• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Need HELP converting MKV for Xbox 360

Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,629 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,996
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#1
Well for the last hour and a half I have been tirelessly trying to get an MKV file playing through my 360 MCE with no joy, the 1st thing I tried was downloading the DIVX codecs, this allowed me to view it in media player though not on my xbox, then I tried repackaging it into an MP4 container and it won't open with any media players. Have also tried converting it to AVI though I really CBA waiting 2+ hours (it's a 6gb video file)

I really would like some suggestions on how to easily convert or watch MKV files on my 360
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,629 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,996
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#3
Says its an unknown video type, the file plays fine in VLC and media player with the right codecs installed
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,629 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,996
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#5
Have somehow got it working without having to convert/extract the video. Took me the best part of 3 hours and multiple converting programs, xbox media servers and codec pack installs to get it to work. No9w there is no need to convert it is playing it natively, I assume it's because of the filters and codecs I have installed as none of the media servers are running.

List of codecs installed:

AC3 Filter
CoreAAC
Divx Codec Pack
FFD Show
Haali Media Spliter
Shark007 Win7codecs
Xvid

Trouble is, I am not keen on having a ton of codecs installed on my rig as they have give me headaches in the past, though not sure what is actually allowing me to play it through the xbox :confused:
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2009
Messages
716 (0.24/day)
Likes
143
Location
C:\Kitteh
Processor i7 2600K | Phenom II 840
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe | ASUS M4A88T-M
Cooling Corsair H60 | Scythe Samurai ZZ
Memory 4x4GB Samsung Green 1600 @ 1866 | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 1333
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 670 FTW | On Board AMD
Storage 2 x 64GB Samsung 830, Velociraptor 300GB,1TB Black,1.5TB Black |10TB server
Display(s) HP 2509m 25" 1080p
Case Lian Li PC-V1020A | Lian Li PC-V354A
Audio Device(s) Azuntech Bravuria 7.1 | On-Board (Disabled)
Power Supply Seasonic X-series 760 , Seasonic X-series 760
Software Windows 7 Ultimate X64 | UnRaid (CentOS)
#6
Use a program called "Handbrake" to re-encode your video to MP4. Use the "Normal" profile and you should be fine.

That's what I use with my 360 and it works great every time.

link: http://handbrake.fr/downloads.php
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#7
is it necessary to re-encode? you are trying to stream, correct?

ps3 media server works with xbox as well, and will transcode some media for it. it doesn't work perfect but i played mkvs with it before, all the way through with no issues.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#8
is it necessary to re-encode? you are trying to stream, correct?

ps3 media server works with xbox as well, and will transcode some media for it. it doesn't work perfect but i played mkvs with it before, all the way through with no issues.
This+1,


PS3 Media Server will transcode ON THE FLY most video files into a format compatible with the 360.
simply browse to the file you would like to play, then select the transcode folder using the Xbox. the PC will then transcode on the fly for your xbox.



there is no need wait hours for a coverting software. it will play the movie straight away. it use's about 1 core @ 2.5-3ghz....
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
1,236 (0.38/day)
Likes
165
Location
Connecticut
System Name Corsair 900D
Processor FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling Corsair H110I
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Asus GTX1080
Storage 2x 500GB 1x 1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / HP 27" 1080p LED
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi (Built in/Mobo) - Xonar Sound Card
Power Supply Enermax 1020Watt
Mouse Logitech Something Whatever
Keyboard Logtich G910
Software Windows 10
#9
Not sure if Xbox supports VOB files, but you can do a quick container change from MKV to VOB using MVK2VOB (I think thats the name) usually takes about 30-1 hr depending. And you can break up the file size for Fat32 format.