1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help OCing Q8400

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Marclar, May 13, 2012.

  1. Marclar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I need help OCing this baby currently i'm at 3.6ghz with volts at 1.32 but it won't go over 3.6ghz even if i put in bios 1.4volts. I'm not sure if i'm doing something wrong but can someone of you guys clarify few things...?
    1. i'm currently on fsb 450 and my clock is exactly 3.6ghz and ran on maximum Intel Burn test and didn't crash and survived the test. Increasing FSB also increases memory clock so i have to change the value on memory and there are 4 types like 200fsb 266fsb 333fsb and 400fsb (i don't know exactly what those values mean nor if one of them can be the cause of instability while moving beyond 3.6ghz)
    2. Another thing I don't quite get is when i set for example 1.35v on cpu when i'm in windows it says 1.31 and when stress testing it goes like 1.28 (yes i know it's called vdrop or something like that but can you clarify on to exactly how does it work... CPU safe voltage for this processor is 1.4 and when i set in bios 1.4 it goes like 1.38. Should i set in bios to like 1.42 to get it on 1.4 with vdroop? Don't know exactly how this system works and i'm learning :) )

    *EDIT*
    my config:
    MB: Gigabyte x48 ds4
    CPU: Q8400
    RAM: 8gb Kingston ddr2 1066mhz
    PSU: Seasonic M12 bronze 750w
    GPU: GTX 560 Ti
     
  2. Marclar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok... i set my memory FSB to 266mhz and i'm able to go to 3.7ghz (1.368) ran intel burn test (very high) and it's stable but i can't go over 3.7ghz cus i'm afraid to go over 1.400v(setting the voltage to 1.400v not reading the actual volts and no1 still didn't answer me about this :/...) since they say it's not safe beyond 1.4v
     
  3. Dbiggs9

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    491 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    3.6 is good imo. To much of a fight to go much higher
     
  4. Marclar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah but i want to see how much i can go with my mb and CPU. To see what's the limit but my lack of knowledge for advanced overclocking is preventing me to do so and that's why i'm asking for help :)
     
  5. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,716 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    443
    Location:
    Philippines
    that is pretty much the limit unless you wanna use liquid nitrogen

    you see you got good ram, and good cooler already
     
  6. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,178 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,261
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    you can safely take your voltage higher. Core2quads can handle up to 1.5 aslong as you have a good enough heatsink to keep it from overheating. I had 1.5 volts going though my Q9650 plenty of times, never hurt it, although I did keep it under 1.4 volts for 24/7 use. That CPU would still do 4.5ghz when I sold it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Marclar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    When you say 1.5 you mean 1.5 when it says in CPU Z or when you set 1.5 in bios?
     
  8. Dbiggs9

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    491 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    My old 8400 would do 3.6 all day long with 1.35v anything past that is to much stress imo. Enjoy your 3.6, i would not risk much more out of that chip.
     
  9. Marclar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well actually i've made it 3.7 without much stress at all did like 5 hour intel burn test on maximum (all available memory) and all passed with no result error and temps don't exceed 60c they're around 50-55c with 212 evo... Also gotta say that's one heck of a cooler :D
     
  10. Marclar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Also is i ramped up 0.15 volts on FSB is that ok?
     
  11. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,516 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    705
    Location:
    Canada
    You're going to have play around with Nb volts for sure as you are running 4 x 2Gb, max Vcore on air would be 1.4v for 24/7 if you can keep it below 70c, if you can keep it below 60c maybe a lil more but i wouldn't push it too far unless you are not concerned with lifespan.

    Maybe this can help you http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=515316 :eek:
     
  12. Marclar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well I'm on 3.7ghz 1.41v(with vdrop n vdroop which is around 1.37/1.34v)
    fsb : Dram is 1:1 and it's 928mhz
    FSB overvoltage control: +0.15v
    FSB is on 463
    Temps don't go over 58c on Intel burn test and i've set it on maximum and did like 40 loops no fail everything is fully stable :)
    I'm not going over that cus i see it's quite a struggle beyond 3.7ghz But a question is fsb +0.15v much or is it ok? (My case has 4 fans so it's like a hurricane inside :D)
     
  13. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,516 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    705
    Location:
    Canada
    Nice! Minus the hurricane of course :p Have you tried to run the RAM faster than FSB? Or tighten up the timings since they are underclocked?
     
  14. Marclar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't know what do you mean under "run RAM faster than FSB?"... My timings are 5-5-5-15 and my RAM speed is 928mhz :)
     
  15. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,516 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    705
    Location:
    Canada
    Well your ram is rated @ 1066 and currently it is underclocked @ 928 due to the 1:1 ratio. On my setup i have it at 5:6, FSB:RAM. Also have my timings @ 5/5/5/15. What ever works best for you :toast:
     
  16. Marclar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well i can't use other ratios with this high fsb... if i use 2.40 itll go like 1150mhz and so... this is the lowest that can work :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)