1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help on whether to clear TPM on not

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by michael, Dec 31, 2015.

  1. michael

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    690 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    India
    Hi guys,

    I was doing reset my Windows 10 Dell 5559 laptop to factory Setting.

    got this message after screen had stuck on 99% during reset the message displayed is

    "A configuration change was requested to clear this computer's TPM (Trusted Platform Module)

    WARNING: Clearing erases information stored on the TPM. You will lose all created keys and access to data encrypted by these keys.

    Press F12 or Volume Up to clear the TPM Press ESC or Volume Down to reject the change request and continue"


    I tried a lot to know what it is actually ,but failed to understand

    I just don't know whether to press F12 or ESC, and what if I press ESC is it ok?

    (please advise , the laptop is running since 8 hours.)

    Thanks
     
  2. Ebo

    Ebo

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    611 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    438
    Location:
    Nykoebing Mors, Denmark
    Do you have anything encrypted on it ?
    Do you have any keys stored on the computer that you need and havent either written down, or stored on a USB stick ?

    If you can say no to these 2 questions, its safe to press F12, if not press esc and everythign just goes back to the way it was.
     
    michael says thanks.
  3. michael

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    690 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    India
    The situation is like this:-
    I bought Dell i7 6th Gen laptop on 27th, today I am about to return it as it has some scratches on it( seller agreed on it) so I decided to do reset in windows 10 , but stuck to above error

    I have no personal data on it, I just want to restore this laptop to factory setting ( to a screen which appears the first moment you switched ON the brand new laptop asking for Country and language)

    What if I press ESC here, will it restore to factory setting?
     
  4. Ebo

    Ebo

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    611 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    438
    Location:
    Nykoebing Mors, Denmark
    In that case, I would just let it be, and return it the way it is, because you havent done anything wrong and just let the seller deal with it.
     
    qubit and michael say thanks.
  5. michael

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    690 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    India
    Should I Press ESC now?
     
  6. Ebo

    Ebo

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    611 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    438
    Location:
    Nykoebing Mors, Denmark
    I would
     
    michael says thanks.
  7. michael

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    690 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    India
    Thanks a lot Ebo! The problem is solved, I pressed F12 becuase ESC was contineously displaying the same screen again after Reboot as I had chosen the wipe the entire drive option; after pressing F12 the problem is solved. and Laptop is returned.
    :lovetpu:
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2016
    Ebo says thanks.
  8. Richa

    Richa New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi OP, I'm facing a Similar issue, I just need to know one thing, after you cleared the TPM, did you have to enter the Product Activation Key for the Operating System itself?
     
  9. P4-630

    P4-630 The Way It's Meant to be Played

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,171 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,335
    Location:
    Vinewood
    Ok I didn't had laptops with TPM but I never had to enter the windows activation key after a reinstall from the recovery partition.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Dheeraj

    Dheeraj New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I also wanted to know the same thing. I'm having an issue with my motherboard, and resetting by removing the battery didn't help. So wanted to do full bios reset. I'm not sure if clearing TPM will cause losing of the Windows 10 license. Did it worked for u?
     
  11. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,573 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,652
    Clearing the TPM will not remove a windows license. Windows 10 at least does not utilize the TPM for licensing purposes.

    I should know, I switched one out completely just recently.
     
    Caring1 says thanks.
  12. Wolfs2424

    Wolfs2424 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Would no exept my password. Worked perfectly, took 4 hours exactly for me. after witch I got this message:

    "A configuration change was requested to clear this computer's TPM (Trusted Platform Module)

    WARNING: Clearing erases information stored on the TPM. You will lose all created keys and encrypted data and stored keys.
    Press F12 or Volume Up to clear the TPM Press ESC or Volume Down to reject the change request and continue")

    I pressed F12 and Installing windows shows on screen, it took another 30 minutes. If you have anything incripted or special keys that will be erased to factory as well. (Total time of 4 hours 30 minutes). By the way my computer was new and would not let me log in.
     
  13. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,573 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,652
    Sounds like it was using the tpm to encrypt the main drive. Certainly not the norm. Also, the fact that you could not log in suggests the computer may be illegally repackaged or stolen.

    Where did you buy this?
     
  14. Wolfs2424

    Wolfs2424 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Bougt it at Best Buy, brand new in the box. Everything is fine now, just the pasword was probably entered wrong the first time. No trouble logging in now
     
    R-T-B says thanks.
  15. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,573 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,652
    Ok, that's certainly different but doesn't sound suggestive of theft if you bought it at a big chain store like that. Thanks for the report. :)
     
  16. codyb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Okay so one of our employees called a number on a pop up and allowed someone who claimed to be from Microsoft to remotely connect to his Surface Pro. When starting up the computer there was a password before you can log in to Windows - that is the Bitlocker Virus, they want you to pay them money to get your property/data and access back to your computer. The only way I could fix this was to hold 0 and power on, troubleshoot and restore from cloud. WHEN IT ASKS TO CLEAR TPM YOU MUST SAY YES to start over (factory reset) - the data that the hacker encrypted and set a password on is gone, atleast from my experience... to difficult to mess with just reset and clear tpm and start over. If you never paid for software like Bitlocker or encrypted data on your computer then you were probably compromised and someone is holding this hostage. Once this is complete you just sign into Windows (atleast with Windows 10). Select language and proceed to setup this machine. Never call a number on a pop up or allow someone that claims to be from Microsoft or anywhere to remotely connect to your pc - that's ransomware. Hope this helps!
     
    xin_08 says thanks.
  17. P4-630

    P4-630 The Way It's Meant to be Played

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,171 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,335
    Location:
    Vinewood
    You just came a little late to the party though! :rolleyes:
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Jophus0124 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi I have the same problem on my Windows Surface 8 pro and when i got it it had Windows 10 installed, I got it from the pawn shop and i was gonna reset it and i got the same, my question is can i use on screen keyboard for this or i need to purchase the keyboard for this Thank You
     

    Attached Files:

  19. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    Use your volume keys up for yes down for no.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Jophus0124 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Really ok let me try

    Thanks

    No that didn't work
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 21, 2017
  21. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    That's what the OP posted. Not sure if yours is different.

    Volume button - up to except TPM

    Volume button- down to reject TPM

    Sorry. Maybe a keyboard would help in your situation.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Jophus0124 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Thank you anyways

    Is there any thing else i need to press
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 21, 2017
  23. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,104 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,111
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    5 new members in one thread? 'Splain that.
     
    OneCool says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  24. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    Ikr!! Was wondering the same thing.

    TPM.. TPU.. Something or other maybe
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. xin_08 New Member

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    1 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My god i had the same experience
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 11 (0 members and 11 guests)