• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need Help Diagnosing Upload Issue

Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
309 (0.08/day)
Likes
37
Location
Shelby Township, MI
#1
I recently bought a new laptop, all in all I've been pretty happy with it, except that I think its wireless card may be faulty. I'm hoping it's not the case and that it's a software related issue that I can somehow fix, but nothing I've tried has seemed to work.

On most websites, it works perfectly fine. On some sites however it intermittently fails to reach the site. Also when I go to speedtest.net I get the following:


When I run the desktop app as it suggests however I get:
If that was the only oddity I'd think nothing of it, but there are some sites that intermittently load on this laptop but load 100% of the time on other machines on the same network.

Also if I try and stream on twitch on this laptop, it works flawlessly if using an ethernet connection, but doesn't work at all if attempting to do it over wifi.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
24,388 (5.78/day)
Likes
8,055
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

95Viper

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
6,411 (1.71/day)
Likes
3,193
Location
Southeast Mid Atlantic
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W/Auria EQ278C
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#3

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,796 (5.36/day)
Likes
12,174
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
If that was the only oddity I'd think nothing of it, but there are some sites that intermittently load on this laptop but load 100% of the time on other machines on the same network.
Are these other machines also wireless or are the wired?

What router do you have?

Are you connecting on the 2.4GHz band or the 5.0GHz band? Have you tried switching to see if the problem gets better/worse?

If you run an extended PING test pinging your router, what are the results?
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
565 (6.57/day)
Likes
197
Location
Zadar, Croatia
System Name SloMo
Processor G4560
Motherboard MSi H110-PRO-D
Cooling LC-CC-95 @ Arctic Cooling fan
Memory 2X Crucial DDR4 2400 4GB
Video Card(s) Integrated HD 610
Storage WD 500 GB + Seagate 500 GB + Toshiba 3 TB
Display(s) Lenovo D221
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Manhattan Flex BT Headphones, Encore P-801 stereo speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX450M
Mouse microsoft office mouse
Keyboard Modecom mc-800m
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores gorstak @ hwbot.org
#5
well it clearly states firewall is blocking your traffic. Outbound traffic is usually allowed in windows firewall, unless you have some third party app, like internet security or something?
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
309 (0.08/day)
Likes
37
Location
Shelby Township, MI
#6
The other machines are also connecting wirelessly.

I also swapped out the modem and router I was using for another one to be sure it wasn't related to the router. It was initially a older single-band 802.11n router, but it is now connecting via a 5 GHz 802.11ac connection.

It's also definitely not actually firewall related, as I have no firewall turned on at all. Laptop came with Mcaffee, which I quickly uninstalled. I had replaced it with bitdefender, but I uninstalled that as well to be sure it wasn't causing the issue. Windows Firewall is also deactivated.

I'll check the article 95Viper linked to see if anything in it helps.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
565 (6.57/day)
Likes
197
Location
Zadar, Croatia
System Name SloMo
Processor G4560
Motherboard MSi H110-PRO-D
Cooling LC-CC-95 @ Arctic Cooling fan
Memory 2X Crucial DDR4 2400 4GB
Video Card(s) Integrated HD 610
Storage WD 500 GB + Seagate 500 GB + Toshiba 3 TB
Display(s) Lenovo D221
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Manhattan Flex BT Headphones, Encore P-801 stereo speakers
Power Supply Corsair CX450M
Mouse microsoft office mouse
Keyboard Modecom mc-800m
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores gorstak @ hwbot.org
#7
Have you also tried right clicking the network icon and then running troubleshooting?

Also, do you have anything else wireless related running? Like bluetooth? Maybe a simple factory reset of router would solve the issue...

Also, if all else fails, uninstalling the network device in device manager and then refreshing might also help...
 
