• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Need help troubleshooting

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.80/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#1
Alright, here's the deal with this one. A friend of mine said his PC just started to turn off randomly. Well, upon pressing the power button it only stays on about five seconds and shuts off.

I already tried a new battery on the mobo and my PSU from a cruncher which I am sure it works fine, still the same thing. I'm thinking the motherboard is the culprit, what do you guys think?

If so, would there be anyway to confirm it's the motherboard? I don't have another one to try and I wouldn't want to make her go buy a new one and it's not that. It shouldn't be a short because it shouldn't allow it to turn on at all, correct? Thanks in advance for any help. :toast:
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.80/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#2
Nope none, just powers down and that's it. Motherboard looks OK from what I can see. No blown caps, nothing oozing, etc.
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.20/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#3
There was this guy yesterday complaining about the same problem, and it turned out that his heatsink retention clip had broken.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#4
There was this guy yesterday complaining about the same problem, and it turned out that his heatsink retention clip had broken.
Yeah, I'd be looknig at the same thing as well. If it POSTs, and then shuts off, either PSU is wonky, or temps are too high, more often than not.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#5
Chicken Patty isn't a noob i am sure he has thought about it and all basic tests
I'm sure that if he isn't a noob, he doesn't need you to speak up for him either. :shadedshu
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#6
You bet. Hence everyone offering suggestions...doesn't mean that he doesn't know what he's doing...even the best at what they do have off days, and forget to tie thier laces.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
148 (0.04/day)
Likes
18
Location
Whittier so california
System Name Rubens
Processor Intel Core I5 3570K
Motherboard MSI Z77 Mpower
Cooling Air
Memory DDR3 8 Gigs
Video Card(s) 2 AMD Radeon HD 7850 Crossfire
Storage 3 Sony Hard drives
Display(s) LG 24"
Case ThermalTake X Series
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard
Power Supply Antec 650
Software Windows 7
Benchmark Scores Not OCed yet 3.40
#7
Hello
Check memory sticks
I was having the same problem kinda
It was the motherboard but one of the memory slots had went bad as soon as I took out that memory stick it booted up.

Ruben M.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,876 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#8
I remember I had to change a motherboard because I bought a defective graphic card.Could be the graphic card is culprit! test the mobo without vga , in case you hear a beep ,then your graphic card is dead.
This is an excellent way to check it out. And make sure you use a beeper that works!
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.80/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#9
No beeps, have already isolated everything. Disconnected all but the mobo connectors, still same issue.

Only thing I have hooked up right now is the 24 pin and the 4 pin CPU connector, still does the same thing. It has to be the mobo since it's the only thing hooked up, or the CPU. Thoughts? PC has no VGA, uses on board.


EDIT: Got it fixed! The power cable from the front header, I took it off and now the computer posts and boots. :) What made me think it was that was that you would have to hit the power button a few times to get it to turn on so I figured the cable could be shorting it or something. :)
 
Last edited:

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,876 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#10
No beeps, have already isolated everything. Disconnected all but the mobo connectors, still same issue.

Only thing I have hooked up right now is the 24 pin and the 4 pin CPU connector, still does the same thing. It has to be the mobo since it's the only thing hooked up, or the CPU. Thoughts? PC has no VGA, uses on board.


EDIT: Got it fixed! The power cable from the front header, I took it off and now the computer posts and boots. :) What made me think it was that was that you would have to hit the power button a few times to get it to turn on so I figured the cable could be shorting it or something. :)
Sweet. It's great when mysterious problems have easy solutions. :D
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#11
Lol as if something like that would really ever be an issue. I just speak my mind, dude. We are all here either for help, or to give it, and it makes no sense for those on the same team to be at odds.

:toast:
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.80/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#12
For now I just put one of the power buttons that came with my high speed tech station since the board on that tech station has power/reset/clear CMOS buttons on the board. I'm sure I can probably find the factory switch for fairly cheap.