• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need advice for torrent client on vista 64bit

Joined
Dec 1, 2006
Messages
448 (0.11/day)
Likes
39
#1
Hi,
One month since I have a Vista 64bit installed on my PC and still couldn't find suitable torrent client for it. I have tried uTorrent, BitComet and Azureus. Non of them doesn't preform well for me on the new 64bit platform. I have made some basic optimization for these programs and used few tweaks too, but it doesn't help much. With uTorrent I have near 100% RAM utilization (2GB), a huge page file and intensive disk activity. BitComet constantly loads my C2D CPU on 60-70% and in time it progressively utilizes all of the memory too. Azureus loads CPU as badly as BitComet does, consuming less memory.
When a single torrent is loaded on these programs and the download speed exceeds 2 GB -all other opened programs are notably slowed down. With download speed reaches 5GB - everything except the download client freezes.
It is impossible to listen music when downloading, because frequently CUP utilization reaches 100% for millisecond and then drops down causing this way an audible noise. That noise is present even with real time priority for the players process.
So is there another program to be used as a torrent client on Vista 64bit free from such weaknesses? I will be glad to hear some advice.
Thanks.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,565 (0.62/day)
Likes
272
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#2

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.89/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#3
Hi,
One month since I have a Vista 64bit installed on my PC and still couldn't find suitable torrent client for it. I have tried uTorrent, BitComet and Azureus. Non of them doesn't preform well for me on the new 64bit platform. I have made some basic optimization for these programs and used few tweaks too, but it doesn't help much. With uTorrent I have near 100% RAM utilization (2GB), a huge page file and intensive disk activity. BitComet constantly loads my C2D CPU on 60-70% and in time it progressively utilizes all of the memory too. Azureus loads CPU as badly as BitComet does, consuming less memory.
When a single torrent is loaded on these programs and the download speed exceeds 2 GB -all other opened programs are notably slowed down. With download speed reaches 5GB - everything except the download client freezes.
It is impossible to listen music when downloading, because frequently CUP utilization reaches 100% for millisecond and then drops down causing this way an audible noise. That noise is present even with real time priority for the players process.
So is there another program to be used as a torrent client on Vista 64bit free from such weaknesses? I will be glad to hear some advice.
Thanks.
I've used Azureus on Vista x64, and exhibited none of those problems. Are you running the latest Java JRE?

To me, this sounds more like a software conflict, or possibly a bad driver. Have you tried updating your LAN drivers?
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2006
Messages
448 (0.11/day)
Likes
39
#4
Have you tried updating your LAN drivers?
Yes, it was one of the first things I have done. I am with integrated Gigabyte Ethernet Controller from Marvell (Yukon 88E8053 PCI-E) and latest drivers v.10.22.1.3 from 31-Jul-2007.
There is a possibility for a software conflict to exist, because I am with third party antivirus/firewall - Kaspersky Internet security 7.0.0.125 . It is only possibility because I can disable KIS and nothing changes at all.
Latest Java engine from Sun is present too.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.89/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#5
Yes, it was one of the first things I have done. I am with integrated Gigabyte Ethernet Controller from Marvell (Yukon 88E8053 PCI-E) and latest drivers v.10.22.1.3 from 31-Jul-2007.
There is a possibility for a software conflict to exist, because I am with third party antivirus/firewall - Kaspersky Internet security 7.0.0.125 . It is only possibility because I can disable KIS and nothing changes at all.
Latest Java engine from Sun is present too.
KIS is what I run as well. There has to be a conflict occuring.

What processes are consuming the most resources when these things happen?
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2006
Messages
448 (0.11/day)
Likes
39
#6
This is a picture from Task manager




Core 0 is 100% loaded and I can't get info what process does this even with Reliability and Performance Monitor.