• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help finding fake 1050TI (GTS 450) BIOS

AAHC2012

New Member
Joined
May 30, 2020
Messages
8 (0.21/day)
I recently got some fake GTS 450 cards on Wish being sold as GTX 1050TIs. These cards have a GF106-250-KA-A1 GPU and 8 Elpida W1032BBBG memory chips on it (1GB total) I'm having trouble finding a working GTS450 BIOS for this card, every GTS450 BIOS I tried has visual corruption on the screen.The only 2 BIOSes I found that work are the original fake BIOS (has incorrect vram and GPU) or a Zotac BIOS I found, but it is recognized as a GT440 so I think it is a GT 440 BIOS.
Can someone help me either find a working GTS 450 BIOS or help me mod the fake BIOS so the computer will recognize the correct GPU and VRAM amount? (dump of fake bios attached) Thank you.
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
4,634 (1.68/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name Phenomenal
Processor AMD Phenom II X2 555 BE @ X4 4120MHz
Motherboard Asus M4A77T
Cooling Custom loop - Alphacooled
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 Ti
Storage Sandisk 120GB, Samsung 256GB & 3x Kingston A400 480GB SSD + WD 2TB HDD
Display(s) Viewsonic VA2465S-3 & HP LA2306x w/ Arctic Z2 gen3
Case Phanteks Eclipse P400S
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro English
Can you post a screenshot what GPU-Z says about it? :)
 

AAHC2012

New Member
Joined
May 30, 2020
Messages
8 (0.21/day)
Here is the GPU-Z screenshot (I force-installed the latest GTS 450 driver, let me know if you want me to install the fake driver on the disc instead)
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
8,610 (4.13/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Try this one with Elpida memory.

This link shows the retail cards based on the GF106-250-KA-A1 chip.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,278 (0.42/day)

AAHC2012

New Member
Joined
May 30, 2020
Messages
8 (0.21/day)
I tried many BIOSes from the suggestions, they all either have a corrupted display on boot or crash when I try to load Windows with the driver installed.
I'm beginning to think the only option would be a modified original BIOS, could anyone help me with that? Thanks.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,278 (0.42/day)
Try this one:


You can try Fermi BIOS editor or NiBiTor.

Why do you insist on funding these scammers? Why not just return it and buy a real GTX 1050 or RX 550?
 
Last edited:

AAHC2012

New Member
Joined
May 30, 2020
Messages
8 (0.21/day)
I already have the original BIOS for my card, I just can't figure out how to edit it to show the right chip and RAM ammount

You can try Fermi BIOS editor or NiBiTor.

Why do you insist on funding these scammers? Why not just return it and buy a real GTX 1050 or RX 550?
I tried those with no luck, I can't get them to properly open the BIOS or change anything except the boot up message.

Also I bought these fully planning to get a refund.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,278 (0.42/day)
There is no chance that all GTS 450 BIOSes don't work for you:


Try Chinese vendors. Whoever made this card surely didn't make just a single unit.

If the driver is working and you get artifacts (corrupted display), its possible the card is just defective.
 

AAHC2012

New Member
Joined
May 30, 2020
Messages
8 (0.21/day)
I thought that might be the case, but the original BIOS seems to work without artifacts when I install the GTS450 driver manually.
I'll keep trying different BIOSes but I've gone through several dozen at this point with no luck. Perhaps this BIOS accesses the memory in some unconventional way or something.
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
8,613 (1.54/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
Also I bought these fully planning to get a refund.
:p:eek::kookoo:

So you knew you were being conned (Schee.........d)
and did you expect to also get to keep these knock off's.

Not sure who is the con Artist here the original seller or you
 

AAHC2012

New Member
Joined
May 30, 2020
Messages
8 (0.21/day)
:p:eek::kookoo:

So you knew you were being conned (Schee.........d)
and did you expect to also get to keep these knock off's.

Not sure who is the con Artist here the original seller or you
If I didn't buy them some kid would buy them and get their money stolen. Also Wish/Ebay/etc *guarantees* that I should get the card that I was promised in the listing, so I am not unreasonable for buying them and expecting a refund when I get a GTS 450 instead of a 1050.

