• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help on whether to clear TPM on not

Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
691 (0.35/day)
Likes
18
Location
India
System Name To be ALL IN ONE MACHINE. but not yet
Processor i7 3770k
Motherboard Asus P8Z&&-V Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 1600Mhz 8GB *4 = 32GB
Storage Samsung pro 840 256GB, Segate 3TB and 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" Full HD LED
Case Antec LanBoy Air
Power Supply Cooler Master M2 Silent Pro 850 Watts
Software Windows 7 ulimate 64bit
#1
Hi guys,

I was doing reset my Windows 10 Dell 5559 laptop to factory Setting.

got this message after screen had stuck on 99% during reset the message displayed is

"A configuration change was requested to clear this computer's TPM (Trusted Platform Module)

WARNING: Clearing erases information stored on the TPM. You will lose all created keys and access to data encrypted by these keys.

Press F12 or Volume Up to clear the TPM Press ESC or Volume Down to reject the change request and continue"


I tried a lot to know what it is actually ,but failed to understand

I just don't know whether to press F12 or ESC, and what if I press ESC is it ok?

(please advise , the laptop is running since 8 hours.)

Thanks
 
Joined
May 9, 2013
Messages
718 (0.37/day)
Likes
502
Location
Nykoebing Mors, Denmark
System Name the little fart
Processor Intel I7-5820K
Motherboard MSI X99S Gaming 7
Cooling Polimatech Megahelem push/pull bitfenix Spectre 120mm pro
Memory 16 GB Crucial Sport 2400Mhz DDR 4
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Tri-x OC
Storage 1 Crucial MX100 512GB SSD,1 Seagate Momentus XT 500GB, 1 1,5TB WD Black Caviar, 1 4TB WD RED HD
Display(s) IIyama E2607WSD
Case Custom Lian-Li PC-50R
Audio Device(s) Audio boost 2(realtek)
Power Supply Thermaltake DPS G 1050 watt Digital PSU
Software windows 10 64 bit
#2
Do you have anything encrypted on it ?
Do you have any keys stored on the computer that you need and havent either written down, or stored on a USB stick ?

If you can say no to these 2 questions, its safe to press F12, if not press esc and everythign just goes back to the way it was.
 
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
691 (0.35/day)
Likes
18
Location
India
System Name To be ALL IN ONE MACHINE. but not yet
Processor i7 3770k
Motherboard Asus P8Z&&-V Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 1600Mhz 8GB *4 = 32GB
Storage Samsung pro 840 256GB, Segate 3TB and 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" Full HD LED
Case Antec LanBoy Air
Power Supply Cooler Master M2 Silent Pro 850 Watts
Software Windows 7 ulimate 64bit
#3
Do you have anything encrypted on it ?
Do you have any keys stored on the computer that you need and havent either written down, or stored on a USB stick ?

If you can say no to these 2 questions, its safe to press F12, if not press esc and everythign just goes back to the way it was.
The situation is like this:-
I bought Dell i7 6th Gen laptop on 27th, today I am about to return it as it has some scratches on it( seller agreed on it) so I decided to do reset in windows 10 , but stuck to above error

I have no personal data on it, I just want to restore this laptop to factory setting ( to a screen which appears the first moment you switched ON the brand new laptop asking for Country and language)

What if I press ESC here, will it restore to factory setting?
 
Joined
May 9, 2013
Messages
718 (0.37/day)
Likes
502
Location
Nykoebing Mors, Denmark
System Name the little fart
Processor Intel I7-5820K
Motherboard MSI X99S Gaming 7
Cooling Polimatech Megahelem push/pull bitfenix Spectre 120mm pro
Memory 16 GB Crucial Sport 2400Mhz DDR 4
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Tri-x OC
Storage 1 Crucial MX100 512GB SSD,1 Seagate Momentus XT 500GB, 1 1,5TB WD Black Caviar, 1 4TB WD RED HD
Display(s) IIyama E2607WSD
Case Custom Lian-Li PC-50R
Audio Device(s) Audio boost 2(realtek)
Power Supply Thermaltake DPS G 1050 watt Digital PSU
Software windows 10 64 bit
#4
In that case, I would just let it be, and return it the way it is, because you havent done anything wrong and just let the seller deal with it.
 
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
691 (0.35/day)
Likes
18
Location
India
System Name To be ALL IN ONE MACHINE. but not yet
Processor i7 3770k
Motherboard Asus P8Z&&-V Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 1600Mhz 8GB *4 = 32GB
Storage Samsung pro 840 256GB, Segate 3TB and 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" Full HD LED
Case Antec LanBoy Air
Power Supply Cooler Master M2 Silent Pro 850 Watts
Software Windows 7 ulimate 64bit
#5
In that case, I would just let it be, and return it the way it is, because you havent done anything wrong and just let the seller deal with it.
Should I Press ESC now?
 
