• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help OCing E8400 on GA-EP45-DS3R & Corsair Dominator

tbdriver

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Rancho Cordova, CA
System Name Home build
Processor Intel E8400, oc'd to 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-DSR3
Cooling CPU:Scythe Mugen 2 HSF; Case: 4-120MM fans Silenx
Memory Corsair TWIN2X4096-8500C5D (OS sees 3.3GB)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GV-RX387512H
Storage Seagate 320GB SATA2
Display(s) Samsung 20" HD
Case Cooler Master RC-590
Audio Device(s) Intel integrated HD
Power Supply Corsair 520w
Software Vista Ultimate 32bit
Benchmark Scores CPU @ 3.6GHz, finally, memory at 1066...Prime95 for 2+ hrs, passed
#1
Can any one help me with over clocking ? This BIOS is much more complex that the one with my old Prescott 3.4. I would like to OC the CPU to approximately 3.2 - 3.4 and especially the memory to it’s full capability. I’ve already tried OCing and the sytem will power down, up, down, up. I’ve tried various settings (too many & too confusing to throw in here) and it has powered itself off and stayed off. So, I cleared CMOS, did F7 and set the throttling values to disable. Left CPU Host Clock Control to “disable” and the speed was 2999.7MHZ. Then I changed Host Clock Control to “enable’, left the host frequency at 333 (default) and the speed went to 3000.4MHZ – the system did not power down. I changed one setting, the host frequency to 338 and it powered down automatically then back up and stayed up. I ran it thru Prime95 for 3 hours and it passed every test. Temps averaged 37c using “RealTemp” monitoring. I’ve read on other forums about an over all setting value that is referred to as 1:1 or, CPU:RAM, I don’t understand that and what settings to make that will achieve that value or one that works. I don’t want to over clock to 3.6 or higher. My system is:
CPU E8400 stock HSF installed. I have a Zalman 7700, 120mm—I’ll install it later.
RAM Corsair TWIN2X2048-8500C5D (2 x CM2X1024-8500C5D)
MOBO Gigabyte, GA-EP45P-DS3R
Video Gigabyte, GV-RX387512H
HDD Seagate 320GB, SATA2
PWR Corsair 520w
Case Thermaltake M9 w/ additional HD cage and fan…cooling is very good.
OS Vista Ultimate, 32bit
BIOS ver F7

I attached screen shots of CPU-Z and BIOS.
 
Last edited:

tbdriver

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Rancho Cordova, CA
System Name Home build
Processor Intel E8400, oc'd to 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-DSR3
Cooling CPU:Scythe Mugen 2 HSF; Case: 4-120MM fans Silenx
Memory Corsair TWIN2X4096-8500C5D (OS sees 3.3GB)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GV-RX387512H
Storage Seagate 320GB SATA2
Display(s) Samsung 20" HD
Case Cooler Master RC-590
Audio Device(s) Intel integrated HD
Power Supply Corsair 520w
Software Vista Ultimate 32bit
Benchmark Scores CPU @ 3.6GHz, finally, memory at 1066...Prime95 for 2+ hrs, passed
#2
It's me again, I didn't see the word doc with screen shots of my BIOS. So, if any one needs them I'll just copy into the post.

Thank you very much !
 

tbdriver

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Rancho Cordova, CA
System Name Home build
Processor Intel E8400, oc'd to 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-DSR3
Cooling CPU:Scythe Mugen 2 HSF; Case: 4-120MM fans Silenx
Memory Corsair TWIN2X4096-8500C5D (OS sees 3.3GB)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GV-RX387512H
Storage Seagate 320GB SATA2
Display(s) Samsung 20" HD
Case Cooler Master RC-590
Audio Device(s) Intel integrated HD
Power Supply Corsair 520w
Software Vista Ultimate 32bit
Benchmark Scores CPU @ 3.6GHz, finally, memory at 1066...Prime95 for 2+ hrs, passed
#3
No help

No replies ? did I post this wrong ? I'm new at posting on forums....
 