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
791 (0.25/day)
Likes
265
Location
Essex, England
System Name Hellfire
Processor Intel I7 4790K OC to 4.6 @ 1.27V
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mk1
Cooling Corsair H100i in Push/Pull with 4x SP120 fans.
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega64 Nitro+ x2 Crossfire
Storage Samsung 840 Pro SSD (OS), 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Secondary, 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Tertiary,
Display(s) MSI MPG27QC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1300w PSU
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 64Bit
#8
Might be an obvious suggestion, but have you ran wireshark to see what is happening to the packets?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,796 (5.36/day)
Likes
12,174
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
well it clearly states firewall is blocking your traffic. Outbound traffic is usually allowed in windows firewall, unless you have some third party app, like internet security or something?
It clearly says "could". Do you know what that word means?

The other machines are also connecting wirelessly.

I also swapped out the modem and router I was using for another one to be sure it wasn't related to the router. It was initially a older single-band 802.11n router, but it is now connecting via a 5 GHz 802.11ac connection.

It's also definitely not actually firewall related, as I have no firewall turned on at all. Laptop came with Mcaffee, which I quickly uninstalled. I had replaced it with bitdefender, but I uninstalled that as well to be sure it wasn't causing the issue. Windows Firewall is also deactivated.

I'll check the article 95Viper linked to see if anything in it helps.
Find what model wireless card you have and then find the latest drivers from the wireless chipset's manufacturer. Don't use the drivers on the laptop's manufactuer page, those are rarely up to date.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,187 (4.02/day)
Likes
11,457
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
#10
If it works on some websites, and then not on others it's not a physical issue ,its either the website or something else.

You can get a wireless adapter for like eight bucks (if you don't have one already laying around) and plug it into USB port and just test to see if it's your computer or the website...or just plug an ethernet canle in.

Use testmy.net and check your upload speed. Be sure to choose a server that's appropriate
 
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
791 (0.25/day)
Likes
265
Location
Essex, England
System Name Hellfire
Processor Intel I7 4790K OC to 4.6 @ 1.27V
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mk1
Cooling Corsair H100i in Push/Pull with 4x SP120 fans.
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega64 Nitro+ x2 Crossfire
Storage Samsung 840 Pro SSD (OS), 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Secondary, 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Tertiary,
Display(s) MSI MPG27QC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1300w PSU
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 64Bit
#11
Surely wireshark is going to tell him where the packets are dropping....
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
309 (0.08/day)
Likes
37
Location
Shelby Township, MI
#12
I went into recovery settings and selected reset this pc. It worked properly immediately afterwards. Once it synched dropbox though it immediately began erroring out on the upload test again. Even after deleting dropbox's synched files locally it continued doing so. I reset it a second time, and it's currently working properly once again, but not sure if it will continue doing so as all I had actually installed the second time when it started acting up again was Discord and Chrome.

The wireless card on this particular laptop is Intel Wireless 9462.

EDIT: It's doing it once again.

Might be an obvious suggestion, but have you ran wireshark to see what is happening to the packets?
If it works on some websites, and then not on others it's not a physical issue ,its either the website or something else.

You can get a wireless adapter for like eight bucks (if you don't have one already laying around) and plug it into USB port and just test to see if it's your computer or the website...or just plug an ethernet canle in.

Use testmy.net and check your upload speed. Be sure to choose a server that's appropriate
The internet works flawlessly when using ethernet. The upload test doesn't fail, and the laptop can stream gameplay to twitch without a hitch. The issues with its connection are only when on wifi.

As for https://testmy.net/upload I can't even access that site when on wifi.

It seems since rebooting when updating the wireless card's driver that speedtest's upload has stopped failing again and is giving proper results again.

testmy.net however gives this:


I haven't tried Wireshark, but can do so.

It also just started failing to load one of the problem sites again.

https://www.pathofexile.com

That failed to load, I then spammed the refresh button and it eventually loaded successfully.

testmy.net/upload just did the same thing actually, spammed refresh and it eventually did load successfully.

I just took the laptop back and exchanged it for another. Pretty sure it was hardware related as even when resetting it to a fresh install of Windows it continued having the issue. Replacement laptop seems to have no such issues thus far.
 
Last edited:
Top