• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

need a decent Tv tuner software for windows 10

Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
189 (0.71/day)
System Name Old one
Processor Phenom II x6 1035t
Motherboard Gigabyte ud3
Cooling Scythe mugen 2
Memory G.skill 1600kHz 9-9-924
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3870
Storage Western digital 50gbh hd
Display(s) Clear tunes TV
Case Coolermaster original 690
Power Supply Some dual fan 650 watts with a ratsnest
Mouse Ps/2 unknown
Keyboard Unknown, it just works!
I need suggestion for a TV tuner for an OVA tuner.
the one I'm using now (sichbopvr) works to show the TV, but if I close it, change the channel or anything of thing else the sort it hard locks the computer. :-/
Might be my old hardware though too (HD 3870) and phenom II1035T) but I'd still like something useful to pause and rewind live TV on my Pc. Also if I upgrade the whole systems I want to keep the TV tuner card/'s working with the new system. I tried Kodi, but I get some kind of error when it started, plus I don't want to have to fiddle with downloading plugs just to watch some basic TV :-(
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2020
Messages
114 (0.33/day)
Location
Panama City Beach, Florida
System Name Robs Singularity
Processor Intel Core i9-7960X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X299 DESIGNARE EX
Cooling Thermaltake Floe Riing RGB 280mm Premium Edition Liquid
Memory Adata DDR4 PC4-23900 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS TURBO GTX 1080 x2 SLi
Storage Samsung SSD 980 PRO 512GB C:\
Display(s) LG 34''
Case Azza Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Asus Strix w/Alan Finote mod for Windows 10
Power Supply Corsair 1000
Mouse Steelseries Rival 600 wired
Keyboard Steelseries Apex 7 TKL red Switch
Software Win 10 Pro
Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
189 (0.71/day)
System Name Old one
Processor Phenom II x6 1035t
Motherboard Gigabyte ud3
Cooling Scythe mugen 2
Memory G.skill 1600kHz 9-9-924
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3870
Storage Western digital 50gbh hd
Display(s) Clear tunes TV
Case Coolermaster original 690
Power Supply Some dual fan 650 watts with a ratsnest
Mouse Ps/2 unknown
Keyboard Unknown, it just works!
TV Tuner? https://alternativeto.net/software/sichbopvr/

Software similar to Kodi would be https://bestdroidplayer.com/streaming-apps/best-kodi-alternatives/

I've used Plex for 6 years and it's worked flawlessly on an old computer I converted to my Plex server.

all I need is something as simple as Windows Media Center where I can find my tuner card load the program and watch TV on my PC.

I'm using a Happugue 2250 TV tuner right now
I have an Asus My Cinema card too (ES3-100) I might switch it out seem the software for the card works fine.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
4,632 (1.77/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Team T-Force Vulkan DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
Just try something like WinTV v7 that comes natively with this card. Or NextPVR, which they also recommend on the support page for HVR-2250.
If it has the same issue, it may be not the player's fault, but a driver issue (which is quite common for old TV tuners).
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
189 (0.71/day)
System Name Old one
Processor Phenom II x6 1035t
Motherboard Gigabyte ud3
Cooling Scythe mugen 2
Memory G.skill 1600kHz 9-9-924
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3870
Storage Western digital 50gbh hd
Display(s) Clear tunes TV
Case Coolermaster original 690
Power Supply Some dual fan 650 watts with a ratsnest
Mouse Ps/2 unknown
Keyboard Unknown, it just works!
Just try something like WinTV v7 that comes natively with this card. Or NextPVR, which they also recommend on the support page for HVR-2250.
If it has the same issue, it may be not the player's fault, but a driver issue (which is quite common for old TV tuners).

needs key code for WinTv7 No idea where that's at.

The Asus Arcsoft Total Media 3.5 software seems to work fine in windows 10 oddly enough.
I'm not having a Driver issues at all. They all seem to work fine.
NextPVR can't every find my TV tuner and gets stuck not responding . Not sure why if the Asus Arcsoft Totalmedia 3.5 software can find the Happugue ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Heck it even finds the old DVR card I have installed.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 9, 2020
Messages
114 (0.33/day)
Location
Panama City Beach, Florida
System Name Robs Singularity
Processor Intel Core i9-7960X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X299 DESIGNARE EX
Cooling Thermaltake Floe Riing RGB 280mm Premium Edition Liquid
Memory Adata DDR4 PC4-23900 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS TURBO GTX 1080 x2 SLi
Storage Samsung SSD 980 PRO 512GB C:\
Display(s) LG 34''
Case Azza Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Asus Strix w/Alan Finote mod for Windows 10
Power Supply Corsair 1000
Mouse Steelseries Rival 600 wired
Keyboard Steelseries Apex 7 TKL red Switch
Software Win 10 Pro
needs key code for WinTv7 No idea where that's at.
Activation for this version of WinTV v8 is done with your WinTV v7 CD-ROM SOURCE

hopefully, I'm not misunderstanding your statement. :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
189 (0.71/day)
System Name Old one
Processor Phenom II x6 1035t
Motherboard Gigabyte ud3
Cooling Scythe mugen 2
Memory G.skill 1600kHz 9-9-924
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3870
Storage Western digital 50gbh hd
Display(s) Clear tunes TV
Case Coolermaster original 690
Power Supply Some dual fan 650 watts with a ratsnest
Mouse Ps/2 unknown
Keyboard Unknown, it just works!
Activation for this version of WinTV v8 is done with your WinTV v7 CD-ROM SOURCE

hopefully, I'm not misunderstanding your statement. :rolleyes:

I don't know where the CD itself is at, that's all.
I know I have it somewhere.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
189 (0.71/day)
System Name Old one
Processor Phenom II x6 1035t
Motherboard Gigabyte ud3
Cooling Scythe mugen 2
Memory G.skill 1600kHz 9-9-924
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3870
Storage Western digital 50gbh hd
Display(s) Clear tunes TV
Case Coolermaster original 690
Power Supply Some dual fan 650 watts with a ratsnest
Mouse Ps/2 unknown
Keyboard Unknown, it just works!
well I've narrowed it down to My video card now
The Boards IGP (HD 3300) works both tuners fine on the two different working programs
Run it off the dedicated gpu (HD 3870) and bam Completely locked the computer :(
this quite the dilemma because I lose ram by running the IGP and gaming power
 
Top