Joined
May 9, 2013
Messages
718 (0.37/day)
Likes
502
Location
Nykoebing Mors, Denmark
System Name the little fart
Processor Intel I7-5820K
Motherboard MSI X99S Gaming 7
Cooling Polimatech Megahelem push/pull bitfenix Spectre 120mm pro
Memory 16 GB Crucial Sport 2400Mhz DDR 4
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Tri-x OC
Storage 1 Crucial MX100 512GB SSD,1 Seagate Momentus XT 500GB, 1 1,5TB WD Black Caviar, 1 4TB WD RED HD
Display(s) IIyama E2607WSD
Case Custom Lian-Li PC-50R
Audio Device(s) Audio boost 2(realtek)
Power Supply Thermaltake DPS G 1050 watt Digital PSU
Software windows 10 64 bit
#6
I would
 
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
691 (0.35/day)
Likes
18
Location
India
System Name To be ALL IN ONE MACHINE. but not yet
Processor i7 3770k
Motherboard Asus P8Z&&-V Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 1600Mhz 8GB *4 = 32GB
Storage Samsung pro 840 256GB, Segate 3TB and 1TB
Display(s) LG 23" Full HD LED
Case Antec LanBoy Air
Power Supply Cooler Master M2 Silent Pro 850 Watts
Software Windows 7 ulimate 64bit
#7
Thanks a lot Ebo! The problem is solved, I pressed F12 becuase ESC was contineously displaying the same screen again after Reboot as I had chosen the wipe the entire drive option; after pressing F12 the problem is solved. and Laptop is returned.
:lovetpu:
 
Last edited:

Richa

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
Hi OP, I'm facing a Similar issue, I just need to know one thing, after you cleared the TPM, did you have to enter the Product Activation Key for the Operating System itself?
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,333 (2.01/day)
Likes
9,204
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.175 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 3 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
#9
did you have to enter the Product Activation Key for the Operating System itself?
Ok I didn't had laptops with TPM but I never had to enter the windows activation key after a reinstall from the recovery partition.
 

Dheeraj

New Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2016
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
Hi OP, I'm facing a Similar issue, I just need to know one thing, after you cleared the TPM, did you have to enter the Product Activation Key for the Operating System itself?
I also wanted to know the same thing. I'm having an issue with my motherboard, and resetting by removing the battery didn't help. So wanted to do full bios reset. I'm not sure if clearing TPM will cause losing of the Windows 10 license. Did it worked for u?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.37/day)
Likes
8,584
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i7 8700k @ 5.0 GHz All-Core + Uncore & AVX Offset @ 0
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) BenQ BL3200PT (a 1440p VA Panel with decent latency)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FSExt/TS: FSExt 10734:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/16266163 TS 8154:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/4331316
#11
Clearing the TPM will not remove a windows license. Windows 10 at least does not utilize the TPM for licensing purposes.

I should know, I switched one out completely just recently.
 

Wolfs2424

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2016
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#12
Would no exept my password. Worked perfectly, took 4 hours exactly for me. after witch I got this message:

"A configuration change was requested to clear this computer's TPM (Trusted Platform Module)

WARNING: Clearing erases information stored on the TPM. You will lose all created keys and encrypted data and stored keys.
Press F12 or Volume Up to clear the TPM Press ESC or Volume Down to reject the change request and continue")

I pressed F12 and Installing windows shows on screen, it took another 30 minutes. If you have anything incripted or special keys that will be erased to factory as well. (Total time of 4 hours 30 minutes). By the way my computer was new and would not let me log in.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.37/day)
Likes
8,584
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i7 8700k @ 5.0 GHz All-Core + Uncore & AVX Offset @ 0
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) BenQ BL3200PT (a 1440p VA Panel with decent latency)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FSExt/TS: FSExt 10734:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/16266163 TS 8154:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/4331316
#13
Sounds like it was using the tpm to encrypt the main drive. Certainly not the norm. Also, the fact that you could not log in suggests the computer may be illegally repackaged or stolen.

Where did you buy this?
 

