• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Need help installing Windows 8

Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
964 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
Location
hoorn, Netherlands
Processor i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI B150 Gaming pro AC
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212
Memory 16 GB crucial ballistix sport
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage 500GB Crucial MX200 2x 2tb WD green
Display(s) BenQ XL2730Z 27" 2560x1440 144hz
Case Bitfenix prodigy ITX
Software Windows 10 pro
#1
So I just got a new laptop awesome specs and all but I had it delivered without OS because I never had trouble in my life installing one.

But now I get this problem, When I try to install it. "We couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one. For more information, see the Setup log files."

I have been searching on google the whole day now and I honestly don't know what to do anymore, tried every thing but nothing works. Diskpart didn't work, changing boot order didn't work. I'm trying to install from an USB stick cause I have no cd's around, but I'm able to install on my desktop with the USB stick. I'm not using an ssd btw, it is one of those weird seagate hybrids model ST95005620AS to be exact.

Hope you guys can help me, thanks in advance!
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,791 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,781
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#2
I've been mucking around with install(s) of Win7 as well as switching over from drives setup in IDE mode to AHCI mode. I did get an error like that when I had an AHCI drive and the BIOS sata mode was setup as IDE. I'd check that and can you take the drive out and format elsewhere?
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
964 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
Location
hoorn, Netherlands
Processor i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI B150 Gaming pro AC
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212
Memory 16 GB crucial ballistix sport
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage 500GB Crucial MX200 2x 2tb WD green
Display(s) BenQ XL2730Z 27" 2560x1440 144hz
Case Bitfenix prodigy ITX
Software Windows 10 pro
#3
I've been mucking around with install(s) of Win7 as well as switching over from drives setup in IDE mode to AHCI mode. I did get an error like that when I had an AHCI drive and the BIOS sata mode was setup as IDE. I'd check that and can you take the drive out and format elsewhere?
I have done both of those, drive is in AHCI mode and I have formatted it on my desktop through diskpart and windows explorer. That's why I'm at loss what to do, chkdsk /r also ran fine so I guess the drive isn't DOA. Thanks though!
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#4
How new is the chipset? I'm not familiar with laptop stuff, but maybe it needs boot time ahci drivers installed? Just taking a stab here.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,791 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,781
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#5
I have done both of those, drive is in AHCI mode and I have formatted it on my desktop through diskpart and windows explorer. That's why I'm at loss what to do, chkdsk /r also ran fine so I guess the drive isn't DOA. Thanks though!
Are you sure the lappy is in AHCI mode? When you check, the BIOS (I think) will show you connected devices so you can rule that out if it shows up.

How new is the chipset? I'm not familiar with laptop stuff, but maybe it needs boot time ahci drivers installed? Just taking a stab here.
The hardware will take care of the mode internally if AHCI is available, but the OS needs the proper drivers and I'm sure Win8 has native AHCI drivers like Win7 and Vista. Didn't exist in XP.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.13/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#6
it done the same on my pc, but was ssd... so I guess hybrid the same... the instructions say format to windows drive 'ready for os installation'
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#7
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,791 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,781
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#8
Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
964 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
Location
hoorn, Netherlands
Processor i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI B150 Gaming pro AC
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212
Memory 16 GB crucial ballistix sport
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage 500GB Crucial MX200 2x 2tb WD green
Display(s) BenQ XL2730Z 27" 2560x1440 144hz
Case Bitfenix prodigy ITX
Software Windows 10 pro
#9
Hope you are using this to make the flash drive install: http://www.joshcellsoftwares.com/2012/06/WinUSBMaker.html Works everytime for me. but not sure why you can't see the hd when installing.
Didn't use that tool I used the official tool form microsoft I will try this on out thanks!

I forgot to specify that although it gives that error I can still see the harddisk in the installation itself, which makes it even more mysterious for me.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#10
Only other though I have is do you need a hard drive unlock code? I've heard that some laptops require that... like I said, not too sure about laptop stuff.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#11
It's also 10x faster than installing from optical, I'll never use a disc again!
Bah, messed up a quote, but you get the idea....
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
964 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
Location
hoorn, Netherlands
Processor i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI B150 Gaming pro AC
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212
Memory 16 GB crucial ballistix sport
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage 500GB Crucial MX200 2x 2tb WD green
Display(s) BenQ XL2730Z 27" 2560x1440 144hz
Case Bitfenix prodigy ITX
Software Windows 10 pro
#12
It's also 10x faster than installing from optical, I'll never use a disc again!
Bah, messed up a quote, but you get the idea....
haha yeah thats why I don't have dvd's around to try out, unfortunately it didn't work with that tool either. Guess I need to call customer service tomorrow.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,631
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#13
Who the hell is selling a laptop with no OS installed?
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
964 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
Location
hoorn, Netherlands
Processor i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI B150 Gaming pro AC
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212
Memory 16 GB crucial ballistix sport
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage 500GB Crucial MX200 2x 2tb WD green
Display(s) BenQ XL2730Z 27" 2560x1440 144hz
Case Bitfenix prodigy ITX
Software Windows 10 pro
#14
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
298 (0.16/day)
Likes
111
Processor Core I7-2600k @4,8GHZ @1,4V
Motherboard Asus p8-Z68 V Gen3
Cooling 2x1080 Custom loop
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws x 16gb 1866 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti
Storage Raid 0 2 x Sasmsung 850 EVo
Display(s) ASUS Swift
Case Test Bench
Power Supply Be quiet! 850 P10
Mouse G5
Keyboard Old USB Dell Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#15
So I just got a new laptop awesome specs and all but I had it delivered without OS because I never had trouble in my life installing one.

