• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Need a new Gfx card to play BF3 smoothly!

Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
37 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Warwickshire
System Name WulfHound
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE 3.4GHZ
Motherboard ASUS M4N98TD EVO
Cooling Stock AMD fan
Memory G.Skill 8Gb DDR3 1333 (2x4Gb) Ripjaws CL9 Dual-Chan
Video Card(s) Inno3D 250 gts 1GB gddr3
Storage Samsung F3 spinpoint 1TB
Display(s) 32 Inch Samsung LCD TV
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Power Supply OCZ 600W Stealthxstream
Software Windows 7 64-bit home Premium
#1
Hello ladies and gents

Currently i have a Inno3D gts 250 1GB graphics card and under load the card now sounds a tad bit noisey as i think the bearings on the fans are going,also when i play BF3 to get a smooth frame rate i've got to switch everything more or less to low to get a decent-ish experience playing online.

Now that is not good enough! So i am in the market to get a new graphics card, i guess an nvidea 560 TI or an AMD 6950 might be what i just need to get a decent framerate on BF3,but i do not know exactly which one i should go for, can anyone point me in the right direction?

Many thanks.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,271 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,366
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#2
get a 2gb 6950,performance between the 560ti and 6950 is about the same, but the 2gb of RAM on the 6950 will make BF3 run alot better on higher settings
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
1,561 (0.32/day)
Likes
207
Location
Poland,Slask
System Name HAL
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro Rev3.1
Cooling stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600Mhz Blu
Video Card(s) Asus 560Ti DirectCuII TOP
Storage Kingston 120 3K SSD,WD Black WD1502FAEX
Display(s) LG 1440x900
Case Chieftec Mesh Midi
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750V2
Software w8
#3
I just bought the setup in my spec's.
My 560Ti runs smoothly ~50-60fps on Ultra settings 1440x900 res with all driver settings set at default (Texture : Quality etc.).
Occasionally it drops to 30FPS during scope animation.

I chose Nvidia over ATI because of 3D Vision and CUDA. Most likely the ATI6950 is a better choice for pure FPS.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,271 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,366
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#4
Occasionally it drops to 30FPS during scope animation.
because of the 560ti only having 1gb of RAM, which is why I recommended the 2gb 6950.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
1,561 (0.32/day)
Likes
207
Location
Poland,Slask
System Name HAL
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro Rev3.1
Cooling stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600Mhz Blu
Video Card(s) Asus 560Ti DirectCuII TOP
Storage Kingston 120 3K SSD,WD Black WD1502FAEX
Display(s) LG 1440x900
Case Chieftec Mesh Midi
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750V2
Software w8
#5
I find it hard to believe its cause of the RAM at my resolution.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,271 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,366
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#6
I can't say I'm 100% sure that's why it slowed to 30fps, but you could find out for us. Go play alittle bit, and when you see that slow down, check your video ram usage. If it's max'ed out at that point, there's your reason for the slow down.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2009
Messages
749 (0.25/day)
Likes
126
Location
Netherlands
System Name gaming system
Processor 2600k @ 4.2 ghz
Motherboard MSI Z77 MPower
Cooling Thermalright ultra extreme 120 rev.C w/noctua NF-S12B push/pull
Memory 16gb corsair vengeance 2400 c11 @1.5 v/
Video Card(s) GB gtx670 WF3x sli @1080/1372/6660(core/boost/mem)
Storage 2x samsung 850evo 250gb raid 0 ,2tb wdblack, 3TB wd purple
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster P2770FH, asus VH242t/19" lg 1440x900
Case fractal design r4
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX1050
Mouse Razer abyssus
Keyboard corsair k70
Software Windows 10 pro x64
#7
580!!!
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,271 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,366
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#8
Yeah, I'm sure he'd love a 580. PM him for his shipping details, then go buy it and ship it to him.

Seriously, if the OP could afford a GTX580, he would have posted it as a option in the 1st post
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#9
The slowdown occurs incidentaly for me too, don't really now if it's the VRAM shortage of if the game or drivers have flaws but don't want to get into details. Based on what some good new games need - lots of VRAM - I'd suggest to go with a 2GB version, don't know if there are Ti models with that amount of Vram.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,593 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,826
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#10
The OP has a 32" CRT for a monitor. What is the resolution of it? That's the all important part.

