1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need Help Overclocking ATI radeon 4200

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by jmanwithplan, May 11, 2012.

  1. jmanwithplan New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello Forum.

    I require your assistance on overclocking my ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200

    I have tried several programs such as MSI After Buner, and AMD OverDrive

    But they don't allow me to change the settings. The sliders are locked.

    Surely there must be a way.

    The reason I wish to overclock is I want to run shadows in MW3.

    Right now it's a little laggy, but It wouldn't need much. I'm wishing to stay in a safe limit.

    Any help is greatly appreciated. I'm very new to the subject of overclocking.

    :banghead:
     
  2. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,731 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    451
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    did you tried in bios? because its an igp.
     
  3. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,076 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    I'm pretty sure that overclocking will not help run shadows, they are quite demanding especially for what you are running it on. It will yield a small performance boost.

    Try GameBooster, that may help gain 5-6fps.
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,487 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,969
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I agree with these guys, Ocing it wont help much. I can tell you thought that if you can find a cheap 8800GT you should be fine since the engine is old and it doesn't take that much to run but more than a onboard 4200 LOL.

    *Edit*

    I just realized that you have a laptop. You may have to buy a laptop with a better IGP
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. jmanwithplan New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replys, but I still want to overclock. Gamebooster helped but I just want to do it for the sake of doing it.

    I don't have a laptop. My pc is a dell inspiron one 23 inch.

    It's x64.
     
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,487 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,969
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Technically its still a laptop due to having Laptop internals inside of it. It is mainly used for a small family based PC with a light IGP for youtube, movies, SOME GAMES (not many), and EXC
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. jmanwithplan New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, but can it be overclocked ? I know its pretty crappy for gaming. I can run mw3 just fine with no graphics like AA or shadows turned on @1280 x 800

    I always want to know of overclocking will increase my 3d rending speeds for programs like cinema 4d and 3ds max.

    I tried a tool called atitool and the sliders were locked on it too.
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,487 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,969
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    If the bios has no options then your only option is software OCing. You have tried most of the ocing tools that are well known. I would almost say that it can not be OCed
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)