• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help finding proper bios for Visiontek R9 290 4gb.

Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
140 (0.05/day)
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 Pro 1700@3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Prime B350 Plus (needed pci slot for Ht Omega Claro Halo)
Cooling Noctua C-14
Memory 16GB A-Data DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro Duo
Storage Patriot Torch 512gb, Seagate Barracuda 512gb , Adata 128gb SSDs & 1TB Western Digital Black
Display(s) Seiki 39" 4k
Case MetallicGear Neo Air
Audio Device(s) Ht Omega Claro Halo
Power Supply Rosewill Glacier 850 watts
Mouse Ancient Razor Diamondback
Keyboard Logitech Illuminated
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
I've tried a few and when windows loads it eventually freezes with the card installed. This is a dual fan card with a bios switch. Someone put an r9 290x bios on other side of switch and it won't flash back to an r9 290. So both bios's are not working properly. Windows freeze and backscreens. I tried the bioses listed on this site but they wont work either. http://kju135.egloos.com/m/1436206

Under the heatsink it as Elpida memory, nothing on the gpu chip and says LF R29FA on theboard.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,828 (6.28/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I've tried a few and when windows loads it eventually freezes with the card installed. This is a dual fan card with a bios switch. Someone put an r9 290x bios on other side of switch and it won't flash back to an r9 290. So both bios's are not working properly. Windows freeze and backscreens. I tried the bioses listed on this site but they wont work either. http://kju135.egloos.com/m/1436206

Under the heatsink it as Elpida memory, nothing on the gpu chip and says LF R29FA on theboard.

That might be the PCB design

Can you get pictures of the card, white stickers maybe?

 
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
140 (0.05/day)
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 Pro 1700@3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Prime B350 Plus (needed pci slot for Ht Omega Claro Halo)
Cooling Noctua C-14
Memory 16GB A-Data DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro Duo
Storage Patriot Torch 512gb, Seagate Barracuda 512gb , Adata 128gb SSDs & 1TB Western Digital Black
Display(s) Seiki 39" 4k
Case MetallicGear Neo Air
Audio Device(s) Ht Omega Claro Halo
Power Supply Rosewill Glacier 850 watts
Mouse Ancient Razor Diamondback
Keyboard Logitech Illuminated
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
Apparently you can fix the black screen/freezing with a newer bios..maybe April 2014 or newer.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20210916_151741.jpg
    IMG_20210916_151741.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 25

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,828 (6.28/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Apparently you can fix the black screen/freezing with a newer bios..maybe April 2014 or newer.

Apparently you can fix the black screen/freezing with a newer bios..maybe April 2014 or newer.

Im unsure if you can get a gpu-z screenshot, but this is a verified bios.

The rest are unverified
Unverified

Here a set of others by dev id and ssid.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
140 (0.05/day)
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 Pro 1700@3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Prime B350 Plus (needed pci slot for Ht Omega Claro Halo)
Cooling Noctua C-14
Memory 16GB A-Data DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro Duo
Storage Patriot Torch 512gb, Seagate Barracuda 512gb , Adata 128gb SSDs & 1TB Western Digital Black
Display(s) Seiki 39" 4k
Case MetallicGear Neo Air
Audio Device(s) Ht Omega Claro Halo
Power Supply Rosewill Glacier 850 watts
Mouse Ancient Razor Diamondback
Keyboard Logitech Illuminated
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
Ok, I had this one installed - https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/165738/165738 and after I ddu'ed the drivers in safemode and re-installed the newest legacy driver it's working great!

Thanks very much for your help eidairman1!

Now I just have to figure out which bios is which so I can short it and put the correct bios on it.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,828 (6.28/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Ok, I had this one installed - https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/165738/165738 and after I ddu'ed the drivers in safemode and re-installed the newest legacy driver it's working great!

Thanks very much for your help eidairman1!

Now I just have to figure out which bios is which so I can short it and put the correct bios on it.
Follow reviews of that specific gpu and you should get info on bios switch.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,828 (6.28/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Ok, I had this one installed - https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/165738/165738 and after I ddu'ed the drivers in safemode and re-installed the newest legacy driver it's working great!

Thanks very much for your help eidairman1!