If they were actual 1050 chips on the PCB like the listing said I would be happy and not refund!
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,278 (0.42/day)
eBay has buyer protection. Just open a ticket and explain this card is a counterfeit product. For 80 bucks you can get brand new RX 550 or GTX 1030 from Amazon.

New threads of fake GTX 1050 pop up every few days. It will get worse if you let these guys get away with this.
 

AAHC2012

New Member
Joined
May 30, 2020
Messages
8 (0.21/day)
eBay has buyer protection. Just open a ticket and explain this card is a counterfeit product. For 80 bucks you can get brand new RX 550 or GTX 1030 from Amazon.

New threads of fake GTX 1050 pop up every few days. It will get worse if you let these guys get away with this.
I'm already doing that and I don't want a GT1030.
 

fafrd

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2020
Messages
20 (0.59/day)
I’m in the same boat as you - got a fake 1050ti and looking for the right bios to make a properly-functioning GTS450 out of it.

This is precisely the bios my fake 1050ti is running now: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/221490/221490

The card has 8 out of 12 GDDR5 slots filled, so using 128 out of a 192 bus designed into the card and 1GB GDDR5 on a card designed to hold at least 1.5GB.

The fake driver says 4GB and so I’m looking for a GTS450 driver that properly reflects the 1GB present in the card.

This GTS450 driver from EVGA fits pretty closely: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/122747/evga-gts450-1024-120322

Everything matches pretty closely (don’t care about losing the VGA port) but the memory speed will be increases from 850MHz to 902MHz (+6%). Will that have a chance of working?

902Hz for the memory is the lowest I could find from any vendor on the GTS450 official bios list, so I’m thinking this one from EVGA or a similar one from another vendor or even Nvidia is my best best, but I would appreciate any advice.

I’m prepared to directly flash a new BIOS into the EEPROM but don’t think I have the patience to mess around with editing the Fake BIOS in an attempt to fix it.
01A8DEAA-63C4-40A0-8D94-1351EDB74B98.jpeg
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
8,610 (4.13/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I’m in the same boat as you - got a fake 1050ti and looking for the right bios to make a properly-functioning GTS450 out of it.

This is precisely the bios my fake 1050ti is running now: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/221490/221490

The card has 8 out of 12 GDDR5 slots filled, so using 128 out of a 192 bus designed into the card and 1GB GDDR5 on a card designed to hold at least 1.5GB.

The fake driver says 4GB and so I’m looking for a GTS450 driver that properly reflects the 1GB present in the card.

902Hz for the memory is the lowest I could find from any vendor on the GTS450 official bios list, so I’m thinking this one from EVGA or a similar one from another vendor or even Nvidia is my best best, but I would appreciate any advice.
Post a pic of the GPU Core with numbers clearly shown, and also the memory chips please.
You could try this one.
 
Last edited:

fafrd

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2020
Messages
20 (0.59/day)
Post a pic of the GPU Core with numbers clearly shown, and also the memory chips please.
You could try this one.
Thanks for that - I’ll give that one a try first.

I’m actually waiting for my refund to be processed before removing the heat sink, but GPU-z recognizes the GPU as a GF116 A1.

Attached is a picture of the back where you can see 4 out of 6 RAM locations populated, and the other side of the board has another 4 out of 6 locations populated (so 8 out of 12 total).

I’ve also attached a zoom of one RAM chip but is unreadable. I used a jeweler’s to reach the 4 exposed chips and they all say:

ELPIDA
W1032BBBG
40-F

I looked up that code and each chip is 1Gb organized as either 32M 32-bit words or 64M 16-bit words (so either way, the 8 chips are delivering 1GB of memory through a 128-bit bus on a card that was designed to support a 192-bit bus.

And 40-F is the code for 4Gbps: http://pdf.datasheet.live/datasheets-1/elpida_memory/EDW2032BBBG-60-F.pdf

When I get my refund resolved in a couple days and pull off the heatsink, I’ll post a pic of the GPU to confirm what GPU-z reports.

And in the meantime, here are the pics I have:

07D114EC-5014-45D0-87B9-83EBB360FADE.jpeg
43B0CEDF-9DA5-4F45-AFBF-FCFC1B3782A3.jpeg
BE32C89C-1439-416F-B0A0-FD4399C08654.jpeg
20C597E7-F60F-4BB5-A674-BECBCF269535.jpeg
290D8DF3-A3CC-4B91-8C26-688374814A00.jpeg


By the way, I’ve programmed plenty of EEPROMs in my time, but never at home.

