• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need good, stable settings for my build

Joined
Oct 20, 2009
Messages
2,842 (0.94/day)
Likes
340
System Name FumoffuFumoffu
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X -UD3H
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon HD 7970 OC
Storage 1- WD 500GB 1- Samsung F2 1.5TB 1- Crucial M4 128GB SSD 1-256GB ADATA XPG SX900 ASX900S3 SSD
Display(s) Hanns-G HZ281HPB 27.5'' 3ms Full HD 1920x1200 WideScreen LCD Monitor
Case Corsair Graphite Series 600T
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair HX 750W Gold
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
#1
Hey guys,

Until I can get a 8350, I want to OC my rig.

I have a:
ASUS Crosshair V Formula Motherboard
8GB GSkill Sniper 2133Mhz 9-11-10-28 Model F3-17000CL9D-8GBSR RAM
AMD FX 8120 CPU
Corsair H100i AIO Cooling Loop
Antec Earthwatts 750 PSU Bronze

I am looking for a stable clock but fast.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,465 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,130
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#2
It's up to your CPU and your willingness to increase the multiplier, add voltage and check for stability.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,949
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#3
WHut Erocka said. Simply set CPU voltage to 1.525 V ,and work your way up with multis. There is no way for ANYONE to give you settings...you need to test for yourself. You know all the temperature rules, etc

For example, my first 8150...4.2 GHz max. My second...5.4 GHz. That's a 1.2 GHz difference, same chip. NO way to know without testing each chip, so get to it, stop wasting time looking for the easy way out, since there really isn't one. It'll take some time to find the max for you.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,465 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,130
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#4
Simply set CPU voltage to 1.525 V
Really? I can see that for max overclock, but for some simple gaming I don't know...

I'd leave the voltage at stock and work the multiplier up until it isn't stable first.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,949
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#5
Really? I can see that for max overclock, but for some simple gaming I don't know...

I'd leave the voltage at stock and work the multiplier up until it isn't stable first.
If board is left on auto, it'll adjust voltage with multis. 1.525V should be fine, even my 8150 gets that. With all chips, cpus and GPUs alike; ram too; there is a point where voltage additions don't give the same gains as they did at lesser intervals...THAT is where the voltage should stop, IMHO...but again, that's a per-chip thing.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,428 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,945
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#6
Set it to 6.9v and the multi to x50.5. That should give you 1337 graphix.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,975 (2.25/day)
Likes
3,925
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Power Color RD Vega 64 Reference
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G710 Blue / G610 Orion Red
Software Win 7 Pro
#7
Really? I can see that for max overclock, but for some simple gaming I don't know...

I'd leave the voltage at stock and work the multiplier up until it isn't stable first.
If board is left on auto, it'll adjust voltage with multis. 1.525V should be fine, even my 8150 gets that. With all chips, cpus and GPUs alike; ram too; there is a point where voltage additions don't give the same gains as they did at lesser intervals...THAT is where the voltage should stop, IMHO...but again, that's a per-chip thing.
Funny, I do both. Let everything to Auto and bump the multiplier, test for stability and temps, and stop after either temps are too high or stability isn't there.

Next step is to leave the voltage at spec and move the multi up, monitor temps and stability till the wall is hit. Bump the voltage and see where it's stable... lather, rinse, repeat.