But now I get this problem, When I try to install it. "We couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one. For more information, see the Setup log files."

I have been searching on google the whole day now and I honestly don't know what to do anymore, tried every thing but nothing works. Diskpart didn't work, changing boot order didn't work. I'm trying to install from an USB stick cause I have no cd's around, but I'm able to install on my desktop with the USB stick. I'm not using an ssd btw, it is one of those weird seagate hybrids model ST95005620AS to be exact.

Hope you guys can help me, thanks in advance!
I know that feeling i had it once with an old laptop as well.
You could see the HDD but couldn´t install on it format it so on....
I toked it out put it into my pc installed windows 8 on it until the first reboot put it back into the laptop works
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
964 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
Location
hoorn, Netherlands
Processor i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI B150 Gaming pro AC
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212
Memory 16 GB crucial ballistix sport
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage 500GB Crucial MX200 2x 2tb WD green
Display(s) BenQ XL2730Z 27" 2560x1440 144hz
Case Bitfenix prodigy ITX
Software Windows 10 pro
#16
I know that feeling i had it once with an old laptop as well.
You could see the HDD but couldn´t install on it format it so on....
I toked it out put it into my pc installed windows 8 on it until the first reboot put it back into the laptop works
Holy shit why didn't I think of this, putting the hdd in my desktop and installing it there might work.

Gonna try it out thanks!
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
964 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
Location
hoorn, Netherlands
Processor i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI B150 Gaming pro AC
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212
Memory 16 GB crucial ballistix sport
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage 500GB Crucial MX200 2x 2tb WD green
Display(s) BenQ XL2730Z 27" 2560x1440 144hz
Case Bitfenix prodigy ITX
Software Windows 10 pro
#17
Still no succes, well atleast I know that the isssue is the drive itself. Gonna look some stuff up about those hybrid drives if they have more of those problems, otherwise probably send it back and wait for a new laptop.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#18
Still no succes, well atleast I know that the isssue is the drive itself. Gonna look some stuff up about those hybrid drives if they have more of those problems, otherwise probably send it back and wait for a new laptop.
did you try to install in a desktop and install the OS then move back to the laptop?
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.13/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#19
I had the same problem with my ssd, I had to put it on another machine go to computer, manage, computer management, storage, disk management, right click 'unallocated'' disk, click new simple volume... and follow instructions.... SSD/hybrid drives apparently not formatted to windows config...also youll see less than the drive storage space I got 120 and shows 110...

http://www.ocztechnology.com/ssdzone/tutorials/operating_system.html
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
964 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
Location
hoorn, Netherlands
Processor i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI B150 Gaming pro AC
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212
Memory 16 GB crucial ballistix sport
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage 500GB Crucial MX200 2x 2tb WD green
Display(s) BenQ XL2730Z 27" 2560x1440 144hz
Case Bitfenix prodigy ITX
Software Windows 10 pro
#20
did you try to install in a desktop and install the OS then move back to the laptop?
Yep tried both no success.

I had the same problem with my ssd, I had to put it on another machine go to computer, manage, computer management, storage, disk management, right click 'unallocated'' disk, click new simple volume... and follow instructions.... SSD/hybrid drives apparently not formatted to windows config...also youll see less than the drive storage space I got 120 and shows 110...

http://www.ocztechnology.com/ssdzone/tutorials/operating_system.html
Gonna try that one out, I think its the same as using diskpart in its essence but I can atleast try:)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
964 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
Location
hoorn, Netherlands
Processor i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI B150 Gaming pro AC
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212
Memory 16 GB crucial ballistix sport
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage 500GB Crucial MX200 2x 2tb WD green
Display(s) BenQ XL2730Z 27" 2560x1440 144hz
Case Bitfenix prodigy ITX
Software Windows 10 pro
#21
Ok I was able to install it now, but when I put it back into the laptop still no good. Good thing is my dad said he ordered a windows 8 dvd for himself and it should arrive today so hopefully it will install with dvd.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,791 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,781
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#23
did you try to install in a desktop and install the OS then move back to the laptop?
Probably have the same problem as every other MS OS install, where drivers, etc. are configured for the MB and system at install time. Try to move the drive and OS to another system and it's usually nothing but troubles.

I tried moving an OS drive from a maximus formula (flashed to a rampage), over to an actual rampage formula and it wasn't pretty, from desktop to quick BSOD.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#24
Probably have the same problem as every other MS OS install, where drivers, etc. are configured for the MB and system at install time. Try to move the drive and OS to another system and it's usually nothing but troubles.

I tried moving an OS drive from a maximus formula (flashed to a rampage), over to an actual rampage formula and it wasn't pretty, from desktop to quick BSOD.
Was this move you did with windows 7 or XP? I know I had a windows 7 copy that lasted from launch until recently (I tried windows 8 :( :shadedshu :banghead: ) and it went through over 10+ mobo/cpu combos and other changes. Never had a single issue even left the old drivers in a time or two.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,791 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,781
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#25
Was this move you did with windows 7 or XP? I know I had a windows 7 copy that lasted from launch until recently (I tried windows 8 :( :shadedshu :banghead: ) and it went through over 10+ mobo/cpu combos and other changes. Never had a single issue even left the old drivers in a time or two.
Wow, that's good... yea it was XP, so it sounds like Win7 has better driver management. My rule of thumb is new MB, fresh install.