My father (who is 70 :laugh:) plays on a 22" LCD with a HD5850 and a Phenom x6 1055 and it actually runs quite well. No slow fps and pretty damn smooth.

Overkill ain't necessary to play BF3 - good (multi-core) cpu makes a diff.
 

Play3r

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
241 (0.08/day)
Likes
18
Location
Perth, Australia
System Name SexMachine
Processor Intel i5 750 @ 4Ghz 1.29v
Motherboard Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Cooling Prolimatech Mega Shadow
Memory Corsair CM3X2G1600C9DHX 4GBs @ 800Mhz @ 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) VTx3d 6950 Modded +200 900mhz/1375mhz
Storage 120GB Corsiar Force 3, 2 1TBs, 6 1.5TBs, 3 2TBs
Display(s) BenQ XL2410T & Samsung SyncMaster 2693HM + Dell U2410
Case Lian Li PC-A70FB Black
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence ST
Power Supply CORSAIR 750W TX-750W POWER SUPPLY
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores Benchmark ALL THE THINGS
#11
i have a modded 6950 2gb which runs bf3 on med settings above 60fps (1080p) nearly all of the time so go for something like that i would say. not to sure what it would do at higher settings but a mate runs on ultra (1920x1200) with a none modded and he doesnt complain
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#12
It all depends on resolution and the settings you wanna use. On my other rig I tested BF3 with a GTS450 at 720p on an LCD TV and mostly at medium but with post AA it plays well and it looks great.
 
Joined
May 4, 2007
Messages
2,165 (0.56/day)
Likes
361
Location
Wallingford, CT
Processor Intel i7-5930k
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X99
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 4x8GB HyperX FURY DDR4-2666 15-17-17-15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
Storage 1x Plextor PX-512M6S SSD, 1x WD 750gb HDD, 2x Hitachi 2TB HDD, 1x Seagate 4TB HDD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2314H
Case Fractal Define R4
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse ROCCAT Kone Pure Color White
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB - Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#13
The slowdown occurs incidentaly for me too, don't really now if it's the VRAM shortage of if the game or drivers have flaws but don't want to get into details. Based on what some good new games need - lots of VRAM - I'd suggest to go with a 2GB version, don't know if there are Ti models with that amount of Vram.
Yes, there are 2 560 Ti 2gb available in the US. One made by EVGA and the other MSI. I would go with the MSI, the EVGA is notorious for having fan problems. There is also the Gainward Phantom model, but it isn't available in the US. To have it imported it costs about $450.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#14
The OP has a 32" CRT for a monitor. What is the resolution of it? That's the all important part.

My father (who is 70 :laugh:) plays on a 22" LCD with a HD5850 and a Phenom x6 1055 and it actually runs quite well. No slow fps and pretty damn smooth.

Overkill ain't necessary to play BF3 - good (multi-core) cpu makes a diff.
I agree on the good multicore cpu, i have a single 6850 1gb and game at 1920x1080 on a 24" lcd and BF3 seems to run fine for me all on high.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
620 (0.19/day)
Likes
156
Location
Michigan, USA
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Thermalright Venemous X
Memory 2 x 8GB Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 480
Storage A-Data 128GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) HANNspree 25" 1080p 2ms
Case Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) Creative XFI
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 750w
Software Win 7 pro x64
#15
A 5850 would suffice. However, we need to know the resolution that the OP is going to be playing at. If he's under 1080p the 1GB of VRAM should be sufficient.
You only really need more VRAM (2GB) at higher resolutions. At lower resolutions, it almost makes no difference, maybe 2%.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#16
Get a GTX 580 and nail those framerates. ;) They're not that pricey if you get a cheaper one.

(Make sure your PSU is up to it)
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,271 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,366
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#17
Get a GTX 580 and nail those framerates. ;) They're not that pricey if you get a cheaper one.

