• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Need for Speed: Most Wanted (Demo)

Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Messages
937 (0.21/day)
Likes
13
Location
Israel
Processor Athlon 64 x2 4000+ (65nm Brisbane)
Motherboard Abit AN-M2 (AM2) nForce 630a
Cooling Stock everything (for the time being), 2x120mm fans (intake & exhaust)
Memory 2GB (2x1024) OCZ Platinum PC2-6400 (4-4-4-15, 2T)
Video Card(s) PowerColor ATI HD 2600XT 256mb GDDR4 PCI-e
Storage Hitachi Deskstar 160GB SATA 3.0G/s, External USB2.0 WD 160GB
Display(s) LG 17' LCD (L1753TR)
Case HEC-Compucase 6A, black & grey
Audio Device(s) On-Board 7.1 (realtek)
Power Supply Spire Zeno 650W
Software WinXP Pro SP2 (32-bit, for the time being)
#2
the demo is quite good.
graphics are great, as can be expected with EA's showcase titles...

controls are a bit touchy though. not recommeded for playing with just a keyboard. definantly one of those games that you need a good wheel to fully enjoy.

too bad my old 128mb 9600 pro dosent handle it very well. :\

anyways, definantly a good download. :)
 

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260 (0.46/day)
Likes
129
#3
spectre440 said:
the demo is quite good.
graphics are great, as can be expected with EA's showcase titles...

controls are a bit touchy though. not recommeded for playing with just a keyboard. definantly one of those games that you need a good wheel to fully enjoy.

too bad my old 128mb 9600 pro dosent handle it very well. :\

anyways, definantly a good download. :)
I'll have to test it out with my MOMO wheel ..... later tonight maybe :) N4S :rockout:
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358 (1.10/day)
Likes
106
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
#4
I have a digital game pad, my xbox-pc controller bit the dust (I need a new usb plug)
Think digital would be fine?
 

Mad Cow

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Amd Fx-f7
Motherboard abit fatal1ty an8 sli
Cooling cooler master hyper 6+
Memory 2 Gb Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) evga 7800 gtx
Storage 2 x 74gb raptor
Display(s) crap
Case Thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) soundblaster x-fi
Power Supply enermax all in one noisetaker 600 watts
#5
hey, i have a problem when i try to install it. when ever i try it says i dont have directx 9.0c which i do have installed and it closes i even re-installed directx using the installer that the gave you in the download but it still doesnt work does anybody know the problem?
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478 (0.11/day)
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#6
To be honest I've always prefered keyboard controls over the joypad, I drive better on my PC than I do on a console haha!

I customize my own control settings though to suit me, I prefer using the arrow keys, Right-hand Shift and Ctrl, Return key, numpad: /, *, 9, 8, 7, 1, 0

Basically they are the ones I use.

Arrow keys to steer;
Right-hand Shift for Hand brake;
Right-hand Ctrl for Speed Breaker;
Return for Enter/Accept;
/ for Lookback;
* for Nitrous;
9 for Reset Car;
8 for Next Track;
7 for Change View;
1 for Gear Up;
0 for Gear Down.

Overall the games graphics are brilliant, I love it totally, to me it outbeats the Underground series, as I disliked the fact the coppers where removed from the game. That's one of my favourite aspects of Need for Speed.

So far, this Demo makes me crave the release date lol, I'm dieing to play the full game now!

For those who have yet to try the game, please do try it if you like the previous Need for Speed titles, if you liked those, then this will blow your lid wide open in my opinion ;)

--Lee
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
1,005 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
South Africa
Processor Intel i7-920 @ 4.0GHz LGA1366
Motherboard Intel DX58 Smackover Motherboard
Cooling TRUE 120 with 2x120mm Thermalright FDB-1600 and 8x120mm Zalman/Coolermaster Case Fans
Memory 16GB DDR3-1333 Corsair @ 8-8-8-19
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 FE
Storage Intel 520 240GB + Intel X25-M 80GB + 4TB Seagate/WD Storage
Display(s) 24" Samsung SA350 + 24" BenQ G2410HD + 2x 22" Samsung 2253GW's + Hyundai 19" B91D+
Case Coolermaster CM690
Power Supply Corsair TX750W PSU
Software Windows 8.1
#7
Damn! I hate SA's "broadband". Now I can't download it coz my usage is too much! (only 2GB but the cap is at 3GB and there are 19 days left this month!) THAT SUCKS!! I hate Telkom.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478 (0.11/day)
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#8
zAAm said:
Damn! I hate SA's "broadband". Now I can't download it coz my usage is too much! (only 2GB but the cap is at 3GB and there are 19 days left this month!) THAT SUCKS!! I hate Telkom.
I'm with NTL and currently have no cap, all NTL users will be upgrading their current connections to a 10Mb connection sometime within 2006 starting with the 3Mb customers (Me! Yippee!).