Now I just have to figure out which bios is which so I can short it and put the correct bios on it.
Did you fix the problem?
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
140 (0.05/day)
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 Pro 1700@3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Prime B350 Plus (needed pci slot for Ht Omega Claro Halo)
Cooling Noctua C-14
Memory 16GB A-Data DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro Duo
Storage Patriot Torch 512gb, Seagate Barracuda 512gb , Adata 128gb SSDs & 1TB Western Digital Black
Display(s) Seiki 39" 4k
Case MetallicGear Neo Air
Audio Device(s) Ht Omega Claro Halo
Power Supply Rosewill Glacier 850 watts
Mouse Ancient Razor Diamondback
Keyboard Logitech Illuminated
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
Yes, I downloaded atiflash_417 for Dos and it successfully flashed over the bad bios so I didn't have to short the bios chip.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
330 (1.79/day)
Location
Europe
Great.
That means you have a fully functional video card now ?
Cheers
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
140 (0.05/day)
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 Pro 1700@3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Prime B350 Plus (needed pci slot for Ht Omega Claro Halo)
Cooling Noctua C-14
Memory 16GB A-Data DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro Duo
Storage Patriot Torch 512gb, Seagate Barracuda 512gb , Adata 128gb SSDs & 1TB Western Digital Black
Display(s) Seiki 39" 4k
Case MetallicGear Neo Air
Audio Device(s) Ht Omega Claro Halo
Power Supply Rosewill Glacier 850 watts
Mouse Ancient Razor Diamondback
Keyboard Logitech Illuminated
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
The quiet bios seems to be perfect.. so perfect I put a Powercolor.R9290.4096.140814 bios on it (1040mhz&1350mhz) and its working better than ever! However someone is wrong with the other bios, it works but sometimes it backscreens', freezes or crashes the pc. Its had that problem since I got it a few months ago. I attached the bios it had on it when I got it. I'm not sure what card it's from.
 

Attachments

  • R9290.rom
    128 KB · Views: 8

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,828 (6.28/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
The quiet bios seems to be perfect.. so perfect I put a Powercolor.R9290.4096.140814 bios on it (1040mhz&1350mhz) and its working better than ever! However someone is wrong with the other bios, it works but sometimes it backscreens', freezes or crashes the pc. Its had that problem since I got it a few months ago. I attached the bios it had on it when I got it. I'm not sure what card it's from.
Id write over the bad bios

Probably a mining bios
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
140 (0.05/day)
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 Pro 1700@3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Prime B350 Plus (needed pci slot for Ht Omega Claro Halo)
Cooling Noctua C-14
Memory 16GB A-Data DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro Duo
Storage Patriot Torch 512gb, Seagate Barracuda 512gb , Adata 128gb SSDs & 1TB Western Digital Black
Display(s) Seiki 39" 4k
Case MetallicGear Neo Air
Audio Device(s) Ht Omega Claro Halo
Power Supply Rosewill Glacier 850 watts
Mouse Ancient Razor Diamondback
Keyboard Logitech Illuminated
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
Id write over the bad bios

Probably a mining bios
Probably. I put the Visiontek 165738 bios on it but it's still not reliable. Maybe something wrong with that bios chip. At least the other works good.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,828 (6.28/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Probably. I put the Visiontek 165738 bios on it but it's still not reliable. Maybe something wrong with that bios chip. At least the other works good.
What about that bios which was working well?
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
140 (0.05/day)
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 Pro 1700@3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Prime B350 Plus (needed pci slot for Ht Omega Claro Halo)
Cooling Noctua C-14
Memory 16GB A-Data DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro Duo
Storage Patriot Torch 512gb, Seagate Barracuda 512gb , Adata 128gb SSDs & 1TB Western Digital Black
Display(s) Seiki 39" 4k
Case MetallicGear Neo Air
Audio Device(s) Ht Omega Claro Halo
Power Supply Rosewill Glacier 850 watts
Mouse Ancient Razor Diamondback
Keyboard Logitech Illuminated
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,828 (6.28/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
140 (0.05/day)
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 Pro 1700@3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Prime B350 Plus (needed pci slot for Ht Omega Claro Halo)
Cooling Noctua C-14
Memory 16GB A-Data DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro Duo
Storage Patriot Torch 512gb, Seagate Barracuda 512gb , Adata 128gb SSDs & 1TB Western Digital Black
Display(s) Seiki 39" 4k
Case MetallicGear Neo Air
Audio Device(s) Ht Omega Claro Halo
Power Supply Rosewill Glacier 850 watts
Mouse Ancient Razor Diamondback
Keyboard Logitech Illuminated
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
330 (1.79/day)
Location
Europe
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
140 (0.05/day)
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 Pro 1700@3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Prime B350 Plus (needed pci slot for Ht Omega Claro Halo)
Cooling Noctua C-14
Memory 16GB A-Data DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro Duo
Storage Patriot Torch 512gb, Seagate Barracuda 512gb , Adata 128gb SSDs & 1TB Western Digital Black
Display(s) Seiki 39" 4k
Case MetallicGear Neo Air
Audio Device(s) Ht Omega Claro Halo
Power Supply Rosewill Glacier 850 watts
Mouse Ancient Razor Diamondback
Keyboard Logitech Illuminated
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
How do you know that the one you picked up was the right one? And above all how do you know that was the most stable one?

