1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need a Q9650 Overclock Guide On G31M-S2L

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Gintaras, Jan 9, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gintaras

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    17 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Hello All,

    I need a safe guide to overclock my Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 3Ghz on a Gigabyte G31M-S2L motherboard

    My Specs.
    Corsair VS650 650W
    Arctic Alpine 11 CPU Cooler
    Gigabyte G31M-S2L Motherboard
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 3Ghz
    2x 2GB Ram DDR2 400.5mhz
    Nvidia Geforce GTX 650 1GB

    Idle cpu temperatures are ~30-35C. Please advise me how to safely do that in the Bios.

    Thank you very much in advance.
     
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,875 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,090
    Location:
    London,UK
    Thats a terrible POS board for overclocking. Dont waste your time
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,618 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,034
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
  4. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,290 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,412
    Location:
    Kiev, Ukraine
    That's probably a joke, right...

    Ok. My turn to be sarcastic: that hardware and the term "safe" can't be used in the same sentence, unless it's "Is it still safe to use G31 board".

    My overclocking guide:
    Step #1: get rid of that motherboard and get a decent P45 board (like P5Q Pro or Deluxe).
    Step #2: Throw that Alpine 11 in the trash. Get at least a used TT Big Typhoon.

    Until you do that - you can't overclock anything. I'm actually surprised your CPU isn't throttling under that PoS cooler.
     
  5. Kursah

    Kursah Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,743 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,946
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    If you could find a decent P45 board, I really loved my P5Q-Deluxe board...was a beast for its day. Still running like a top too, with an OC'd Q9650 @ 4.0GHz under a Xig 1283, and 8GB DDR2 1066.
     
    biffzinker says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Gintaras

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    17 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Thanks i saw that video but since the dude is overclocking another CPU \, i cant know what numbers to set in the bios on mine, i literally have no knowledge on this thing,
     
  7. dorsetknob

    dorsetknob "YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,173 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,034
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
    you need a decent X38 or P45 chipset motherboard if your intent on overclocking this CPU
    use a 212 evo CPU Cooler as well
    G31 Chipset Boards are Budget Based and not really Suitable for Decent Reliable overclocking
     
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Kursah

    Kursah Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,743 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,946
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Here's a guide to overclocking I created almost 10 years ago for the Core2 era. Should still contain some useful information that might help educate you about overclocking your CPU.

    Overclocking is Easy! Get Results!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Gintaras

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    17 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Thanks for the reply, but i mean i would be fine with a 3.4Ghz for now, would it really not handle it? and i have no knowledge of computers thats why im avoiding of putting everything togheter on a motherboard, so many wires lol.

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 9, 2017
  10. Folterknecht

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    308 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    Where the beer is good
    That board isn'r suited for OC - get a GB P45-UD3 R (or P), Asus P5Q-Deluxe or something similar at least. While X38 boards also work for OC, P45 were better with Q9xxx CPUs. You might also run into problems with your DDR2 800 MHz RAM, 1066 MHz is better suited if you go for 4 GHz.

    Also take a look at the CPU Stepping the "E" stepping were usually good overclockers often reaching 4 GHz or slightly more. The earlier steppings usually didn't make 4 GHz.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. dorsetknob

    dorsetknob "YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,173 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,034
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
    Your CPU has a TDP of 95w your Cooler is rated max 95w it needs changing before you overclock
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Gintaras

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    17 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Thank you for the info, you persuaded me to not do this, i have actually overclocked it yesterday to 3.4 with no knowledge but it killed my old 500w psu, so i got a new one today and thought to try that again.
     
