1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help diagnosing this problem with OS install

Discussion in 'General Software' started by HTC, Nov 4, 2008.

  1. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,416 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    I'm trying to sell a 500 GB Maxtor HDD to a co-worker but, in order for me to do that, i must install his Windows XP (in Portuguese) on to it with the motherboard he has (K8V-SE).
    Problem is that no matter what i do, i can't install it because it doesn't detect the HDD :(

    I'm aware that i need a floppy for the Promise driver but i've tried both his SP2 and SP3 CDs and i still can't get it to detect the HDD :(

    However, i tried installing my XP SP2 (in English) and was successfull @ 1st try ... :wtf:

    With the Portuguese SP2 CD, i press F6 to load the SATA drivers in the floppy and, though it says it detects the HDD, later, it says it doesn't find any HDD to install the OS on.
    With the Portuguese SP3 CD, i press F6 to load the SATA drivers in the floppy and it says Windows already has newer drivers for this HDD but, if i choose the newer drivers, later in the install, i get a "no disk detected" and, if i choose to install the floppy drivers instead, it asks me to press "S" to accept the drivers only, when i press "S", nothing happens ... :wtf:.I tried pressing the keys next to "S" and, when i pressed "E", it said it accepted the HDD drivers and then, later in the install, "no disk detected": ARGH!!!!!!

    Why can i install in English but not in Portuguese? Any ideas as to what's wrong?
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,446 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,696
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    install in english, then change the language post install!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,416 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    That can be done??? First time i've heard of it!

    Do you have any idea of how to do that?
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,446 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,696
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    yeah... theres a language option, lol. I change mine off american english to australian english every time i install the OS.

    Under vista its "regional and language settings" its there in XP too, you'll just have to look in the control panel.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,416 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    DUH !!!!! :eek: :eek:

    Question: it fully changes everything from English to Portuguese, right? I wouldn't want to get him nagging @ me because his wife is nagging @ him about a improper XP install.
     
  6. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,366 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    ^^ Nope. That does NOT change the language of the text in Windows, like HELP, menus, the toolbars, taskbar, etc.

    Your suggestion only changes how numbers, currency symbol, decimal and thousands separator, etc. are displayed and what keyboard layout you are using, e.g. where the $, #, @ signs are etc.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,416 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    In that case, it doesn't solve my problem :(

    In any case, thanks for trying to help, Mussels!


    The board doesn't support SATA II HDDs but this HDD has a jumper to make it compatible with SATA and that's how i installed my XP in it.
    I can't figure out why i can't do the same with a Portuguese XP, though :(
     
  8. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,366 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    You shouldnt need a floppy for a promise controller that ISNT in raid mode.

    The alternative is to set up XP on a DIFFERENT MACHINE.

    Once installed, run sysprep, shut down, and take the HDD OUT of the machine, to the "portuguese" machine, then start up.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,416 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    That board is an ancient one: for it to recognize a SATA HDD, it needed 3rd party drivers that came with the Asus board CD. I know this because i sold this board to him.

    Sysprep? I'm unfamiliar with that prog but i can't do as you suggest because neither i nor him have another AMD PC that is SATA capable (he has another AMD PC but it doesn't support SATA).
     
  10. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,366 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    Hmmm. Sounds like you should install the OS partition on an IDE drive. Once the OS is booted (with the Promise SATA drivers) it can then access a SATA data drive.

    Sometimes putting new kit on old mainboards doesnt work.

    "Sell" your old HDD as a data backup or media drive.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,416 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    If i understand you correctly, i need to have 2 HDDs in the system: install the OS into the IDE HDD and, after installing the SATA drivers in this OS, re-install in the SATA HDD.
    Does that mean i have to do the re-install procedure from within Windows or i just need to boot from CD, as usual?
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,446 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,696
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    dont bother with two hard drives.

    The solutions that are usually possible are the following.