So the most stable one from the one you found gives errors now ?
In what way it is not working perfect ? Elaborate please
1. Is the bios with the switch closest to the display outputs.
2. Is the bios with the switch closest to the heat pipes.

#2 is working great with the Powercolor.R9290.4096.140814 bios at 1040mhz gpu and 1300mhz memory.
#1 has the Visiontek bios on it and it black screens and crashes the pc at times. Factory Visiontek bios should work perfect but I think there is something wrong with the #1 bios chip or some hardware that connects to it. It's not a new card after all. Who knows what the previous owners did to it.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
330 (1.79/day)
Location
Europe
Well, after you informed us about your card, i suspect that the Visiontek BIOS is altered so that leads to those black screen and crashes.
Keep in mid that if a video card is broken at a hardware level , no BIOS will revive it.
If Powercolor BIOS is working, that is the proof that you have a working card with a wrong BIOS
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,828 (6.28/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
1. Is the bios with the switch closest to the display outputs.
2. Is the bios with the switch closest to the heat pipes.

#2 is working great with the Powercolor.R9290.4096.140814 bios at 1040mhz gpu and 1300mhz memory.
#1 has the Visiontek bios on it and it black screens and crashes the pc at times. Factory Visiontek bios should work perfect but I think there is something wrong with the #1 bios chip or some hardware that connects to it. It's not a new card after all. Who knows what the previous owners did to it.

Hey man contact visiontek and see if they can get you a verified bios for that specific card
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
140 (0.05/day)
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 Pro 1700@3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Prime B350 Plus (needed pci slot for Ht Omega Claro Halo)
Cooling Noctua C-14
Memory 16GB A-Data DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro Duo
Storage Patriot Torch 512gb, Seagate Barracuda 512gb , Adata 128gb SSDs & 1TB Western Digital Black
Display(s) Seiki 39" 4k
Case MetallicGear Neo Air
Audio Device(s) Ht Omega Claro Halo
Power Supply Rosewill Glacier 850 watts
Mouse Ancient Razor Diamondback
Keyboard Logitech Illuminated
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
Well, after you informed us about your card, i suspect that the Visiontek BIOS is altered so that leads to those black screen and crashes.
Keep in mid that if a video card is broken at a hardware level , no BIOS will revive it.
If Powercolor BIOS is working, that is the proof that you have a working card with a wrong BIOS
Good call. I installed the same - https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/powercolor-pcs-r9-290.b2820 - bios on each bios chip and they both work fine now. I suspect someone changed the backplate and maybe cooler.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
140 (0.05/day)
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 Pro 1700@3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Prime B350 Plus (needed pci slot for Ht Omega Claro Halo)
Cooling Noctua C-14
Memory 16GB A-Data DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro Duo
Storage Patriot Torch 512gb, Seagate Barracuda 512gb , Adata 128gb SSDs & 1TB Western Digital Black
Display(s) Seiki 39" 4k
Case MetallicGear Neo Air
Audio Device(s) Ht Omega Claro Halo
Power Supply Rosewill Glacier 850 watts
Mouse Ancient Razor Diamondback
Keyboard Logitech Illuminated
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
Yes, thanks for the help!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,828 (6.28/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Top