When the 10Mb lines are introduced there will be monthly caps then, then 1Mb will have a 30Gb cap, 2Mb will have a 50Gb cap and the 3Mb users will have a 75Gb cap.

1Mb costs £17.99 -- Will upgrade to 10Mb with 30Gb monthly cap.
2Mb costs £24.99 -- Will upgrade to 10Mb with 50Gb monthly cap.
3Mb costs £37.99 -- Will upgrade to 10Mb with 75Gb monthly cap.

As you can see, not bad really, the more speed the better for me as I like low latency while playing my games which I get now, but still those extra speeds will come in handy ;)

--Lee
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
1,005 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
South Africa
Processor Intel i7-920 @ 4.0GHz LGA1366
Motherboard Intel DX58 Smackover Motherboard
Cooling TRUE 120 with 2x120mm Thermalright FDB-1600 and 8x120mm Zalman/Coolermaster Case Fans
Memory 16GB DDR3-1333 Corsair @ 8-8-8-19
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 FE
Storage Intel 520 240GB + Intel X25-M 80GB + 4TB Seagate/WD Storage
Display(s) 24" Samsung SA350 + 24" BenQ G2410HD + 2x 22" Samsung 2253GW's + Hyundai 19" B91D+
Case Coolermaster CM690
Power Supply Corsair TX750W PSU
Software Windows 8.1
#9
Yeah, but you don't have a telecom monopoly in UK! We have, and they charge the most expensive rates in the world ffs! It's cheaper for you to call me from UK than it is for me to call my next door neighbour. And ADSL is HORRIBLY overpriced! Atm it costs R757($112 or £66) for a 512K/256K ADSL line and a 3GB cap. And for every additional GB of usage it sets you back another R65($10 or £6).It's really ridiculous.

It's funny, they made a study. If I wanted to download a 100GB file, it would be cheaper to fly to Japan, go to an internet cafe, download 100GB and then fly back than it would to download it here in South Africa!! Now that tells you something eh? F*** Telkom (our telecoms monopoly which is also owned by the Government (40% shares))!

And latency doesn't always make a difference if you get a higher speed line. The problem here is the ADSL lines have a huge latency and then the data transfers thereafter are at 512K. So you wait about a second before there is any data throughput.

Go to www.hellkom.co.za (see the pun? :D )to see how our telecom company screws with us. ;)
 

Tory

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2005
Messages
337 (0.07/day)
Likes
2
Processor Athlon 64 X2 3800+
Motherboard Biostar TForce 6100
Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Memory 2GB G.skill DDR400
Video Card(s) 8800GTS
Storage 500GB Raid 0
Display(s) Sceptre 20.1inch wide 8ms
Case Ultra Aluminus
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 value
Power Supply Seasonic 430w
#10
You guys should come over here to the US. I have comcast 4000/380 kb/s rock solid speed 24/7 with 10ms latency to local servers for $42 a month with no down/up cap whatsoever.

On the subject of the game, I didn't like it because it never went above 30 fps on my X800XTPE. That just sucks. I get better fps on HL2 lost coast.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358 (1.10/day)
Likes
106
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
#13
Africa sucks in general... Extremely corrupt.

I get 6 mbps/384 kbps cable for $43 a month.. its great, I get full speeds and low latencys. Surprising though, as comcast has a monopoly on high speed internet here in seattle.

