• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help changing a Asus bios Cap file into a Rom file

Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,451 (0.99/day)
Processor Intel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
Cooling EK-Velocity D-RGB, EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
Storage Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, 860 Evo 1TB, WD Blue 3TB
Display(s) LG 43ud79-b
Case Corsair 500D SE EK RGB Fans
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
I need some one good with hex editing i have killed my bios chip trying to flash it onto another chip now i have no working image and i can't use cap bios version of the asus website the programmer software says it to large i need some on to make it into a rom file and remove the cap data.

i know it can be done found this info if it helps.

So having tried several other BIOS flashing tools on this system to no avail, I decided the BIOS might be so borked that it wasn't going to be able to flash itself and that it needed outside help.

Unfortunately I imported this board and getting warranty service on it would be a lot of hassle. I was unable to locate a new BIOS chip, so I decided to try to remove it externally.

Of course I was also unable to find an EEPROM programmer. I'm sure they exist, I just couldn't find the right people to ask, so I opted to build one. This turned out to be easier than I expected.

I had a couple Raspberry Pi boards lying around and read that it has an SPI interface necessary for this sort of thing. The author of flashrom seemed to think it should be possible, and more recently there is a wiki page on the flashrom site with the necessary pinouts. That lead me to this tutorial, which I more or less followed.

Another trip to the electronics parts bazaar for a breadboard, some resistors, a capacitor and some wire, and I was ready:



Crazily enough, it worked!*

I cut the CAP header off of the latest bios image file (dd bs=2048 skip=1 if=BIOS.CAP of=BIOS.BIN) and used flashrom to write it (flashrom -p linux_spi:/dev/spidev0.0 -w BIOS.BIN). After sticking the chip back in my motherboard, it boots just fine. I can open the BIOS and have successfully setup my OS.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,298 (4.08/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.2.3 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
I need some one good with hex editing i have killed my bios chip trying to flash it onto another chip now i have no working image and i can't use cap bios version of the asus website the programmer software says it to large i need some on to make it into a rom file and remove the cap data.

i know it can be done found this info if it helps.
You're using the wrong flashing utility then if it's asking for a .ROM and not a .CAP. ASUS updated their stuff after moving to the CAP format. Using CAP files requires you to run another utility that coverts the video card to the CAP format first.

I would flash an old BIOS that still uses .ROM, run the CAP updater, then flash the newest .CAP BIOS to the board.

Are we talking about your ASUS Rampage V Extreme?
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
4,615 (1.44/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2966MHz 16-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,298 (4.08/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.2.3 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,451 (0.99/day)
Processor Intel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
Cooling EK-Velocity D-RGB, EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
Storage Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, 860 Evo 1TB, WD Blue 3TB
Display(s) LG 43ud79-b
Case Corsair 500D SE EK RGB Fans
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Well story goes i got my rampage v with one dead chip so i brought a EZP2010 programmer to flash the chip i 1st saved the good image off the working chip it saved as a bin file, then i went to copy the bios from one chip to another as the programmer can do that with out the software but i needed up flashing the wrong chip -_- now both don't work i have tired flashing the saved image onto both chip using the software but that doesnt work ether the save was from the dud chip or some think else i need to re-flash them using the Asus bios file but the programmer software will read it but it says it to long and doesn't work when flashed?


Using that tool this is what i get from both files? also i get data format cant be detected?

 
Last edited:
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,451 (0.99/day)
Processor Intel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
Cooling EK-Velocity D-RGB, EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
Storage Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, 860 Evo 1TB, WD Blue 3TB
Display(s) LG 43ud79-b
Case Corsair 500D SE EK RGB Fans
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
I used a tool to remove the cap part of the image bios 1 chip is working again now but bios 2 chip boots to a error code on the board.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
4,615 (1.44/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2966MHz 16-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
I used a tool to remove the cap part of the image bios 1 chip is working again now but bios 2 chip boots to a error code on the board.
It is the ME firmware I guess... CAP bioses must use ME past 8, ROM firmwares work only with 7.xx ones... I know it because I run a ES Xeon, those are only supported by ROM type of bios. So you can't just cut off the CAP header. It does not work, I tried it too.

There was a cheat... if you reset dozens like times the board it sometimes boots with inappropriate ME region..., well at least for me. But still get an oldest bios you can get with ROM type, fill out your special board ID fields, and flash that rom using SPI programmer...

I did the same, as my board had CAP bios and had this CPU, so I was screwed, as my old system also died the same week.

I had a raspberry PI and booted it and wired up a external board on GPIO heads. And all went smooth as butter. My RPI paid off his 20bucks in a flash, lol, literally.

http://www.win-raid.com/t58f16-Guide-Recover-from-failed-BIOS-flash-using-Raspberry-PI.html

PS.

ME region is a tough nut, it only gets reset after complete power down, as it is fed form PSU stand by 5V

PSS.

