1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need dos tool to repair bad sectors

Discussion in 'General Software' started by NdMk2o1o, Jul 13, 2013.

  1. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,508 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,887
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I have bad sectors at the start of my drive that have corrupted 2 Windows installations today, I need a tool that I can out on a usb stick to fix them.
     
  2. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,087 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Try Spinrite. Less than a meg .exe, but you'd need to burn an iso to a CD.
     
    NdMk2o1o says thanks.
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,759 (5.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,883
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Hiren's boot CD has a tool for this. It basically just writes and reads the bad sectors over and over again, that is really all you can try. There is not guarantee the sectors can be fix, and if they do start working properly again there is a high likelihood they will fail again in a short amount of time.

    Personally, with hard drives being so cheap now, I would just buy a new one and not risk corrupted data.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,508 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,887
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I thought they just remap them?
     
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,759 (5.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,883
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    If it is showing up in a error scan, the damage is beyond the capabilities of remapping.
     
    NdMk2o1o says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,508 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,887
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    It's not the cost of the drive that's an issue but I want it to work over the weekend until I can get a new drive, already installed Windows twice today which isn't productive :(
     
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,759 (5.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,883
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    If you know where the bad sectors are, just create a small partition at the beginning of the drive that includes the bad sectors and leave that partition unused. That will at least prevent Windows from trying to use those sectors until you can get a new drive.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,508 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,887
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    What program can I do that with?
     
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,759 (5.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,883
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    The Windows installer when you boot from the DVD to re-install Windows.
     
    NdMk2o1o says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,508 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,887
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Ah ok you can select where to partition it from that then? will give it a go, think I'm gonna go back to Win7 at least until I get a new drive as Win8 seems picks up errors in unstable systems a lot more than 7 :rolleyes:
     
  11. Peter1986C

    Peter1986C

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,439 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,689
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Go to your start menu > type "computer management" > go to "disk management".
     
  12. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,508 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,887
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Funny thing that because the recovery partition and efi partition are first on the drive so it's going to be a bit hard to do from within Windows ie: you can't ;)
     
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,074 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Pune
    tried test disk? it has a lengthy manual though
     
  14. Peter1986C

    Peter1986C

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,439 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,689
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Thgen indeed you need to use the Winstallation* DVD or e.g. Gparted Live.


    *see what I did there?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)