Ill try NFS:MW next time im very bored.. ;)
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
1,005 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
South Africa
Processor Intel i7-920 @ 4.0GHz LGA1366
Motherboard Intel DX58 Smackover Motherboard
Cooling TRUE 120 with 2x120mm Thermalright FDB-1600 and 8x120mm Zalman/Coolermaster Case Fans
Memory 16GB DDR3-1333 Corsair @ 8-8-8-19
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 FE
Storage Intel 520 240GB + Intel X25-M 80GB + 4TB Seagate/WD Storage
Display(s) 24" Samsung SA350 + 24" BenQ G2410HD + 2x 22" Samsung 2253GW's + Hyundai 19" B91D+
Case Coolermaster CM690
Power Supply Corsair TX750W PSU
Software Windows 8.1
#14
Tell me about it. And SA's pretty good as far as technology and such goes, except o'course our telecoms which is WAAAAAY behind all other African countries. In Tanzania for example, they have 8MBit wireless for next to nothing. It comes standard on alot of homes. My friend went there a while ago and he was surprised to see it! And then Telkom comes and say "our prices are competitive". Competitive with what??? Wireless internet in Antarctica? Oh no wait, that's cheaper still... :rolleyes:

And I'd really like to check this demo out! What do you guys think of it?
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
478 (0.11/day)
Likes
87
Location
England, UK.
System Name NEED TO REDO THIS SPEC!
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @3.6GHz (Thanks Wolf) - CURRENTLY STOCK!
Motherboard XFX nFORCE 790i Ultra (3-Way SLi)
Memory 4GB (2x2GB) CorsairTwinX XMS3, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600),240 Pin, CAS 9-9-9-24 (1.8v), DHX
Video Card(s) 1GB EVGA GTX 285 @ STOCK
Storage 1x 160Gb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Cache // 1x 1 Tb Maxtor, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 32MB Ca
Display(s) Asus 22-inch VH226H Widescreen LCD Monitor (2ms, 3000:1, 1920x1080) Full HD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard for now
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#15
zAAm said:
Tell me about it. And SA's pretty good as far as technology and such goes, except o'course our telecoms which is WAAAAAY behind all other African countries. In Tanzania for example, they have 8MBit wireless for next to nothing. It comes standard on alot of homes. My friend went there a while ago and he was surprised to see it! And then Telkom comes and say "our prices are competitive". Competitive with what??? Wireless internet in Antarctica? Oh no wait, that's cheaper still... :rolleyes:

And I'd really like to check this demo out! What do you guys think of it?
I think it's amazing, when it's released I'll definitely be buying it because I love it miles more than the rest of the NFS series!

The cops are so good with how they response to things and personally, I love the scenery too, it's all just so amazing :)

There is one level I love to do more than the rest on the Demo, and that is the "Road Block" in the Challenge mode, it's challenge three to be precise. I just love smashing through the road blocks and doing a runner in the Dodge =)

--Lee
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
1,005 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
South Africa
Processor Intel i7-920 @ 4.0GHz LGA1366
Motherboard Intel DX58 Smackover Motherboard
Cooling TRUE 120 with 2x120mm Thermalright FDB-1600 and 8x120mm Zalman/Coolermaster Case Fans
Memory 16GB DDR3-1333 Corsair @ 8-8-8-19
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 FE
Storage Intel 520 240GB + Intel X25-M 80GB + 4TB Seagate/WD Storage
Display(s) 24" Samsung SA350 + 24" BenQ G2410HD + 2x 22" Samsung 2253GW's + Hyundai 19" B91D+
Case Coolermaster CM690
Power Supply Corsair TX750W PSU
Software Windows 8.1
#16
Thanks! I guess I'll have to wait for next month... Can't wait!
 

GM'er

New Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#17
Mad Cow said:
hey, i have a problem when i try to install it. when ever i try it says i dont have directx 9.0c which i do have installed and it closes i even re-installed directx using the installer that the gave you in the download but it still doesnt work does anybody know the problem?
I have the same exact problem. Anyone have a solution?
 

GM'er

New Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#18
OK, I did some research and found the solution for the direct X problem on a Windows XP machine. Find the autorun file for the game and run it in compatibility mode for Windows 2000. The game will install properly then.
 

Mad Cow

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Amd Fx-f7
Motherboard abit fatal1ty an8 sli
Cooling cooler master hyper 6+
Memory 2 Gb Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) evga 7800 gtx
Storage 2 x 74gb raptor
Display(s) crap
Case Thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) soundblaster x-fi
Power Supply enermax all in one noisetaker 600 watts
#19
hey i got it installled but now the thing crashes when i try to open it, i tried to windows 2k compatibility but it didnt work either. this game is looks cool but its kinda a waste of my time to try and find out how to play it