So I need to get a CH41 USB programmer and clip in order to download a different BIOS into the fake GTX 1050ti..

Is there any difference between CH341 and CH341A for this graphics card reflashing operation?

Also read some warnings on this board to ‘get green’ and ‘stay away from black’ - does it really make any difference whether the socket is green or black?

I’m considering picking up this kit for $11 from Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Helonge-Socket-Adapter-Programmer-CH341A/dp/B0837L98G9/ref=mp_s_a_1_25?dchild=1&keywords=ch341+usb+spi&qid=1591154420&sr=8-25

Will that work or should I get something different (any references appreciated).
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,278 (0.42/day)
You seem to have a similar card like the OP. GTS 450 with 1GB of Elpida VRAM.

Before you buy CH341/A, check out this thread, order it if nothing else works. CH341A is just a newer model and both (non A) should work.
 

fafrd

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2020
Messages
20 (0.59/day)
You seem to have a similar card like the OP. GTS 450 with 1GB of Elpida VRAM.

Before you buy CH341/A, check out this thread, order it if nothing else works. CH341A is just a newer model and both (non A) should work.
Yeah, similar but my card has 12 locations for RAM out of which only 8 are filled, while his card seems to be designed for 8 RAM chips and is fully-populated.

Sounds like that thread is suggesting you can download a new flash image from the PC, but I’ve read a few places that the Fake BIOS with incorrect device ID (GTX1050ti) causes problems when attempting to flash in the correct BIOS (GTS450 in my case).

Are you saying that’s often not the case and flashing from computer is worth trying?

Seller just approved a full refund, so I should be removing that heatsink soon...
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,278 (0.42/day)
Some fake cards can be flashed without SPI flash programmer and some can't.
 
Low quality post by natr0n
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,559 (1.80/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K @ 4.5GHz / Dual Xeon 5675's @ 3.33GHz 12c/24t
Motherboard MAXIMUS V FORMULA / GA-7TESM
Cooling Deepcool Assassin - 3 Fans / RAIJINTEK AIDOS x2
Memory 4x8GB 2133MHz Samsung Dual Channel / 6x8GB 1333MHz Samsung Hexa Channel
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 980ti /Sapphire Pulse RX590
Storage Various SSD/HD
Display(s) AOC 24" IPS / Various Dells
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver / Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Corsair TX 650w / Evga NEX 750B
Mouse Alienware AW558 @ 5000 DPI
Keyboard Asus KB34211
Software XP64/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6
Get a real job/find work/work hard... buy a nice real card.

Use these things to play with and learn, but always remember you'll never flash a piece of crap into gold.
 

fafrd

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2020
Messages
20 (0.59/day)
Oh, I'm not expecting gold. This old PC had a 7600GT card from 2007 in it and I just want to step up from DirectX 9 to DirectX 11 compatibility without spending a fortune (or much of anything, really, just a bit of hobby time ;).

I'll be honest that I did originally get scammed, going yo eBay to search for used cards and thinking I was getting a great deal on a reasonably-capable older-generation card, but to be fair, I was very conscious of the fact that eBay had me covered if the card did not deliver as advertised.

About 5 minutes after clicking 'Confirm Purchase' I discovered this whole 'Fake GTX1050ti cards from China scam' with a little searching and initially had buyers remorse and felt stupid.

Then I found sites like this explaining how fake cards could be made into pseudo-legitimate older / less powerful cards by identifying the correct bios for the card and flashing it in.

Even a fully-capable GTS450 is going to be overkill for my needs on this old PC - I just don't don't want it crashing on me and would like to successfully get through some graphics benchmarks (the fake card hangs on Sysoft Dandra graphics benchmark).

So Bronze or even Copper from this effort will be just fine for me - just no lump of Coal.

Some fake cards can be flashed without SPI flash programmer and some can't.
OK, well I suppose I'll give it a try then.

Is there an easy way to create a programmable BIOS image of the fake BIOS that's already in there before flashing in a new one? Don't believe I saw that discussed in that flashing tutorial thread...
 
Top