
Aug 1, 2009
Messages
868 (0.28/day)
Likes
430
Location
Baguio City, Philippines
System Name hmmm...
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K // AMD Athlon II X4 630
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Gene // MSI 785GM-E65
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S // Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 4x8gb DDR3 2400mhz G.Skill Sniper // 2x2gb DDR3 1333mhz GSkill Value RAM
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980 Ti // Palit GTS 250
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500gb + 3x2tb WD20EZRX // 1tb Seagate 7200.12
Display(s) LG IPS234V // AOC 2217V
Case Corsair Graphite 760T // Lian-Li PC-7 Plus
Audio Device(s) Onboard // Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX650 // Cougar CM 550
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M65 // Logitech MK120
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 // Logitech MK120
Software Windows 10 Professional x64 // Windows 7 Professional x64
#1
My friend has a PC with the following specs:

AMD FX 8350
Gigabyte 990FX UD5
2x8gb G-Skill Ripjaws X 1600mhz CAS 10
Seagate 160gb OS and 1tb Seagate for games/files
Sapphire 7950 Dual-X with boost (Catalyst 13.1 Drivers)
Corsair TX750
Corsair H100i
Cooler Master HAF 932
Windows 7 Ultimate
Samsung 32" 720p LCD TV

Everything is at stock setting at the moment. All the other games he plays work fine (BF3, Far Cry 3, COD MW2) except for NBA 2K13. What happens is after a few minutes of playing, the screen goes black but you can still hear the sound for a few more seconds then the computer just hangs. I've tried reformatting and reinstalling the game , maxing out/lowering the game settings/resolution, swapping out HDMI to DVI cable but still the same thing happens. Any ideas? :eek:
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.62/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
#2
some games just have issues, for instance my PC won't let me play Titans Quest for some reason, but everything else works perfect lol
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,401 (5.43/day)
Likes
9,570
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#3
some games just have issues, for instance my PC won't let me play Titans Quest for some reason, but everything else works perfect lol
there's a steam patch for that, I'll dig it up for you. Same with red faction 1 & 2, they have dubious steam patches for compatibility.
Black screen sounds like driver crash?
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.31/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#4
My friend has a PC with the following specs:

AMD FX 8350
Gigabyte 990FX UD5
2x8gb G-Skill Ripjaws X 1600mhz CAS 10
Seagate 160gb OS and 1tb Seagate for games/files
Sapphire 7950 Dual-X with boost (Catalyst 13.1 Drivers)
Corsair TX750
Corsair H100i
Cooler Master HAF 932
Windows 7 Ultimate
Samsung 32" 720p LCD TV

Everything is at stock setting at the moment. All the other games he plays work fine (BF3, Far Cry 3, COD MW2) except for NBA 2K13. What happens is after a few minutes of playing, the screen goes black but you can still hear the sound for a few more seconds then the computer just hangs. I've tried reformatting and reinstalling the game , maxing out/lowering the game settings/resolution, swapping out HDMI to DVI cable but still the same thing happens. Any ideas? :eek:
Wow dude, you've covered alot in your troubleshooting but it still goes black? Thats extremely odd.

My thoughts would be a game file issue, but it almost sounds like a driver issue too.
Does the sound stay on too?

Only other idea would be to cross reference Steam's support site. They might be able to help too.

Good luck :toast:
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,401 (5.43/day)
Likes
9,570
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#5
Wow dude, you've covered alot in your troubleshooting but it still goes black? Thats extremely odd.

My thoughts would be a game file issue, but it almost sounds like a driver issue too.
Does the sound stay on too?

Only other idea would be to cross reference Steam's support site. They might be able to help too.

Good luck :toast:
just had a breakthrough in my head. Black screens are sometimes caused by the bink player in certain games if they use it. Make sure your codecs are alright. Of its during gameplay its likely a driver issue. If the game is steam based, do a file verification
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2009
Messages
868 (0.28/day)
Likes
430
Location
Baguio City, Philippines
System Name hmmm...
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K // AMD Athlon II X4 630
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Gene // MSI 785GM-E65
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S // Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 4x8gb DDR3 2400mhz G.Skill Sniper // 2x2gb DDR3 1333mhz GSkill Value RAM
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980 Ti // Palit GTS 250
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500gb + 3x2tb WD20EZRX // 1tb Seagate 7200.12
Display(s) LG IPS234V // AOC 2217V
Case Corsair Graphite 760T // Lian-Li PC-7 Plus
Audio Device(s) Onboard // Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX650 // Cougar CM 550
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M65 // Logitech MK120
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 // Logitech MK120
Software Windows 10 Professional x64 // Windows 7 Professional x64
#6
there's a steam patch for that, I'll dig it up for you. Same with red faction 1 & 2, they have dubious steam patches for compatibility.
Black screen sounds like driver crash?
Wow dude, you've covered alot in your troubleshooting but it still goes black? Thats extremely odd.