By the looks of it, your backup is pretty screwed and blank.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,451 (0.99/day)
Processor Intel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
Cooling EK-Velocity D-RGB, EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
Storage Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, 860 Evo 1TB, WD Blue 3TB
Display(s) LG 43ud79-b
Case Corsair 500D SE EK RGB Fans
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
i fixed both chips now i had to erase the 2nd chip which was dead when i got the board then program it again and it started working like normal it was sitting on that Q code for around 2 minutes then it posted but all working now thanks.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
4,615 (1.44/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2966MHz 16-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
i fixed both chips now i had to erase the 2nd chip which was dead when i got the board then program it again and it started working like normal it was sitting on that Q code for around 2 minutes then it posted but all working now thanks.
yes but your MAC is and other stuff is default, ain't it?

This is like I have.

 
Last edited:
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,451 (0.99/day)
Processor Intel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
Cooling EK-Velocity D-RGB, EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
Storage Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, 860 Evo 1TB, WD Blue 3TB
Display(s) LG 43ud79-b
Case Corsair 500D SE EK RGB Fans
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
I'm not sure i downloaded the bios off Asus website then used a UEFI tool to pull the intel image from the CAP file then flashed it and its working fine now, Your images isn't working.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
4,615 (1.44/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2966MHz 16-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
I'm not sure i downloaded the bios off Asus website then used a UEFI tool to pull the intel image from the CAP file then flashed it and its working fine now, Your images isn't working.
Yes that's the way... except adding your original board info from bios Backup, you have to fill out those fields manually now(read from stickers attached to the board). Stock bios from ASUS is blank and uses default MAC. Well I guess it doesn't matter much if you are behind a router much.

And the image must work.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,451 (0.99/day)
Processor Intel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
Cooling EK-Velocity D-RGB, EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
Storage Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, 860 Evo 1TB, WD Blue 3TB
Display(s) LG 43ud79-b
Case Corsair 500D SE EK RGB Fans
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Image does work now was TPU server problem which i get a lot.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
4,615 (1.44/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2966MHz 16-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,451 (0.99/day)
Processor Intel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
Cooling EK-Velocity D-RGB, EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
Storage Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, 860 Evo 1TB, WD Blue 3TB
Display(s) LG 43ud79-b
Case Corsair 500D SE EK RGB Fans
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
@W1zzard well then, he would like to hear about that :D
I forgot to back up my Mac address and UUID and MB S/N is just the serial for your board right? Is each Mac address different ? from what i read theres one for each network controller so i should be able find one for my NC? and the UUID was reset i had to call up Microsoft to active windows again so i don't think the UUID is a problem its just the Mac address i worrying about?
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
4,615 (1.44/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2966MHz 16-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
I forgot to back up my Mac address and UUID and MB S/N is just the serial for your board right? Is each Mac address different ? from what i read theres one for each network controller so i should be able find one for my NC? and the UUID was reset i had to call up Microsoft to active windows again so i don't think the UUID is a problem its just the Mac address i worrying about?
All number should be located on your motherboard as stickers on the backside or the lan port itself. Serial is just for warranty and ASUS specific things. But MAC can cause troubles, as the default one may be blacklisted, and yes it is present with the hard drive serial and Sata driver in the M$ activation token generation.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,451 (0.99/day)
Processor Intel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
Cooling EK-Velocity D-RGB, EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
Storage Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, 860 Evo 1TB, WD Blue 3TB
Display(s) LG 43ud79-b
Case Corsair 500D SE EK RGB Fans
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
All number should be located on your motherboard as stickers on the backside or the lan port itself. Serial is just for warranty and ASUS specific things. But MAC can cause troubles, as the default one may be blacklisted, and yes it is present with the hard drive serial and Sata driver in the M$ activation token generation.
Ok thanks ill see if i can find it. i think my UUID has been set to a default one as well after running "wmic csproduct get name,identifyingnumber,uuid" both seem to be the same on both BIOS chips which would mean this number is default of the bios i downloaded? should i change this number as i have no idea where to find the original one? under name in CMD it says "all series" doesn't say the board im using.

Is there a way i can get the boards UUID with in windows so i can re-enter it into the bios file the above command brings back a longer number ill be using this info to help people flash there bios chips thanks .
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
4,615 (1.44/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2966MHz 16-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
Nope. You downloaded just a blank empty bios file. It contains nothing specific, during ASUS bios setup, it doesn't touch those fields with those numbers usually. You had a blank memory IC and those fields had to be filled with nothing.

You must use FTK and prepare your specific image and using those tools repair the fields. There are no ways of recovering and seeing them software wise anymore, they are gone, the only solution is to screw out the board and write down the numbers from labels.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,451 (0.99/day)
Processor Intel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
Cooling EK-Velocity D-RGB, EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
Storage Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, 860 Evo 1TB, WD Blue 3TB
Display(s) LG 43ud79-b
Case Corsair 500D SE EK RGB Fans
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
i see the mac address on the back of the board but not any UUID as i wiped both chips and showed above the info wasn't saved in the bios image i extracted from the chip where do i go from here? The bios file must of had some info needed as i havent had one problem with my system.