Wolfs2424

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2016
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#14
Bougt it at Best Buy, brand new in the box. Everything is fine now, just the pasword was probably entered wrong the first time. No trouble logging in now
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.37/day)
Likes
8,584
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i7 8700k @ 5.0 GHz All-Core + Uncore & AVX Offset @ 0
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) BenQ BL3200PT (a 1440p VA Panel with decent latency)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FSExt/TS: FSExt 10734:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/16266163 TS 8154:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/4331316
#15
Bougt it at Best Buy, brand new in the box. Everything is fine now, just the pasword was probably entered wrong the first time. No trouble logging in now
Ok, that's certainly different but doesn't sound suggestive of theft if you bought it at a big chain store like that. Thanks for the report. :)
 

codyb

New Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2017
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#16
Okay so one of our employees called a number on a pop up and allowed someone who claimed to be from Microsoft to remotely connect to his Surface Pro. When starting up the computer there was a password before you can log in to Windows - that is the Bitlocker Virus, they want you to pay them money to get your property/data and access back to your computer. The only way I could fix this was to hold 0 and power on, troubleshoot and restore from cloud. WHEN IT ASKS TO CLEAR TPM YOU MUST SAY YES to start over (factory reset) - the data that the hacker encrypted and set a password on is gone, atleast from my experience... to difficult to mess with just reset and clear tpm and start over. If you never paid for software like Bitlocker or encrypted data on your computer then you were probably compromised and someone is holding this hostage. Once this is complete you just sign into Windows (atleast with Windows 10). Select language and proceed to setup this machine. Never call a number on a pop up or allow someone that claims to be from Microsoft or anywhere to remotely connect to your pc - that's ransomware. Hope this helps!
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,333 (2.01/day)
Likes
9,204
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.175 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 3 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
#17
Okay so one of our employees called a number on a pop up and allowed someone who claimed to be from Microsoft to remotely connect to his Surface Pro. When starting up the computer there was a password before you can log in to Windows - that is the Bitlocker Virus, they want you to pay them money to get your property/data and access back to your computer. The only way I could fix this was to hold 0 and power on, troubleshoot and restore from cloud. WHEN IT ASKS TO CLEAR TPM YOU MUST SAY YES to start over (factory reset) - the data that the hacker encrypted and set a password on is gone, atleast from my experience... to difficult to mess with just reset and clear tpm and start over. If you never paid for software like Bitlocker or encrypted data on your computer then you were probably compromised and someone is holding this hostage. Once this is complete you just sign into Windows (atleast with Windows 10). Select language and proceed to setup this machine. Never call a number on a pop up or allow someone that claims to be from Microsoft or anywhere to remotely connect to your pc - that's ransomware. Hope this helps!
You just came a little late to the party though! :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2017
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#18
Do you have anything encrypted on it ?
Do you have any keys stored on the computer that you need and havent either written down, or stored on a USB stick ?

If you can say no to these 2 questions, its safe to press F12, if not press esc and everythign just goes back to the way it was.
Hi I have the same problem on my Windows Surface 8 pro and when i got it it had Windows 10 installed, I got it from the pawn shop and i was gonna reset it and i got the same, my question is can i use on screen keyboard for this or i need to purchase the keyboard for this Thank You
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
1,075 (0.23/day)
Likes
197
Location
Look behind you!!
System Name NEW
Processor Intel 4770 non-K
Motherboard Gigabyte H81M-DS2V
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16gb Muskin
Video Card(s) XFX 380X 4gb
Storage Sandisk 120gb plus WD blue 1tb
Display(s) AOC 23.5 LED bl
Case XIGMATEK
Audio Device(s) motherboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 500
#19
Hi I have the same problem on my Windows Surface 8 pro and when i got it it had Windows 10 installed, I got it from the pawn shop and i was gonna reset it and i got the same, my question is can i use on screen keyboard for this or i need to purchase the keyboard for this Thank You
Use your volume keys up for yes down for no.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
1,075 (0.23/day)
Likes
197
Location
Look behind you!!
System Name NEW
Processor Intel 4770 non-K
Motherboard Gigabyte H81M-DS2V
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16gb Muskin
Video Card(s) XFX 380X 4gb
Storage Sandisk 120gb plus WD blue 1tb
Display(s) AOC 23.5 LED bl
Case XIGMATEK
Audio Device(s) motherboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 500
#21
That's what the OP posted. Not sure if yours is different.

Volume button - up to except TPM

Volume button- down to reject TPM

Sorry. Maybe a keyboard would help in your situation.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,378 (2.22/day)
Likes
4,240
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
#23
5 new members in one thread? 'Splain that.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
1,075 (0.23/day)
Likes
197
Location
Look behind you!!
System Name NEW
Processor Intel 4770 non-K
Motherboard Gigabyte H81M-DS2V
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16gb Muskin
Video Card(s) XFX 380X 4gb
Storage Sandisk 120gb plus WD blue 1tb
Display(s) AOC 23.5 LED bl
Case XIGMATEK
Audio Device(s) motherboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 500
#24
5 new members in one thread? 'Splain that.
Ikr!! Was wondering the same thing.

TPM.. TPU.. Something or other maybe
 
Top