My thoughts would be a game file issue, but it almost sounds like a driver issue too.
Does the sound stay on too?

Only other idea would be to cross reference Steam's support site. They might be able to help too.

Good luck :toast:
After the screen goes out the sound stays on for about 15-30 seconds then the computer just hangs/stops altogether and I'd have to do a hard reset.

just had a breakthrough in my head. Black screens are sometimes caused by the bink player in certain games if they use it. Make sure your codecs are alright. Of its during gameplay its likely a driver issue. If the game is steam based, do a file verification
Unfortunately the game isn't steam based. I'll try 12.10 drivers tomorrow. And about the codecs, how do I go about checking that? Do I need to download and install something like K-lite codec pack?


Thanks for all the replies :toast:
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#7
Who plays basketball games?>
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,401 (5.43/day)
Likes
9,570
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#8
After the screen goes out the sound stays on for about 15-30 seconds then the computer just hangs/stops altogether and I'd have to do a hard reset.



Unfortunately the game isn't steam based. I'll try 12.10 drivers tomorrow. And about the codecs, how do I go about checking that? Do I need to download and install something like K-lite codec pack?


Thanks for all the replies :toast:
yeah klite works. Also download binkplayer, you'll never use it but some games will.
Usually when a driver crashes the screen goes back to desktop and makes you aware of what has happened. If the screen goes black and then locks up shortly after and you get a sound like a record skipping, then that tells me system instability.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2009
Messages
868 (0.28/day)
Likes
430
Location
Baguio City, Philippines
System Name hmmm...
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K // AMD Athlon II X4 630
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Gene // MSI 785GM-E65
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S // Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 4x8gb DDR3 2400mhz G.Skill Sniper // 2x2gb DDR3 1333mhz GSkill Value RAM
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980 Ti // Palit GTS 250
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500gb + 3x2tb WD20EZRX // 1tb Seagate 7200.12
Display(s) LG IPS234V // AOC 2217V
Case Corsair Graphite 760T // Lian-Li PC-7 Plus
Audio Device(s) Onboard // Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX650 // Cougar CM 550
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M65 // Logitech MK120
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 // Logitech MK120
Software Windows 10 Professional x64 // Windows 7 Professional x64
#9
Who plays basketball games?>
I told him to play other games instead but he's hooked on NBA... He's been playing NBA games since he had his PS1, PS2, and PS3 (which just lately died). He opted to buy a PC instead of another PS3 coz he needs it for school... :)

yeah klite works. Also download binkplayer, you'll never use it but some games will.
Usually when a driver crashes the screen goes back to desktop and makes you aware of what has happened. If the screen goes black and then locks up shortly after and you get a sound like a record skipping, then that tells me system instability.
Everything's on stock... No overclocks... Could it be the hard drive? It's quite old, maybe I'll try to check it for bad sectors although I'm a bit skeptical since it only happens on NBA2K13 not on the other games...
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,401 (5.43/day)
Likes
9,570
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#10
I told him to play other games instead but he's hooked on NBA... He's been playing NBA games since he had his PS1, PS2, and PS3 (which just lately died). He opted to buy a PC instead of another PS3 coz he needs it for school... :)
what is this basketball you speak of, when do you get to shoot people. No game is truly complete without virtual violence! Even ice hockey games turn into street fighter once in a while!

EDIT: so I took a look on forums, apparently this happens on ps3 too a lot. Also it is grey common with pirated versions of the game, with dodgy cracks. So if it isn't a legit copy, tell him to find a better crack I suppose, and on top of that, the game is terribly made anyway!
 
Last edited:

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.19/day)
Likes
47
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
#11
the game engine its self haves issues with sli it would be a suprise to have and with crossfire.

disable crosffire and try again
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,865 (0.65/day)
Likes
523
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#12
maybe the game copy itself was bad? try getting it from another source.

is he running any kind of mod or custom patch in the game?

Who plays basketball games?>
I do
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.31/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#13
maybe the game copy itself was bad? try getting it from another source.

is he running any kind of mod or custom patch in the game?



I do
He's re-installed the game already, guess he could change his download client before.

Also, does NBA2K13 have mods? Doubt theres many patches as the game is fairly recent.