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.00/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#4
OK, your post is a little hard to follow, but I'll try. First of all, to get 1:1 with your 1066 Ram, you'll need to be at 533 fsb. Not all boards are able to reach this fsb, so 1:1 may not be possible. Now, if it was DDR2 800, then 1:1 would be 400 fsb. Let's do a simple overclock. Set the fsb at 450, and the multiplier at 8. This will give you 3.6ghz and Ram at 900mhz 1:1. You may need to bump up both your vcore and your NB voltage up just a couple of notches. Also, set your Ram voltage at 2.0v. If this goes well, I'll show you how to optimize that Rmam of yours.
 

tbdriver

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Rancho Cordova, CA
System Name Home build
Processor Intel E8400, oc'd to 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-DSR3
Cooling CPU:Scythe Mugen 2 HSF; Case: 4-120MM fans Silenx
Memory Corsair TWIN2X4096-8500C5D (OS sees 3.3GB)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GV-RX387512H
Storage Seagate 320GB SATA2
Display(s) Samsung 20" HD
Case Cooler Master RC-590
Audio Device(s) Intel integrated HD
Power Supply Corsair 520w
Software Vista Ultimate 32bit
Benchmark Scores CPU @ 3.6GHz, finally, memory at 1066...Prime95 for 2+ hrs, passed
#5
Thank you ! Yes, I'm fairly new at posting on forums, sorry 'bout the confusing post. I used to have a Prescott 478 chip and the BIOS was a lot simpler to work with.

"MCH" is my NB voltage, right ? If my temps get too hot I'll drop the settings back down. I'm going to switch out my stock HSF for a Zalman this weekend.

Thanks again
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,371 (2.14/day)
Likes
1,001
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#6
Check the guide in my Sig, the BIOS should look alot like yours, plus it has basic how to's.
 
D

Duxx

Guest
#7
Thank you ! Yes, I'm fairly new at posting on forums, sorry 'bout the confusing post. I used to have a Prescott 478 chip and the BIOS was a lot simpler to work with.

"MCH" is my NB voltage, right ? If my temps get too hot I'll drop the settings back down. I'm going to switch out my stock HSF for a Zalman this weekend.

Thanks again
Yes, your MCH is the NB. You really shouldn't have to tinker with many voltages if you are only shooting for 3.2-2.4. I left everything on auto, and just upped FSB, was stable until 3.6. Then I had to tinker with voltages, timings, and speeds. Should be fairly straightforward.
(E8400)
 

tbdriver

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Rancho Cordova, CA
System Name Home build
Processor Intel E8400, oc'd to 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-DSR3
Cooling CPU:Scythe Mugen 2 HSF; Case: 4-120MM fans Silenx
Memory Corsair TWIN2X4096-8500C5D (OS sees 3.3GB)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GV-RX387512H
Storage Seagate 320GB SATA2
Display(s) Samsung 20" HD
Case Cooler Master RC-590
Audio Device(s) Intel integrated HD
Power Supply Corsair 520w
Software Vista Ultimate 32bit
Benchmark Scores CPU @ 3.6GHz, finally, memory at 1066...Prime95 for 2+ hrs, passed
#8
Question I forgot to ask....

Whenever I make any changes to FSB, voltages, etc and press F10 to save and exit my machine automatically powers off for about 3-4 seconds and then automatically powers back on again and completes the boot into windows. Is that normal so that it can re-acquire the resources ? A couple times it has powered off, on, off, on, off and stayed off then would not power back on, even after I press the powr button until after I cleared CMOS.
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,371 (2.14/day)
Likes
1,001
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#9
Whenever I make any changes to FSB, voltages, etc and press F10 to save and exit my machine automatically powers off for about 3-4 seconds and then automatically powers back on again and completes the boot into windows. Is that normal so that it can re-acquire the resources ? A couple times it has powered off, on, off, on, off and stayed off then would not power back on, even after I press the powr button until after I cleared CMOS.
Yes, the power off for 5 seconds, then on is normal. When it powers on and off, on and off, on and off, that means that your OC is unstable and it's reverting back to stock settings. Try upping the volts more when that happens.
 

tbdriver

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Rancho Cordova, CA
System Name Home build
Processor Intel E8400, oc'd to 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-DSR3
Cooling CPU:Scythe Mugen 2 HSF; Case: 4-120MM fans Silenx
Memory Corsair TWIN2X4096-8500C5D (OS sees 3.3GB)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GV-RX387512H
Storage Seagate 320GB SATA2
Display(s) Samsung 20" HD
Case Cooler Master RC-590
Audio Device(s) Intel integrated HD
Power Supply Corsair 520w
Software Vista Ultimate 32bit
Benchmark Scores CPU @ 3.6GHz, finally, memory at 1066...Prime95 for 2+ hrs, passed
#10
Power up/down

All you guys are awesome, this is the help I was hoping to get.