    1. Install the OS to an IDE HDD
    2. Install to SATA HDD, hitting F6 and installing the drivers
    3. Install to SATA HDD, in IDE mode as set by the bios (rare on sata 1 boards)
    4. Install to SATA HDD, using an IDE converter (you can find em on ebay)


    Bummer about the language thing, i thought it would change the lot.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,366 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    I think I understand the problem now.

    1./ YOUR XP has SP2 integrated
    2./ HIS Portuguese XP DOES NOT have SP2 or SP3 integrated. He has separate SP2 and SP3 "patch" files on CD, not bootable installs
    3./ Install his XP onto IDE drive. Patch to SP3. Run windows update to completely "uptodate" the machine.
    4./ Get a tool like GHOST or Acronis Disk Doctor
    5./ Run sysprep (read up on MS site), and shut down
    6./ Copy the partition using GHOST or ADD to the SATA drive
    7./ Take out IDE drive
    8./ Boot

    ALTERNATIVELY
    1./ Slipstream SP3 into the portuguese XP install CD, to create a NEW BOOTABLE CD
    2./ Install from this new CD

    ALTERNATIVELY
    1./ Keep the IDE drive for the OS
    2./ Use the SATA drive as a SECOND DRIVE for data only
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,446 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,696
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    if the lack of SP3 is indeed the problem, i can help you integrate that. i just made myself a new XP SP3 slipstream disk last night, so its fresh in my memory.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,366 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    Go with the slipstreaming method... you will learn a lot in the process. Mussels can fill you in on the details.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,416 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    No: we both have XP SP2 integrated CDs and he has XP SP3 integrated as well.

    I tried SP2 with both English and Portuguese but only SP3 in Portuguese. What boggles me the most is that i can install it in English, no prob, but i can't do the same in Portuguese :(

    His IDE HDD has only 80 GB and already has XP up to date: Will your 1st method still work?
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,446 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,696
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    you will need this
    http://www.nliteos.com/download.html

    and this

    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...a8-5e76-401f-be08-1e1555d4f3d4&DisplayLang=en

    Basically Nlite automates the rest, you can tweak a few things but i suggest to keep it minimal. I prefer to remove languages that i dont use (in my case, leave nothing but australian english and japanese) and automate it so it automatically sets my CD key, time zone, and so on.

    Theres a lot of options in Nlite, have a look! you can really trim down the install size, as well as the ram usage.


    Edit: actually, Nlite has the ability to integrate drivers. you could try doing that?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,446 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,696
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    bugger its not the service packs.

    why cant he just run with two hard drives?? leave his existing OS, and leave this one for data?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,416 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    Integrate drivers? Haven't tried that approach. It should solve my problem.

    I know you can add things with the presets but what i don't know is where to get the presets :eek:
     
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,446 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,696
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    skip the presets and do it yourself, its actually very easy once you look through the program. its seriously a step by step guide.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,416 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    That's not what he want's my HDD for: he needs his 80 GB for another machine and my 500 for his main one.
     
  22. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,416 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    Will give that a try, then.

    Thank you both for the tips, dudes!
     
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,446 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,696
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    in the meantime, find out what SATA controller the board has. i may be able to find something out.

    edit: duh, asus. first post. i can find out from them.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,416 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    I used the one of the CD but i believe it's the 1st one on the K8V SE Deluxe page.

    Funny thing: the board does NOT say Deluxe, but there's no such board in Asus' site :wtf: There's no K8V SE on Asus' site.

    Unfortunately, i no longer have the board's CD (he does, now). I'll have to ask him later tonight, when we're @ work.
     
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,446 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,696
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    according to the asus site, the card has two raid controllers.
    http://www.viaarena.com/Driver/windows_v-raid_v580c.zip
    ^ latest driver from Via for the IDE controller.

    I cant find the promise drivers seperately, but make sure you're using the right drivers. Apparently this chipset does support IDE mode, so make sure the BIOS is set to IDE mode and not RAID mode, on both the IDE and SATA controllers.
     
    HTC says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)