1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need Help. confused +12v and -12v

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by jigujigu, May 21, 2008.

  1. jigujigu New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OOOHHH
    the shop where i buy this computer, they forget about Thermaltake CPU Cooler.
    they put standart cpu cooler (from Intel).

    is standart cooler from intel not good enough for intel product (Q6600) ???
    can you recommendation what branch and series the good cooler for 25$ (below,.. i am running out of my buget :( :( )

    i am using mini tower casing. only have 2 air cooler casing 80mm. (1 unit is zalman product)

    thank's
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2008
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,932 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,126
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    raising the memory voltage wont cause anything to overheat - if something was overheating, its due to something else.

    Please use realtemp and say what your idle and load temperatures are for your CPU.

    edit: posts where made while i typed this one.


    Intels cooler would be enough, but if they messed up the application of grease (Intel coolers are meant to be installed only once, or you have to replace it) it would explain the problems.

    Thermaltake to not make the best CPU coolers, i would avoid them. The current favourites for Q6600 cooling are

    * Arctic cooling Freezer 7 pro
    *Xigmatek (any model, they are all excellent coolers at great prices)
    *Thermalright (anything 92mm or 120mm)
    * Scythe ninja/Mini ninja - great coolers, but not cheap

    (these are the ones i reccomend as an owner of two Q6600's, i have seen many otherwise good coolers, that only gave good temps on two of a Q6600's four cores - not all coolers work well on intels quad core CPU's)

    Another edit: i saw that you mention a mini case. That could also be a reason behind the heating. Please look at the Scythe mini ninja or Zalman coolers - they arent the most cost effective, but they both have models that are small enough to fit in small cases.
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2008
    jigujigu says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. jigujigu New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am not overclocker..and use computer for daily game and work.

    is Cooler Master Vortex 752 CPU Cooler enough for me.. cost only $22
    see this review..

    Arctic cooling Freezer 7 pro
    .. cost $32
    i am worry about the size,... doesn't it too big for my case (PowerLogic Futura 330).size : 450(H) x 235(W) x 490(D) mm

    btw, my motherboad position is vertical, doesn't it too heavy (520 g) ???

    thank's
    Jigu
     
  4. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    I wouldn't be worried about case size too much, and you can get any aftermarket cooler you want imo, just get some good thermal grease (as5 or mx2) and apply it properly. The stock heatsink is not great for cooling, but there is no way you should be getting temps like that. I really would try to fix that immidiately. Here are instructions for applying the thermal grease. You can use isopropyl alcohol w/ a q-tip to remove the old thermal grease (make sure you remove all of it). And again, make sure all the pins are firmly in, I imagine that is why its messed up now, they are difficult sometimes. If you lift and it gives way somewhere, its a problem. When its snug, you'll know.:)
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2008
    jigujigu says thanks.
  5. jigujigu New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i alread fix the heatsink,. and test again.. the result is still CPU TOO HOT, and give me same temperatur graph... 68 Celcius.

    i need more info .. actualy how Celcius the standart CPU temperatur with standart heatsink ???

    right now i am ordering Freeze 7 Pro,

    thank's
    Jigu
     
  6. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Well the cpu temp is not as important as the core temps, which tend to be higher than the cpu temp. That program realtemp I gave you a link to will give you your core temps, and thats really what we need. I'm guessing if your cpu temp is getting up to 70, your cores are probably getting up to 90 or so, and your cores you don't want higher than 70, and if they get above 80 they start slowing down to prevent damage.
     
    jigujigu says thanks.
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,932 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,126
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    using realtemp you want the temps to be below 70c at load.
     
    jigujigu says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. jigujigu New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The shop only have CoolerMaster Hyper 212 in stock. need 1 week for order Freezer Pro 7.

    So i decide to buy coolermaster $29, ( out of my budget :banghead: )

    this is the report
    CPU-1__________________CPU-2__________________CPU-3__________________CPU-4

    [​IMG]___[​IMG]___[​IMG]___[​IMG]

    the result of vcore,3v,5v and 12v give me same result (see my last graph post).

    this is result OCCT & RealTemp. (i only have 3 minutes before the shop close, i leave my computer, they will testing againg tomorror).
    Before Start (Idle)________Running (3 minitue)
    [​IMG]___[​IMG]

    this is result VGA Tester and ATI Catalyst Status
    Before Start (idle)________Running (3 minitue)
    [​IMG]___[​IMG]

    tomorror, i wil post a new graph here.
    right now, i need more info :
    1. is this good cooler ??
    2. is temp. my cpu more cool down ??
    3. is my VGA card working good ?

    thank's very much
    Jigu
     
  9. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Thats solid core temps there. As long as your cores stay under 70, you should be fine. Ideally, w/o any oc, you'll want them to stay under 60C. So yeah, those temps look good. Have you tried playing games? Does it still lag?
     
    jigujigu says thanks.
  10. jigujigu New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Not yet.. The computer still in shop, they will test again tomorrow...

    can i detect memory temperatur ... ???,
    should i test the memory too ?? (what program for test the memory except the memtest) ???

    the new problem come,.. the fan not fix for casing.. too high.. , the case can't close :banghead:

    thank's
    Jigu
     
  11. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Memtest86. Oh wait, why don't you wanna use memtest? Aw that sucks about the fan. The artic cooler 7 might be smaller. As I said though, the stock heatsink should be ok if your not ocing. You just have to replace the thermal paste and make sure it is firmly attached.
     
    jigujigu says thanks.
  12. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    jigujigu, can you post a picture of the side of your case showing the inside of it?
     
    jigujigu says thanks.
  13. jigujigu New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The shop only work half day today, and i to late. the shop already close. :rolleyes:

    this one is good...http://mkmods.com/images/Picture_117.jpg

    i wanna make, but don't know where to start, what tools i need. :roll:

    thank's
    Jigu
     
  14. jigujigu New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Oooohhh... i Need help again now..
    i Sold the CoolerMaster Hyper 212 coz not fix to my case.
    now i buy sycthe shurreken (I can't find artic cooler 7)

    but now the result of temperatur is higher more than CoolerMaster Hyper 212

    this is the report
    CPU-1__________________CPU-2__________________CPU-3__________________CPU-4

    [​IMG]___[​IMG]___[​IMG]___[​IMG]



    it's ok or not ok ?,
    should i use ZM STG1 Super Thermal Grease ???

    thank's
     
  15. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    That seems relatively ok, core 1 seems to perhaps not be getting enough thermal paste contact. Did you just replace it? And what thermal grease did you use? It needs to settle a bit before your temps drop too much.
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,932 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,126
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    zalmans thermal grease isnt that great, you should get arctic silver 5, A S ceramique, or arctic cooling's MX2 paste (despite the similar names, the last one is a different brand)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)