(Make sure your PSU is up to it)
Yeah, they aren't that bad, I mean the cheapest one on newegg is only $479, not like I havent bought cars for less than that before(and got more than a years use out of the cars). Oh, and dont forget the bonus, all that bottlenecking that'll be included when you pair that GTX580 with that phenomII quad at 3.4ghz
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#18
Oh, and dont forget the bonus, all that bottlenecking that'll be included when you pair that GTX580 with that phenomII quad at 3.4ghz
Yes, that's true. Even my E8500 @ 4.11GHz isn't always enough to drive my new 120Hz monitor at 120Hz solid with a modern game. I can tell it's the CPU, because dropping down the resolution from 1080p to 1024x768 makes no difference.

I'm gonna upgrade it to a 2600K/2700K and I'll start a thread on my new build when I get started on it. :cool:
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
37 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Warwickshire
System Name WulfHound
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE 3.4GHZ
Motherboard ASUS M4N98TD EVO
Cooling Stock AMD fan
Memory G.Skill 8Gb DDR3 1333 (2x4Gb) Ripjaws CL9 Dual-Chan
Video Card(s) Inno3D 250 gts 1GB gddr3
Storage Samsung F3 spinpoint 1TB
Display(s) 32 Inch Samsung LCD TV
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Power Supply OCZ 600W Stealthxstream
Software Windows 7 64-bit home Premium
#19
Hello folks

Wow i was not expecting this sort of response,sorry to say that the gtx 580 is just a bit out of my price range by £100 unless someone DOES indeed want to buy me one :D, i think the max i want to spend is £200 and not a penny more! lol

And yes i do play on a 32 inch but i usually lower the resolution to get a better FOV, i have seen a few 560Ti cards in reviews and what have you (i would love to get the gainward phantom 2gb card), and people have said on here that the 2GB versions might be a better option to go for rather than the 1GB versions,is this right?

But saying that i have also seen that people prefer to opt for the ATi 6950,if i did go for that option, would it make any difference to me saying that i have an asus sli based mobo and the card was a crossfire based card??
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
1,561 (0.32/day)
Likes
207
Location
Poland,Slask
System Name HAL
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro Rev3.1
Cooling stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600Mhz Blu
Video Card(s) Asus 560Ti DirectCuII TOP
Storage Kingston 120 3K SSD,WD Black WD1502FAEX
Display(s) LG 1440x900
Case Chieftec Mesh Midi
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750V2
Software w8
#21
Confirmed Ultra = all VRAM usage.
Still 3D Vision and CUDA but I guess ATI is the way to go with FPS for BF3.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#23
2gb helps with textures and resolution but you dont need 2gb unless you want to try run higher settings

depends on how much you want to spend but a 6850 is a good cheap card and a 560ti is better, in some cases overclocked can match and beat a 570
 
J

John Doe

Guest
#24
But saying that i have also seen that people prefer to opt for the ATi 6950,if i did go for that option, would it make any difference to me saying that i have an asus sli based mobo and the card was a crossfire based card??
Doesn't matter, I'd suggest this one as a single GPU... (since the budget doesn't allow for more)

http://www.scan.co.uk/products/1gb-...hz-gddr5-gpu-900mhz-1600-cores-2x-dvi-dp-hdmi

yes, a Lightning 5870. Still a beast on it's own. The card owned nVidia at the time and easily went beyond a Ghz. It was a limited GPU with a 12 high-current inductor (VRM) design, with a Proadlizer and Tantalum (small - resistor like caps) backing up the GPU. It can beat modern mid-range GPU's if you're going to OC.

 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
1,561 (0.32/day)
Likes
207
Location
Poland,Slask
System Name HAL
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro Rev3.1
Cooling stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600Mhz Blu
Video Card(s) Asus 560Ti DirectCuII TOP
Storage Kingston 120 3K SSD,WD Black WD1502FAEX
Display(s) LG 1440x900
Case Chieftec Mesh Midi
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750V2
Software w8
#25
Can we run some benchmark in BF3 to try and confirm its 100% the 1GB VRAM or just the cards GPU reaching its capabilities?
Yeah sure it says it uses all the VRAM but it also uses all it's GPU.
I have 2 friends with different platforms c2quad+6970/2GB,amdx4+gtx570/1,2GB plus mine i5+560Ti/1GB. I'd like to run some test in BF3 to be able to compare if its really the VRAM limiting the GPU.