  13. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,434 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,110
    Location:
    Ohio
    He persuaded you to not do it, but you did do it, apparently killed your power supply, and you're gonna try again?
     
    theoneandonlymrk and dorsetknob say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9,619 (3.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Oregon
    Best thread ever
     
  15. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,434 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,110
    Location:
    Ohio
    You're not thinking of using toothpaste as thermal paste are you? :laugh:
     
    dorsetknob says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. dorsetknob

    dorsetknob "YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,173 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,034
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
    just a minor correction snigger
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,382 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,227
    I find this thread very disheartening! While I do see some members trying to wholeheartedly help, many of you are just here to take pot shots at the new guy! I guess most of you got your first PC and knew everything there was to know, never had to try to improve system performance with low end gear, or in any way wanted steered in the right direction before! :banghead::shadedshu:

    What happened to the TPU where people could come for help rather than being made fun of by a bunch of school yard bullies?
     
    Malik Sajid, Sasqui, Steevo and 4 others say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. biffzinker

    biffzinker

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    1,045 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    Location:
    AK, USA
    Your definitely going to need a different heatsink if you want to try overclocking. The Arctic Alpine 11 has a maximum cooling performance of 100 Watts but it's only recommended for up to 90 Watts of heat removal. With the heatsink changed you could try pushing for 400 MHz FSB x 9 Multiplier on Q9650 for 3.6 GHz. Your DDR2 sticks at 800 MHz might be capable of 1066 MHz if you loosen the timings, and bump the voltage up in small steps otherwise the memory divider needs switching to 667 MHz giving you 734 MHz for the DDR2 with the FSB at 400 MHz. No large jumps in voltage just small nudges up or else.
     
    Kursah says thanks.
  19. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,434 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,110
    Location:
    Ohio
    He could run at 1:1 FSB/DRAM ratio at 400FSB resulting in... 800MHz. Wouldn't have to change a thing memory-wise.
     
    biffzinker says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,658 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,362
    Guys, this was the golden era! Of course he can overclock! The cooler won't keep up, but some extra fans will help. Point a fan at them VRM's and go cracking! It will obviously not do as many jiggawatts as those stupid OC boards, but he might get a few hundred MHz from it..
     
    Steevo, biffzinker and Kursah say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Kursah

    Kursah Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,743 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,946
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Well I sure do miss the days of cranking the FSB up to 400 and CPUv down a couple or few notches. Running OCed at a mild undervolt or even stock voltage.

    But even a P35 would be helpful here IMHO. Though might as well start working the FSB...I'd go to 400 with minimum CPU multiplier (probably 6?) and make sure the board and RAM are up to it. Run a few stress tests passes to make sure. Then raise the CPU multiplier by 1, test. Pass, raise again. Fail, raise CPU voltage. Repeat until 9 is hit.

    Odds are a slight bump up in FSB/NB voltage will be required.

    I prefer OCCT for stress testing and stability testing systems.

    :toast:
     
    biffzinker says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Gintaras

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    17 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Exactly , thank you, these are total dicks that should be banned, i was hoping for a professional forum here, was wrong.

    Hi thanks for the comment im back at trying to do this , the good thing about this motherboard bios the voltage can be set to auto so that what i did, overclocked it to 3.4 again everything seemed to be fine but the temperatures got to 60-65 at idle so i set it back, and yes you are right i defenetly need a new CPU cooler before i do that again. the Ram in question can be multiplied to 2.5 if i remember correctly, 2.(something) with 900+ Mhz in top result as i saw it

    One question tho, what is FSB? is it cpu host frequency?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 10, 2017
    biffzinker says thanks.
  23. P4-630

    P4-630 The Way It's Meant to be Played

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    8,662 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,368
    Location:
    Vinewood
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,618 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,034
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    How are you getting to 3.4?did you touch any of the voltages? Such a small bump shouldn't be giving you idle temps of 60c+ what were they before the overclock? Have you reapplied the thermal paste and made sure your cooler is installed correctly and making proper contact? you need to tell us how you got that overclock, and I would try and keep your ram as close to its rated 800mhz in the process, no use trying to overclock both at this point as it's just going to make it harder for you with your limited knowledge.

    Any chance you can post some screenshots of your bios options?
     
  25. Gintaras

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    17 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    no im using arctic mx-2 thermal compound
    what the hell are you mumbling about? read again, maybe this time you will put it togheter.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.