• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Need help OCing Q8400

Marclar

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
System Name Marclar
Processor Q8400
Motherboard Gigabyte X48 DS4
Cooling Cooler Master 212 EVO
Memory Kingston ddr2 1066 4x2gb
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 560 Ti
Storage WD 1tb black caviar
Case Cooler Master centurion 590
Power Supply Seasonic M12II bronze 750w
Software Windows 7 Enterprise
#1
I need help OCing this baby currently i'm at 3.6ghz with volts at 1.32 but it won't go over 3.6ghz even if i put in bios 1.4volts. I'm not sure if i'm doing something wrong but can someone of you guys clarify few things...?
1. i'm currently on fsb 450 and my clock is exactly 3.6ghz and ran on maximum Intel Burn test and didn't crash and survived the test. Increasing FSB also increases memory clock so i have to change the value on memory and there are 4 types like 200fsb 266fsb 333fsb and 400fsb (i don't know exactly what those values mean nor if one of them can be the cause of instability while moving beyond 3.6ghz)
2. Another thing I don't quite get is when i set for example 1.35v on cpu when i'm in windows it says 1.31 and when stress testing it goes like 1.28 (yes i know it's called vdrop or something like that but can you clarify on to exactly how does it work... CPU safe voltage for this processor is 1.4 and when i set in bios 1.4 it goes like 1.38. Should i set in bios to like 1.42 to get it on 1.4 with vdroop? Don't know exactly how this system works and i'm learning :) )

*EDIT*
my config:
MB: Gigabyte x48 ds4
CPU: Q8400
RAM: 8gb Kingston ddr2 1066mhz
PSU: Seasonic M12 bronze 750w
GPU: GTX 560 Ti
 

Marclar

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
System Name Marclar
Processor Q8400
Motherboard Gigabyte X48 DS4
Cooling Cooler Master 212 EVO
Memory Kingston ddr2 1066 4x2gb
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 560 Ti
Storage WD 1tb black caviar
Case Cooler Master centurion 590
Power Supply Seasonic M12II bronze 750w
Software Windows 7 Enterprise
#2
Ok... i set my memory FSB to 266mhz and i'm able to go to 3.7ghz (1.368) ran intel burn test (very high) and it's stable but i can't go over 3.7ghz cus i'm afraid to go over 1.400v(setting the voltage to 1.400v not reading the actual volts and no1 still didn't answer me about this :/...) since they say it's not safe beyond 1.4v
 
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
502 (0.14/day)
Likes
108
System Name His - Hers - Guest - Guest - Guest
Processor i7 5960x - i7 990x -930 -i7 870 - i7 870
Motherboard Evga X99 - X58 - x58 - P55 FTW 200's
Cooling Frio Frio Frio Frio
Memory Gskills 4GB 1866 all slots
Video Card(s) Evga 970GTX - 770GTXx6
Storage 500GB evo 850 SSDx2 Raid 0, 120GB SSDx2, 120GB SSDx2, 1TB HDD
Display(s) 1920x1080
Case Antec 1200, 1200, 900, 900
Power Supply Antec 1200 watt
Software Windows 7 Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Who cares
#3
3.6 is good imo. To much of a fight to go much higher
 

Marclar

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
System Name Marclar
Processor Q8400
Motherboard Gigabyte X48 DS4
Cooling Cooler Master 212 EVO
Memory Kingston ddr2 1066 4x2gb
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 560 Ti
Storage WD 1tb black caviar
Case Cooler Master centurion 590
Power Supply Seasonic M12II bronze 750w
Software Windows 7 Enterprise
#4
3.6 is good imo. To much of a fight to go much higher
yeah but i want to see how much i can go with my mb and CPU. To see what's the limit but my lack of knowledge for advanced overclocking is preventing me to do so and that's why i'm asking for help :)
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,855 (0.66/day)
Likes
511
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#5
yeah but i want to see how much i can go with my mb and CPU. To see what's the limit but my lack of knowledge for advanced overclocking is preventing me to do so and that's why i'm asking for help :)
that is pretty much the limit unless you wanna use liquid nitrogen

you see you got good ram, and good cooler already
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,270 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,366
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#6
you can safely take your voltage higher. Core2quads can handle up to 1.5 aslong as you have a good enough heatsink to keep it from overheating. I had 1.5 volts going though my Q9650 plenty of times, never hurt it, although I did keep it under 1.4 volts for 24/7 use. That CPU would still do 4.5ghz when I sold it.
 

Marclar

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
System Name Marclar
Processor Q8400
Motherboard Gigabyte X48 DS4
Cooling Cooler Master 212 EVO
Memory Kingston ddr2 1066 4x2gb
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 560 Ti
Storage WD 1tb black caviar
Case Cooler Master centurion 590
Power Supply Seasonic M12II bronze 750w
Software Windows 7 Enterprise
#7
you can safely take your voltage higher. Core2quads can handle up to 1.5 aslong as you have a good enough heatsink to keep it from overheating. I had 1.5 volts going though my Q9650 plenty of times, never hurt it, although I did keep it under 1.4 volts for 24/7 use. That CPU would still do 4.5ghz when I sold it.
When you say 1.5 you mean 1.5 when it says in CPU Z or when you set 1.5 in bios?
 
