1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need a way to reset bios on Notebook

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by AsRock, Aug 6, 2014.

  1. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,261 (4.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,763
    Location:
    US
    Well apparently ASUS do not want to help unless i send it to them to get the bios on it reset and to be honest that's never going happen.

    the netbook is called A53U ( oops netbook)

    So anyone have any idea(s) on what might work ?.

    Thanks.


    ASUS. Wed, 8/6/2014 12:30:21 pm
    Hello AsRock, thank you for contacting ASUS support. Please give me a few moments to review your information. I will be with you shortly.


    Thank you for your patience.

    I do apologize for the inconvenience. I will do my best to assist you.

    Can you describe what is happening with your notebook in detail?


    AsRock Wed, 8/6/2014 12:33:44 pm
    I want to reset the bios, their seems to be a admin password set on it


    ASUS. Wed, 8/6/2014 12:36:02 pm
    I understand.

    I would be glad to help you.


    AsRock Wed, 8/6/2014 12:36:12 pm
    Just checked on it and it's called a Administrators password and i want to reset that


    ASUS. Wed, 8/6/2014 12:37:34 pm
    I understand.

    May I have few moments to provide you with the necessary instructions on how to reset the BIOS to it's default settings?


    AsRock Wed, 8/6/2014 12:37:57 pm
    ok


    ASUS. Wed, 8/6/2014 12:42:50 pm
    Thank you for your patience.


    AsRock Wed, 8/6/2014 12:42:55 pm
    np


    ASUS. Wed, 8/6/2014 12:43:17 pm
    Please follow these steps:

    1. Push the power button and tap on ""F2""
    2. Once into the BIOS, tap ""F9"" and select ""Yes""
    3. Then tap on ""F10"" and select ""Yes"""


    AsRock Wed, 8/6/2014 12:45:02 pm
    that does not reset administrator password or user password


    ASUS. Wed, 8/6/2014 12:47:05 pm
    Mr. AsRock these are the steps that can be utilized to reset the BIOS back to it's default settings.

    Are you speaking to the operating system password?


    AsRock Wed, 8/6/2014 12:47:25 pm
    no i am on about the bios passwords


    ASUS. Wed, 8/6/2014 12:50:18 pm
    Okay, I understand.


    Mr. AsRock I do apologize as it is not possible to reload the BIOS to it's defaults if you are unable to log into the BIOS.


    Mr. AsRock from where did you purchase your notebook?


    AsRock Wed, 8/6/2014 12:52:17 pm
    i can get in to the bios


    i just don't know the administrator password on it which allows you to change some settings


    ASUS. Wed, 8/6/2014 12:55:33 pm
    I understand.

    However the administrator password can only be set by the user and as such I do apologize as that password cannot be provided by us.


    AsRock Wed, 8/6/2014 12:56:11 pm
    there should be a way to reset it every other company does.


    ASUS. Wed, 8/6/2014 12:57:03 pm
    I understand your frustration and I am sorry that you are having to experience this.

    However another option would be to have your notebook sent in for searcing.


    I apologize for the typo, that should be servicing.


    As such based on the issue that was explained, I will need to setup an RMA for your product to be serviced. However, if physical damage is found

    during key in, the RMA will be rejected and the unit will be sent back to you.

    Can you please inspect the unit and let me know if there is any physical damage?


    AsRock Wed, 8/6/2014 12:59:00 pm
    it don't need searching there is a way to reset them and if there is not then they are poorly made as every other laptop i have had has it..

    Normally remove battery and short or unshort a connection on the board it self or even a switch.


    RMA is not going to happen, it should not be required.


    ASUS. Wed, 8/6/2014 01:01:47 pm
    I understand.

    However I do apologize as it is not advised to open the casing of your notebook as this can void the manufacture warranty.


    AsRock Wed, 8/6/2014 01:02:05 pm
    it's not under warranty


    ASUS. Wed, 8/6/2014 01:04:22 pm
    Mr. AsRock I understand and I am sorry that you are having to experience this.

    However I do apologize as that information is normally not provided as it is not available and it can cause harm to your notebook.

    Hence voiding the warranty.


    AsRock Wed, 8/6/2014 01:05:49 pm
    As i requested i need the way to reset the bios admin password as there will be a way they just make it a pain to do.. Now can i have the way to

    do this ?.


    ASUS. Wed, 8/6/2014 01:06:38 pm
    Mr. AsRock I would be more than happy to provide that information.

    However I do apologize as that information is not available.


    AsRock Wed, 8/6/2014 01:07:50 pm
    Then in that case i will never buy some thing from ASUS again and make sure as many people hear about this as it's plainly not exceptable


    ASUS. Wed, 8/6/2014 01:08:02 pm
    I do apologize for the inconvenience.


    AsRock Wed, 8/6/2014 01:08:12 pm
    as there is a way you just don't want to tell


    sure you are...


    ASUS. Wed, 8/6/2014 01:09:39 pm
    Not at all.

    Mr. AsRock if that information was available, I would have provided it.


    AsRock Wed, 8/6/2014 01:09:53 pm
    Have a good day...
     
  2. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,468 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,267
    Location:
    Rochester area
    pull the battery sily
    if its not accessible from one of the access plates you may need to pull the bottom off it
    else you can try this tool
    http://boginjr.com/it/sw/dev/de-cmos3/
    for best results I recommend running it from a bootable usb key
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2014
    AsRock says thanks.
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,909 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,360
  4. scott/g New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sirs,
    I need a BIOS HDD password for Dell Inspiron 1501 service tag HYSQVD1-2A7B------39109432645
    Thanks so much!
    ScottG
     
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,909 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,360
    contact dell or read your manual
     
  6. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    8,697 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,695
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    AsRock, Unfortunately, I think it's like the Dell's of days gone past. There probably is a backdoor, but they don't (or won't) tell you about it. AFAIK, you can pull the CMOS battery and put the laptop in the microwave, it wont reset the password. You may be able to swap the BOIS chip out, but that's no small affair.
     
    AsRock says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8,225 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,553
    Location:
    Oregon
    AsRock says thanks.
  8. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,489 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,509
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    You need to post your request in this forum thread, here --> Dell bios passwords 595B and 2A7B

    @AsRock , You might wanna try that thread, too, or PM the Locksmith.
    The Locksmith may know or direct you to a solution.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2014
    AsRock says thanks.
  9. scott/g New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,261 (4.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,763
    Location:
    US
    Getting to the battery was a concern and not sure if i should use a tool on a UEFI bios.


    Nice find, i seen a few video's always not showing clear enough or i am just going blind ha...

    Yeah, just phone DELL up they go though the BS and tell you how too. Not going be putting it in a microwave though it's a other wise perfectly working notebook which i cannot change the bios for w8.

    That trouble shoot thing is more ASUS bullshit as there is no such hole.
     
  11. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    397 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    i have a kolege who have some wierd problems with sound on his laptop..,and we google for some time and found out the maybe only way to reset bios to stock without opening it or ned to go into bios...
    cut the power,pull the batery out,pres and hold power buton for 1 minute...,and that actualy help him when the problem apears!!
    i hope it can help you as well
     
    AsRock says thanks.
  12. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,261 (4.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,763
    Location:
    US
    Well that does nothing at all, although never had a issue with it well except for this password and i'll probably open it up if i ever need too but at this time it can just stay how it is.

    Thanks for posting :):).
     
  13. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,468 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,267
    Location:
    Rochester area
    de-animator should work on a UEFI board I used it on a ASUS UEFI laptop all it does it write two registers and invalidates the check-sum causing a reset
    infact on old systems you can do this from DOS
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)