 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
4,615 (1.44/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2966MHz 16-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
Here is a good guide... I can't rememeber correctly where was my sticker... it seems UUID must be composed by hand.

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1726429

Code Rush is an awesome guy btw... I've encountered him in may areas. N900/N9 maemo/nitdroid, many driver threads at driver station, also UBU development and here, I wonder why he ain't coming here.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,451 (0.99/day)
Processor Intel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
Cooling EK-Velocity D-RGB, EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
Storage Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, 860 Evo 1TB, WD Blue 3TB
Display(s) LG 43ud79-b
Case Corsair 500D SE EK RGB Fans
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
He does say the below i do have a DTS sticker i can see some of it on the ATX port ill need to get a mirror to see it, The Mac address not sure on this one the R5E comes with a cover over all the OI ports.

Only System UUID can't be fully restored from stickers, but it can be reconstructed using this rules:
1. If your board has DTS key sticker, then bytes 3 - 10 of UUID are same.
2. It can be any random bytes except 00 and FF.

EDIT that could be the Mac address on the side of the ATX port.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,451 (0.99/day)
Processor Intel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
Cooling EK-Velocity D-RGB, EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
Storage Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, 860 Evo 1TB, WD Blue 3TB
Display(s) LG 43ud79-b
Case Corsair 500D SE EK RGB Fans
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Here is a good guide... I can't rememeber correctly where was my sticker... it seems UUID must be composed by hand.

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1726429

Code Rush is an awesome guy btw... I've encountered him in may areas. N900/N9 maemo/nitdroid, many driver threads at driver station, also UBU development and here, I wonder why he ain't coming here.
Im not sure how to reconstruct a UUID off the sicker it seems to be 4 numbers to short i have a sticker on a old Asus board thats dead i want to use this DTS number ? Also my MB/SN is only 11 numbers long its way to short.

The MB/SN on the box matches the one on the back of the board so many this code should be used? its 12 spaces long.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,451 (0.99/day)
Processor Intel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
Cooling EK-Velocity D-RGB, EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
Storage Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, 860 Evo 1TB, WD Blue 3TB
Display(s) LG 43ud79-b
Case Corsair 500D SE EK RGB Fans
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Just a update i got my mac address entered i had a small problem i entered my mac address wrong to start with and my NC would fail to load its drivers, i got stuck on this problem for a few hours until i went and had another look at the address as i was using a small mirror to view it as i didn't want to remove my board i had 1 number wrong after fixing the number i entered my MB/SN and a random UUID and flashed both chips so they match and windows didn't even ask me to active it again not sure why.
 

steocullen91

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
6 (0.01/day)
Hi everyone. Firstly I'm sorry to bring back such an old thread but I'm having the same problem with a bricked asus chip. I've already copied the mac info into a bios file and have the .bin but when I try to use fpt or ftk I get error 25: The host cpu does not have write access. Only afudos seems to flash it I can use /p /b /k /n /x and it says successful but it still doesn't boot afterwards and uefi tool shows invalid uefi image when I dump the chip again and open the dumped image. Only part of the bios is there. It's an OEM P8H61-M PRO. I'm using a hotswap to flash the chip on my brothers board which also has h61 chipset.

Anybody know if there's any way to save the chip?

Thanks
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
3,732 (1.77/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX @2666 CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1060 SC 6G
Storage Adata SX8200 256GB, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G503
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
Hi everyone. Firstly I'm sorry to bring back such an old thread but I'm having the same problem with a bricked asus chip. I've already copied the mac info into a bios file and have the .bin but when I try to use fpt or ftk I get error 25: The host cpu does not have write access. Only afudos seems to flash it I can use /p /b /k /n /x and it says successful but it still doesn't boot afterwards and uefi tool shows invalid uefi image when I dump the chip again and open the dumped image. Only part of the bios is there. It's an OEM P8H61-M PRO. I'm using a hotswap to flash the chip on my brothers board which also has h61 chipset.

Anybody know if there's any way to save the chip?

Thanks
The best way around is to find someone with an SPI flash programmer, like FlashcatUSB or any variation of Serprog, and simply write the binary to your chip.
Usually you get Error 25 if the ME section is locked. On most ECS boards there is a jumper (ME_UNLOCK), which needs to be set before flashing the whole firmware, but some other boards may only have a placeholder for this jumper, or nothing at all... Which makes manual flashing very-very hard.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
1,133 (0.54/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
http://www.ebay.com/itm/NANO-BIOS-Programmer-SOP8-Adpater-for-BIOS-repairing-/280668537456?hash=item4159260270:g:jBkAAOSwo3pWcZX9

To those with an issue like the above - Grab one of these and try it.
Just yesterday I updated the BIOS to my benching CHV-Z with mine and the program it uses didn't have an issue flashing the chip at all. These things are NICE to have when dealing with issues and the like. Works whether the file is a .bin or cap file, no need to convert it to a .bin file. It will also let you know if the chip itself is bad or OK and can erase a chip no prob.
The program and driver it uses is on the same page, just scroll down and you'll see the link for it.
 
Top