Also, I play it too. I think it's broken as shit but I still play it. I played 2K12 as well :cool:
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,865 (0.65/day)
Likes
523
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#14
He's re-installed the game already, guess he could change his download client before.

Also, does NBA2K13 have mods? Doubt theres many patches as the game is fairly recent.

Also, I play it too. I think it's broken as shit but I still play it. I played 2K12 as well :cool:
There's a ton of mods for NBA 2k13, for the 2k series for the PC(and surprisingly, for the Xbox too)

There's a big modding community for 2k, comparable to the size elder scrolls/halflife modding community. so sad, that the developers are ignoring them.

to the OP:
I had a similar problem once with NBA 2k12, turns out it was a graphics filter(enb series) combined with some mods that caused the problem. but as you said you were at stock settings so it was probably not mods.

If by chance you are using a "free" version of the game, if not the actual installer is busted, maybe the antivirus is messing with the game exe?
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2009
Messages
868 (0.28/day)
Likes
430
Location
Baguio City, Philippines
System Name hmmm...
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K // AMD Athlon II X4 630
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Gene // MSI 785GM-E65
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S // Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 4x8gb DDR3 2400mhz G.Skill Sniper // 2x2gb DDR3 1333mhz GSkill Value RAM
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980 Ti // Palit GTS 250
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500gb + 3x2tb WD20EZRX // 1tb Seagate 7200.12
Display(s) LG IPS234V // AOC 2217V
Case Corsair Graphite 760T // Lian-Li PC-7 Plus
Audio Device(s) Onboard // Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX650 // Cougar CM 550
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M65 // Logitech MK120
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 // Logitech MK120
Software Windows 10 Professional x64 // Windows 7 Professional x64
#15
what is this basketball you speak of, when do you get to shoot people. No game is truly complete without virtual violence! Even ice hockey games turn into street fighter once in a while!

EDIT: so I took a look on forums, apparently this happens on ps3 too a lot. Also it is grey common with pirated versions of the game, with dodgy cracks. So if it isn't a legit copy, tell him to find a better crack I suppose, and on top of that, the game is terribly made anyway!
It's legit... He bought it from a local video game shop (Data Blitz)

the game engine its self haves issues with sli it would be a suprise to have and with crossfire.

disable crosffire and try again
Not on crossfire... Single 7950...

maybe the game copy itself was bad? try getting it from another source.

is he running any kind of mod or custom patch in the game?
There's a ton of mods for NBA 2k13, for the 2k series for the PC(and surprisingly, for the Xbox too)

There's a big modding community for 2k, comparable to the size elder scrolls/halflife modding community. so sad, that the developers are ignoring them.

to the OP:
I had a similar problem once with NBA 2k12, turns out it was a graphics filter(enb series) combined with some mods that caused the problem. but as you said you were at stock settings so it was probably not mods.

If by chance you are using a "free" version of the game, if not the actual installer is busted, maybe the antivirus is messing with the game exe?
I'll ask if he does use mods...




Thanks for all the help... I'll be trying all the suggestions later today... :)
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.19/day)
Likes
47
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
#16
there is also a bug about the internet connection. if the game lost internet it hang(in my installation)

try that too. ask him to start the game without internet.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
3,876 (1.92/day)
Likes
1,396
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 1600 @4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200T
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 16GB (4x4GB) @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
Storage Seagatr Barracuda 2TB x4
Display(s) LG 29UM68-P 29" UltraWide w/FreeSync
Case Fractal Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#17
hmmm seems strange. I never had a problem with this game including using a HD 4870, GT 440 2GB, GTX 560 OC, HD 6950 and will test my HD 7950 when it arrives Saturday and report back
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
3,876 (1.92/day)
Likes
1,396
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 1600 @4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200T
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 16GB (4x4GB) @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
Storage Seagatr Barracuda 2TB x4
Display(s) LG 29UM68-P 29" UltraWide w/FreeSync
Case Fractal Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#18
What settings is he using
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2016
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name Acer Aspire M3420
Processor AMD A10-5700
Motherboard Acer AAHD3-VC
Cooling Standard Fansinks
Memory 8GB DDR3-800
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon HD 7350 1GB
Storage 2 (1- 1TB, 1-2TB)
Display(s) Toshiba TV 1080p60
Case Acer Aspire M3420
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Retail Plus 465W
Mouse Lexma Something-or-Other
Keyboard Generic
Software Windows 8.1 Home 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Bad
#19
I have a similar problem, but instead of the screen going black, during a game, the screen will randomly garble the text (and when anti-aliasing is enabled, the entire screen will zoom in on a small point.) I also tried getting the latest drivers, which ended in failure.