I'm still at work so, when I get home this evening I'll try some of these recommendations.

Thanks :rockout:
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,371 (2.14/day)
Likes
1,001
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#11
All you guys are awesome, this is the help I was hoping to get.

I'm still at work so, when I get home this evening I'll try some of these recommendations.

Thanks :rockout:
No need to say thanks, thats what we are here for and thats why we are the best :rockout:

(But if you do want to thank us, use the little blue thanks button at the bottom of each post that helped you, it pumps our egos :D)
 

tbdriver

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Rancho Cordova, CA
System Name Home build
Processor Intel E8400, oc'd to 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-DSR3
Cooling CPU:Scythe Mugen 2 HSF; Case: 4-120MM fans Silenx
Memory Corsair TWIN2X4096-8500C5D (OS sees 3.3GB)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GV-RX387512H
Storage Seagate 320GB SATA2
Display(s) Samsung 20" HD
Case Cooler Master RC-590
Audio Device(s) Intel integrated HD
Power Supply Corsair 520w
Software Vista Ultimate 32bit
Benchmark Scores CPU @ 3.6GHz, finally, memory at 1066...Prime95 for 2+ hrs, passed
#12
Well, it's been a couple weeks, sorry 'bout not replying sooner. I changed my stock HSF to my Zalman and temps are very reasonable. Currently they range from 30c to 32c at idle to moderate use. During prime95 they went up to about 40c - 42c. I acheived a 1:1 ratio but, my performance degraded noticeably. I changed the timings on my memory to 5 5 5 15 and voltage to 2.1. CPU is now at 9 x 345 and performance is pretty good. Before the 9 x 345 I tried to set at 9 x 356 and increased cpu voltage to 1.24375. Ran Prime95 and it failed after a minute. I tried increasing voltage 4 more steps and ran prime95 after each one, to 1.25625 and had severe errors in prime95. So, finally set the above 9 x 345 (3.1 GHz) and voltage to auto. Ran prime95 twice, once for an hour, second time for 2 hours and passed. I think I'm done tinkering for a while.
 

tbdriver

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Rancho Cordova, CA
System Name Home build
Processor Intel E8400, oc'd to 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-DSR3
Cooling CPU:Scythe Mugen 2 HSF; Case: 4-120MM fans Silenx
Memory Corsair TWIN2X4096-8500C5D (OS sees 3.3GB)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GV-RX387512H
Storage Seagate 320GB SATA2
Display(s) Samsung 20" HD
Case Cooler Master RC-590
Audio Device(s) Intel integrated HD
Power Supply Corsair 520w
Software Vista Ultimate 32bit
Benchmark Scores CPU @ 3.6GHz, finally, memory at 1066...Prime95 for 2+ hrs, passed
#13
Tinkering wit OC again

OK, your post is a little hard to follow, but I'll try. First of all, to get 1:1 with your 1066 Ram, you'll need to be at 533 fsb. Not all boards are able to reach this fsb, so 1:1 may not be possible. Now, if it was DDR2 800, then 1:1 would be 400 fsb. Let's do a simple overclock. Set the fsb at 450, and the multiplier at 8. This will give you 3.6ghz and Ram at 900mhz 1:1. You may need to bump up both your vcore and your NB voltage up just a couple of notches. Also, set your Ram voltage at 2.0v. If this goes well, I'll show you how to optimize that Rmam of yours.
I started tinkering with OC again and didn't get far but, used a lot of time. My system runs fine with FSB at 352, mult at 9, vcore up 2 steps, MCH up a couple steps, ICH up one step. Memory at 2.1v.
I have tried to set the FSB higher ranging from 354 to 378 with memory timings on auto. Prime95 fails everytime. I have set my vcore all the way up to 1.3000v even with a FSB at 356 and still, prime95 fails after a few minutes and maybe 2 iterations of the mixed test. I'm wondering if my power supply is bad or my motherboard is bad. My PSU is a Corsair 520, mobo is Gigabyte GA-P45-DS3R, CPU is E8400.