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
502 (0.14/day)
Likes
108
System Name His - Hers - Guest - Guest - Guest
Processor i7 5960x - i7 990x -930 -i7 870 - i7 870
Motherboard Evga X99 - X58 - x58 - P55 FTW 200's
Cooling Frio Frio Frio Frio
Memory Gskills 4GB 1866 all slots
Video Card(s) Evga 970GTX - 770GTXx6
Storage 500GB evo 850 SSDx2 Raid 0, 120GB SSDx2, 120GB SSDx2, 1TB HDD
Display(s) 1920x1080
Case Antec 1200, 1200, 900, 900
Power Supply Antec 1200 watt
Software Windows 7 Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Who cares
#8
My old 8400 would do 3.6 all day long with 1.35v anything past that is to much stress imo. Enjoy your 3.6, i would not risk much more out of that chip.
 

Marclar

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
System Name Marclar
Processor Q8400
Motherboard Gigabyte X48 DS4
Cooling Cooler Master 212 EVO
Memory Kingston ddr2 1066 4x2gb
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 560 Ti
Storage WD 1tb black caviar
Case Cooler Master centurion 590
Power Supply Seasonic M12II bronze 750w
Software Windows 7 Enterprise
#9
My old 8400 would do 3.6 all day long with 1.35v anything past that is to much stress imo. Enjoy your 3.6, i would not risk much more out of that chip.
well actually i've made it 3.7 without much stress at all did like 5 hour intel burn test on maximum (all available memory) and all passed with no result error and temps don't exceed 60c they're around 50-55c with 212 evo... Also gotta say that's one heck of a cooler :D
 

Marclar

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
System Name Marclar
Processor Q8400
Motherboard Gigabyte X48 DS4
Cooling Cooler Master 212 EVO
Memory Kingston ddr2 1066 4x2gb
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 560 Ti
Storage WD 1tb black caviar
Case Cooler Master centurion 590
Power Supply Seasonic M12II bronze 750w
Software Windows 7 Enterprise
#10
Also is i ramped up 0.15 volts on FSB is that ok?
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.91/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#11
You're going to have play around with Nb volts for sure as you are running 4 x 2Gb, max Vcore on air would be 1.4v for 24/7 if you can keep it below 70c, if you can keep it below 60c maybe a lil more but i wouldn't push it too far unless you are not concerned with lifespan.

Maybe this can help you http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=515316 :eek:
 

Marclar

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
System Name Marclar
Processor Q8400
Motherboard Gigabyte X48 DS4
Cooling Cooler Master 212 EVO
Memory Kingston ddr2 1066 4x2gb
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 560 Ti
Storage WD 1tb black caviar
Case Cooler Master centurion 590
Power Supply Seasonic M12II bronze 750w
Software Windows 7 Enterprise
#12
You're going to have play around with Nb volts for sure as you are running 4 x 2Gb, max Vcore on air would be 1.4v for 24/7 if you can keep it below 70c, if you can keep it below 60c maybe a lil more but i wouldn't push it too far unless you are not concerned with lifespan.

Maybe this can help you http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=515316 :eek:
Well I'm on 3.7ghz 1.41v(with vdrop n vdroop which is around 1.37/1.34v)
fsb : Dram is 1:1 and it's 928mhz
FSB overvoltage control: +0.15v
FSB is on 463
Temps don't go over 58c on Intel burn test and i've set it on maximum and did like 40 loops no fail everything is fully stable :)
I'm not going over that cus i see it's quite a struggle beyond 3.7ghz But a question is fsb +0.15v much or is it ok? (My case has 4 fans so it's like a hurricane inside :D)
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.91/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#13
Nice! Minus the hurricane of course :p Have you tried to run the RAM faster than FSB? Or tighten up the timings since they are underclocked?
 

Marclar

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
System Name Marclar
Processor Q8400
Motherboard Gigabyte X48 DS4
Cooling Cooler Master 212 EVO
Memory Kingston ddr2 1066 4x2gb
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 560 Ti
Storage WD 1tb black caviar
Case Cooler Master centurion 590
Power Supply Seasonic M12II bronze 750w
Software Windows 7 Enterprise
#14
Nice! Minus the hurricane of course :p Have you tried to run the RAM faster than FSB? Or tighten up the timings since they are underclocked?
I don't know what do you mean under "run RAM faster than FSB?"... My timings are 5-5-5-15 and my RAM speed is 928mhz :)
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.91/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#15
Well your ram is rated @ 1066 and currently it is underclocked @ 928 due to the 1:1 ratio. On my setup i have it at 5:6, FSB:RAM. Also have my timings @ 5/5/5/15. What ever works best for you :toast:
 

Marclar

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
System Name Marclar
Processor Q8400
Motherboard Gigabyte X48 DS4
Cooling Cooler Master 212 EVO
Memory Kingston ddr2 1066 4x2gb
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 560 Ti
Storage WD 1tb black caviar
Case Cooler Master centurion 590
Power Supply Seasonic M12II bronze 750w
Software Windows 7 Enterprise
#16
Well your ram is rated @ 1066 and currently it is underclocked @ 928 due to the 1:1 ratio. On my setup i have it at 5:6, FSB:RAM. Also have my timings @ 5/5/5/15. What ever works best for you :toast:
well i can't use other ratios with this high fsb... if i use 2.40 itll go like 1150mhz and so... this is the lowest that can work :)